Common Sense Media says

Dated but still extremely scary. Not for younger kids.

Users say

(out of 182 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byJaysnake June 27, 2011

A classic Horror

This movie is very suspensful and keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole movie. Suprisingly there was not much blood and gore. You should see this movie it's very good.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old January 11, 2011

FUNNY!

this film is not as scary as i expected it to be, it was really funny when a alien came out of a mans stomach LOLOLOL
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 30, 2016

Sci-fi/horror epic isn't for the squeamish; however, creative, mature tweens and teens alike will love it

Overall, the rating shouldn't stop teens and tweens alike from enjoying this masterpiece of science fiction and horror; for those who are easily grossed or creeped out, this may not be the right movie, but mature teens and tweens will love it! The aliens are all pretty gross and creepy, and the movie is very intense--with near-constant peril and countless deaths--and language is infrequent but strong: exclamative terms are used throughout in times of peril (i.e., the F-Bomb). There's also some pretty gross and gory content; a man begins to vomit and a baby alien bursts out of his stomach in a mess of guts and gore (however, the special effects from the time in which the movie was made obviously weren't as realistic as they are now, and therefore the impact of the scene should be lessened for kids of this generation). TheProBros thinks that Alien is fine for tweens around the age of eleven and twelve!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 8, 11, and 12 year old Written byYatesy March 5, 2013

12 yr old intrigue.

My lad is nearly 13. he is asking about these kinds of films because his mates are watching them. I know as parents we all have wildly varying views on film content but I think this website is great at understanding what a majority think. I'm going to let him watch 'Alien' at the weekend and see how it goes. I will amend this review if I feel I changed my current thinking once he has watched it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 2 year old Written bygerbowski October 7, 2012

Scary, but good.

A great classic in the sci-fi horror genre.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old March 18, 2011

FREAKY- Jump Scenes, not that violent

WAY TOO MANY JUMP SCENES- I even had to close my eyes and shut my ears for some of them. Disgustingly gross, but not that violent. I'm fine with violence. Just be careful for the jump scenes. It happens very frequently.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bywhaleoh4060 March 11, 2011

pretty intense

The movie had a pretty violent scene, but only once and it was pretty short. The rest wasn't too violent, around a PG-13 level. There are a few jump scenes but it isn't that scary.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byBKrootz January 18, 2011

Good for middle to older teens.

I liked the movie a lot. It definately was not that scary by today's standards, though. It was kind of gory in some parts, but not un-handleable. It was slightly disturbing, but it added to the effect of the movie. There was bad language and some posters of topless women in the background in a scene or two, but were out of focus and not all that obvious and easy to see. I thought it was a good suspense movie, and on the lower end of the R rating it got. I would recomend it for middle to older teens. There was also minor alchohol, but nothing to bad. It would probably get a pg-13 rating today if not for the topless women.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byryan@atlantis March 11, 2011

Great for teens

I would totally recommend this classic horror flick if it wasn't for some scattered language and a scene showing pornography taped to the walls in the background. Definitely not appropriate for younger kids, but teens will be fascinated by the different techniques used to shock the audience.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bySeanT726 July 15, 2015

One of the greatest horror movies ever- and an alright introduction to the genre for kids

Title is roughly self-explanatory regarding my thoughts on the film. It's beautiful, period. As far as whether it's good for kids: the beginning of the film has a few F-bombs, there's the infamous chestburster scene, and you see Sigourney Weaver in some of the least revealing/sexualized lingerie in film history. I would advise it for preteens up (roughly the time at which they begin hearing the saltier language in everyday life), but a particularly mature younger kid could take it.
Teen, 13 years old Written byCupcakeSweetie7534 July 12, 2011

Not As Scary As You Think!

I personally love Sigourney Weaver, she is very pretty and a talented actress. She did a great job in this movie, and was perfect for her part. Although, this movie is not for smaller children. (There is a part were an alien bursts out of a character's stomach. There is a lot of blood and guts.) Also, if your child loves animals, a cat is at risk of danger yet is not harmed.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byashbudgie1 June 25, 2011

A must see!

Very gory, but also very exciting. It's a classic for a reason; it keeps you on the edge of your seat. Everyone who loves horror films should see this at least once. It's one of the best!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 4 year old Written bytonyhutchins July 18, 2015

Not a particularly scary horror film, but thoughtful and well-paced

Alien was probably terrifying when audiences first watched it in the 1970's. And even today, in a dark theater, with the music blaring and the lighting just perfect, it can have a certain presence to it. But watching it at home brings to light a lot of the faults of the film and a lot of the shortcuts that were necessary to make it. Alien is clever by necessity. Since their scary monster is basically just a man in a rubber suit slathered with K-Y, they're forced to show it only in pieces, jump cuts, and mention it off-camera. There are deaths, but none you actually see. There is violence, but it's largely appropriate for PG-13 audiences, with no serious blood or gore. There are two scenes that might give parents pause- the "chest burster" scene, where the Alien explodes out of a man's chest, and the appearance of the face-hugger alien, as this is a bit scary for youngsters. This is a movie that would recieve a solid PG-13 if it were released today.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old April 19, 2015

Horrifying, shocking, sci-fi action thriller is very boring but extremely violent.

This violent horror thriller takes place when a group of people in space discover a planet with alien life on it. After they find out that the alien followed them back onto the space ship, the alien starts killing them. This movie is very violent. In one scene an alien pops out of a man's stomach and blood spurts and splatters everywhere. There are 6 gory and bloody murders. 1 man is eaten, another is stabbed, and another has his face bitten off. There are also several jump shocks as aliens jump up behind the people. The violence is very gory and quite creepy and scary. The movie is extremely suspenseful, and you may not want to watch during some scenes. There is lots of swearing including a couple uses of s--t, f--k b---h and son of a b---h. At the end of the movie it is just entertainment with no positive messages, but one character is a brave strong female character. This movie is kinda entertaining but it is pretty slow and not fun at all, but otherwise it is a dumb movie and it will definitely keep young kids up at night.
Adult Written byOneVeryLongUsername March 3, 2015

"Alien" - Parental and Artistic Review.

Sexual Content: One of the cabins is full of pornographic magazines and posters. The posters adorn the walls, but they aren't viewed up close and the images aren't seen very clearly (they are explicit, though). They don't serve a huge purpose to the story, they are simply there in one scene and one of the magazines is rolled up and used as a weapon when Ripley and Ash get into a fight. At one point Ripley strips down to nothing but an undersized undershirt and skimpy panties (the top of her buttocks are visible, and her nipples are obviously poking through her tank-top). She remains like this for quite a long time. When Lambert complains about the food not tasting nice, Parker says, "I'd rather be eating something else right now, but right now I'm thinking food," an oral sex reference. It's implied that the Alien rapes Lambert (she's naked and hanging from a ceiling -- only her foot is seen). Violent/Gory Content: The alien bursts through Kane's chest while he is eating dinner with the rest of the crew (blood spurts in few places, including on some people). This scene is very intense, he begins to choke and then starts squirming around. then he starts having a seizure sort of thing and begins to scream and yell. The Alien tries to burst out of him and succeeds on the third try. It looks around, surrounded by blood and some gore (not detailed but there is a lot of blood), while the man's hands twitch and have spasms. The alien attacks a Brett and pierces his head with a headbite, then drags him into a ventilation shaft (a puddle of blood is shown in the Director's Cut). Lambert and Parker get killed by the Alien: The Alien sneaks up on Lambert and Lambert freezes with fear. Parker attempts to kill the Alien with his flamethrower, but fears he may injure Lambert as well, so he charges at the Alien, but the Alien notices him and throws him into a wall. It pins him against the wall, denying him the chance to escape, and then kills him with a headbite. After that, it corners Lambert and kills her off-screen (her screams are heard over the intercom). Shortly afterward, their bodies are seen, and it appears that Lambert's body is naked, hinting that the Alien raped her. A man is hit in the head with a fire extinguisher and white substance comes out of him; he is then hit once more and his head tears off; moments later, we figure out he is a robot; afterwards, the crew asks him questions and at first he answers with sputters and spurts (his blood is white and milky, though). A man cuts a "finger" off of a facehugger and it bleeds acid. Ripley is attacked and beaten severely by a human-like robot or android on-screen (her nose bleeds and she makes disturbing moans as she is being thrown all over the place). 7.2 out of 10. Profanity: At least 5 "f" words (6 in the Director's Cut) and 8 "s" words. Other words include at least: 16 "hells," 8 "damns," 5 "S.O.B.'s," 2 "craps," 1 "ass," 1 use of "bitch" (3 in the Director's Cut) and 1 use of "bastard." Religious exclamations and profanities include at least: 11 uses of "Goddamn," 8 of "Oh, God," 2 uses each of "For Christ's sake," "Jesus," "Oh, my God" and "God" and 1 use each of "Jesus Christ" (2 in the Director's Cut) and "For God's sake." 5.6 out of 10. Substance Use: Lambert, Brett, Kane and Ripley smoke cigarettes several times, while the crew drink a beer called Aspen Beer at the dinner table. Conclusion: "Alien" is a classic sci-fi horror film that has stood the test of time. It has a good script, a great story, memorable performances, and of course, a great protagonist. This film is amazing and I definitely recommend it. I give this film 8.9 out of 10.
Adult Written byGresh854 January 19, 2015

One of the Greatest Sci-Fi's

begging it eventually gets you on the edge of your seet the 2nd half of the film. All though it is rated R I feel it is inbetween the rating R and PG-13. There is really only one or 2 scenes that are a bit over PG-13 violence, but they are not too realistic. I definitely recommend this to anyone into Thrillers!
Parent Written bylibbybowen December 16, 2015

Alien

i think 9 is old enough to watch
Adult Written bywilkier July 11, 2015

Amazing horror film has one or 2 bloody scenes.

Alien is one of the best films ever, and most teens will love it, it only really has 2 bloody scenes, one of which includes an alien coming out of a man's chest and a robot head with guts of spaghetti, it has around three f--ks and nothing else, also a cat is constantly in peril.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byjacob a February 25, 2015

AWESOME!!!

theres a scene with a little bit of blood and some bad words in it, but that, i think it aint bad. but if your kids get scared easily, they shouldnt watch it.
Teen, 13 years old Written byALonelyNarwhal September 30, 2016

In Space, No One Can Hear You Scream

Alien is an amazing movie with a great atmosphere. The acting is great, and so is the writing. The movie feels very claustrophobic and does an excellent job of creating really tense scenes. The xenomorph is very frightening, largely due to the fact that the movie very rarely shows the alien's entire body, or even how it moves. Since we know so little about the alien, we are scared of it. Another reason why this movie is such a classic is because of its simplicity. There are no crazy plot twists or long exposition dumps. It's just a story of normal people trying to survive. In one scene, an alien bursts out of a man's chest, and there is lots of blood. There is swearing throughout the movie. However, the movie should be appropriate for kids 12 and up.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages