All member reviews for Alien

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Dated but still extremely scary. Not for younger kids.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 155 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byThe Snake Pit August 23, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Awesome movie for people 13 and up

Great movie!! iffy for below 13 not to violent most violent parts are brief one part where a human looking robot gets his head torn off pretty disturbing and a picture of naked ladies in a mans room for a brief second when a character is pinned down only thing better is Aliens
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old August 6, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

good effects

Harmless unless you think there is a monster is under ya bed:S It isnt to scary and all in all it is an amazing and excellent movie even for me( the girl who hates sci-fi)
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written by4stewarts July 31, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old July 21, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Lots of tension in this classic

This movie was horrifying. I was extremely nervous throughout. It was the most tense movie i have ever seen. Suggested MPAA rating: R for some sci-fi violence/gore, terror and language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byPea789 July 12, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
This movie was not scary, more science fiction. The language was pretty bad. In the second and up ones, the language is much worse, but this one had much language, too
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bydanboy99 July 12, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byLinkin Park vs.... June 27, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Bravo

Very well done.. congrats Ridley Scott on the major accomplishment... a great way to start one of the best series ever created
Kid, 10 years old June 19, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
oh my gosh !!!!!! scary!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 8 years old June 15, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Good: Yeah! Scary: NO!!!!!

I saw this movie a week ago, and I'm only 8 and I wasn't scared at ALL. It's a very good movie, but the only reason it didn't scare me was because I knew what was coming. It would normally scare the pants off most kids my age. Oh and there were also photos of naked women in the backgrouns at one point. EWW! And also it's a violent but tame R-movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byJasonr May 29, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

kinda boring...

This movie has tame violence, except for one scene. It's a tame R movie that isn't scary or all that good.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old May 12, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

a good moive for young adults and teens

it has lots of bad things in it smoking weaver in her bra and f___k in it but it is a good movie for 15+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old May 1, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Scary, heart pumping, amazing.

Vey great story. Masterpiece. Scary and violent at times. Gret for preteens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old April 12, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
FRICKIE
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old March 14, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

great movie for sci fi lovers!

Many older people who saw this movie around when it came out will advise you not to see this movie for its violence. The thing is, the saw it way back when that was the most horrifying thing out. In todays standards, its violent but not to bad for anyone over the age of 11. I think Alien is probably one of the greatest science fiction movies of all time. I advise that this movie is full of creepy surprises so if you have seen this movie and want to show it to a younger audience (14-) than you may want to warn them before the gory and/or freaky bits.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byBaconBitz March 7, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good 12 and up. Too scary for younger kids

Alien is a Sci-Fi/Horror film. This is an excellent movie. I saw it and it was pretty scary. The only scene that was really violent was the baby alien bursting out of a man's chest. All the rest is offscreen. The language is bad but not often. There are a few nude pictures in the backround of some scenes, but they are blurry due to the camera's focus. Alien is an excellent horror movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old February 20, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
There are two really violent scenes: the chest-bursting scene (first pretty disturbing; then just bloody) and the robot scene (first just fist-fighting, then a man is decapitated, and his insides are shown; extremely gory). However, it's not nearly as scary if you know what's coming.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byPoison Ivey January 27, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Think about it... this movie is real old it cant be that bad

this is about as worse as it got back in the 70s- the movie is downright awesome, and it realy isn't that scary because the effects are very fake looking and you can tell that the dead bodies are plastic manakins covered. But its a classic but honestly its nothing a teen cant handle (way over the top for young ones obviously), I honestly think the language makes it R theres way more cursing than violence, and the only really scary part is when the man is impregnated by that creature (That was a little violent but again it was very fake looking it's nearly impossible to wince). The only thing I heated was the racism- a black man is seen as a low class maintenance guy and the crew have little respect for him (but again, think when this movie was made it was considered politically corret back then). But now i feel prejudice because i ended up diliking an african american character because of the way they potray him :( OOOO well its highly recommened and remember its mostly language that makes it R violence level is PG-13 level.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old January 7, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

good for tweens and adults

A great movie! hasnt got too bad stuff as long as your matchure about it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bykatiemay017 January 4, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

AWESOME!!! 13+

AMAZING!!! Sigourney Weaver is AWESOME! you should deffinitely see it!! can be a little scary at times, but a thrill!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byjohnwi312 December 27, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Fantastic horror movie, OK for teens.

I saw Alien when I was about 13. It did terrify me, but I was fine watching it at that age - there's some bloody violence and cursing, but nothing that most young teenagers can't handle. Since then, it has become one of my favorite movies. Alien is slow-paced, but never boring - one of the best horror movies ever made.

Pages