All member reviews for Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Teen, 14 years old Written byBetsey J. June 21, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Violence

It was way too violent. I went to see it with a few friends. We walked out 15 minutes into the movie. The raters got a little sloppy it should have definitely been rated R. In one scene there are dead bodies hanging from the celling, bloody with their eyes poked out. I am encouraging you not to see it. It seemed like a movie good for men the ages of 17-45. Hope this helps
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bytoxicmotherbomber June 22, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

good for 12 and older.

some swearing not that bad same with sexual content . and oveously violence only one really gory scene where a guy gets shot in the eye with a bullet. not even scary i thinks for parents its okay your son or daughter if they're 12 or older.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byStevie111 June 22, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Good Vampire Movie has a decent amount of violence

I thought there would be more violence and gore, although there was a lot of it. Very brief sexuality and nudity, Barely anything. Fine for older teens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byTheTruthForYouIdoits June 23, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Good Movie for Teens

I for one am a history buff, and a teenager. I really liked the movie and I loved that they tied in things that could be recognized in history, however warped they were to fit the movie. It had a few scary moments but not much that would give you nightmares and it fit the atmosphere of the movie quite well. The ending was fairly good though not mind-blowing. All in all it was a satisfying movie if what you went to see was vampires being scary, not romantic and historical figures being uncharacteristically impressive at fighting said vampires.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bydavyborn June 27, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Silly but fun action movies has buckets of blood and gore.

Timur Bekmambetov's (Wanted) latest slow-mo fest of a shoot-em-up action movie, Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter, is a movie of almost screamingly obvious silliness and abundant ridiculousness and borderline stupid reenactments of famous historical moments, but, that is not what this film is about. It is not really about all of the iconic historical moments and monuments that the great president Lincoln had a large hand in, no, it is about a fictional little crevice in his life where, for a small period of which, he proceeded to hunt and kill vampires. Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter is about as ludicrous and dumb as summer action movies get, but what makes it a good movie is that it does several things right. For one, and probably most importantly to people who are expecting a rip-roaring action movie, well, it most certainly does deliver on that level. Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter has plenty of supernatural violence,. blood and special effects to spare, but, most surprisingly, it also actually has a heart, a conscience and a touching narrative into the actual part of the life of Abraham Lincoln, and with his troubles within just being a normal person who just happened to become the president of the United States-and secretly murder vampires. But, considering that this film is, in fact Rated R, there are several very big things that every parent show know about before they even think about allowing there children to watch this film, so, without further ado, shall we?; Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter has almost a non-stop array of strong violence and gore, with gallons upon gallons of spurting, spraying and splattering blood abounding during action sequences, and with moments such as smaller scale vampire attacks giving off plenty of grisly injuries and wounds, including a very large amount of vampire decapitations scene throughout the film. Also, there is also some sexual content, including a very brief but very graphic sex scene near the beginning of the film, complete with plenty of moaning and screaming, and with the mans bare chest and the woman's bare back, buttocks and legs on display throughout the brief scene. And, finally, there is moderate but relatively mild profanity, especially for a Rated Rated movie, but it does include at least 1 F-word, and several other sues each other, sh-t, g-dd-mn, wh-re, pr-ck, b-lls, d-mn, b-tch and more. So, Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter is most certainly not a very artful film, but for what it is, and considering that is is right near the beginning of the part of the summer movie season where all of the very big movies are coming about right about now, it does what it is supposed to do, which is, of course, entertain, and, it does this very well, indeed. Recommended.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byredcandi June 24, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

nudity is uncalled for

I do not have kids, but I do want to hold Hollywood to a standard, no nudity (porn) is really important to me as a young woman myself, I want to be respected by the people making the film. THIS ONE MISSED THE MARK, near the beginning, random topless women.. I am now trying to contact the maker to let them know I am really disappointed and will not give them my money.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bycerealkiller189 June 30, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

History repeats itself.

