All member reviews for Alien

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 119 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old January 11, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

FUNNY!

this film is not as scary as i expected it to be, it was really funny when a alien came out of a mans stomach LOLOLOL
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byJaysnake June 27, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A classic Horror

This movie is very suspensful and keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole movie. Suprisingly there was not much blood and gore. You should see this movie it's very good.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old July 27, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

The Greatest Movie Ever!!!

Alien is the greatest movie of all time. It's 1 for kids of all ages. It appeals to 7 & 8 year olds & it was even marketed to them. I have no idea whether kids would find it scary or not. I watched it when I was about 7 & I didn't find it scary, but I'm already very used to Horror Thrillers at that age. It isn't very violent, it's very tame by today's standards. There's hardly any swearing. Nothing else is an issue. & now I can finally start my real review. Alien blends the perfect amount of suspense with the Sci Fi Discovery element. The 1st few scenes introduce the universe, time frame, environment & characters. Ridley Scott demonstrated the height of his directing ability in these scenes. Suspense is once again perfectly combined with The Sci Fi Discovery Aspect. They then slowly advanced the storyline into the point of the S.O.S. Signal & they begin to investigate the planet. The scene where Kane discovers the Alien eggs is 1 of the greatest shots in movie history, perfectly executed by Ridley Scott. That scene is only bettered by the chestburster scene that comes up a few shots later. This is the point of change in pace & the feel of the movie. It shifts from a slow-paced exploration & discovery feel to a suspense rollercoaster. The movie gets significantly faster in pacing. The 1st few scenes might be too slow for some people, but the key to liking them is appreciation & paying close attention, especially to detail. The ending is a legendary landmark in Sci-Fi, just like how the whole movie is a landmark in Sci-Fi Thrillers & Sci-Fi Horrors. Alien is the greatest movie ever, & it's for the whole family. I give it what would be the equivalent of a PG-13 in America & 6 stars
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byBlackSmokeDemon May 4, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

ALIEN the only final fronteer that will get you a face hugger

When I first watched this I thought it wouldnt be scary for me (I've watched alot of scary movies befor) but it was givin a very creepy sense that the Alien (real name XENOMORPH "Zeno-morf") was in my house and it creeped the S*** out of me. I love Sigourney Weaver she's my favorite female movie star (lol her jew fro was huge back then)
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byBigA2 April 28, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Yes, it takes a while for the action to get going, yes, the Alien looks fake as hell in 2011 and yes, it’s not really all that scary, but Ridley Scott’s classic, (somewhat) minimalist sci-fi/horror film is still a timeless piece of art. I just love how everything starts so relaxed, with characters casually sitting around spouting forgettable techno babble, then slowly changes mood into a dark and unique slasher-flick, as the creature eliminates each crew member, with the tension continuously growing and growing as the film progresses. There are a few moments that’ll make you jump out of you a seat (and a few that you can easily see coming, but this could just be the film’s age showing). Scary or not, Alien is a simple and straightforward story but told brilliantly with plenty of style and likable characters (which is more than I can say for its sequel, Aliens). Oh, and Ripley is probably the only developed female heroin, who’s also pretty, in existence. It's a real shame female movie fans don't have more characters like Ripley to look up to. The fact that CSM gave this only 3-stars should be a crime.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byryan@atlantis March 11, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Great for teens

I would totally recommend this classic horror flick if it wasn't for some scattered language and a scene showing pornography taped to the walls in the background. Definitely not appropriate for younger kids, but teens will be fascinated by the different techniques used to shock the audience.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bywhaleoh4060 March 11, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

pretty intense

The movie had a pretty violent scene, but only once and it was pretty short. The rest wasn't too violent, around a PG-13 level. There are a few jump scenes but it isn't that scary.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byBKrootz January 18, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Good for middle to older teens.

I liked the movie a lot. It definately was not that scary by today's standards, though. It was kind of gory in some parts, but not un-handleable. It was slightly disturbing, but it added to the effect of the movie. There was bad language and some posters of topless women in the background in a scene or two, but were out of focus and not all that obvious and easy to see. I thought it was a good suspense movie, and on the lower end of the R rating it got. I would recomend it for middle to older teens. There was also minor alchohol, but nothing to bad. It would probably get a pg-13 rating today if not for the topless women.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written by8colony8 October 28, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
I just saw this yesterday. We have a language filter on our DVD player, but there's alot of swearing including the F word. Some characters smoke. A Facehugger (a small alien) attaches itself to a man's face. A few days later while eating, blood spurts through the mans chest then a baby alien bursts through with blood splattering the walls. There is blood in other parts. There are innapropriate pictures on the wall at one part. Ripley is seen in her underwear as she puts on a space suit. Bloody dead bodies are seen. There are plenty of tense and scary parts. A man's head is nearly punched off but he is a robot. He continues to fight with his head hanging off, with wires and white blood spurting out. Then he is shot with a flamethrower and his face melts. Though fully clother, a woman is raped by an alien. Watch this movie before your kid does, but it is fun.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byCupcakeSweetie7534 July 12, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Not As Scary As You Think!

I personally love Sigourney Weaver, she is very pretty and a talented actress. She did a great job in this movie, and was perfect for her part. Although, this movie is not for smaller children. (There is a part were an alien bursts out of a character's stomach. There is a lot of blood and guts.) Also, if your child loves animals, a cat is at risk of danger yet is not harmed.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old March 18, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

FREAKY- Jump Scenes, not that violent

WAY TOO MANY JUMP SCENES- I even had to close my eyes and shut my ears for some of them. Disgustingly gross, but not that violent. I'm fine with violence. Just be careful for the jump scenes. It happens very frequently.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byDillpickle37 May 4, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Alien: Ridley Scott's Masterpiece

First of all, let me start by saying this movie is absolutely fantastic, however, it is not appropriate for all audiences. There are several violent scenes, as well as language and some sexual content. Violence-7/10: As for violence, this movie is generally not extremely violent, certainly less gory than some of today's movies, but there is a near constant air of suspense and there are several scenes that will make you jump. This is not to say that this movie does not have it's share of violent scenes. The film's most gory scene occurs when the characters sit down to dinner and a baby alien bursts out of a characters chest. Other characters are bitten, stabbed, and clubbed by the alien. In addition to the creature violence, there is a seen where a man's head is nearly bashed off by a fire extinguisher, although (spoilers!) he is revealed to be an android. Sex-3/10: In one scene, there are pictures of naked women posted to a wall in the background with breasts shown. They are not easily noticeable and a bit blurry, but they are somewhat explicit. In another scene, a man makes a joking reference to oral sex aimed at one of the women. This may go over some younger kids' heads. Some of the creature and set designs have sexual undertones. This also may go over younger kids' heads. Language-5/10: Six or seven uses of f***, several uses of b****, h*ll, s***, d***, and a**, as well as J**** and G**d***. Drinking, drugs, and smoking-1/10: A character smokes in several scenes early on in the movie. Now, for the review of the movie itself. This is undoubtedly Ridley Scott's finest work. The slow buildup to the fateful moment in which the alien is born is masterfully executed, leaving us with just enough detail to keep us on the edge of our seats hanging on every word. The brilliant set designs by H.R. Giger are almost as fascinating as the movie itself, with no intricate details spared. The creature design, also by Giger, is fantastic and the hydraulic head movements by Carlo Rambaldi are still convincing, even after 36 years. True, the special effects fall short at times, but that is just the movie's age showing, and there are some minor inconsistencies, but that would just be nit-picking. Overall, this movie, as well as it's sequel, Aliens, is an absolute masterpiece and an instant classic that all mature audiences ages 12 or over should watch.
Kid, 8 years old April 19, 2015
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Intense sci-fi thriller/horror is gory and violent

This violent horror thriller takes place when a group of people in space discover a planet with alien life on it. After they find out that the alien followed them back onto the space ship, the alien starts killing them. This movie is very violent. In one scene an alien pops out of a man's stomach and blood spurts and splatters everywhere. There are 6 gory and bloody murders. 1 man is eaten, another is stabbed, and another has his face bitten off. There are also several jump shocks as aliens jump up behind the people. The violence is very gory and quite creepy and scary. The movie is extremely suspenseful, and you may not want to watch during some scenes. There is lots of swearing including a couple uses of s--t, f--k b---h and son of a b---h. At the end of the movie it is just entertainment with no positive messages, but one character is a brave strong female character. This movie is kinda entertaining but it is pretty slow and not fun at all, but otherwise it is a dumb movie and it will definitely keep young kids up at night.
Teen, 13 years old Written bythedalekmaster April 5, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

In space, no one can hear you scream...

Riddly Scott's Alien (1979) is a sci-fi and horror masterpiece. The visuals are stunning for the 70's. Also Ripley is a big step in movie heros being females. The horror element kicks in at about a quarter through the film. Much of the deaths take place of screen yet the ones on screen are just as horrific, such as a man's skull being punctured by the iconic Alien double mouth, toung, thing. The most explicit death is when an alien creature makes it's way through a man chest, rather iconic, yet a little gory for younger viewers.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old April 2, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Amazing Movie!

The first time I saw this movie I was absolutely fascinated! It is a very well thought out movie, with great suspense, and at the same time action. In spite of that, I wouldn't recommend it to viewers under the age 14, of course that is only in general, since maturity is what truly matters.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byMavrah333 March 19, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

more a thriller than a horror

This sci fi thriller is a suspenseful, creepy tale of a mining ship in space, with some unwanted cargo. By the half way mark, an alien is loose and the body clock begins. This is a very well made thriller that had me at the edge of my sofa for the last half hour. The violence is mostly only implied, but it is creepy in many scenes. Note sex references and language. Final Score: 9/10: Epic
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old January 26, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

If I could I would put 3.5 ( didn't stop me from watching the sequel tho )

It was good but not that good. Not much swearing I think it's only an 18 bcoz it is a bit scary . Personally I was ok - watched with dad and I jumped a few times but I like that. I would say 10-12 but you know your kid better than me so....
Kid, 12 years old January 18, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Scary sci fi, not for everyone

Alien is an amazing sci fi horror movie, not for young kids though. Very suspenseful, the alien looks horrifying. When it bursts out of a man's chest gore is everywhere, later on it kills around 8 people, possibly raping them. A very creepy scene where an animatronic malfunctions and tries to murder the ship crew. He is then decapitated, leaving white blood everywhere. A few F bombs here and there, not much. Pretty much a teens only film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byjamesbondfan November 18, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Not for kids

Not as gory as most would think. The worst part is when the alien bursts out of the guys stomach. Mostly the film is really intense. The violence is mostly not shown but is very creepy and intense. Not much in ways of nudity. Characters are shown in their underwear but it doesn't really last long. There isn't really any smoking in the movie. There is quite a good amount of language though (including the f-word). So I'm going to say that if you can't handle really suspenseful and scary movies then don't watch this movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bykyleReeselives November 12, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Bad start, good ending

This movie is still a little scary even for a dated movie, but it has a good message to protect your friends and put yourself at risk for others. The alien on the other hand, is a heartless, vile, and murderous being hell-bent on killing those who it so little as sets it's eyes on. The Company all the characters as well as Ash fare no better. Mainly for endangering everybody for one thing: Research. However, Ripley (the main character) puts herself at risk for the surviving crew members (though only one other survives)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages