All parent member reviews for 300

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 74 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bybellington April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byhossein_s April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byfaierymajina April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Grinned through the whole thing

This has to be one of the greatest movies I have seen in a very long time. It was non stop battle with great visual effects! I would definitely pay to see this again can't wait to own this one!
Adult Written bymagpye April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Walked out on this one

There really is a story behind the 300 who died at Thermopylae, I remember reading it as a kid. This, however, is like porn of the 1980s in that the story line exists only to give the sickening violence "socially redeeming value."
Adult Written bycortney20 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I was OFFENDED

I have never been so offended at a movie. The best part was when it ended. If you have an ounce of morality, chances are you will hate this movie. The violence, nudity, mysticism, and barbarism is offensive! I'm pregnant and even the baby was protesting the movie with violent kicks! If I had not been out with my husband's family, I would have left.
Adult Written bycappel April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Must See movie

If your looking for something that will make you feel pumped up when you leave the theater then this movie is for you! I have to say this was one of the best war type movies I've seen in a long time. Don't miss this film it "ROCKS"!
Adult Written bytn April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Reminiscent of Nazi propaganda

All of the bad guys are black or diseased or deformed. It is strongly suggested that they are decadent and perverse. They are intent on controlling the world. All of the good guys are white and healthy. In fact, they proudly practice eugenics to keep the race strong. A particularly disturbing thing about this movie is that many young people seeing it (as can be seen in blog comments) are under the impression that it is historically accurate. They don't seem to realize that the Persians are what we call Iranians today. This movie's appearance at this moment in history makes it an incitement to war against Iran.
Adult Written byeinaragnar April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byPATY April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

(I CRIED! I LAUGHED!)

THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES I HAVE SEEN IN YEARS...
Adult Written byjessie187 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

For kids who never want a good night sleep ever again!

My husband and I went to this film yesterday. We have been looking forward to it and had a sitter for our three kids. Just before it starts an 8 to 10 year old girl sat down directly behind us. This is not an appropriate film for this age. It is very violent has some sometimes disturbing and often graphic sexual content. I think that the director did not intend for children to see this. Aside from the sex and violence there are monsterous images and characters including a large tree comprised and naked dead women and children held together by spears and arrows and a wolf that is straight from a childs worst nightmare. that being said I want to make clear that I enjoy this film genre and loved "dawn of the dead" which was also by this director. I really liked this film but was distracted throughout by that thought of this little person behind me being subjected to images that there was no way she was ready for. Please think twice and then think again before taking anyone younger then thirteen to this film-twice for 13-16. Life is long and there is no reason to rush kids into images they are not ready for. So know your kid but don't subject them to this unless you are sure they are ready. Get a sitter and have a night out.
Adult Written byJon2010 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byportilloleopoldo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I laughed so much it is ridiculous

Parent Written bycolts02 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bySPART4N April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

SEE IT TODAY!

If you are in fact one of those people who love movies such as Gladiator and Braveheart, You should go and see this movie. Though the Story isn't as inspiring as Braveheart or Cunning as Gladiator, The special effects and action scenes far make up for it. The movie is simply stunning, I dont believe there will be any oscar nominations for acting but the movie is a Graphic gem. Im a pretty big movie buff and I will say that this is the first movie I've seen in a while that has truly caught my interest. 300 deffinetly has moved into my top 10 favorite movies!
Adult Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Best Movie I've ever seen

Amazing. That's the word for 300. The movie is based on the Spartan king defending his country ignorant of the politics. He takes his 300 best men out and find a strategic spot to fight the Persian army of hundreds of thousands. All in all, this is the best movie I've ever seen. Plan on watching it atleast one more time in theatres.
Adult Written bywoodcut April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

300 = Wasted Time

I'm an adult, and saw 300 on an IMAX big screen. $15. It was a waste of time & money. Very poor story line, and 70% of the film shows gory battle scenes, sometimes in "slow motion". Not for kids, and adults should skip this too.
Adult Written bytessbabyy4 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

gladiator who??

300!!! Is one of the best old school war movies since Gladiator. There was never a dull moment and it didnt play by the rules. The nudity was ehh kinda over the top, the amount of boobs flashed wasn't completly necessary but it's not like we haven't all seen it before. The ending was one of the best parts...now im on the edge of my seat for a sequal. whoo-hew!
Adult Written byLuke88 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

captivating!

Definately a cult film status -different in style and not in the typical movie stye-- like a comic book video game effect at times--stylish--sexy--captivatng-- Much better than many of the recent battle epic and ancient war films.
Adult Written bycleanocean April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Please don't take your 4 year old to this movie

My wife and I stumbled into this film and quickly noticed the theater was filled with young men/boys ages 16 - 20ish... This is one of the most violent movies I've seen in a long time. I agree it would mostly suitable for folks over 17, but what shocked me was as we were leaving we noticed two couples walking out with toddler, kids at the age of 3,4, 5 years old. As we were leaving we overheard a young girl (around 4yrs old) asking her Daddy a question about whether or not they were going to go back and save the hero and why he died, She seemed worried, distraught and traumitized by the impact of this film. This little girls worry broke my heart, having two young boys of my own, i couldn't fathom having to explain such complex graphic gore and violence to my young boys. Scenes of heads and limbs being chopped off, blood squirting everywhere, graphic sex scene.. this seemed borderline abusive for such a young mind. It really angered that the AMC Westgate Theatre in Glendale AZ would allow parents to drag their babies into this film. Call me niave, but I had no idea such a thing was possible.
Adult Written byg8r April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

(I freaking loved it.)

It was UNFORGETTABLE! An awesome story of an ancient battle. Yes there is violence and yes there is 2 scenes of a naked lady. Just cover your kids eyes. I reccomend it to any one who has the ability to breath and argue with me.

Pages