All member reviews for A Good Day to Die Hard

Adult Written byMATUREKIDS February 16, 2013
 

Good movie

Their are some swearwords.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byironkid21 February 16, 2013
 

explosive fifth entry in Bruce Willis action franchise definitely isn't as great as the first, isn't really true "Die Hard", and a lot of it makes no sense but as a standalone turn off your brain action flick...awesome!!!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bymovie loving teen February 15, 2013
 

Its not the best in the series but hey its enjoyable.

This could have been PG-13 but I'm glad it was R because they get to say the trademark line. This R but not a hard R it relativily borderline PG-13. Dont trust the website on this one, they say its not appropriate for kids that are 14. I'm 14 and I've seen alot wore then this. No to how good it was, i liked i think its pretty underated actually.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byFILMCRITIC500 October 18, 2013
 

second best in series is mildly bloody and very entertaining.

a massive, super-explosive entry in the popular Die Hard series is the second best film is the franchise, falling close behind Live Free or Die Hard. anyway, this movie delivers the goods, and by goods I mean giant explosions and huge gun battles. and although the violence isn't all that bloody, some of the amped-up mayhem may be too intense for younger action junkies. throughout the movie, many people are shot, blown up, beaten, crushed, and even shredded in helicopter blades. there are explosions, car crashes, mild blood sprays, and scene where John pulls shrapnel out of Jack (nothing is shown). the language is strong, with uses of the F word and S word constantly.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byPoundtho June 5, 2013
 

Nothing like the original.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 10 year old Written byBruinsmama February 25, 2013
 

a DIE HARD family

My Husband & I love DIE HARD and showed our son the first one this past Christmas on DVD. Our son is 10. He loves videogames and understands the difference between"cartoon" violence and "six o'clock news" violence.. We took our son to see this DIE HARD on Opening Weekend. It was our son's first Rated R movie(in the theater). We enjoyed it as a family becasue we take it for what it is: a good old shoot em up action film. It has no social redeeming value, excpet for perhaps the side storyline of the father/Son bond being healed. I know it is not for everyone, but you can call us a DIE HARD family!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old August 29, 2013
 

MPAA and critics are Super WRONG

Why is everyone hating this film. Can't anyone just say yes to Bruce Willis. MPAA is so dumb to rate this R because it isn't a true R like Olympus Has Fallen. It deserved a PG-13. Live free or Die hard was more violent then this. Parents, do NOT listen to MPAA or Critics because it was an epic thrill ride. I put a thing down about what families should know because I had to. A Good Day to Die Hard was an easy PG-13.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old May 17, 2013
 

It's alright. Although, you need to be mature.

In USA the film should be rated a PG- 13 for strong language, moderate violence, threat and brief nudity. Every scene involves guns or explosions. Although, it is about a father and son getting to know each other well. That's the positive message. Sex And Nudity: A woman strips and we see her in a bra. Only for 4-8 seconds. Violence: Many people are shot. Some people are killed during the car chase. A man is shot we see a little bit of blood. And others are stabbed and shot at the end. Language: The f- word is used three times. Threat: Two men jump out of a high window. Cars are set on fire. A man jumps out of a helicopter.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old April 3, 2013
 

Great

I saw this movie in the cinema with friends it was really good i don't know why a lot of people hated it i thought it was Awesome it is iffy for 7 to 9 on for 9 to 10 I loved it a bit violent and a bit of swear words including 16 uses of f**k several uses of s***t to but overall awesome
Teen, 16 years old Written byOfficial Critic February 25, 2013
 

A Good Day to Die Hard Review

For all its mayhem, for all the smashing windows and kabooming fireballs, the grenade launchers and giant helicopters, A Good Day to Die Hard not only fails to top its predecessors, it also forgets the basic Die Hard rules.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byShivom Oza February 18, 2013
 

A Good Day To Die Hard (2013) Review by Shivom Oza - A Bad Film For 'Die Hard'

In the fifth installment of the 'Die Hard' film series, 'A Good Day To Die Hard', Bruce Willis is back as John McClane. This time the American cop travels to Russia to help his son Jack McClane crack down a terrorist plot. Although the action pieces are well-conceived, shot and executed, the story just doesn't make the cut. Back up the ordinary plot with below-the-par dialogues and performances, and the end result is a disappointing film. Die Hard 5 lets the 'Die Hard' title down, big time. While Die Hard 4/ 'Live Free Or Die Hard' had Officer John McClane (Bruce Willis) rescuing his daughter, this one involves his estranged son Jack McClane (Jai Courtney). Jack has been staying in Russia as a spy working for the CIA. He has been working to prevent a major terror plot. Also, he is supposed to protect the Russian political prisoner Yuri Kumarov (Sebastian Koch), whose life is threatened by Viktor Chagarin (Sergei Koleshnikov), a corrupt, influential Russian official and Alik (Radivoje Bukvić), who is presumably a gang-lord. John learns about the impending danger to his son's life and he sets off for Russia. Over there, the father-son duo comes face-to-face with all these troublemakers. What follows are numerous gun-shots, car crashes, explosions among other novel action sequences. The plot is a let-down. The story was equally implausible in the fourth film and one realizes leaps of faith need to be taken into consideration for such big-ticket actioners, but Die Hard 5 is just not gripping enough. The only bright spots in the film are the wonderful action pieces and some witty banter between Willis and Courtney. Most dialogues focus on Willis' age, baldness, gumption etc. At other times, he is taking jibes at his son. You may welcome a few scenes with a reluctant guffaw, but it doesn't take too long for the proceedings to become outright boring. Director John Moore has made a good action-scene catalog. Feature film, not quite! This film should disappoint 'Die Hard' loyalists as well! Shivom Oza
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byfonzieg April 3, 2015
 

Wow, even Bruce Willis couldn't save this huge let down!

Wow, do you even know how bad this atrocity is? The chemistry between John and his son is atrocious, the action scenes are bland and boring, and the villain sucks! Die Hard is known for having really cool villains, but this installment does not have that! Just skip this movie, don't even acknowledge this as a part of the franchise!
Kid, 11 years old February 11, 2015
 

A Good Day To Die Hard

The Film Follows John Mclane to Moscow It's Fun In Parts But it's quite boring a car chase goes on for 15 minutes the key issues are language (f**k) and moments of action violence and shootings but it's very over the top and unrealistic however it should be okay for older teens. There's also a scene showing drinking and there's infrequent mild innuendo.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Written byAnonymous October 10, 2014
 

A Good Day to Die Hard review

========================================================= Sex/Nudity: Irina begins to peel off her motorcycle jumpsuit and begins to reveal her bra. (Interestingly, in the trailers and at least one commercial, we see the suit come off and a lot more skin, but that shot is not in the film). A loud nightclub features numerous scantily clad women. Some might be prostitutes. At least one appears only in a bra and panties. Some are shown embracing male club goers. John says Moscow traffic "sucks," and his Russian cab driver mistakes the word for "sex" and asks if he would like to be driven to where he can get some. One of Komarov's mercenaries is very muscular and appears late in the film shirtless as weapons are being loaded onto a large chopper. Yuri is shown shirtless getting a massage. 3/10. ========================================================= Violence: The film opens with a black screen and the sound of very loud gunshots and explosions going off. Jack walks into a crowded nightclub, pulls out a handgun, and shoots a man named Anton dead. Jack is then tackled hard to the ground by security. John shoots at a target in a police firing range. Alik detonates multiple car bombs outside of a courthouse with men loyal to him and Yuri still in them. The explosions rip through the building's walls and kill many inside. Jack and Komarov are protected inside sealed glass defendant cages and are able to escape the building. Numerous gunmen swarm the courthouse looking for Komarov. One uniformed man still alive from the blast but struggling for medical attention is shot dead by Alik. In the aftermath of the courthouse bombing, Irina shoots a dying man dead. Komarov and Jack escape the courthouse together and a massive vehicle chase ensues. Jack and Komarov steal a service vehicle, while John steals a flatbed truck. Alik and several mercenaries give chase in a large, multi-wheeled military vehicle that they slam through traffic, thrashing numerous vehicles stuck in gridlock traffic or that are simply parked. It is unclear how many drivers are injured or even killed when their vehicles are slammed into. No actual deaths are depicted, but the crashes are violent and often spectacular. It should be noted that no bystanders on foot are hit. When the three vehicles get into a section of the city with more fluid traffic, numerous innocent drivers are rammed into and get into additional accidents. At one point, Alik orders an RPG rocket be fired at John, who has been ramming his vehicle from behind. John, though, is able to execute a fancy driving maneuver and dodges the rocket which explodes into another vehicle, surely killing anyone who was inside. John's vehicle, though, careens out of control and crashes. Soon after, John is hit by a car and rolls hard for several feet along the pavement. He is then screamed at by the driver, who John promptly punches hard. John eventually drives off a bridge overpass and maneuvers atop several 18-wheeler trucks and random cars until he is back on pavement. He then rams the large vehicle that Alik and his cohorts have been chasing and ramming Jack in and forces it to slam into a concrete highway divider. This causes Alik's truck to careen out of control and off another overpass, into traffic, causing a really huge pileup. Alik gets out of his vehicle and shoots a police officer. He then shoots at McClane who stands over him on a freeway overpass. At a safe house, Jack's CIA contact Collins is suddenly shot dead in the head and Komarov is shot in the arm. The house is then lit up with bullets by attacking gunmen. John defends the surviving two by firing a large assault rifle and killing numerous hooded assailants. Alik hits both a kneeling Jack and John with the butt of his rifle. He then punches and kicks Jack multiple times and hits John, too. Jack manages to use his hidden switchblade to cut through his ropes, letting John see that he is about to be freed. Before Alik and his men can shoot them dead, they spring into action using a variety of quick, fancy fight moves to overpower a couple of henchmen, seize their guns, shoot several bad guys, and punch and generally brutalize others. Eventually, the henchmen's larger numbers cause the McClanes to retreat and take cover behind a bar. Alik and his men fire multiple shots, destroying bottles of alcohol and taking large chunks out of the bar. The McClanes eventually shoot back and kill everyone but Alik who is able to escape to a waiting chopper with Irina and a now-captive Komarov. The attack chopper takes off, circles around, and glides back towards the hotel. It begins to fire gigantic rounds of ammunition into the rooftop hotel ballroom where John and Jack still are. The McClanes dodge the bullets and jump out a window. Scaffolding that has been attached to the facade of the building breaks their fall, even though they plunge several stories. The chopper continues to track their movement, firing the whole way. John and Jack then jump down the makeshift tubing that construction crews have erected to toss their trash from up high to the ground. John and Jack are able to slow their descent to the point where they don't die when they land hard on the ground below. SPOILER ALERT: Komarov and Irina reveal their true nature when, out of the blue, she allows him to shoot Alik in the head. Out of spite, Komarov then continues to shoot Alik's corpse multiple times with glee. John and Jack shoot two guards dead as they gain access into the Chernobyl facility. John and Jack sneak up behind two other masked guards and beat them unconscious with the butts of their rifles. Yuri is strangled to death while Komarov listens to his struggle over the phone with much delight. We hear the snap of his neck. After figuring out that Komarov has been playing him, Jack punches him hard in the face. Jack and John get into a tense shootout with Irina and a shirtless henchman. Irina flees. The McClanes, meanwhile, pull the pin on an explosive, attach it to a forklift, and send it the henchman's way. It explodes once it gets near him, killing him instantly but igniting a large fire that almost consumes both McClanes. Onboard Irina's helicopter, McClane shoots one guard in the foot, then in the head. SPOILER ALERT: Jack is shot in the chest by Komarov on the roof of the Chernobyl facility, but he is wearing a bulletproof vest. Irina sees Jack on the roof and starts firing multiple bullets from her chopper's big guns. To save his son, John attaches a chain to a truck in the back of the large helicopter and drives it out the back of the chopper. The truck hangs suspended in mid-air from the aircraft, causing the helicopter to tilt in the air. Jack takes the opportunity to grab and manhandle Komarov. He then throws him off the roof of the building and into the chopper's blades, obliterating him. SPOILER ALERT: Consumed with revenge, Irina is able to pilot the chopper so that it bangs John's truck into the side of the building. John is thrown from the vehicle, crashes through a window, and lands hard inside the building. Irina chooses to ram the building with her chopper. Jack and John jump out of the building just before she crashes and the two land safely in a pool of ground-floor rainwater. The chopper explodes, killing Irina and another mercenary. 8.5/10. ========================================================= Blood/Gore: Jack shoots a man named Anton in the chest, and we see blood spurt from the man's wound. Numerous bloodied and dead bodies are shown in the aftermath of a courthouse bombing. At least two people are shot dead by Yuri's mercenaries in the wake of the bombing, each time very quick blood sprays are briefly visible. Jack has bloody knuckles in the aftermath of the courthouse bombing. Komarov is slightly bloodied. John bleeds from the face and head after crashing his vehicle during a huge chase sequence. Alik's face is bloodied after crashing his vehicle. Komarov is shot in the arm at the safe house, and we see a brief blood spray. Collins is shot and we see a large blood spray and head wound explode. Blood is shown trickling down Jack's head after the safe house attack. Jack tends to Komarov's gunshot wound to the arm. We don't see the wound, but see the blood permeating his shirt. Jack's mouth is bloodied after he is beaten by Alik. Jack bleeds profusely from both nostrils as he takes cover behind a bar during a shootout with Alik's men. During a shootout in an empty hotel ballroom, several of Alik's mercenary gunmen are shot by the McClanes. The scene is somewhat dark, but we see a few, very brief blood sprays. As John and Jack eventually flee the room as it is being shot up, they run past a few corpses. Alik's face is very bloody when he boards a helicopter after his shootout with the McClanes. After escaping an assault by a helicopter, an extremely bloodied Jack and John hole up in a nearby building. John bleeds a lot from a wound on top of his bald head, and the blood trickles all the way down his face and neck. Jack has a large bolt or screw lodged in his abdomen, which John pulls out. Some blood is visible. Jack, John, and Alik bear the facial wounds from their tussle for the rest of the film. John's white T-shirt is quite bloody near the end of the film as he races to climb aboard Irina's helicopter before it takes off. On board Irina's helicopter, McClane shoots one guard in the foot, then in the head. Brief blood sprays are seen in both instances. SPOILER ALERT: Jack takes the opportunity to grab and manhandle Komarov. He then throws him off the roof of the building and into a chopper's blades, obliterating him. 8/10. ========================================================= Profanity: At least 17 "f" words (2 used with the prefix "mother"), 16 "s" words, 2 asses (1 used with "hole"), 2 damns, 2 hells, 1 crap, and 3 uses each of "G-damn" and "Jesus" and 1 use each of "Oh my God," "Oh my Jesus," and "Swear to God" as exclamations. 6.5/10. ========================================================= Alcohol/Drugs: Yuri is shown drinking from a glass of what appears to be whiskey or some other spirit. Many people are shown drinking inside a noisy nightclub where Jack has come to kill a man. Numerous bottles of liquor, wine, and other spirits are shown behind a bar in an empty hotel ballroom. When Jack and John duck behind the bar to avoid getting shot, many of these bottles are shown getting shot up. John asks Jack how long it's been since he had a tetanus shot after pulling a large bolt or screw out of his abdomen. 3/10. ========================================================= Smoking: A Russian police interrogator smokes as he questions Jack. 1/10. ========================================================= A Good Day to Die Hard, in my opinion, is the worst movie in the Die Hard series. While it does have some cool action sequences, it just isn't as good as the title says it is. I give it 4/10. =========================================================
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old October 8, 2014
 

a good day to die hard

i love it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old August 29, 2014
 

A Good Day to Die Hard

A Good Day to Die Hard is a great action film!Bruce Willis is great as John Mclane and Jai Courtney scores as Mr Mclane's son. The violence is moderate, containing car and helicopter crashes,punching and quite allot of shooting but luckily there is no blood sprayed when characters are shot and there is no stabbing. The language is also moderate, there are infrequent use of the F word and moderate use of the S word.If you are an action fan, then this is for you,I love this film.I recommend that on average, no one under the age of 12 should see this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bygranth July 1, 2014
 

Yippy ki yay mother russia

A good day to die hard wasn't as good a day as we all thought/hoped it would be just as much cussing as the rest and just as much action
Teen, 15 years old Written byMr Blonde January 28, 2014
Kid, 11 years old July 23, 2013
 

New die hard doesn't live up to reputation

I honestly expected better but it's not bad and it is violent but as bad as other movies.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byCWG1 July 3, 2013
 

die hard is going to die hard..

I watched this last night with my friends and I have to say I was quite bored with it. Also this seemed like one of the tamest die hard's there is except for the original version of live free, but that ones unrated was about as bad as this. The violence was pretty mild, the reason for the R rating was for the language which was a lot less than number one had. My nine year old sister could handle this, but she feel asleep so it wasn't really worth it. Pretty mild but not a good movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages