Common Sense Media says

Dated but still extremely scary. Not for younger kids.

Users say

(out of 182 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byWar_Badger123 October 17, 2016

Scary and intense classic sci-fi horror.

I personally think that 15+ is a little harsh and that young teens will be able to handle the terror and violence of this movie. Most of the deaths are off-screen so it isn't as bad as you'd think, the profanity isn't that bad. Most of it is during the alien attacks and there isn't much of it either. I think this is a brilliant movie and is suitable for teens and up.
Teen, 13 years old Written byaustant September 5, 2016

alien

wow so much blood it was so gory i cat do blood but you need to see it some cussing grate role models its a grate movie all and all
Teen, 15 years old Written byRahul S August 8, 2016

A smart blend of sci-fi and horror

This movie serves as a sci-fi and a horror flick. Even though there isn't much blood on the whole(except in one scene) it is still scary and keeps you on the edge of your seat after the first 20 mins. or so. This is cinematic art at it's best.
Kid, 12 years old August 7, 2016

Awesome horror film will keep kids up at night

Parents need to know that this film isn't overly violent but is extremely scary and defiantly not or children. The violence is not that bad. But expect some bloody and gory aftermath and blood spraying everywhere, there is also one scene where an alien burst's out of a mans chest which is shown onscreen blood and guts splatter all over the room. The horror themes are what you have to worry about pretty much every scene has horror in it after the first 20 minutes of the film and most of the scenes would make all kids under 13 wet there pants even most teens would be scared. There is also some mild language "f--k," "s--t," "a--hole," "ass," "bitch." Also the crew members make some sexual jokes and drink. If you do let your kid watch this film then be prepared for them to never sleep again.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byMotionPictureEt... July 31, 2016

Scary, but modern day action films are more suspenseful.

This is an old film, but a very good one. There is some violence but most of it is done offscreen. A couple F-bombs are dropped but nothing much more than that. The horror parts can be intense but this films suspense less or equal to any other action film out right now.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old June 30, 2016

Great movie

This is a great movie,and does have the occasional swear, death and gore scene but really this film isn't too inappropriate. It does also get you on the end of your chair.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bymoviewatcher2312 June 9, 2016

Alien

This is a movie that is extremely dated, and not that good in my opinion. It is pretty intense, and not for kids unless there mature and not scared that easily. If I was in charge I would rate it R for Bloody Creature Violence, Gore, and Strong Languge
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byThOmAs HiLl May 2, 2016

Not very scary

At least to me this movie had absolutely no scare factor. It keeps you on edge, but the anticipation is worse than anything. Its not like I'm a horror movie freak, this is one of my first horror movies. Anyways why I rated this 12 and up is because there could be frightening scenes for very young kids. Also there is a small amount of nudity, it's a bit hard to see, however in the version with cleaned up video it is obvious that there is pornography on the wall of one part of the ship. I'd say its only for about 30 seconds. But it is full nudity none the less. To add to insult there is a scene with lots of action directly after this. The movie has some gory scenes but its not that bad. There isn't really jump scenes because they're ever so obvious or the alien is really slow approaching you. Overall I didn't rate this 12 and up because of the horror. But because of the nudity violence and gore.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bySlendyDaMan March 23, 2016

Good

Really gory in one scene-bloody and disturbing. Strong language. Posters of nude women. Some horror. SPOILER Practically everyone dies in a gruesome, horrible way. Good Sci-Fi Horror movie.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byOzhowlett January 9, 2016

It may not be scary (for me anyway) but it is still amazing

Now this film is not for young children. To get the best experiance from the film do not watch promethius and do not show your chilldren any spoofs. It will be hard but I think I would help. Unfortunatly I knew what happened at some points so it wasn't as scary. Now this is very much a personal thing because everyone's fears are different. It was not that scary. The reason why it is an 18 is the following. Strong blood. Infrequant language and basicaly/no strong language. The main reason why it is an 18 is because the alien kills for no meaning. if it has to so it can live or if it is doing it for sport or both is never mentinod. I would not watch this film if you are under the age of 13 but would be better if 15. To be appreciated the viewer must not just watch the latest blockbuster. I am very educated in my film watching thanks to my family and my schools film club. I say this because as common sense says it is slightly outdated. The amount of people who I asked if they have seen the film and they said "yer it was terrible" and all they watch is the latest films is shocking. I would recommend the adult watching it first not to see if they are ready for the horror (ok that to) but to also check if they are ready to not just watch it but to love it like I did. I am putting great messages because it teaches you not to trust people just because you work for them. You will see why
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byRandomcuber September 5, 2015

Scary but amazing

This film has some jumps cares but is mainly just suspense. There is violence by the alien and some bad language. The film is extremely well made and gripping.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old July 21, 2015

Horrifying

This movie is not for a child under the age of fifteen, I myself am under the recommended age and it terrified me. It includes: jump scares, blood and gore and strong language, it is certainly not for the faint-hearted. The plot itself though was fascinating, after discovering a strange beacon from a near planet the crew investigates on the surface and uncovers a forgotten nightmare, although there is not a lot of blood and gore it certainly does hint to it throughout the movie and with some scenes with extreme cases of it. It is not that is scary it's just the tension throughout the movie which gives you unease. Excellent direction and good acting means it is certainly one for the future. I hope you found my review helpful!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byDillpickle37 May 4, 2015

Alien: Ridley Scott's Masterpiece

Alien, upon first glance, is nothing more than a typical haunted house story, but in a science fiction setting. Originally intended to be a B-movie with an A budget, alien went on to become a masterpiece of filmmaking that transcends genre conventions and remains effective as both a science fiction and horror movie to this day. As a sci-fi, it has all the obligatory spaceships and artificial intelligence that have become so common in science fiction, but what makes Alien so much better than the typical science fiction movie is the way that it portrays the world of the future. Much like Ridley Scott's other sci-fi masterpiece, Blade Runner, which came out 3 years later, Alien paints a bleak vision of the future, where earth is dominated by large corporations that have supplanted the government. Alien also explores themes such as isolation, discovery, and asks us what happens when one organization is given too much power. But it is on a horror level that Alien works best. The fear is so personal, playing on the audiences deepest anxieties about the unknown, and, while not particularly gory, the violence is so unsettling because of how personal and intimate it is. In the case of one character, it even seems vaguely sexual. The design of the Alien itself is unsettling, with its phallic head, inner jaw, and long snakelike fingers, but even in the scenes without the Alien, there is a pervasive sense of tension and unease that keeps us on the edge of our seats, and the movie doesn't become overly reliant on cheap jumpscares (not that jumpscares are inherently bad, just commonly overused). One of the greatest aspects of Alien is the pacing. It gets off to a slow start, introducing us to the characters and environment. The calmness of the first half makes the rest of the movie seem even more horrifying. After the Alien's first appearance, things are really kicked into high gear, with non-stop tension until literally the end of the movie. Another great element of Alien is the characterization. Every character is well developed, and each one follows their own story arc. Take, for example, Parker. He is stubborn, always wanting to be a leader, but when in a dangerous situation, he grudgingly allows Ripley to take control, because she is the true leader. The acting is excellent, and each character feels relatable and realistic. The superbly written screenplay by Dan O'Bannon allows each character to subvert the genre clichés and become a real person. Yet another reason Alien is so good is the cinematography. Ridley Scott makes extensive use of tracking shots in the film, that serve very well to acquaint and immerse us in the environment. Ambient lighting is also used extensively, with the lights of various machinery creating interesting patterns and illuminating the surrounding environment in different ways. The set and costume design are also done very well. These people are essentially truckers in space, and their clothing reflects that. The interior of the Nostromo appears very industrial. It is all function over appearance. The various symbols on the walls and the trinkets on the dining table aid in making the environment feel authentic and lived in. The mechanical environment of the Nostromo contrasts sharply against the interior of the alien ship, which appears organic, almost dripping wet. Finally is the score. The music is masterfully composed, incorporating haunting sound effects and ambient noises that appear (or don't) in all the right places to accentuate the terror. Alien, from my personal, subjective view, is the greatest movie of all time. From an objective, critical perspective, it is a masterpiece of filmmaking that should be viewed by all. Violence- 7/10: A crablike alien creature attacks a man and latches onto his face. A baby alien creature burrows out of a man's chest, showering the entire area with blood. The Alien kills several people using various methods, including using it's inner jaw to bite people's heads, with accompanying blood. A woman is killed. While we do not see it, the accompanying sound effects are very graphic and disturbing. The Alien also clubs a man with it's tail. In the Director's Cut, two men are seen cocooned to a wall. A woman burns them with a flamethrower. A woman is beaten badly by a man. He is then decapitated with a fire hydrant, SPOILERS revealing him to be an android SPOILERS END. SPOILERS The Alien is shot into space. SPOILERS END. Sex & Nudity- 3/10: In one scene, posters of naked women can be seen on a wall in the background, with breasts shown. They are somewhat blurry and out of focus, but they are explicit. A man makes a joking sexual remark to a woman. This may go over younger kids' heads. Language- 5/10: 6 or 7 uses of f*ck, several uses of sh*t, ass, damn, and G*ddamn. There are also a few misuses of Jesus' name. Drinking, Drugs & Smoking- 1/10: People are seen using tobacco in a few scenes.
Teen, 13 years old Written bythedalekmaster April 5, 2015

In space, no one can hear you scream...

Riddly Scott's Alien (1979) is a sci-fi and horror masterpiece. The visuals are stunning for the 70's. Also Ripley is a big step in movie heros being females. The horror element kicks in at about a quarter through the film. Much of the deaths take place of screen yet the ones on screen are just as horrific, such as a man's skull being punctured by the iconic Alien double mouth, toung, thing. The most explicit death is when an alien creature makes it's way through a man chest, rather iconic, yet a little gory for younger viewers.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byfonzieg April 3, 2015

Classic sci-fi flick may bore kids, but will please teens and adults!

One of Ridley Scott's finest movies! It's like a slasher movie, but in space, and with an alien! However, this movie will definitely bore kids! The pacing for this movie is incredibly slow! The only problem i have with this movie is that the still shots of inside the ship gets really boring! Other than that, this a movie that is worth your time and money, because this is a great film!
Kid, 11 years old April 2, 2015

Amazing Movie!

The first time I saw this movie I was absolutely fascinated! It is a very well thought out movie, with great suspense, and at the same time action. In spite of that, I wouldn't recommend it to viewers under the age 14, of course that is only in general, since maturity is what truly matters.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byMavrah333 March 19, 2015

more a thriller than a horror

This sci fi thriller is a suspenseful, creepy tale of a mining ship in space, with some unwanted cargo. By the half way mark, an alien is loose and the body clock begins. This is a very well made thriller that had me at the edge of my sofa for the last half hour. The violence is mostly only implied, but it is creepy in many scenes. Note sex references and language. Final Score: 9/10: Epic
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old January 26, 2015

If I could I would put 3.5 ( didn't stop me from watching the sequel tho )

It was good but not that good. Not much swearing I think it's only an 18 bcoz it is a bit scary . Personally I was ok - watched with dad and I jumped a few times but I like that. I would say 10-12 but you know your kid better than me so....
Kid, 12 years old January 18, 2015

Scary sci fi, not for everyone

Alien is an amazing sci fi horror movie, not for young kids though. Very suspenseful, the alien looks horrifying. When it bursts out of a man's chest gore is everywhere, later on it kills around 8 people, possibly raping them. A very creepy scene where an animatronic malfunctions and tries to murder the ship crew. He is then decapitated, leaving white blood everywhere. A few F bombs here and there, not much. Pretty much a teens only film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byjamesbondfan November 18, 2014

Not for kids

Not as gory as most would think. The worst part is when the alien bursts out of the guys stomach. Mostly the film is really intense. The violence is mostly not shown but is very creepy and intense. Not much in ways of nudity. Characters are shown in their underwear but it doesn't really last long. There isn't really any smoking in the movie. There is quite a good amount of language though (including the f-word). So I'm going to say that if you can't handle really suspenseful and scary movies then don't watch this movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages