All member reviews for (500) Days of Summer

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 42 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byaka Tinkerbell September 16, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
It is not a love story but it is a story of love. Some people may find it boring and some may find it romantic. I personally found it really funny and romantic but I have to come up and admit that the ending is a bit disappointing.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old June 17, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

(500) days of summer

the best romantic comedy of all time. and possibly my favorite movie of all time.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bySakrr27498 July 28, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

One of the best movies ever I CRIED

It's great best romantic drama/comedy ever! Unpredictable, amazing story, ordinary, skipping it, love the similarities/differences between Summer and Autumn. A bit unreal differences but really liked. It shows us that future is unpredictable but great. And that there is soul mate, and that your life is great even after break up because you and he/she got new expirinces. There were some scenes when they were drunk, some sexual content scenes and bad language. And i liked that kid is telling him advices also chemistry between Zoey and Jospeh is great.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old August 19, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

amazing and fun!!

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byrave day November 3, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

(500) Days Of Summer

Sex 5/10 Violence 2/10 Language 2/10
Teen, 14 years old Written bysimonakg August 14, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Funny love story... I mean, story about love

This is one of my favourite movies. It's not legendary, but it's just so entertaining and cosy, I could watch it so many times. What I remember of the "inappropriate" must be when the main character (been too long since I watched the movie now - I don't remember the names!) suspects that Summer had sex in the weekend. Also, they borrow a porn movie, but you can't see anything. And there's a shower sex scene, but it doesn't show anything either. At some point of the film Summer shouts penis in the middle of a park a couple of times. In my opinion, appropriate for anyone who is 11 or older.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byJflores14 May 21, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Fun and odd Romidy falls short with bad ending

Fun and entertaining. Some teens may find it boring. Lots of funny and nerdy humor(some quite rude and sexual) Violence: 4/10- a fistfight Sex: 8/10- lots of innuendo(oral sex), adult video stores, a shower sex scene, couple shown waking in bed, the bare back of a woman in bed Profanity: 6/10- one obvious and humorous use of f**k. Man uses of s**t, b***h, and b***ard. Lots of sex talk and jokes throughout
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old May 15, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

I would recommend this movie to a person who likes chick flicks and would like to have a little cry

What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byMarta BC February 6, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Pretty great! The most realistic love story ever.

This movie is great for mature tweens and teens, especially in the sense of preparing them for the real world, without the fantasy "true love always works out" theme. However, it doesn't show it in a harsh way, making it an educational, worth-it movie. One scene that is slightly sexual.....
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written bycinnagurl February 6, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

awesome

JGL is amazing! i love this movie! its sweet and funny too
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old December 7, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

500 days of summer

this is a very true story. It involes love that is really and shows there is not only lover love but love of friends. In the begging Summer doesn't belive in love and Tom the main charecter belives in fate and solemates. there is some sex themes and content. They talk about there actions and although there is no nudity this is not paticulary meant for kids. This story is very true to life in both the ups and downs and every time you see it you get something out of it weather it's the message about love, fate, and friendship or a good laugh. This movie is slightly bittersweet but it is excellently made and a perfect comedy/drama that is a family fun for both genders
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byTHE BR ACT August 18, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

The most honest rom-com

This teaches kids about love with it's ups and downs. I think all should see it for it's good acting great story and rocking soundtrack/
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byStevie111 August 10, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Very funny romance has sexual humor not for young kids

Teens should be fine and enjoy this crude, funny romance. There is some sexual content and dialog, as well as swearing throughout, but if you have mature kid, it should be fine.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byOwlCityFan July 26, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Iffy movie, yet refreshing underlying themes

This was an interesting movie...There was a lot of language and plenty of sexual references, and those types of things always ruffle my feathers, but the over all theme and story was new and unique. I definitely think it is a film for mature viewers, and although some of the elements of the movie I didn't appreciate, it's slightly more realistic approach of how life isn't always a fairy tale (yet never devoid of it's joys) is a unique quality. I would just be cautious in presenting it due to it's more loose views of sex, which I do not agree with.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written by4evaYoung March 4, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

500

This movie is soooo amazing. It made me cry and laugh , its just a mixer of feelings throughout the movie its self.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byshanno15 November 20, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

the perfect mixture of comedy, love, and drama

This movie is phenomenal. I watched it with my mother and she adored it too, the movie is not just about a couples relationship but what one can learn from a breakup. The message of the movie shines throughout it
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bybooklover27 October 22, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Bittersweet story of love

This movie is sweet, sad, and slightly humorous. It has a great message at the end that there is life after love :)
Teen, 14 years old Written byTheSocialNetwork October 11, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

I give this movie 5/5 stars. Brilliant.

This movie was fantastic! I absolutely loved it. On for teens.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old October 5, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

500 days of watching this movie

I love this movie soooooo much. Not the best ending but such a awsome movie.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byEricCarrRulez October 2, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

This movie's great! :D

I loved it. :) Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Zooey Deschanel are superb!

Pages