All member reviews for Alien

Common Sense Media says

Dated but still extremely scary. Not for younger kids.

Users say

(out of 165 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old January 11, 2011

FUNNY!

this film is not as scary as i expected it to be, it was really funny when a alien came out of a mans stomach LOLOLOL
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old July 27, 2011

The Greatest Movie Ever!!!

Alien is the greatest movie of all time. It's 1 for kids of all ages. It appeals to 7 & 8 year olds & it was even marketed to them. I have no idea whether kids would find it scary or not. I watched it when I was about 7 & I didn't find it scary, but I'm already very used to Horror Thrillers at that age. It isn't very violent, it's very tame by today's standards. There's hardly any swearing. Nothing else is an issue. & now I can finally start my real review. Alien blends the perfect amount of suspense with the Sci Fi Discovery element. The 1st few scenes introduce the universe, time frame, environment & characters. Ridley Scott demonstrated the height of his directing ability in these scenes. Suspense is once again perfectly combined with The Sci Fi Discovery Aspect. They then slowly advanced the storyline into the point of the S.O.S. Signal & they begin to investigate the planet. The scene where Kane discovers the Alien eggs is 1 of the greatest shots in movie history, perfectly executed by Ridley Scott. That scene is only bettered by the chestburster scene that comes up a few shots later. This is the point of change in pace & the feel of the movie. It shifts from a slow-paced exploration & discovery feel to a suspense rollercoaster. The movie gets significantly faster in pacing. The 1st few scenes might be too slow for some people, but the key to liking them is appreciation & paying close attention, especially to detail. The ending is a legendary landmark in Sci-Fi, just like how the whole movie is a landmark in Sci-Fi Thrillers & Sci-Fi Horrors. Alien is the greatest movie ever, & it's for the whole family. I give it what would be the equivalent of a PG-13 in America & 6 stars
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byJaysnake June 27, 2011

A classic Horror

This movie is very suspensful and keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole movie. Suprisingly there was not much blood and gore. You should see this movie it's very good.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byashbudgie1 June 25, 2011

A must see!

Very gory, but also very exciting. It's a classic for a reason; it keeps you on the edge of your seat. Everyone who loves horror films should see this at least once. It's one of the best!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byryan@atlantis March 11, 2011

Great for teens

I would totally recommend this classic horror flick if it wasn't for some scattered language and a scene showing pornography taped to the walls in the background. Definitely not appropriate for younger kids, but teens will be fascinated by the different techniques used to shock the audience.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byBKrootz January 18, 2011

Good for middle to older teens.

I liked the movie a lot. It definately was not that scary by today's standards, though. It was kind of gory in some parts, but not un-handleable. It was slightly disturbing, but it added to the effect of the movie. There was bad language and some posters of topless women in the background in a scene or two, but were out of focus and not all that obvious and easy to see. I thought it was a good suspense movie, and on the lower end of the R rating it got. I would recomend it for middle to older teens. There was also minor alchohol, but nothing to bad. It would probably get a pg-13 rating today if not for the topless women.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bywhaleoh4060 March 11, 2011

pretty intense

The movie had a pretty violent scene, but only once and it was pretty short. The rest wasn't too violent, around a PG-13 level. There are a few jump scenes but it isn't that scary.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old January 30, 2016

Sci-fi/horror epic isn't for the squeamish; however, creative, mature tweens and teens alike will love it

Overall, the rating shouldn't stop teens and tweens alike from enjoying this masterpiece of science fiction and horror; for those who are easily grossed or creeped out, this may not be the right movie, but mature teens and tweens will love it! The aliens are all pretty gross and creepy, and the movie is very intense--with near-constant peril and countless deaths--and language is infrequent but strong: exclamative terms are used throughout in times of peril (i.e., the F-Bomb). There's also some pretty gross and gory content; a man begins to vomit and a baby alien bursts out of his stomach in a mess of guts and gore (however, the special effects from the time in which the movie was made obviously weren't as realistic as they are now, and therefore the impact of the scene should be lessened for kids of this generation). TheProBros thinks that Alien is fine for tweens around the age of eleven and twelve!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byBlackSmokeDemon May 4, 2011

ALIEN the only final fronteer that will get you a face hugger

When I first watched this I thought it wouldnt be scary for me (I've watched alot of scary movies befor) but it was givin a very creepy sense that the Alien (real name XENOMORPH "Zeno-morf") was in my house and it creeped the S*** out of me. I love Sigourney Weaver she's my favorite female movie star (lol her jew fro was huge back then)
What other families should know
Great role models
Parent Written bylibbybowen December 16, 2015

Alien

i think 9 is old enough to watch
Parent of a 8, 11, and 12 year old Written byYatesy March 5, 2013

12 yr old intrigue.

My lad is nearly 13. he is asking about these kinds of films because his mates are watching them. I know as parents we all have wildly varying views on film content but I think this website is great at understanding what a majority think. I'm going to let him watch 'Alien' at the weekend and see how it goes. I will amend this review if I feel I changed my current thinking once he has watched it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byCupcakeSweetie7534 July 12, 2011

Not As Scary As You Think!

I personally love Sigourney Weaver, she is very pretty and a talented actress. She did a great job in this movie, and was perfect for her part. Although, this movie is not for smaller children. (There is a part were an alien bursts out of a character's stomach. There is a lot of blood and guts.) Also, if your child loves animals, a cat is at risk of danger yet is not harmed.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byBigA2 April 28, 2011
Yes, it takes a while for the action to get going, yes, the Alien looks fake as hell in 2011 and yes, it’s not really all that scary, but Ridley Scott’s classic, (somewhat) minimalist sci-fi/horror film is still a timeless piece of art. I just love how everything starts so relaxed, with characters casually sitting around spouting forgettable techno babble, then slowly changes mood into a dark and unique slasher-flick, as the creature eliminates each crew member, with the tension continuously growing and growing as the film progresses. There are a few moments that’ll make you jump out of you a seat (and a few that you can easily see coming, but this could just be the film’s age showing). Scary or not, Alien is a simple and straightforward story but told brilliantly with plenty of style and likable characters (which is more than I can say for its sequel, Aliens). Oh, and Ripley is probably the only developed female heroin, who’s also pretty, in existence. It's a real shame female movie fans don't have more characters like Ripley to look up to. The fact that CSM gave this only 3-stars should be a crime.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written by8colony8 October 28, 2010
I just saw this yesterday. We have a language filter on our DVD player, but there's alot of swearing including the F word. Some characters smoke. A Facehugger (a small alien) attaches itself to a man's face. A few days later while eating, blood spurts through the mans chest then a baby alien bursts through with blood splattering the walls. There is blood in other parts. There are innapropriate pictures on the wall at one part. Ripley is seen in her underwear as she puts on a space suit. Bloody dead bodies are seen. There are plenty of tense and scary parts. A man's head is nearly punched off but he is a robot. He continues to fight with his head hanging off, with wires and white blood spurting out. Then he is shot with a flamethrower and his face melts. Though fully clother, a woman is raped by an alien. Watch this movie before your kid does, but it is fun.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byAstronautSpace October 10, 2015

This movie so so spectacular

Ever since I first saw this when I was 11, it has been one of my favorite movies. It is super suspenseful, dramatizing, and amazing. A lot of people die gruesome deaths and stuff. Also, there is language. But it's the best movie ever, about Ripley and her crew trying to survive when one of them touches an egg, a dangerous alien hatches, and tries to kill them all. Watch the director's cut, it's so much scarier and the film is also a piece of art.
Adult Written byJoshT 1 September 18, 2015

If your kid can handle Jurassic Park, he/she most likely can handle this

Hello everyone, I'm 13 years old. But just because I'm not an adult please don't ignore this review. Violence: Violent enough to be disturbing, but not that bad. There are two scenes which might be too much (1. The chestburster scene 2. Brett's death) Sex+Nudity: At one point, Ripley is wearing slightly revealing clothing. Aside from that, there's nothing else. Don't worry about it. Swearing: Naturally, the crew of the Nostromo (who have been in space for a long, long time) are a little grumpy...so swearing is very evident. Drugs/Drinking: The characters smoke. That's all! Extra note: Ripley is a good role model aside from swearing and smoking. In the end, Alien is not only one of the greatest sci-fi movies, but one of the best horror movies! Don't shy away from showing a tween or pre-teen this film.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old March 18, 2011

FREAKY- Jump Scenes, not that violent

WAY TOO MANY JUMP SCENES- I even had to close my eyes and shut my ears for some of them. Disgustingly gross, but not that violent. I'm fine with violence. Just be careful for the jump scenes. It happens very frequently.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 15 year old Written byTsion December 27, 2010

Dated but suspenseful thriller...

ALIEN shows its age. A lot. What was extremely terrifying back in '79 when the movie was released is merely suspenseful today. Whereas the movie's gore was trendsetting back then, nowadays most kids have seen worse. What hasn't changed, however, is the masterful artistry with which the film was made. Although it wasn't as scary as I remembered, the dedicated work and talent of the crew behind it is as evident as ever. Now, I don't mean that the movie isn't suspenseful, or scary for kids. It very much is. The suspense is a killer in most places, and just because the gore doesn't compare to what is seen today doesn't mean that kids should watch it. Audiences see an alien bursting out of a man's chest, with splashing, spurting blood and moans and screams. A man is impaled from behind by the alien, and blood drips from his mouth. Another man is shot through the head by the alien's teeth, shown in a split-second cut of blood. This movie is less action-oriented than its sequels, thus, the single alien is more menacing. It stalks the crew members one by one, and kills them. The strange murders by the alien are also on a disturbing, quasi-sexual level, though no kids will pick up on this. Before a woman is killed, the alien's tail crawls up between her legs to stab her. And, after a man has an alien egg laid inside of him, it is mentioned that he has been "violated" and that the alien inside of him is akin to "his son." In addition to this, we see topless pin-up posters in the distance of one shot. There are four or five "f" words, and milder language like "d**n" and "s**t" is used probably twenty times. ALIEN is a stellar movie that, unfortunately, doesn't retain the power it had when released. However, it still remains an exciting introduction to quality horror movies for teens who are mature enough.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byOzhowlett January 9, 2016

It may not be scary (for me anyway) but it is still amazing

Now this film is not for young children. To get the best experiance from the film do not watch promethius and do not show your chilldren any spoofs. It will be hard but I think I would help. Unfortunatly I knew what happened at some points so it wasn't as scary. Now this is very much a personal thing because everyone's fears are different. It was not that scary. The reason why it is an 18 is the following. Strong blood. Infrequant language and basicaly/no strong language. The main reason why it is an 18 is because the alien kills for no meaning. if it has to so it can live or if it is doing it for sport or both is never mentinod. I would not watch this film if you are under the age of 13 but would be better if 15. To be appreciated the viewer must not just watch the latest blockbuster. I am very educated in my film watching thanks to my family and my schools film club. I say this because as common sense says it is slightly outdated. The amount of people who I asked if they have seen the film and they said "yer it was terrible" and all they watch is the latest films is shocking. I would recommend the adult watching it first not to see if they are ready for the horror (ok that to) but to also check if they are ready to not just watch it but to love it like I did. I am putting great messages because it teaches you not to trust people just because you work for them. You will see why
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byRandomcuber September 5, 2015

Scary but amazing

This film has some jumps cares but is mainly just suspense. There is violence by the alien and some bad language. The film is extremely well made and gripping.
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages