All member reviews for 27 Dresses

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Frothy wedding romcom is fun but filled with profanity.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 75 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bysamcousins April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Was hoping for more

It was ok. Didn't totally hold my attention. Was so hoping for more.
Teen, 13 years old Written byfroststar May 31, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

good!!but......

just lots of bad language and drinking!!!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old May 14, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The perfect chick-flick!

This is a movie worth watching 27 times! Awesome movie for girls and sleepover proof! Though a little parent guidance is needed.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byParamoreFan09 January 19, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Ehhhh...

If you are a mature 10 year old... you can handle it. "s***" is used and "f***" once but it blurs out before you hear anything bad... you only hear fu**"... it was a pretty painful movie to watch because all of the horrible things that happen to the main character... Its one of those movies MADE to torture the main character. The only part I liked was when she was trying on all of her bridesmaid dresses-- so fun and colorful! :)
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 13 and 15 year old Written byswtpeaami July 25, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
My daughter and I liked it. Typical sibling rivalry, loves lost, then new loves gained. Good chick flick. One "sex scene" didn't show anything embarrassing. Some language. Good message, blood is thicker than any problem. In the end, they're sisters and that is all that matters.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bySomebodysMe July 24, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Nothing New!

Doesn't it bug you when people say "on for 2" on a pg-13 movie? It's rated pg-13 for a reason! Anyhow, this movie was cute, but predictable! There were a couple innuendoes and uncomfortable, but nothing new for a romcom.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byBoiseNoise April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Offensive and Vapid

This sounded like the type of movie I would really enjoy, but it was a big disappointment! The offensive language and behavior was constant and distracting. Yes, there was a perpetual barrage of filthy words that I would rather not have to listen to at all, ever. Even worse, the leading man was prone to quoting scripture in a sarcastic way ("love is patient, love is kind, love is slowly going out of your mind"); and the leading lady at one point casually remarked, "I am Jesus." Talk about offensive!!! Behavior ranged from bad to worse: in just one example, the main character's BEST FRIEND slaps her in the face-- hard!-- as a "reality check," to which Jane meekly responds, "I deserved that." I got up and left before the end of the movie. There is no way I would take kids of any age to see this; it isn't even appropriate for thinking adults.
Kid, 11 years old January 15, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great Movie!

It is really a great movie. I suggest it for girls 10 and up. The only reasons it got it's pg 13 age rating is because it has mild language and the characters have a beer or two.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bybitesizemoviereview August 6, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Fun, lighthearted, some innuendo

This movie is so fun to watch! There is some language (no f-bombs, though). There are a few scenes of kissing, but the two are fully clothed and it's short. Probably what parents want to pay attention to is the sexual innuendo, mostly from minor characters. Otherwise, this movie is an enjoyable chick flick that can serve as a segue way for serious family talks about love and marriage.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bygabriella.aghazarian May 22, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

i think it should be for 13 year olds and up

i love it i have it on dvd its soo funny :L xx
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bybb20girl May 21, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Cute Movie for Teens

It is romantic and cute. It is definitely a good chick flick. There is a little bit of language, sexual content, and drinking but not much. It is an adorable movie though.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old May 8, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

not for tweens

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byAthena Keene May 6, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great For Young Adults Seeking a Movie About KNowing Who You Are. Family Values, and A Litlle Majic!

i loved this! Katherine Heigl brings her positive funny classy self into evry movie she starts in. i love her in this. after being a bridesmaid she finally gets her dream. (Great for youung adluts and mauture kids) adults of course get a kick out of this too
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byFancyChristine15 October 7, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

All teens and adults

I love this movie. It is really cute and fun. Some talk about sex but that isn't what the movie is focused on. It's just a nice romantic comedy.
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

One of My Favorite Movies Ever!!

I'm 11, and I think it was probably good for 11+. It had a lot of language, but nothing really bad. I think it was pretty predictable, but it had lots of twists. And James Marsden is delicious!! (lol)
Adult Written byschoonie April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

How not to be a brides maid

Remembe that no is a great anwser. Jane cannot say no and realizes tht her life is not hers. Nice to be helpful but you have to take care of yourself first.
Kid, 11 years old January 12, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Well executed

This movie is fantastic but there are strong scenes that contain sexual references and lots of passionate kissing, the characters mention inappropriate language, the plot may be a bit confusing for younger children, and some characters mention nudity and alcohol. But a fantastic movie otherwise. The movie is hilarious, warm, and this is a perfect chick flick and rom-com for a girls night or a sleepover!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byJflores14 January 2, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Silly and sentimental tale of love, humor, and relationships

This movie is a laugh-out-loud comedic love story and is perfect for tween romantics. There is some sexual content and a bit of salty language, but teens can handle it fine. CONTENT: Violence- two people are slapped and one girl starts to throw stuff at another. Some screaming Sex- some innuendo and a sexual humor. One girl is seen to be a slut and many jokes are made about it. Terms like "get laid" and "shag" are used. One girl is called a whore and it is said for laughs. one girl changes in the back of a car and the taxi driver looks and she says she is taking 20 dollars off her bill every time he looks. SHe starts out owing him 300 and ends up getting 190. she says "you know what you did". A couple has sex in a car, but nothing is seen. Some passionate kissing. A reference to electric boobs. Language- one hilarious use of motherf***er. 10 or more uses of sh*t, damn, ass, and hell. Occasional use of b*tch and whore. One girl calls a guy and asshole many times. Rude comments made. Drugs/drinking- one couple gets drunk MY RATING: PG-13/ for innuendo, sexual content, and brief strong language.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Written byAnonymous February 28, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

A favorite movie!

I love this movie! I love the characters and there are some great witty little remarks. I like that the characters continually make mistakes, it has a predictable storyline but those few twists and turns keep you captivated. Perfect chick-flick!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bywonder dove July 3, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Not bad...

The movie isn't great, but it's not bad either. Definitely watchable if you like chick flicks with happy endings. It's basically about a young woman named Jane who has a lot of friends and has been a bridesmaid way too many times. She's in love with her boss but when her happy-go-lucky sister Tess pops by for a visit and meets him, they are instantly attracted to each other, which of course breaks Jane's heart. She meets journalist Kevin who both get off on the wrong foot but after much hanging out, they end up together after discovering that her chances with her boss is out of the question because he's engaged to Tess and they're planning a wedding. Lots of ups and downs from there, the story ends happily. Language is not too bad, a few uses of sh*t and some other common words throughout. Sexual content includes a few scenes of making out, two people sleep together (off screen - nothing shown), a lot of flirting. Violence has some arguing and bickering, a woman slaps her best friend in the face really hard, a woman slaps a man. There is heavy drinking in one scene where two people get happily drunk. Okay for the mature 14+ crowd, no real role models or good messages in this one though!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages