All member reviews for About a Boy

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Grant grows a heart in Hornby-book pic; teens+.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 15 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bythewittyman27 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

hilarious

ive seen this movie so many times and it is hilarious every time!!!
Teen, 14 years old Written byHappilyEverAfter April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

It was touching...

I liked this movie because it was neat how a man who had such a different perspective in the beginning of the movie than he did when it ended. I was surprised at how much courage the little boy had when he got up on stage and basically surrendered his diginity by singing his mom's favorite song at the school concert because he wanted to make his mom happy. A great family movie even though the language is strong for a PG13 movie.
Adult Written byRachel D April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Boring and not inspirational

I really don't even remember this very well, it was that good (sarcasm!). I remember thinking the adults were all portrayed as selfish and irresponsible and it was trying to be cute and touching but doesn't make the mark.
Educator Written bySaskiwi January 20, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Great message for kids in that "dorky" title character doesn't conform to peer pressure, despite bullying - carries on being a dork and proud of it! Have watched it several times and always enjoy the performances by Grant, Hoult and Collette.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written bytaina1 October 16, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

I thought the movie was funny, but much different than what is written in the book. I was expecting to see more of the book in the movie, but that was not the case. I did like the ending in the movie more than I liked the ending in the book.

Be aware that there are sexual contents in this movie.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byJadenp February 7, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
It was very good, however there is lots of strong language throughout. There are actually 3 F-words, not two like the review says. One of them is a little bit hard to hear, but spottable. The other two are very clear. Also, throughout there are many "bugger"s, "sh--"s, d-mn, h-ll, "bloody" (which in england is a strong profanity), and many other swear words.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bymoviemadness July 4, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Sweet Family Movie

Known in my family as "Love Actually Lite" this film has all of the great elements of the aforementioned with much less objectionable content. It's a great stand-in for younger teens, but no less fun for people of all ages. About a Boy is just fantastic! The plot is sweet, quirky, and definitely "feel good." Perfect holiday film. As far as objectionable content goes, there is very little iffy stuff. There is an upsetting subplot involving depression and suicide, some raunchy moments, and lots of deceit and manipulation. There are clear consequences for wrong actions, lessons learned, and a feel-good ending, making About a Boy a win for teens and their families.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 9 years old April 2, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

About A Boy

Rated PG-13 For Brief Strong Language And Some Thematic Elements
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byeteichert April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A perfect Comedy/Drama! A Triumph!

This movie, though containing strong language and mild sexual references, is a movie everyone (And I mean EVERYONE) should see at some point in their lives! ABOUT A BOY is a charming, funny film that can teach even the most mature of us a valuable lesson: Youre never too old to grow up.
Adult Written bylaughingbear. August 30, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 2 year old Written byAimeePiexx February 13, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

funny as

great movie ... love it
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old June 9, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Kid, 10 years old January 13, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

About a boy

Very sweet comedy about friendship.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byswagshyguy15 December 22, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great Film

This film is pretty good. It has a bittersweet ending and doesn't flinch in the intensity of bullying and also the value of honesty. The story is original, and very well-executed.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byNarwhalLover13 October 12, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Ina-pro-pro

Very inappropriate for kids
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking