All member reviews for Alien

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Dated but still extremely scary. Not for younger kids.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 153 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old January 11, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

FUNNY!

this film is not as scary as i expected it to be, it was really funny when a alien came out of a mans stomach LOLOLOL
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byJaysnake June 27, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A classic Horror

This movie is very suspensful and keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole movie. Suprisingly there was not much blood and gore. You should see this movie it's very good.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old July 27, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

The Greatest Movie Ever!!!

Alien is the greatest movie of all time. It's 1 for kids of all ages. It appeals to 7 & 8 year olds & it was even marketed to them. I have no idea whether kids would find it scary or not. I watched it when I was about 7 & I didn't find it scary, but I'm already very used to Horror Thrillers at that age. It isn't very violent, it's very tame by today's standards. There's hardly any swearing. Nothing else is an issue. & now I can finally start my real review. Alien blends the perfect amount of suspense with the Sci Fi Discovery element. The 1st few scenes introduce the universe, time frame, environment & characters. Ridley Scott demonstrated the height of his directing ability in these scenes. Suspense is once again perfectly combined with The Sci Fi Discovery Aspect. They then slowly advanced the storyline into the point of the S.O.S. Signal & they begin to investigate the planet. The scene where Kane discovers the Alien eggs is 1 of the greatest shots in movie history, perfectly executed by Ridley Scott. That scene is only bettered by the chestburster scene that comes up a few shots later. This is the point of change in pace & the feel of the movie. It shifts from a slow-paced exploration & discovery feel to a suspense rollercoaster. The movie gets significantly faster in pacing. The 1st few scenes might be too slow for some people, but the key to liking them is appreciation & paying close attention, especially to detail. The ending is a legendary landmark in Sci-Fi, just like how the whole movie is a landmark in Sci-Fi Thrillers & Sci-Fi Horrors. Alien is the greatest movie ever, & it's for the whole family. I give it what would be the equivalent of a PG-13 in America & 6 stars
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byashbudgie1 June 25, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

A must see!

Very gory, but also very exciting. It's a classic for a reason; it keeps you on the edge of your seat. Everyone who loves horror films should see this at least once. It's one of the best!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byBigA2 April 28, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Yes, it takes a while for the action to get going, yes, the Alien looks fake as hell in 2011 and yes, it’s not really all that scary, but Ridley Scott’s classic, (somewhat) minimalist sci-fi/horror film is still a timeless piece of art. I just love how everything starts so relaxed, with characters casually sitting around spouting forgettable techno babble, then slowly changes mood into a dark and unique slasher-flick, as the creature eliminates each crew member, with the tension continuously growing and growing as the film progresses. There are a few moments that’ll make you jump out of you a seat (and a few that you can easily see coming, but this could just be the film’s age showing). Scary or not, Alien is a simple and straightforward story but told brilliantly with plenty of style and likable characters (which is more than I can say for its sequel, Aliens). Oh, and Ripley is probably the only developed female heroin, who’s also pretty, in existence. It's a real shame female movie fans don't have more characters like Ripley to look up to. The fact that CSM gave this only 3-stars should be a crime.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bywhaleoh4060 March 11, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

pretty intense

The movie had a pretty violent scene, but only once and it was pretty short. The rest wasn't too violent, around a PG-13 level. There are a few jump scenes but it isn't that scary.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byBKrootz January 18, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Good for middle to older teens.

I liked the movie a lot. It definately was not that scary by today's standards, though. It was kind of gory in some parts, but not un-handleable. It was slightly disturbing, but it added to the effect of the movie. There was bad language and some posters of topless women in the background in a scene or two, but were out of focus and not all that obvious and easy to see. I thought it was a good suspense movie, and on the lower end of the R rating it got. I would recomend it for middle to older teens. There was also minor alchohol, but nothing to bad. It would probably get a pg-13 rating today if not for the topless women.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written by8colony8 October 28, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
I just saw this yesterday. We have a language filter on our DVD player, but there's alot of swearing including the F word. Some characters smoke. A Facehugger (a small alien) attaches itself to a man's face. A few days later while eating, blood spurts through the mans chest then a baby alien bursts through with blood splattering the walls. There is blood in other parts. There are innapropriate pictures on the wall at one part. Ripley is seen in her underwear as she puts on a space suit. Bloody dead bodies are seen. There are plenty of tense and scary parts. A man's head is nearly punched off but he is a robot. He continues to fight with his head hanging off, with wires and white blood spurting out. Then he is shot with a flamethrower and his face melts. Though fully clother, a woman is raped by an alien. Watch this movie before your kid does, but it is fun.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 8, 11, and 12 year old Written byYatesy March 5, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

12 yr old intrigue.

My lad is nearly 13. he is asking about these kinds of films because his mates are watching them. I know as parents we all have wildly varying views on film content but I think this website is great at understanding what a majority think. I'm going to let him watch 'Alien' at the weekend and see how it goes. I will amend this review if I feel I changed my current thinking once he has watched it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byCupcakeSweetie7534 July 12, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Not As Scary As You Think!

I personally love Sigourney Weaver, she is very pretty and a talented actress. She did a great job in this movie, and was perfect for her part. Although, this movie is not for smaller children. (There is a part were an alien bursts out of a character's stomach. There is a lot of blood and guts.) Also, if your child loves animals, a cat is at risk of danger yet is not harmed.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byBlackSmokeDemon May 4, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

ALIEN the only final fronteer that will get you a face hugger

When I first watched this I thought it wouldnt be scary for me (I've watched alot of scary movies befor) but it was givin a very creepy sense that the Alien (real name XENOMORPH "Zeno-morf") was in my house and it creeped the S*** out of me. I love Sigourney Weaver she's my favorite female movie star (lol her jew fro was huge back then)
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old March 18, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

FREAKY- Jump Scenes, not that violent

WAY TOO MANY JUMP SCENES- I even had to close my eyes and shut my ears for some of them. Disgustingly gross, but not that violent. I'm fine with violence. Just be careful for the jump scenes. It happens very frequently.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byryan@atlantis March 11, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Great for teens

I would totally recommend this classic horror flick if it wasn't for some scattered language and a scene showing pornography taped to the walls in the background. Definitely not appropriate for younger kids, but teens will be fascinated by the different techniques used to shock the audience.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 15 year old Written byTsion December 27, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Dated but suspenseful thriller...

ALIEN shows its age. A lot. What was extremely terrifying back in '79 when the movie was released is merely suspenseful today. Whereas the movie's gore was trendsetting back then, nowadays most kids have seen worse. What hasn't changed, however, is the masterful artistry with which the film was made. Although it wasn't as scary as I remembered, the dedicated work and talent of the crew behind it is as evident as ever. Now, I don't mean that the movie isn't suspenseful, or scary for kids. It very much is. The suspense is a killer in most places, and just because the gore doesn't compare to what is seen today doesn't mean that kids should watch it. Audiences see an alien bursting out of a man's chest, with splashing, spurting blood and moans and screams. A man is impaled from behind by the alien, and blood drips from his mouth. Another man is shot through the head by the alien's teeth, shown in a split-second cut of blood. This movie is less action-oriented than its sequels, thus, the single alien is more menacing. It stalks the crew members one by one, and kills them. The strange murders by the alien are also on a disturbing, quasi-sexual level, though no kids will pick up on this. Before a woman is killed, the alien's tail crawls up between her legs to stab her. And, after a man has an alien egg laid inside of him, it is mentioned that he has been "violated" and that the alien inside of him is akin to "his son." In addition to this, we see topless pin-up posters in the distance of one shot. There are four or five "f" words, and milder language like "d**n" and "s**t" is used probably twenty times. ALIEN is a stellar movie that, unfortunately, doesn't retain the power it had when released. However, it still remains an exciting introduction to quality horror movies for teens who are mature enough.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 8 years old April 19, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Intense sci-fi thriller/horror is gory and violent

This violent horror thriller takes place when a group of people in space discover a planet with alien life on it. After they find out that the alien followed them back onto the space ship, the alien starts killing them. This movie is very violent. In one scene an alien pops out of a man's stomach and blood spurts and splatters everywhere. There are 6 gory and bloody murders. 1 man is eaten, another is stabbed, and another has his face bitten off. There are also several jump shocks as aliens jump up behind the people. The violence is very gory and quite creepy and scary. The movie is extremely suspenseful, and you may not want to watch during some scenes. There is lots of swearing including a couple uses of s--t, f--k b---h and son of a b---h. At the end of the movie it is just entertainment with no positive messages, but one character is a brave strong female character. This movie is kinda entertaining but it is pretty slow and not very fun, but otherwise it is a good movie and it will definitely keep young kids up at night.
Teen, 13 years old Written bythedalekmaster April 5, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

In space, no one can hear you scream...

Riddly Scott's Alien (1979) is a sci-fi and horror masterpiece. The visuals are stunning for the 70's. Also Ripley is a big step in movie heros being females. The horror element kicks in at about a quarter through the film. Much of the deaths take place of screen yet the ones on screen are just as horrific, such as a man's skull being punctured by the iconic Alien double mouth, toung, thing. The most explicit death is when an alien creature makes it's way through a man chest, rather iconic, yet a little gory for younger viewers.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byfonzieg April 3, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Classic sci-fi flick may bore kids, but will please teens and adults!

One of Ridley Scott's finest movies! It's like a slasher movie, but in space, and with an alien! However, this movie will definitely bore kids! The pacing for this movie is incredibly slow! The only problem i have with this movie is that the still shots of inside the ship gets really boring! Other than that, this a movie that is worth your time and money, because this is a great film!
Kid, 11 years old April 2, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Amazing Movie!

The first time I saw this movie I was absolutely fascinated! It is a very well thought out movie, with great suspense, and at the same time action. In spite of that, I wouldn't recommend it to viewers under the age 14, of course that is only in general, since maturity is what truly matters.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byMavrah333 March 19, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

more a thriller than a horror

This sci fi thriller is a suspenseful, creepy tale of a mining ship in space, with some unwanted cargo. By the half way mark, an alien is loose and the body clock begins. This is a very well made thriller that had me at the edge of my sofa for the last half hour. The violence is mostly only implied, but it is creepy in many scenes. Note sex references and language. Final Score: 9/10: Epic
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byOneVeryLongUsername March 3, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

"Alien" - Parental and Artistic Review.

Sexual Content: One of the cabins is full of pornographic magazines and posters. The posters adorn the walls, but they aren't viewed up close and the images aren't seen very clearly (they are explicit, though). They don't serve a huge purpose to the story, they are simply there in one scene and one of the magazines is rolled up and used as a weapon when Ripley and Ash get into a fight. At one point Ripley strips down to nothing but an undersized undershirt and skimpy panties (the top of her buttocks are visible, and her nipples are obviously poking through her tank-top). She remains like this for quite a long time. When Lambert complains about the food not tasting nice, Parker says, "I'd rather be eating something else right now, but right now I'm thinking food," an oral sex reference. It's implied that the Alien rapes Lambert (she's naked and hanging from a ceiling -- only her foot is seen). Violent/Gory Content: The alien bursts through Kane's chest while he is eating dinner with the rest of the crew (blood spurts in few places, including on some people). This scene is very intense, he begins to choke and then starts squirming around. then he starts having a seizure sort of thing and begins to scream and yell. The Alien tries to burst out of him and succeeds on the third try. It looks around, surrounded by blood and some gore (not detailed but there is a lot of blood), while the man's hands twitch and have spasms. The alien attacks a Brett and pierces his head with a headbite, then drags him into a ventilation shaft (a puddle of blood is shown in the Director's Cut). Lambert and Parker get killed by the Alien: The Alien sneaks up on Lambert and Lambert freezes with fear. Parker attempts to kill the Alien with his flamethrower, but fears he may injure Lambert as well, so he charges at the Alien, but the Alien notices him and throws him into a wall. It pins him against the wall, denying him the chance to escape, and then kills him with a headbite. After that, it corners Lambert and kills her off-screen (her screams are heard over the intercom). Shortly afterward, their bodies are seen, and it appears that Lambert's body is naked, hinting that the Alien raped her. A man is hit in the head with a fire extinguisher and white substance comes out of him; he is then hit once more and his head tears off; moments later, we figure out he is a robot; afterwards, the crew asks him questions and at first he answers with sputters and spurts (his blood is white and milky, though). A man cuts a "finger" off of a facehugger and it bleeds acid. Ripley is attacked and beaten severely by a human-like robot or android on-screen (her nose bleeds and she makes disturbing moans as she is being thrown all over the place). 7.2 out of 10. Profanity: At least 5 "f" words (6 in the Director's Cut) and 8 "s" words. Other words include at least: 16 "hells," 8 "damns," 5 "S.O.B.'s," 2 "craps," 1 "ass," 1 use of "bitch" (3 in the Director's Cut) and 1 use of "bastard." Religious exclamations and profanities include at least: 11 uses of "Goddamn," 8 of "Oh, God," 2 uses each of "For Christ's sake," "Jesus," "Oh, my God" and "God" and 1 use each of "Jesus Christ" (2 in the Director's Cut) and "For God's sake." 5.6 out of 10. Substance Use: Lambert, Brett, Kane and Ripley smoke cigarettes several times, while the crew drink a beer called Aspen Beer at the dinner table. Conclusion: "Alien" is a classic sci-fi horror film that has stood the test of time. It has a good script, a great story, memorable performances, and of course, a great protagonist. This film is amazing and I definitely recommend it. I give this film 8.9 out of 10.

Pages