All member reviews for 101 Dalmatians

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Lovable cartoon classic with cute dogs and a mean villain.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 29 reviews)
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byGhcool April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bySonia Montejano April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

woof!

some of the scenes with Cruella might be a little frightening to younger kids..
Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
A classic, and a must-see for all families.
Parent of a 1 and 4 year old Written bymagnolia72 June 3, 2009
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

"you idiot"

my 4 year old started calling everyone "you idiot" after watching this
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byrobinrunner April 25, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Sure to make every dogs tail wag.

One of the ultimate disney classics featuring adorable puppies, vile and twisted villains, and millions of spots. The movie is based on perservering through the hardest of times, even when there's a mad woman chasing you for your fur. I would say this film is for all ages, but Cruella De ville is pretty scary at times and some scenes may be too intense for smaller kids. There's also mild but iffy sights when you see Rodger smoking his pipe or Cruella smoking a ciggerate.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymannymateo10isback December 26, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

best movie for your family!

i watch this anytime, cause it shows plenty of positive messages, and in one scene, the two thiefs stole 15 puppies, and cruella de ville smokes a long cigarette, and some alcohol drinking, the language they say is "stupid", "idiot", "imbesciles", "hell" and "shut up", but the puppies in this fabolous movie are adorable, and the movie is exciting, funny and fun for the whole family!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Parent of a 4 year old Written byehernandezmn October 13, 2009
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Comedy, action and suspense for the little ones.

Classic movie. There is a fair bit of smoking, and might be a bit scary for sensitive ones. The use of the word 'idiot' might put some off.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byMovieLover4Lyfe May 26, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

A Dog-gone good time!

Adorable! I have loved this movie for as long as I can remember and still view it occasionally! I think it's a classic that will always stand the test of time :) For the youngest of children I could see how Cruella De Ville might scare them with her wicked ways so depending on the maturity of your child, you may want to withhold this movie until they are ready. But to me the positive influences of Pongo and Purdy are so endearing, that they would save not only their children but so many more. This movie should be viewed by everyone!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Educator and Parent Written byJenniferP 6 May 19, 2015
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Best film ever

I'm 6 and I love the movie! It's absolutely the best film ever. Cruelly De Vill is a not too scary villain unlike the other Disney movies.
Parent of a 4 year old Written bymelmai March 4, 2015
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old April 21, 2013
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Quality entertainment movie!!

This is an adorable family fun entertainment cartoon movie, although the violence is kinda mildly disturbing for youngest of viewers, but still is an age-appropriate kid-and-adult movie.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 September 20, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

101 dalmations

Families can talk about the responsibilities of raising a pet. Do kids think they would be able to maintain enthusiasm for their pet? Would they be responsible for feeding, brushing, playing, and walking it? What kind of commitment is it to raise a pet, particularly a dog? What makes Cruella scary? Can you think of any other villians as scary as her? What similarities do all villains share?
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byMommyMovieReviews May 1, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Yes 101 times over!

This is one of the most charming Disney movies ever made! How wonderful is it that Perdita and Pongo would go SO far and do SO much to save not only their pups but a whole lot more! Cruella might scare really young children, and lets face it, she's pretty scary! But overall kids of all ages can enjoy this movie!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old June 10, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Amazing!!!!!

I think this movie is amazing!!!!! It was my fav film for 10 years!!!! Heart goes to 101 Dalmatians!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old August 23, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Bit scary but great!

Great disney classic that all our family watches, it is a bit scary when cruella devil wants to turn the puppies fur into coats but other than that a lovely family movie!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old July 24, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

sweet

very cute my bros are watching it over and over agian this very moment cruella devil is really funny
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old June 14, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byBestPicture1996 August 23, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Animated!

Nothing objectionale about this kiddie comedy that revolutionilzed popularity in dalmations. Love Cruella the most.
Parent of a 2 year old Written bySeven07 July 4, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

cute story

My younger brother loved it, but as far as the movies I allow my daughter to watch, I try to limit them to educational as much as possible.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byAshnak April 9, 2008
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Great Kids Movie

Pages