All member reviews for 300

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Bloody, fanboyish retelling of an ancient battle.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 194 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byhossein_s April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bySPARTAN301 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

THE BEST MOVIE I'VE EVER SEEN!!!!!!!!!!

I am a true Greek. With a lineage that dates back to the days of Troy and Thessa. I have seen some good Greek movies. And I have seen some crappy Greek movies. And I must say, that the 300 is the BEST movie I have ever seen. It makes William Wallace and Brave Heart look like Sesame Street. Not to take away anything from William Wallace at all. Much respect to him. 300 is much like any other uprising or rebellion movie. But the actual story and visuals are breath taking. I can't wait to buy this movie on DVD. I just came home from seeing it. I plan to see it again tomorrow night. 5 stars just aren't enough for this movie. Remember. Remember the 300!!!!!!!
Teen, 15 years old Written byWay2Dramatic April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Fun, but not cinematic gold

This movie is fun, but not the kind you remember, even at two hours in length. It was pretty violent, with many things shown in slow-mo,like decapitations with blood splattering. (Sounds gross? Then don't see the movie.) There is also some female nudity. Violence and female nudity-now you know this is a guy movie;even though I'm a girl and I liked the movie. This movie has potential but where it lacks is character development. All this is is a much of bloody battle scenes put together to form a mild plot. They could've really made you connect to them more and really feel for them when they died (I've you are reading this and wondering why I gave away the ending, did you not take high school history?), but at 2 hours in length, if anything else was added it would "not be over quickly and you will not enjoy it." Thought I'd add a witty comment. All in all, if you like comic book-excuse me,GRAPHIC NOVELS, you'll like this, but something with a plot would be better like The Matrix, or, one of the best adaptations ever, V for Vendetta.
Teen, 15 years old Written bygabrvar March 31, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Not that great

ok i just put it at 15 cuz thats when i saw it but it really depends on each kid. First of all, don't listen to some of the reviews that said this is historically accurate. I'm not saying it was supposed to be just saying it's not. I wasn't expecting it but this is almost more of a fantasy movie than historical fiction. There are these goblin like creatures and troll like things, kind of like Lord of the Rings. There's also graphic sex and nudity (breasts) and there's this random orgy scene with a bunch of mostly naked women who are kissing and what not. To make it more disturbing they begin to seduce one of those strange looking monsters. Obviously it's bloody but it's so unrealistic that it's just like whatever, in general i'd say it's not that good of a movie even though people will praise the animation(whatever)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byWr4ithSl4yer December 24, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Tonight We Dine, And Watch an amazing movie

This Movie is a great story of glory, and standing up for independence. The violence is very accurate, and the story is almost the same, being a history buff I have learned this story before and it is accurate. The sex is graphic, but with the queen, come on, it is his wife for crying out loud, at least its not a harlot. Then the rape and orgy, that was used to show the depravity of the Persians and followers. I think this movie should be appropriate for 13 year olds, but if your child is mature earlier you should let him see it Leonidas and the Spartans are very good role models in the movie and that's why I love it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written bymrwonka02 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bymagpye April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Walked out on this one

There really is a story behind the 300 who died at Thermopylae, I remember reading it as a kid. This, however, is like porn of the 1980s in that the story line exists only to give the sickening violence "socially redeeming value."
Adult Written bycappel April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Must See movie

If your looking for something that will make you feel pumped up when you leave the theater then this movie is for you! I have to say this was one of the best war type movies I've seen in a long time. Don't miss this film it "ROCKS"!
Adult Written bytommysportsgirl April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

NOT FOR KIDS!!!

Please don't take your kids to see this. Plenty of nudity, sex, violence beyond belief. It gave me shudders, and I'm 21 years old!!
Parent Written byconcernedparenzzz July 2, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Not for kids - but a good guy's movie

Not for kids under 18. That said, I thought it was fun. Sometimes a guy just wants to watch a testosterone laden film and suspend reality. Definitely a guy's movie. Not the quality of Braveheart or Gladiator, but if you don't go in expecting a deep plot, then you can enjoy it too. I really enjoyed it a lot!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byadfadfadfaagarea4t5r December 30, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Kiss kiss, good night, no nightmares

The best educational movie ever
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bydarthsitkur August 22, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

300 is incredible

this is the best war movie ever and i think it's better than glory, kingdom of heaven, the patriot, and braveheart, 300 has the craziest and most jaw dropping battle scenes you'll ever watch, i'm serious lol, and Gerard butler's performance as king Leonidas was amazing might I add
Parent Written byprn August 8, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Gratuitous nudity ruins this movie

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byEvan182 February 19, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

300

If you are easily offended by graphic violence or nudity. Well skip this one. I'm pretty sure parents are more concerned about the nudity so.... 300 shows naked breasts in around 4 scenes as far as I can remember. It also has a semi graphic sex scene. The violence is slow motion dismemberment and shows a few decapitations. Also you will almost constantly see blood. Great movie if you or your children can handle it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old October 1, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
This blood soaked superb blood bath is simply amazing. As the 300 spartans jump out onto the screen, they leave a gory path of devastation behind them. Nearly everything in this movie is CGI, even the Spartans nipples and hair apparently! Not for the kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byMoviefan101 September 13, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Violent, but Historical factor to Ancient Greece

300 is by far the best historical film i've seen in my life. It is about the historical battle of thermoapalye with the 300 spartans against a 1,000,000 persians. the violence for the most factor is the battles. Anyway someone can get killed they show it. Overall anybody who learned about this historical battle will like it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written bycopperzinc April 6, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written byGamePlayer12 March 21, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
WHAT?? 15 year olds shouldent watch this movie at all. Theres soo much blood and gore and legs and heads and arms ugh its crazy violence. Then you see a womens breast fully when shes having sex with the main character.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written byrickylaroca April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 17 years old Written byticatime242 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

NOT SOMETHING FOR KIDS!!!

i don't understand why some parents are letting their 12 year olds and even 4 year olds into these movies. kids do have eyes you know! although it has major violence and the sex is a bit much, it is just a movie. but it is not a movie that young children and even kids under 17 should see. and people wonder why kids are so violent.

Pages