All member reviews for 16 Wishes

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Teen, 14 years old Written byjustindrewbieber1 February 27, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

anyone/family

i loved watching it but then again that's just me
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byFadmoo December 20, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Very nice and easy. good movie to review

It's nice and not too harsh. I actually didn't hear about it at all, but then read this review on Shvoong.com. try it, and try shvoong.com, they got EVERYTHING and if you write you earn money
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old March 20, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Don't watch unless you want to die of extreme boredom

The entire plot is dumb and it's not a single bit realistic. They want it to appeal to teens, but then they make stupid "jokes" and sound effects. Every time I watch a Disney movie, I forget what the word "joke" means.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written byMovieMagic22 April 12, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Good for the whole family!

I love this movie! It is not bad for children at all. There is a kiss at the end, and she is in a short dress when trying on dresses, but what is so bad about a peck on the lips and a dress? Oh, and in the beginning there is a pop star abby loves, but other than that. I think it has a positive message saying be careful what you wish for, and appreciate what you have! I definitely recommend it for kids 7+
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 8 year old Written bycrazysun71 July 26, 2010
Teen, 13 years old Written byAmericangirlforever August 23, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Good Life Lesson!

Like the title says it has a great Life lesson to teach. I Recommend it to you! The characters Rock! and it has a interesting plot to.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old July 27, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Good for Most Veiwers

After Abby Gets Her Candles for her 16 wishes that she made when she was about 8. She starts to blow most of them out. They did mostly good for her.But soon Abby gets to one that she never wanted. And It Obvilously didn't do good for her. Now she has to redo all of her wishes by midnight.then she realizes that her 16th wish is just a picture holding on by gum.She realizes that she can take the picture off and put on the very first picture at the beginning of the day But it is a minute to midnight so she blows out the last candle and it starts the hole day over. Good movie with positive messages that means popularity isn't everything. good movie for most veiwers.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 3 year old Written byxxmorganxx July 1, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

eh...

My 3 year old daughter loves all those disney shows. Hannah montana, suit life on deck, ect. So she really wanted to see this movie. Me and my boyfriend sat down to watch it with her and we were a little iffy on it. We enjoyed the actual movie but some of the things we tought her never to say "Shut-up" and "I hate you!" were used alot during this movie. I do believe that the whole message about be careful what you wish for and the things the grown ups do is a great message. My daughter LOVED this movie. All together i would buy it for her and watch it again.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old June 26, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Excellent Disney Channel Movie

Even though I am a 12 year old boy don't judge me because I like 16 Wishes. It's a great movie and if you think it's too sexy, there's not a lot of sexy stuff except the kisses at the beginning and end of the movie. There are good and bad messages and role models. But just watch the movie (when it comes out on DVD) to see what I mean.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old January 4, 2014
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Don't let your kids watch this if you want them to respect you.

this movie I gave a chance and it did not work. The character Abby shows all the good things about wishing your life away, teaching kids to talk back and act like a spoiled adult!
Kid, 9 years old September 7, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

:)

Nice. But immature.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old January 18, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

16 Wishes

Best movie from Disney. I've outgrown Disney, but I still watch this movie.
Teen, 16 years old Written bylovzhisdad November 5, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

doesn't air enough

Sure, there's some raw (mean, but not necessarily profane) language, but it's all outweighed by a longshot by the messages about where selfishness can get you, the characters learning to appreciate what they already have, even though it isn't something like "cute" clothes or popularity, and the theme of communication. the main character almost gets stuck a 22-year-old and stuck with a life that's nothing close to what she wanted when she's supposed to turn 17, then 18, then 19, then 20, then, 21 first. the movie makes it clear that the main character doesn't want that to happen, and then she barely gets out of it, offering kids a slightly exaggerated glimpse of a person's life after they spend it on themselves
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byLautnerFan October 7, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Cute

This movie is cute to watch if you don't have anything to do ;)
Kid, 11 years old June 29, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

hi

It contains a bullying theme and does contain some swearing (i.e. Stupid, Dumbie, Shut Up!) But, it has a positive message (but not very good role models!!)
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old February 10, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

16 Wishes

16 Wishes Is A Pretty Good Flick. You Can Watch It Starting From Like The Age Of 9,Then You Will Like It More. Everything Is Pretty Good In The Movie. Overall 16 Wishes Is A Nice Movie.
Kid, 10 years old January 15, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

:(

Terrible this is all Disney ever plays on Disney Channel
Kid, 12 years old January 11, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Disaportant!

Not good to me. Very disaportant. But then and again disney movies always disaportant me. It all started with High School Musical. ;)
Teen, 16 years old Written byshenna laica landero November 14, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

(^_^)

this.. movie is one of the best and i like.. it ... lots of children will learn to think cleverly cause if they dont all of what they have now will gone....
Adult Written byBeckstar October 31, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

fun!

Fun movie. Not exactly a great film. But I really liked it. The scene where they play the song where Debby Ryan sings "look around it's the dead of the night..." made me cry. I felt sorry for her. No sex or violence, I'd let a 9 year old watch it.

Pages