All member reviews for 300

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Bloody, fanboyish retelling of an ancient battle.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 194 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byMovieCertificate November 2, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

15+

Three scenes depicting nudity, One sexual scene Graphic violence with the presence of blood. OVERALL - Only mature viewers 15 and above.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byevolinag August 26, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Epic adaption of an ancient battle is well made, but very gory.

"300" is a historical comic book adaption by Zack Snyder. ------------------------- At first, you need to know that "300" is no 100 percent historically accurate movie to watch in a history lesson. "300" is based on the comic book by Frank Miller, writer of the popular graphic novel series "Sin City". So if you're With the help of many, many popular YouTube videos, it became a cult movie - in only a very short period of time. Phrases like "This is Sparta!" or "Tonight we dine in hell!" became widely known quotations, and the infamous scene, in which Leonidas kicks a messenger into a large pit became an often recreated and referenced scene. It has dazzling special effects, a story of a king who would rather die than surrender and a lot of symbolicism, that will go beyond younger viewers heads, but will leave more mature ones astonished. Okay, of course it is packed with much violence and over-the-top stereotypes, but some of the greatest films in movie history are as well. "300" is an instant classic that has very few things to complain about, but many to acclaim. ------------------ However, "300" is very brutal, there are three decapitations, you always see the stump and little blood. An arm is severed (blood spurts from the arm - you never see the stump). In the battle sequences people are slit with swords, impaled by spears, have limbs cut off, etc. Some of these acts are in slow motion and have extreme blood spurtings. However, it is clearly visible that the blood is animated with CGI effects, and the violence is over-the-top. There is one sex scene and a breast is visible, but the scene is dark and romantic, not pornographic and not meant to arouse. The movie is suitable for viewers 15 and up for its violent content, that is strong but too over-the-top and choreographed to leave mature viewers disturbed.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byMicahBob July 22, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

very good movie

very good movie very violent but still an awesome movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byhenrydc July 17, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Misinformed Ultra-Violent Flick still Amuses

Alright, so I'm only 13, so most adults won't listen to me, but hear me out: My 18 year old cousin, his sister(14), my twin brother, and my older brother(15), were really bored and wanted to watch a movie. So we went to Kmart to get a good movie that we haven't seen. And I'm like, "300! My friends said this is a must see, plus Meet the Spartans was hilarious." So we bought 300 and came home to pop it in. Well, I guess it was good, but the sex was not needed. I mean, what was that with the boobs and stuff?! This movie isn't supposed to be some kind of porno... Even some of the violence shouldn't be there. Does it really have to zoom in and slow down on the guy pulling the sword out of his arm?! Anyway, I still enjoyed, as being a movie buff, and I love all the good quotes. Oh, and if you think this movie is historically accurate, you are wrong. My older brother loves history and was freaking out at some of the misinformed facts, like the battle was supposed to have 1,000, but they deserted until there was only 300. Anyway, yeah.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byLilWayneisawsome July 1, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

300

I liked the story but it was very gory and there was some sexual content this is one of my O.K. movies
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byj♥j♥f♥ March 8, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
My Ancient Cultures teacher made us watch this movie in class. Though he did cut out many of the parts, the entire movie was pretty gruesome. Basically, the point of the movie was to just kill everyone and it was nasty. Hello? It was rated R? Don't watch it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 9, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byBestPicture1996 December 16, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Stylish film, not historically accurate

As ironic as this sounds as parents/teachers usually tell kids not to watch violent films, my teacher told my class to watch this film if we could. Luckilly for me it was on TV the upcoming weekend, so I taped it. Most of my friends had already seen it and said it was very good, so I had high expectations. They were met! Very good film, extremely violent however. I learned about the Battle of Marathon and the 300 soldiers, and this film does not exactly do history justice, but it is ridiculously entertaining.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old August 26, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
great movie kinda violent as long as u skip the odd scens wich any 11 year old would its good for a 11 year old as long as their no really immature
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byCyonnara April 4, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Mid teens and up ONLY

Pretty boring I have to say was not as epic as the trailer made it seem, quite a bore so...beware
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byChambear February 22, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

A stylized blockbuster

This film starring Gerard Butler is a highly stylized, comic book style film. This film is about the famous Battle of Thermopylae, in which 300 Spartans battled hundreds of thousands of Persians. The movie is very stylized, and is like the violence of Gladiator, but not nearly as realistic. The movie also sports nude female breasts and a nude male rear end, for about only 1 minute total of the whole film. The movie is very slick and clean, especially on a Blu-Ray player, and is a perfect stylized battle hit for ages 14+!
Teen, 15 years old Written byEvan182 February 19, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

300

If you are easily offended by graphic violence or nudity. Well skip this one. I'm pretty sure parents are more concerned about the nudity so.... 300 shows naked breasts in around 4 scenes as far as I can remember. It also has a semi graphic sex scene. The violence is slow motion dismemberment and shows a few decapitations. Also you will almost constantly see blood. Great movie if you or your children can handle it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byzazmopepperz February 17, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
Really good film, loved it ever so much. The sex though is really explicit, I mean I usually see such scenes in 18+ movies (here in the UK its 15+). As for the violence its just over the top, which I think is good but others won't. Also all the asians in this movie are either freaks or monsters. I am asian but I didn't take offense to it (but my dad sure did lol). Anywho, a legend of a film but only for the maturest of teens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old January 30, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
I loved it , it was a good movie , the sex parts might be a bit of a problem though , but this is like a history movie , look real close to it to see a message , "NEVER GIVE UP!"
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 25, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
i love i like the violence it is a good good movie everything is wonderful in it it is awesome
Teen, 13 years old Written byEntropy January 19, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

300

This is an interesting interpretation of the 300 Spartans, although not entirely historically accurate. It is entertaining to watch, and has amazing fight sequences. This movie is a complete bloodbath, the entire second half of the movie is filled with non-stop bloody, gory, battles. Decapitations, impalement, etc... quite a bit of which is shown in slow-motion. Blood is literally everywhere, I cannot emphasize enough, how incredibly violent this film is. As for Sex, there are some very explicit scenes with that as well. Including a rather extended scene between King Leonidas and his wife. The "Oracle's" breasts are seen briefly. And there is a very disturbing scene in the Xerxes tent. It is pretty much an orgy filled with naked women kissing and having sex. Not much language in this film, so not too bad in that regard. All in all, this is an entertaining representation of a classic plot. Obviously, NOT FOR KIDS. It should be alright for most older teens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written by9001 December 23, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Adults Only

Extreme graphic violence and disturbing sexuality scenes are definitely not for kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old November 24, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

perfect gorey bloody movie your kids want!!

an amzing movie for teens not for me though!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byPenguinFan November 11, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Nice war movie if you're into spewing blood

This movie could have been really good if it hadn't been drowned in the bloodbath that it is. Battles take up almost the entire second half of the film and are all really blood including severed limbs, spewing blood and decapitations (although the fights themselves are very good). There is also a sex scene between Leonidus and the queen (although it's not very explict). The best part is when the Spartans make their last stand, as it is dramatic and exciting without being too gory.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byIronZombie75 November 4, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Good war movie for 14-15 and up

This movie is pretty good. I liked it. It does contain Graphic Bloody violence (animated, but still blood) and it also has a sex scene with nudity, as well as some other instances of nudity.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex

Pages