All member reviews for Alien Resurrection

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Grotesque carnage, vile characters; steer clear.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 24 reviews)
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 13 year old Written byabrahm January 31, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byfonzieg April 3, 2015
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

A gory, sloppy mess of a sequel, not worth your time and money!

Terrible characters, terrible dialogue, and so-so special effects! Wow, there is almost nothing good in this atrocity! At least Alien3 was actually good (in my opinion), but not great! This movie is the complete opposite of good! The best part of this movie is Ripley and Brad Dourif's character, and some of the action sequences, but that's it! Skip this sequel, watch the first 3 movies, they are much better than this one!
Kid, 10 years old May 22, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

IN SPACE NO ONE CAN HEAR YOU YAWN

good but doesn't work as a Alien movie, extremely bloody violence, and lots of language, keeps kids away.
Teen, 16 years old Written byevolinag December 20, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Terrible fourth installment is ultraviolent, grizzly.

"Alien Resurrectrion" is a 1997 sequel to the 1979 science fiction movie "Alien". ------------------------------ "Oh God, what happened to the Alien saga?" is a question you are not unlikely going to hear yourself asking after watching this movie. While the first two were excellent and the third one rather good, "Alien Resurrection" has lost its soul. There are no emotions any more, no subtle, frightning athmosphere, no small girl to be prevented from harm. It doesn't take long in order to realise in which direction this movie goes: in that of a slasher flick. In its entire running time, it is about Aliens killing people. And that's it. The characters lost its depth, and the athmosphere is not subtle or something, but instead tries to show how much violence you can show in about 110 minutes. Even though they are both excellent actresses, neither Sigourney Weaver nor Winona Ryder help this movie. They have talent, but not the chance to show it. It is hard to believe that the director of this movie later will make the French masterpiece "Amelié". But quite possibly, you shouldn't blame him, but instead the writer of this movie, for focusing too much on the splatter-like violence, but lacks plot. If you liked the first three Alien movies, you shouldn't expect much. It is nothing more than a horror flick - but in the end even fails at being any scary. ----------------------------- (SPOILERS may follow:) Like the third one and unlike the first two movies, "Alien Resurrection" has a lot of violence. It is actually stronger than its preceeder, but the violence is also more over-the-top, more ridiculous. A man partly freezes and when trying to move, his arm breaks off (it is shown, but does not look too graphic). A man gets bitten in the back of his head off-screen, and then pulls a piece of his brains out of the wound - very graphic and gory. An alien bursts out of a man's chest and through the head of a man in front of him (brief, but gory). An alien hybrid bites into a man's head, and there is much, much gore and brains, with a graphic wound (this is the most graphic scene of the movie). An alien hybrid crushes a man's head on-screen, but it is really brief. We then see the bloody remainings of the alien hybrid's hands. The alien hybrid gets torn out of the spaceship, but gets disintegrated. We see blood and flesh being sucked into space. At one point, the alien hybrid's stomach bursts open and we see its guts. Many people are killed by the aliens in other, less graphic ways. Aliens are killed with acid blood spurting. The violence is strong and grizzly, but can be considered too over-the-top to be disturbing or scary. There are about 30 uses of the f-word. Brief nudity when we see nude clones in tubes. nothing strong. Mature viewers should be able to handle it. Recommended for viewers 15 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bySomeoneYouDon'tKnow October 21, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

How the mighty have fallen

Apparently, Alien3 was meant to be the last of the Alien films, and it turned out to be my favorite out of the original quadrilogy. But, of course, everyone hated it, to the extent that the studios were pressured into making another one to try to end the series on a stronger note. Now, what's your definition of "strong"? A painfully dumb action movie featuring heroes with "strong" muscles, or an intelligent movie with a "strong" story? I don't know what they were going for, but this movie is most definitely the latter, and beyond. I mean, really? Is this even an Alien film? I guess a lot of people hated Alien3 because it was too nihilistic, whereas the audience was accustomed to the fun-but-dark military action of Aliens. So in order to please fans, they made Alien Resurrection an action film. But it went WAY too far, basically giving us an out-of-place Schwarzenegger film... without the charm of Schwarzenegger. Now, of course, I love Schwarzenegger films, but for much different reasons than the Alien movies. This film's over-the-top dumbness felt out of place in an Alien film. At least in Aliens, the action had a pretty solid balance of dark and deadpan, whereas Alien Resurrection isn't the least bit dark. Yet the action is somewhat well choreographed, with some pretty decent special effects and sets, a few good over-the-top kills, and some pretty likeable characters, like the wheelchair guy and Ron Perlman. Now, with an action movie that has these good traits, I at least give it a guilty pleasure rating of 3 or 3.5 out of 5. But those movies often have a simple and easy to follow plot that you don't have to put much thought into. But this movie has a very illiterate and incomprehensible plot, with several weird and out-of-place scenes that just cluttered everything. The premise is pretty basic, but it gets into an unnecessary level of complication that, quite frankly, ruined the experience for me, basically in the same way that Pirates of the Caribbean 3 did. And I also thought the plot about cloning Ripley was very muddled and unemotive, giving is no sympathy for Ripley because, well, she's not Ripley. And I did not particularly like Winona Ryder as Call. Not that she was terrible or anything, but she really didn't fit the role, and the character was pretty boring to begin with. The ending was also odd, giving no indication that it would be a series conclusion and instead leaving us kind of ambivalent to the whole thing. Alien Resurrection is just a bad, dumb science fiction movie. It's dumber than most sci-fi movies, but has the laughable pretention of trying to be the Alien conclusion that fans wanted. And while many people considered this better than Alien3 (don't ask why), I consider this a mediocre and unengaging mess of a movie. It's not terrible, but it's a bad series conclusion.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 2 year old Written bygerbowski October 17, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

A few new Alien twists, but mostly the same old stuff

This new "Alien" film is just as dark and tension filled as the others in the series. There are some new twists in the human/alien relationship, including Ripley, who is half-alien herself. If the first three Alien movies disturbed you, this one won't be any better.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 10 year old Written bymrfredcarrey October 4, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

i like it

i like the scene when ripley get face hugged
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written by80sfan8 August 16, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Weakest in the series.

I did say in my Alien 3 review that it was the most violent movie in the series. Well I still think it is. For the most part it's a brainless shooter. This is defiantly the weakest in the series.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byPart II July 14, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

A horror-free, suspense-free, horror suspense, Its pretty bad.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byPart IV July 14, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Basically a sorry attempt at a horror.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byRun boy run. July 14, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Dreadful sc-fi horror almost drowns in gore.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byPART III July 14, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Dreadfull part 4 to alien saga, shouldn't have been made.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byIlovemovies. July 14, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Sad excuse for a movie, not for anybody.

This movie is dreadfully gory, gallons of blood and so many gross and pointless scenes that should be in a NC-17 movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old June 11, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

disapointing

This one is a not great sequel but it was ok VERY DISAPOINTING but it is a alien film still good I don't really recomand this for kids cause this one is the most bloody alien film watch this before letting your kids watching it
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old June 11, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Loaded with gore

My MPAA rating: R for gore, language and partial nudity. Sex/ nudity- 4/10- In the beginning of the movie a woman has no clothes on and you can see outlines of her breast. Also in one scene a woman is with a man in bed wearing nothing but panties. Then the screen goes blank, it was obvious that they had sex. Violence/ gore- 9/10- Aliens fight in a capsule and they tear each others guts out. Then a man goes inside to investigate and an alien locks him in the capsule and his arm falls off due to frostbite. When people try to escape by going in a capsule, an alien jumps in at the last minute. You can hear people screaming. Later in the movie they go into a room . People are seen with stomachs torn open.In the same room they see a woman with an inflated stomach. Later she burns her. Can be considered disturbing.Finally, near the end blood bursts out of a mans mouth. Then he fights with someone. A creature bursts out of his chest and goes through the other persons' head. Language- 5/10- a couple uses of "d**m and s**t On my opinion, most older teens can handle it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byFrankinf March 25, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Okay but not for kids

This movie has a great story line but is scary for kids so pre-teen plus is fine
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byNo Name, for real. February 10, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

I can't put it in words how gory this movie is.

Its pretty sad to see such a great franchise(third movie not included) end up here. Whatever sickminded freak made this train wreck needs to know this movie is down right gross, even worse than the third movie. There is no reason for parent to let there kid see this movie. Charecters crushed (and theres brain shown), guts are ripped out, get torn apart, shot, cremated, gallons of blood spraying everywhere. The first two were the best and yes had violence, but it wasn't just violence for entertainments sake! theres no word that I can say for how much gore this film uses so i agree with Tsion on this one. My dad let me watch this when I was 8, and I had nightmares for 2 years. Don't watch this movie!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old November 12, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

gory

this is an amazing movie . its on of my favorites.CAUTION not for yong kinds at all. it has alot of sex,language,and most of all VIOLINCE
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bydavyborn September 5, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Nothing but gore and guts

While I even like the often hated-upon Alien3,I don't really care much for the fourth and last installment in the series, Alien: Resurrection. This time, the one strong character that kept everything from completely going crazy has gone crazy herself. Ripley is now a clone in a long line of previous clones, and is practically nothing but a savage freak of nature (not to flattering for Sigourney Weaver when you think about it). This last installment is also the most disturbing, gruesome and brutal in terms for violence. The profanity is toned down a lot more than the previous installment, but the violence is not. Also, the ending scene where that one last alien is pulled through that one window in the space ship is probably on of the goriest death scenes for a creature that I have ever scene in a movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 15 year old Written byTsion June 15, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Pretty Gritty...and Just Downright Gross

ALIEN: RESURRECTION is just a strange movie. Basically it's a completely unnecessary continuation of the Alien franchise, which started out brilliantly strong and unfortunately sunk to low standards before its closure. Maybe the filmmakers sought to redeem the franchise with this next movie. It doesn't work. Resurrection isn't a horrible movie. If you've come to see aliens kill people and Sigourney Weaver fire some massive blowtorches, then you surely won't be disappointed. However, this Alien movie lacks what the first two had a lot of: spirit. These movies have always been gross, don't get me wrong. But while the first one was cinematically brilliant, the second carried strong characters and plot, and the third was (again disappointingly) cynical yet thought-provoking, this one is just plain disgusting. There is absolutely no reason for you to let any kid or teen see this movie. The bloody atrocities committed by aliens and humans alike transcend description. It's almost like we're watching Saw in space. People's heads are crushed, split in two, skulls are pulverized, intestines are eaten, blood is sprayed, aliens are ripped apart inch by inch (with accompanying entrails), and one guy is blown apart (quite gorily) after being frozen in liquid nitrogen. The camera doesn't blink for one second. The previous Alien movies (yes, even the third) used a certain class when approaching violence; yes, it was graphic, but it wasn't just violence for violence's sake. This one is just gore porn. I'm typically not a squeamish person, but it made me want to vomit. Plus, there's pretty much every vulgarity in the book, used in every which way (including in a sexual context). Two words can sum up this movie and its content: completely unnecessary.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages