All member reviews for Alien

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Dated but still extremely scary. Not for younger kids.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 154 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bytaylorpenny December 28, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Problems With Language Or Blood? Steer Clear.

I first watched this when I was twelve, and I wasn't scared at all. Parents should know that this incredible movie features a strong female lead, and violence is present at all times. Mainly, the scariness is fueled by tension, and you can see the alien's (or "xenomorph's") tail before he attacks anyone. There are a couple scenes with lots of blood, and these can be pretty scary. There is quite a bit of language. At the end, Ripley is seen in her underwear, however this is not meant to be sexual or erotic.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byStellalovesbas November 29, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

For young teenagers and up

This movie was not as scary as I thought it would have been. I am a teenage girl but I love watching these movies with my dad. I was scared throughout the movie but afterwards I was fine. Kids who get scared easily should not watch this. The only gross bit was when the baby alien popped out of the guys stomach, it wasn't that gross as you didn't see any guts coming out, you only saw his stomach moving then the alien came out. Overall a good movie
Teen, 14 years old Written byMetalman173 November 5, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

terrifying

the scariest part is the suspence
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old October 14, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Scary Movie

Its a scary movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byGreat gatsby August 6, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Not THAT bad

A tad bit scary but not much at all can be a tiny bit violent also not really THAT bad
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old July 18, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Pretty creepy even for 1979 graphics

Really creepy, really suspenseful, and really violent. Most of the deaths were on screen and very graphic. I hand it to them, it looked pretty realistic for that old of a movie. Not for 10 and under. Every one else fine. I highly recommend this scary movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old May 22, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

IN SPACE NO ONE CAN HEAR YOU SCREAM

a fantastic horror film that really scares saw this when I was 9 terrified. I just kept telling myself I wasn't in space
Teen, 14 years old Written byfast101 May 10, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

The True Start of the Science Fiction Horror Genre!

First off, this movie is a classic! But before you watch it, you gotta know yourself. If you think you can't handle a scene or two of blood/gore, you might wanna wait. This movie is great, but it's got some bad language (About five uses of the F word and some other brief uses of milder words.) and some intense and scary scenes. But the main issue you'll find here is the violence. I'd recommend this everyone 14 & up to watch this if your viewing alone. 13-year old kids should watch this with parent, but no one under should see it due to it's intense violence. Like the title of my review says, this is the true start of the science fiction horror genre!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old April 2, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Rating

Toward the end of the movie a woman does get in her underwear. To get in a pod to go back to earth. In the movie a ALIEN pops out of a guys chest. Very intense for kids. It can be very INapropiate for kids, I was nine watching the show and it freaked me out so much. Please do not let your younger kids watch this.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byYour_God April 2, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Unn . . . I will give it half n' half

In alien, there are some crude scenes. In one, an alien pops of of a guys chest. In one scene, there are pictures of nude women, breast and all.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byJess17 March 31, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Slow to start but worth the wait

Amazing classic sci-fi film but i wouldn't class it as a horror. the infamous 'scary' chest scene is not up to scratch to the realism of todays movies and therefore i feel kids will more likely laugh than scream. considering the new 'pretty much a remake' Prometheus is a 15 and is ten times as jumping and gory, alien is a fantastic movie but is no longer a scare. Kids probably would get bored at the VERY slow start and therefore not the best film but the alien itself still seems realistic at times which is testament to the amazing special effects at the time. There is also the strong female star who is a positive role model in the story. MUCH better than the newer 'remake' and a brilliant watch.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old March 7, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

A Movie I'll See When I'm Older

I'll see this when I'm older, but if it's too scary, I won't see the sequels.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old March 3, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great movie

Alien is a sci-fi movie that is more of a thriller than horror. I mean, a little worm bursts out of a mans chest but its slow and shows a little guts but not much. I'd say the only violent part would be that and the part where the guy looking for the cat gets impaled then blood drizzles down on the others. So all in all I think this is one of the best movies ever.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byTripFoot January 11, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great!

I am a strange child. I watched Alien when I was 7 and E.T. when I was... oh, nevermind, I never watched it. Anyways, this is that kind of movie which keeps you on the edge of your seat. Horror fans/ sci-fi fans would appreciate this movie. By the way, kids aren't dumb sheep that can be easily scared with a bit of blood and violence. Maybe 7 is a bit too young, but 10 is certainly fine for this movie. Besides, a reason why I was never afraid of dentists/the dark/monsters/doctors is probably because my parents didn't think I was a sissy and let me watch these movies. Life isn't all rainbows and flowers. Let your kids realize it, the earlier the better.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byevolinag December 17, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Classic Science Fiction masterpiece is too intense for younger viewers.

"Alien" is a science fiction movie by Ridley Scott released in 1979. ------------------------------------------------- Being released in the late 70s, "Alien" was way ahead of its time. Comparing it to other classics of that era (e.g. Star Wars), this movie has a completely different way of athmosphere and plot. The protagonists are normal people like you and me, no heroic and unrealistic beings you can't identify with. However, propably the only person having real heroism is the main character of Ellen Ripley, who is a strong woman. She always stays powerful and clear in mind, no matter how desperate the situation is. Also, "Alien" is a movie you can watch again and again, without getting boring. It still stays suspenseful and well-made no matter often you watch it. There is a scene set in a ventilation shaft that is going to get you every time. It also is one of the few movies that has a plot like this without being ridiculous. You should take this movie as serious as any critical drama - this is no average sci-fi-horror flick. Maybe it will help you to know that this is directed by Ridley Scott, who will later be awarded for his superb history movie, "Gladiator". "Alien" is deeply intelligent and of an adult nature, and is one of the best of its genre. Or even the best! --------------------------------- You need to know that "Alien" has its violent and intense moments and needs caution. It takes the same caution that "Terminator" takes, another classic science fiction horror movie. There is one scene in which an alien baby bursts out of a man's stomach, with blood splattering everywhere. Also, several people are killed by the Alien, but it is mostly off-screen or extremely brief. The whole athmosphere is suspenseful, and has a few shock moments. But also, you have to keep in mind that it was made in 1979 and that younger viewers, who are used to modern horror or science fiction movies. There are 5 f-words, with language on the border of a PG-13. Like mentioned before, it takes the same caution as "The Terminator". Both movies have some R-violence, but because of its depiction and the many references in modern pop culture, should be okay for teens anround 12 and up.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byLu Bu December 2, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Not Sigourney's best

Oh good lord, If you thought African Cats was boring and gross, you should really see this movie. This was just flat-out disturbing. Most of the guys were idiots for not incinerating those aliens. Well, at least the smart one survived at the end.
Adult Written bycritic sense November 4, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Recommended Rating: 14+ for moderate violence, intense/frightening scenes and brief strong language

Although this classic sci-fi/horror film is not very gory, it maintains an intense and dark atmosphere throughout. There are many jump scares and some scenes may be too frightening for younger viewers. The chestburster scene is the only real violent part of the whole film. A baby alien bursts from a man's stomach and blood splatters everywhere. There is a bit of strong language, including 5 F-words, but it's quite brief. There are also some mild sexual references, including a non-explicit portrayal of nude women on pornographic magazines. Some characters smoke cigarettes in the film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 10 year old Written bymrfredcarrey October 22, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

alien

alien is ok just the part when kane get a alien in his chest and it pop out and it shooting blood but it a good movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bySomeoneYouDon'tKnow October 21, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

A real sci-fi/horror classic

This movie is amazingly shot, breathtakingly atmospheric, and almost completely flawless. It has all the tension of a good horror film and all the awesome special effects of a good sci-fi film. The tension was brilliantly handed, showing almost none of the actual alien and leaving much to the viewer's imagination. The musical score was awesome, with some quiet, tense dings, but some loud bursts for the scenes with the Alien. The acting is also great for the time, especially Sigourney Weaver and Ian Holme. The script is also witty and realistic, but dead serious when it wants to be. There are some good twists in the plot that keep the film going, and it all works up to a great ending that leaves you a hungry for a sequel, but not enough so that it's not an entertaining movie in its own right. It's chilling, atmospheric, dark, grim, brooding, bloody, and one of the best films of the 1970s.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 2 year old Written bygerbowski October 7, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Scary, but good.

A great classic in the sci-fi horror genre.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages