All member reviews for (500) Days of Summer

Common Sense Media says

Smart, fresh romcom is best for older teens.

Users say

(out of 62 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Adult Written byBeckstar October 31, 2011

not for kids

NOT FOR KIDS. Sexual themes are pretty strong (they watch a porn film and have sex in the shower though they don't show them doing it) Also, they yell out "PENIS!" or something like that very loudly in a park. Also some vulgar language. For over 15 year olds I think
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 4, 6, 9, 13, 15, and 16 year old Written bymama fischer May 7, 2010

good dose of truth about relationships.

I like the realism & perspective that a movie like this gives to teenagers who are often so dramatic about their relationships. The need to stay open to life's possibilities is a clear message.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 6 and 11 year old Written bymgpezz September 5, 2009
There is some bad language but the message is a good one, about love and when expectations don't meet rality
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written by4Spice October 24, 2009

okay good points for teens 11 and over

the truth is this is one of those movies that are kind of boring if you want any action has some good points. the movie was okay very little sex 11 and over
Adult Written bymiam1 May 18, 2015
LOVED THE FILM IT WAS FUNNY
Parent of a 10 and 16 year old Written byreekev August 16, 2009

Love this movie!

I personally loved this movie. I think that it portrays an honest look at love and relationships, and how it doesn't always turn out the way we think it will in the beginning.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Adult Written bypeppermintqueen November 22, 2009

Fine for teens

A realistic movie about romance. There is a bit of language and sexual references/promiscuity (among adults). But it has good messages - male and female characters aren't stereotyped, characters learn that love sometimes doesn't work out.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Parent of a 12, 15, and 17 year old Written bykrpogs January 15, 2010

bad examples of young "adult" behavior

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 9 and 15 year old Written byleah.k March 20, 2010

Will watch again

Quirky movie, good acting, great sound track
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bygabbygirlcuccaro July 1, 2010

cute movie.

If you like love stories this is the movie for you.It was cute but not to sappy.The ending was very cute. I recommend it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bymovie fan man's dad March 12, 2014

a true love story

kids will think it is nasty but you will love it
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bychangster.eminem February 8, 2010

Good One Time Movie

It was one of those movies where you watch it, say it was good, and then forget you ever watched it.
Parent of a 16 and 16 year old Written bybuttercreampillow August 8, 2009

Loved it!

A very cute and sweet movie about love, with a romantic, fresh male character and a quirky girl who isn't sure that she ever wants to be part of a couple.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 9 and 12 year old Written byManila Mom March 29, 2010
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 2 year old Written byAimeePiexx February 13, 2010

not bad at all except some kissing and a shower moment

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 12 year old Written bydarah_11100 July 29, 2009
Great movie. I am a pretty strict parent and I would recommend this movie to any 12 year old. I do think though, that for young boys 13 or 14 would be a more appropriate age. Anyhow, wonderful drama. 12 year old loved it. I saw it days later and didn't regret a thing. The only thing that concerned me was violence but on a scale of 1-10, it would be a 4.5 in my opinion.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 15 year old Written byrj2112 March 27, 2010

17 and older movie

Did not feel comfortable watching this with my 15 year old. This is certainly not a movie that portrays how I would want her to act and the sex and talk is why too loose.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 7 year old Written byMaxmum August 31, 2009

Sunny with some clouds - a charming, realistic fable for older teens.

This is a charming story about the complexities of love.... Ideally it is 'on' for older teens, who can understand those sorts of complexities! It doesn't idealize love, which is what makes it ultimately positive in message - it's realistic, yet hopeful. Believable characters, and some clever flourishes, sets this apart from typical rom-coms. See my review on YouTube: "Gab reviews 500 Days of Summer"!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Adult Written bywonder dove April 16, 2013

Teens will enjoy 14+

I didn't really care too much for this one, however I think most teens will enjoy it due to the romance theme it offers and the quirkiness of the characters. It tries to be different, but I felt that it was a little boring and predictable. Just another boy loves girl who doesn't love him back kind of deal. The main character gets his feelings hurt quite often. His constant obsession with Summer gets annoying and her leading him on too many times for fun also gets annoying. I would rate this three stars because it's not bad and I admire Joseph Gordon Levitt! Language has quite a few insulting words including an "f" word. Violence isn't too bad with a fist punch at a bar, lots of jealousy and arguing. Sexual content is very frequent but mainly all talk, discussions and jokes including a game where you yell out the word "p*nis" multiple times in public. Also for implied sex in a shower (nothing shown), porn is watched in a movie (nothing shown), some kissing and laying in bed together. There is drinking with people who get tipsy at a bar. I would say it's alright for a 14+ crowd.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byMature-teen September 10, 2010

Watch it if you want an indie comedy with a bittersweet ending...

This is not a love story so if you have movies that don't have perfect mushy endings don't watch it. It's fabulous with amazing music and fantastic acting.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages