All member reviews for Ace Ventura: Pet Detective

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Adult Written bygreen_goblin November 7, 2008
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

So funny

I don't think it's OK for kids at all.
Parent Written bytennessegirl14 November 27, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Funny Hahahah

I Liked this movie a whole lot! Idk why its gettin such bad reviews!! this is a classic Jim Carrey movie(and i Luvs him so maby that's y) with crude humor yes but still funny! I think they drop the f bomb a few times but but besides that i believe this is an all around FUNNY movie! A must watch for Carrey fans!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written bydavyborn September 22, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Unfunny, vastly overrated comedy is nothing but stupid, soulless stand up acts in motion

I'm sorry. I' really, really am. It's just that, I honestly didn't find this movie to be funny, at all. I can take stupid pointless gross-out humor like this, but to me, everything in this movie just completely fell flat. And,it's not that I hate Jim Carrey, because I don't. In fact,I really like the guy and think that he is very funny in most of his movies, and I do understand fully that this was his first big break in the movie business and that this movie is well liked and has a large comedy fan base, and has even become something of a cult classic over the years. Anyway, though, I also found that the crude and sexual humor was very strong for a PG-13 Rated movie, including a oral sex joke, a very loud and comical sex scene, a prolonged shot of Carrey's bare buttocks, some comical violence involving animals, and some strong profanity. Overall, it just was funny for me. Sorry, all.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bycarolbee1@comca... September 10, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
I watched this with my 10 year old son, and I should have turned it off. Instead we fast-forwarded through all the inappropriate scenes. I did not expect the explicit, sexually inappropriate humor in a PG-13 movie. Sorry, call me a prude, but even for teenagers it's just not appropriate. There is one scene where Jim Carrie and Courtney Cox are having rambunctious sex under the covers. There is no skin, but that does not matter (!), the scene is sooo explicit. There is also a scene where a woman asks Ace if she can reward him by pulling down his pants, and she does! I thought this movie should have been rated R.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written bytommysportsgirl April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Really stupid

i only watched this because my friend wanted to. I am very sorry i did. There is nothing of value here. It's not even funny!
Parent of a 3, 5, 7, and 9 year old Written byTasbronia April 16, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Disgusting...don't be fooled this is not a kids movie!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byMovieLover4Lyfe June 1, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Crude, rude, gross and inappropriate.Ace Ventura shouldn't be viewed by children younger than 14 or 15. A friend recommended that I watch this movie and said 'I would love it!' Well, I didn't, I was sorely disappointed.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byfatcatmikez April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

OK

This movie should be rated R. It has constant sex and mild profanity. There is also some violence in a suicide and shootings. It's also not that good of a movie.
Adult Written byWeron May 22, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Very beautiful comedy film..

I think that is a very beautiful comedy film from legend jim carrey except some scenes there are not for children...
Educator Written bycaffinegirl85 February 4, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

so funny!!! ''Yes Satan"?

very very funny the beginnig when he delivers the broken package lol and the landlord ''Yes Satan"? lol and the famous line " do not go in there whoo"! very very funny Jim Carry is the best!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byChristian Baughman August 25, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

A good family movie!!!!

What I think about the movie is. It was an other good Jim Carry movie. The movie did have some sexual stuff in it but not much as u think. The Language didn't have much in it. What it is it's a good family movie to watch together. to me I think Jim Carry is a good role models.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Parent Written by4stewarts July 31, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old May 16, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great.

OMG it is hilarious. this is the funniest thing i have ever seen!!!!! end is a little bit inappropiate but other than that it is drop dead funny.
Adult Written byG3 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byjjj@aim.com April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 7 and 10 year old Written byCaerleon March 26, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Don't do it!

It's just not a good movie. The language was pretty appalling - and we watch Mel Brooks movies. The sexual content was way more explicate than I had expected. And Carey's over-acting is just painful to watch. Really wish we had looked at the reviews here first. Definitely regret having watched this one!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old March 22, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Jim Carrey's hilarious

I thought this was a hilarious funny rolling out of my seat movie even though others thought it was gross.
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy brew September 7, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Feel good detective comedy has potty humor but laughs

My rating:PG for mild crude humor and language
Parent Written byDuncanDerund August 24, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great Movie

Crude humor. Great movie 10+. There is some mild cursing.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byhomealonefan123 April 28, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Classic Jim Carrey is goofy, funny and again, a classic!

Parents need to know that this 90's comedy is a hilarious gem, but little kids will not get the gross out humor and stuff that is inappropriate for them. There is plenty of comic slapstick violence. There is sex jokes and other inappropriate humor. There is some brief nudity (one scene where a man's butt is clearly seen). Plus there is some mild language (sh-t and other profanities are used).

Pages