Common Sense Media says

Alien sequel is bigger, faster, scarier.

Users say

(out of 63 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheMovieAddict April 5, 2015

A great movie for strong minded kids

I first watched this movie at the age of 6, theres not too much horror or violence so its perfectly suitable for 11+ years [depending on the child].
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byfonzieg April 3, 2015

Bolder, faster, and action packed, Hell yeah!

Aliens, such an awesome movie! It's slightly better than Alien, it has slightly better characters, slightly better atmosphere, and a great cast! The special effects hold up better in this one as well! It's more violent too, but not as gory! It's a movie so action packed, and so entertaining, you'll be wanting to watch it again and again long after the credits are done! Basically it's one of the greatest films of all time!
Adult Written byhomealonefan123 March 6, 2015

Dazzling, exciting, and violent sequel is actually better than the first!

It's bigger, and better than the original! The aliens look better than ever, the performances are greater, the action sequences are superb, and just the perfect action film!
Adult Written byOneVeryLongUsername March 4, 2015

"Aliens" - Parental and Artistic Review.

Sexual Content: A nude photo is briefly seen in the doorway to the hyper-sleeping room. When the team starts waking up, they are all in their undergarments; the men are shirtless. When Hudson asks what the mission is about, Apone replies, "Oh, you'll love it. We gotta save a bunch of juicy colonist daughters from their virginity." Frost says, "I wouldn't mind getting some of that Arctunian poontang!" Spunkmeyer replies, "Yeah, Frost, but the one that you had was male!" Frost then says, "Male or female, it doesn't matter if it's Arctunian!" 4.2 out of 10. Violent/Gory Content: An alien attacks Ferro off-screen while she's piloting her dropship (off-screen, but blood splatters onto the cockpit window). Shortly afterward, the dropship crashes because no one is piloting it. Dead corpses are seen wrapped in cocoons; a chestburster alien rips through a living woman's chest. Some blood pours out, although not as much as the chestburster from the first movie. Ripley has a nightmare that an alien bursts out of her; the alien can be seen under her skin just before she wakes up. Many aliens are shown being killed by the soldiers with machine and other guns (Lots of green blood from the aliens shown). In the 1991 Special Edition version, there are four sentry machine-gun turrets that tear through hundreds of aliens with lots of alien blood. While Hudson is shooting other aliens, another alien grabs him from under the floor and drags him in. He shouts for Hicks to help him, but another alien attacks Hicks, causing him to let go and for Hudson to be dragged under to be cocooned. In one prolonged sequence, the soldiers are attacked by a group of aliens. Dietrich is ambushed by one and in a panic, she discharges her flamethrower at Frost; he runs around while on fire and runs into a railing, which he trips over and falls several stories to his death. Hicks, Wierzbowski and Crowe investigate what happened, but Hicks notices that Frost's ammunition bag is on fire and they all run. Crowe, being the closest to the blast, gets thrown into a nearby wall, snapping his neck and killing him instantly; Wierzbowski is injured but alive, and Hicks is unscathed. Hicks props Wierzbowski against a nearby wall and while he's not looking, Wierzbowski is grabbed by an alien. A firefight between the soldiers and many of the soldiers are killed. Drake is fatally injured after being sprayed by acid (no blood, but there is a brief shot of his face being eaten away). Several times, people are killed both on and off-screen with minimal and lots of blood. Hicks shoots an alien in the head and is burned by acid blood on his face and body (he is shown in extreme pain and with acid burnt armor and lots of smoke). Vasquez and Gorman are cornered by the aliens and opt to take them out in a manner that results in their own deaths. The two of them cling together, clutching a hand grenade in their hands, and detonate it. Ripley and Newt uncovers a nest of the alien's eggs and the "queen" alien, who is presently laying more eggs. She destroys many of the eggs with a flamethrower, and a violent and stressful fight ensues. A human-looking android is impaled and torn in half. There is white synthetic blood spraying in all directions, and his insides (a type of intestines) are visible in the subsequent scenes. Although he is a robot, his insides look quite human and the audience has an emotional connection to this character by this time and may find this additionally disturbing. 8.6 out of 10. Profanity: Around 24 "f" words, as well as 15 "s" words, 11 "asses" (2 used with "hole" and 1 written), 9 "hells," 6 "damns," 2 uses of "bitch" (1 written on Drake's smartgun), 2 uses of "bastard," 1 "crap" and 1 "S.O.B." 3 uses of the middle finger are seen. Religious exclamations and profanities include at least: 19 uses of "Goddamn," 5 of, "Oh, God," 4 of "Jesus," 3 of "Oh, God," 2 of "God," and 1 use each of "Oh, dear Lord Jesus" and "Christ" (2 in Director's Cut). 6.9/10. Substance Use: There are a few scenes with smoking. The main character Ripley smokes in a few scenes as does Hicks. Apone smokes cigars frequently. 5.9 out of 10. Conclusion: "Aliens," while not as well-made as the original Alien film, is still a brilliant film. It has amazing visual effects (especially for its time), great action, fantastic performances, well-developed characters, memorable dialogue, and more. I give this film 8.8 out of 10.
Kid, 12 years old January 13, 2015

Loved it! (Mabye even better than the first)

This movie was great! Mabye even better than the original! It was action packed and full of adventure. BEWARE there are lots of curses throughout the entire movie. Intense violence as well. Some parts are pretty gory and plain disgusting. In one part an Alien bursts out of a Marine's stomach. However there were great role models in it.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byjamesbondfan November 18, 2014
Much more violent than Alien. There are lots of scenes of aliens being shot and soldiers being killed by aliens. Some gore. There is a chestburster scene like in the first film but it is not as gory. No nudity. Lots of language, more than in the first film. Very intense movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byspaceexploration November 11, 2014

Great Movie!

Action packed, super scary, and altogether awesome. Loved it!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old October 18, 2014
It's a bit bloody at times and profanity is used but of course the gunshots drown them abit some marines do smoke cigars but every kid knows cigars are bad the action is intense and some lines are pretty cool oh and don't forget about that ITS GAME OVER GAME OVER MAN
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bymoviewathcer September 13, 2014

Sci fi/horror movie with a slow start

The movie has aliens bursting out of a stomach, and an alien warrior murdering all of the crew. The crew sais @ss and fu©k. There are posters of women's bare breasts in one scene. When the main character is about to sleep, she puts on her painties, which leave the top part of her bottom uncovered.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old January 6, 2014

This film is so good one of my favorites

I think this film is ok for mature 12 year old and up the aliens look very graphic and can easily scare anyone. But this film is the best and I watched it when I was 12. It was an 18 when it came out in the 80's but now it is dated and I would make it a 12a now
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byevolinag December 18, 2012

Sequel is as brilliant and intense as the first one. Teens and up!

"Aliens" is a 1986 sequel to the 1979 science fiction movie "Alien". ----------------------------- When the original "Alien" was released in 1979, it was one of the most breathtaking and most excellent science fiction movie of all time. However, judging through the experience we have, sequels are rarely as good as the original, especially if they are done by another director. In most cases, it either copies the original, or comes up with poor quality - or both. Still, "Aliens" is one of the few examples. Ridley Scott is replaced by James Cameron, who already made "The Terminator" and in the future will release "Titanic", winner of 11 Oscars. And Cameron knows how to fascinate the viewers. There is a terrific athmosphere, including many scenes of breathtaking action, but without being too cliched or unoriginal. The character of Newt, a young girl who survived from the Alien attack where her parents have been killed, has been added to the story. Ellen Ripley now tries to prevent her from harm, having her as the child she never had. "Aliens" is more action-ish than its calm preceeder, but still has not lost any of its serious, dark undertone. Sigourney Weaver gives an overwhelming, memorable performance, which earned her an Oscar-nomination. It's as simple as that: "Aliens" is one of the few sequels that are as good as the first one. Also, it is refreshing, has a touching subplot involving a traumatized girl and is simply one of the movies you can watch again and again, without getting boring. ----------------------------------- (SPOILERS may follow:) "Aliens" is not as suspense as the first one, since the first one was a bit scary, while this movie here is rather action-ish. Still, we've got aliens bursting out of people's stomachs. In a scene near the opening, we see an alien trying to burst out of Ripley's body, but it turns out just to be a dream (we don't see the event). The violence is not too strong compared to nowaday's movie. In one grpahic scene, we see a woman that was cocooned by the alien. At first, it appears like she is dead, but she suddenly begins to move and says "Kill Me!", which Ripley finally does using a flamethrower. A woman is unexpectedly killed by the Alien. She sits in a cockpit, turns around and an alien suddenly appears. Much blood spurts onto the windshield, but the main impact is off-screen. An android is impaled and then ripped in half. He has white blood, which spurts everywhere and some viscera. However, he still lives, and also, it does not look that graphic since he is an android. It is just emotional since he is a protagonist. Many aliens get killed with acid blood spurting everywhere, but it is not that graphic since it involves aliens. Some people get burnt by the acid blood, but it is never graphic. There are about 20 uses of the f-word. Should be okay for viewers 12 and up, but needs caution. If your kid could handle "The Terminator", it can handle this movie as well.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 2 year old Written bygerbowski October 15, 2012

Great action sequel, probably ok for older teens

Action-packed sequel to "Alien" delivers not only scary, sci-fi action, but a gripping tension that keeps the viewing on the edge of their seat. Whoever reviewed this movie for this website is totally off only giving it three stars. I've found that most of the movie reviewers on this site can't get past the violence or sex in a movie to call it good. They also seem to have an issue with kids being in movies if they are portrayed to be in danger? Come on! I'm sorry, but if that's the stretch you have to make to find something wrong with a film, then you probably shouldn't be writing these reviews. If I could I would give this film 4 and a half stars, it isn't the best I've ever seen, but for a sequel to come even close to being as good as the original, bravo! Parents should be aware that this movie is not for children, as it is very scary. The violence is not especially gruesome, but anyone younger than 15 or 16 should probably steer clear.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bylikestowatchmovies June 13, 2012

awsome movie

other than language theres not any violence a kid would see on a goosebumps+guns
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byzappyo29 May 23, 2012

Frightening, suspenseful horror film is best for 14+

This movie is an amazing film, but parents should think before allowing anyone under the age of 14 to watch it. Many scenes involve frightening aliens attacking humans, including a 8 yr old girl. