All member reviews for A Christmas Carol (1984)

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parent of a 2, 5, and 9 year old Written byAuntieMom December 28, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Absolutely love this movie!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Educator Written byOhBrother December 24, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great Movie!

Great movie, we have watched it every year since I was a little kid. I am 20 now and still enjoy watching this every Christmas Eve with my family. There is one curse word used about sixteen minutes into the movie. Not bad for an 80s movie. Jacob Marley is awesome.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 7 years old December 4, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

9

Only watch this if your 9 or older because its a little confusing and scary
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old December 23, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Not Scary, but boring

hated this movie, had 2 watch it in school... i watched the first 45 minutes... my teacher turned it off because nobody wanted to watch it.
Kid, 10 years old November 8, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Good movie for older kids

I love this movie and so does my sister. When I first Saw "a Christmas carol" I got really scared of Jacob Marley, so I think if you are under the age of 9 you should not watch it. Now that I am 10 years old I am not scared anymore. ALERT: this movie will give you very happy dreams about rainbows!
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old January 28, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 
boring...........
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old January 17, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
hate it not a good movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old January 14, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
it is nice but some parts are dirty and scary
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old January 7, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

good for family

i liked this movie but it was not the best movie i have seen
Kid, 9 years old January 3, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

a christmas carol

its about a grumpy old man called mr scrooge that has a dream about ghosts that teach him to be nice and caeing.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old December 31, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

BETTER THEN DISNEYS

Wow this is alot better then disneys i do respect disneys movies but there version was plain creepy,anyway this version is alot better and done well plus it has people in it not CG charcters but this great,i think this well based on the book. and fine for 7+
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old December 16, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Just Like the Original Book!

I think it really captures the Dickens tale. The Ghost of Christmas Yet to Come and the ghost of Marley are very creepy, but the movie is not scary and sends a good message about Christmas being friendly, generous, and cheerful.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models