Ok,I haven't been on CSM for a long time now,so please excuse any errors.Parents need to know that this new horror flick to hit theatres is very violent and bloody.Theres lots of decapitations and gore in the second half(a vampires head even gets cut in half) to let you know.I'd say that this and Exit Humanity:A Zombie Saga were the best horror films of the year(Don't mean to overrate this,though,everyone has their own opinion) so if you are a teen and want to enjoy a bloody fun flick,watch this.If you are a tween and can't stand politically incorrect facts and copious amounts of blood and gore,this is not for you.
Teen, 13 years old Written byVenusGlow555 June 26, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Okay Okay Give It A Chance...

Violence, bare chest exposure, sexual situations, foul language! You can take a 13 year old to go with an adult, but if 14 or 15 they can go with a group of friends!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old June 22, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Awesome movie and book

I would love to see the movie I'm reading the book and so far one mention about sexuality, they said A*$hole,Sh*t, and one middle finger so far , their is a lot of blood and violence. This movie is rated R for violence throughout and brief sexuality
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byNukeNerd June 30, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Think before you talk people.

Com'on people,sure this movie has foul languages,but really.You know how teens are they love actions with a bit of violence and honesly language,because they WANT to be entertained.THIS MOVIE SHOULD BE RATED 13 OR OLDER ONLY!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byMovied14 August 8, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Abe Lincoln: Vampire Slayer (2012)

Very underwhelming thriller is mediocre and boring at times.
Teen, 13 years old Written byconcernedteen123 July 4, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Enter With LOW Expectations... Just Enjoy

This was better than I expected. Go in with low expectations. You will like it more. Abe Lincoln is a role model because of his hunger and passion for vengeance. However, there is a bunch of 300 like violence in 3D, a topless dead woman, a brief, loud sex scene-nothing shown-and drinking.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byFILMCRITIC500 July 4, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

epic take on equally epic novel has lots of gore and violence

this is a very well made, exciting, and at sometimes campy adventure. but note that there is lots violence ranging from bloody hackings, slashings, shootings, stabbings, explosions, gunfights, decapitation, and a harrowing train crash sequence. there is some sex, including a short, non-graphic scene of a couple having sex. mixed in with that, is some strong language, including one f*** and a few s***
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byTheBespectacledNerd November 19, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Got my sister to ask questions

I saw this movie with my sister (17 years old), so keep in mind that this review is not based on any experience watching this movie with young children. I had thought that Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter was going to be some forgettable comedy that solely revolved around the title as a joke. Luckily, I was dead wrong. It's actually kind of refreshing to see a movie that takes such an absurd concept and plays it so seriously. My little sister, who saw the movie with me, didn't really want to go, but actually wound up liking it. I'm a huge history nerd, and she doesn't know much about history, and after (and sometimes during) the movie, she would ask me questions like "So what's the real story behind [insert scene or line of dialogue here]?" This movie actually got her to seek out knowledge of American history, and any movie that can do that gains more than a few points in my book. And what's more, after some quick Civil War history lessons, some of the stuff I've tried to teach her about race relations and institutionalized racism started to click for her (she'd never really understood or seemed to care before). All in all, as a movie-lover, history nerd, vampire fan, and older sister, I give this movie a solid 4 stars.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byKAL57 November 8, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Thumbs down

To much viscous fighting and violence for young children. Heads being chopped off and lots of stabbing and blood. One scene shows a dead woman's breast exposed. Movie could have been made without that scene, but that's Hollywood for you. Some cussing and the F word used. I would not take my children to see this movie. I prefer to not patronize these type of movies for myself, but was with someone else when it was shown. Wouldn't pay to see it.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written byShivom Oza August 25, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The Film Makes Vampires Look Dull - Shivom Oza

A young Abraham Lincoln (Lux Haney-Jardine) witnesses his mother being killed by a vampire, Jack Barts (Marton Csokas). Considering himself to be guilty for his mother’s death Abraham vouches to take revenge. A decade later, he (Benjamin Walker as Abraham Lincoln) tries to eliminate Barts, but in vain. An acquaintance Henry Sturges (Dominic Cooper), who is a vampire himself, teaches him ways in which he can fight and kill vampires. However, Henry makes it clear to Abe (short for Abraham) that he will only kill vampires on his orders. Abe moves to Springfield where he is on the job in the days and on the hunt during the nights. The store owner Joshua Speed (Jimmi Simpson) helps him out in getting accommodation and work and goes on to play an instrumental role in his growth as a politician. He also meets Mary Todd (Mary Elizabeth Winstead), his eventual wife, as well as reunites with his childhood friend Will Johnson (Anthony Mackie). Once he plans to move on to the worldly ways, he vows to not ever get pulled into the world of vampires again. However, having made enemies in vampires such as Adam (Rufus Sewell), Vadoma (Erin Wasson) along with their entire troupe, Mr President Abraham has to return back to his vampire-slaying old-self to save his country. Performances were decent. Benjamin Walker shows his mettle as a fine actor; however it gets too annoying after a while. He puts in an intense performance in the first half. However, it does dwindle a bit towards the end. Dominic Cooper’s role is one-dimensional, leaving the ‘The Devil’s Double’ star with nothing much to do in the film. The villainous vampires (Marton Csokas, Rufus Sewell and Erin Wasson) too, fail to have any sort of impact. The women in the film are almost lampposts. Mary Elizabeth Winstead, who plays Lincoln’s wife, could have done so much more with her character. The performances were impressive; however they are terribly let down by the disappointing writing. Based on the 2010 novel of the same name by Seth Grahame-Smith (writer of ‘Dark Shadows’), the film is directed by Timur Bekmambetov (directed the Angeline Jolie starrer ‘Wanted’). Seth Graheme-Smith, who also wrote Tim Burton’s ‘Dark Shadows’, fails to derive the greatness of Lincoln. He even does grave injustice to the genre of vampire films. The concept was indeed, very innovative. To amalgamate a historic figure with a surrealistically-conceived plot was always a risky one. There were a few moments in the film (for instance, Abe learning the art of slaying vampires, his battle with his mother’s murderer Barts with a backdrop of innumerable horses galloping at a thunderbolt speed, the speeches made by Abraham during the political rallies). However, the sad part is that they are too few and far in between. The background music of the film (Original Music by Henry Jackman) was brilliant. In films such as this one, sound along with visuals plays a big role in capturing the attention of the audience (notwithstanding the thoughtless idea), and Jackman does deliver. The CGI (computer-generated imagery) was breath-taking and even the 3D effects were passable (better in comparison in some of the recent fare that is being meted out). Director Timur Bekmambetov fails to capture either of the two worlds effectively. Honestly, like one shouldn’t tamper with the classics, even historic figures should be left untouched. Abraham Lincoln is too iconic a figure to be caricaturized in such an absurd manner. The screenplay of the film was bizarre. The events that unfold towards the end could have been better placed in order to end the film on a high. However, looks like the makers wanted to leave no stone unturned to accomplish this kamikaze. They shouldn’t have made this film at all. Neither does it contribute greatly in terms of storytelling nor does it boast of out-of-the-world visuals. The story does great disservice to the great man that was Abraham Lincoln. Shivom Oza
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bydarkknightrises232 July 14, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

It's really good and high quality, but innapropiate.

The mvoie revolves around vampire violence and has salty language, sexual content, and alcohal.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old October 26, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

WARNING, DONT WATCH!!!!

too bloddy,violent,and inapropreate. this shows the dark and evil side of one of our most kindest and friendlyest persident! i dont reccomend this for thoose under 18. this is more bloddy and violent then the walking dead seires. if you show a younger kids, they will have nightmares for weeks to come.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bySecretMeVladimir July 16, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Vampire movie like this need to be rated as good

I like this movie, it's awesome!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of an infant, 13, and 16 year old Written byParentReviewer August 9, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Everything is good except the action parts.

This movie was not good like I was hoping. It wasn't even "mindless fun" because the best scene is in the Red Band trailer and the only action scene besides that is the train scene which is bloodless and boring. The acting was very good and the violence really isn't that bad. I'd say 2/5 instead of 4/5. There is a little bit of sexual content such as nudity for about 5 seconds and a man and woman are in a bathtub together. Overall, this movie is okay for kids but it's not a very good movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages