Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Find entertainment that fits your kid's interests and your parenting style.

Go to For Your Family

Parent reviews for Airplane!

Common Sense says

Rapid-fire spoof with sexual jokes and cartoon violence.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 13+
Based on 37 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 98 reviews
Parent of a 11 year old Written bysomewhatdiligent July 16, 2019

It has not aged well.

I'm no prude. I'm generally fine with nudity (we all have bodies, yeah?) and mild violence, but not so much with depictions of pornography. Things that might have been funny in the 70s are now cringe-worthy and definitely not something I want my kid watching. So in this movie you have very lowbrow, slapstick jokes that you might need to be younger to appreciate, yet the setting is really quite adult. I don't see this movie working for a broad audience tbh.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byOfficer_gogo F. April 25, 2018

Needs to be rated higher

It's a really funny movie, but it's far too sexually explicit to be rated PG. Shows bare breasts and has lots of blunt sexual humor. Do not watch with young children.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent Written byMoviecriticdude101 January 22, 2018

hahahahahhaaahahhhaahahahahahahahahahahhaaahahahahahahaahahh

hahahahaahahahhaahhahahahaahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaahahhaahahahahhaahhah



my rating PG-13
grade A+

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Language
Adult Written byNintendofan124 September 7, 2019
Adult Written byVault-Tec September 2, 2019

LMAO HILARIOUS

I was laughing so hard at the inflatable auto pilot scene but there is some brief nudity.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bygreenskin May 27, 2019
Easy classic.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Parent of a 15 year old Written bysmithjeff11 May 10, 2019

A comedy classic

It’s been a while since I watched this movie, but quoting lines like “And don’t call me Shirley” in front of my 11, 11, and 14 year olds pushed them to talk me into a screening it at Family Movie Night. To my delight, they loved it, either laughing hysterically, awkwardly, or throwing pillows at me because of the bad puns. I did have to keep explaining to them that it’s like a cartoon... it’s all setups to another joke! Sometimes the jokes crash but often they fly, making it a joy to watch. Yes, there are a few scenes that are a little risqué, and I cringed during the automatic pilot scene, but my kids were crying with laughter. We all should relax, I think, and recognize the difference between slapstick comedy... and harmful violence. This one is a harmless classic.
Adult Written byozgothic April 7, 2019

Don't freak out about sexuality

I see a lot of parents commenting how the PG rating on this movie should be changed and that it's not for kids because there's too much sexual comedy in it. I'm sure these people are the same sort who would say Marvel movies are okay for kids under 10. The fact is, there are lots of sexual jokes, yes. There are bare breasts, yes. Most of the jokes will go over kids' heads and I'd rather my kid sees a set of breasts for 3 seconds than watching people getting machine-gunned or blown up for hours. As a society we have our priorities back to front. We think violence is okay for our kids to watch but god forbid we show them the human body! Puritanical nonsense! No wonder the world is so screwed up with wars and hate. Your reactions say more about your immaturity than your child's maturity level. The fact is this film is just a big silly laugh for anyone over 12 years old and if you raise your kids right you won't have to experience awkward moments when they see a pair of breasts.
Adult Written byVohaul February 16, 2019

Great movie, but should be rated R

Excellent humor, but due to some sexual moments it should've been rated R.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byGurtrude_The_Cool January 22, 2019

It’s ok but it’s PG rating isn’t accurate

I’m not a fan of comedy so I wasn’t dying of laughing. It shouldn’t be rated PG. yes I know they didn’t have PG13 but they should change the rating. Some things aren’t appropriate for young children.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Written byAnonymous August 18, 2018

Good Movie

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 10 and 11 year old Written bymaddox121 February 5, 2016

Come on it was made before PG-13 *This is not a review*

It was made in 1980, 4 years before PG-13 was invented.
Adult Written byUnknown Agent November 17, 2015

Good

Good movie has Some brief nudity, Sexual innuendo.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byMatt B. October 22, 2015

Very funny movie but definiately above the PG level.

This movie should be Rated PG-13 for sexual references, language and brief nudity. A woman's breasts are briefly shown shaking on the airplane. There are sexual references.
Adult Written byAidan S. August 7, 2015
Some references and a naked lady plus language
Adult Written byfonzieg March 30, 2015

A true comedy classic, it's pure 100% hilarity!

Are the comedies of today starting to get fresh out of laughs? Well, why not travel back to the 80's and experience the comedy masterpiece known as Airplane! It's laughs at every corner, twist and turn! It's also a comedy that gets funnier every time you watch it! Parents must be aware though, it's rated PG, a rating aimed at families, just tell them that this is probably not the best family movie!
Parent Written byricardohb April 27, 2014

Really good, but inappropriate for children 12-

Its a hilarious movie! I love it! However, breasts are shown on screen for about 5 seconds for no reason and a woman snorts cocaine. There are many sexual jokes that don't have to do with the story, its a ridiculous movie. However its still awesome!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bycmads August 22, 2013

Should not be PG with nudity! Old Rating System from the 70's!

I am beyond disappointed with the rating on this movie. While I find this movie to be very entertaining, I would not allow my children to watch it! I was shocked recently while watching it with my husband, that there was a scene with a woman who was naked from the waist up, who ran directly in front of the camera, jumped up and down for 3 seconds, and then ran off screen during a chaotic scene in the movie. It is not "brief nudity" as listed in the film's description. There are MANY sexual situations and innuendos in the movie, as well as smoking, drinking, etc. This movie should have been rated R with the nudity. If the nudity had been removed, by today's standards, it would absolutely have been rated PG-13. I am also confused by Common Sense putting this movie on the initial search screen as Age 11, but when you come to the detailed description, it shows kids putting it at Age 12, and adults putting it at Age 13. Parents~ Please do not allow your children to watch this movie! There are SO many other comic movie choices that are more appropriate, until they are mature enough to handle this subject matter.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byLSU Mom June 4, 2013

Rare Exception to the Rules

I had been looking for a while for this movie to rent specifically because I wanted my fifteen year-old son to see it for the humor. I had forgotten about the "old" system of rating and that it was actually a PG, but had mentally ranked it as an "R" -- albeit an acceptable one for mid-teens -- from recalling certain parts. There are definitely some sexual and drug components that should be closely considered, but for me, the movie was a watershed moment in comedy that any lover of movies should see. My son loved Airplane -- bare breasts and drug use weren't what impacted him, but scenes like referring to the airplane as a "giant Tylenol" and the literal gags like "Don't call me Shirley" and reporters taking pictures off the walls after saying "OK, let's take some pictures" were what resonated. He remarked afterward that he could see the precursor humor for "Scream" (which he has only seen heavily edited on TV), and the Wayans brothers, which told me that it was more of a film history lesson for him, just as I had hoped. Some parts are dated and lost on newer generations; otherwise, Airplane is a funny movie that is one of the rare exceptions to the nudity/language/drug use acceptable limits for our family. Older fourteen and up is an OK, in my opinion.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byTimTheTVGuy October 20, 2012

Wow!

One of the best movies ever! It was funny,cool,and awesome! You gotta see the ending! Trust me!

Pages