All teen and kid member reviews for A Wrinkle in Time

Kid, 12 years old October 21, 2011
 

Not the same...

I wrote down a list of all the differences and similarities... I found over 20 differences and only 3 similarities. What is with the happy medium? LOL... it's a man/lady!!!! BTW if you look in the background of the Murray house, you can see a U2 poster. This is just before Mrs. Whatsit shows up on the TV (which freaked me out LOL).
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old January 10, 2013
 

An OK Movie That's Not Nearly as Good as the Book

If you haven't read the book you'll think it's really confusing. Read the book first. There isn't much violence, but it might be too scary for kids under 8. The characters are good role models, and it has positive messages. One thing I don't understand is why a man played the happy medium, whose supposed to be a woman.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byLindsayphoto February 13, 2010
 

A Wrinkle in Time

I love the book so when I saw this movie at the library, I just had to get it. All of my sisters and brothers watched this with me and no one like it really, not even me. We all thought that it was kind of dumb and that they should have gotten different people to play in this movie.
Kid, 11 years old November 7, 2009
 

Watched it in class after we read the book. Eh..

I had to read the book for school, and then we watched a part of this movie in class when we were done. OK, i just have one question for you: WHY IS THE HAPPY MEDIUM A MAN-LADY?!!? ARE YOU TRYING TO SCARE SMALL CHILDREN? And my other concern is, when Mrs. Whatsit was talking to them through the TV, I it scared the heck outta me and all my 11 and 12 year old classmates! That was the scariest part of what we got to watch! I saw poltergeist, so i was like, OH MY GOSH THE GHOSTS CAME BACK!!! haha! it's an OK movie, for 11 and up. and explain to your kids that the happy medium is really just a funny looking ladya and shes just messin around! if you don't you will have to have an awkward talk......
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byBookReviewU8 April 9, 2008
 

More Comments from Kids, Ages 8-12

The movie mostly stuck to the story. It is a bit too scary for small kids. It had good special effects. --Alec I really liked the movie. It was really cool. Also it was scary. --Zach It was really great! Just a little too scary. Really good special effects too! --Lena I liked the different worlds and the illusions. --Skylar I loved this more because of how realistic it was. Even though it was fantasy, it seemed real. --Simone
Kid, 12 years old March 29, 2012
 

Okay, but to Sci-Fi

The movie is okay, but comes across much more science fiction-y than the book.
Kid, 11 years old May 5, 2011
 

hate it

I am reading the book it is so boring it makes no sense its so stupid!
Kid, 11 years old October 13, 2010
 
just a litle better the book but steal really god
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old March 15, 2010
 

perfect for kids 8 and older spme 7 year olds too

this movie is one of my favorites though at times when the kids travel to the planet camalot it can be depressing like gray walls and no motion. Calvin is locked up. The darknesss may disturb some kids when they are travling through time the witches turn into spirts. The rest has a very strong message about who you are and you can do anything and love is always the key to things. Kids ages 7 up shoudl see this movie and if your kids are not disturbed by such dark and spirttual stuff it is i grat movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byBook Review U. April 9, 2008
 

Comments from Kids, Ages 8-12

We screened the movie for a group of children in third through sixth grades. Here are some of their comments. Faith to story -- 4 of 5 Plot -- 5 of 5 Overall -- 5 of 5 A very good movie. I have seen a lot of time travel movies, and this is the best. -- Max Very exciting and the time warp was really cool. It was a great movie and I would advise you to watch it. --Ryan It was good, and pretty close to the book, but I thought Mrs. Which was supposed to be kind of old, and when she was first shown I got confused. Otherwise it was a really good movie. -- Lisel This movie was one of the most stellar best movies I've seen in years. It had unexplainable imagination compounded with a wonderful world of imagination and wonder. Praise to the makers -- they really overdid themselves. People who like Harry Potter will really like this movie. A Matrix for young adults. The series of Merlin, Harry Potter, and the Chronicles of Narnia. A wonderful story for the family. --Chris
Teen, 13 years old Written byBookReviewU4 April 9, 2008
 

More Comments from Kids, Ages 8-12

It stuck to the book well. The tesseract was a little too long and the animation seemed like it needed another stage of editing, coloring, and texture. The casting was very good. Some of the movie was out of order, like scene A was with Mrs. Who and it was after Charles got zapped (example). I really liked it. Scale from 1-10: 7 1/2. -- Allison Ultra amazing effects, very suspenseful plot. Otherwise an ordinary movie. --Devon I liked the movie because the plot was very well developed. I also thought the graphics were excellent, for example whenever the witches appeared or disappeared. My favorite thing was that I loved that early on in the movie you realized that you could never trust whether the scene was a dream, an illusion, or the real thing. --Colton
Teen, 13 years old Written byBookReviewU10 April 9, 2008
 

More Comments from Kids, Ages 8-12

Very much like the book. Slightly predictable, but otherwise a job well done. --Maddy I think the whole entire thing was great. Some of it was a bit scary. --Philip It kept to the story well. They left out a pretty exciting part, but other than that it was very faithful to the book. Excellent. --Kate It was great! Very good special effects and so-so acting. There was not a perfect ending, which I liked. --Savi
Teen, 13 years old Written byBookReviewU9 April 9, 2008
 

More Comments from Kids, Ages 8-12

I thought it was a movie that really moved you, and yet it was exciting. It was intense but funny. One of the best movies I have seen in awhile. --Jordan It was ok. I thought the book was better, but they did a good job, considering what they had to work with. I also thought they rushed the ending. --Cy Very very good graphics for the first 45 minutes. --Elliot I loved it. It really pulled you in and had a lot of detail. --Kyra I thought it was a very good movie and I enjoyed watching it. --Sydney
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
 

I love it

I Love this movie I give it 7 stars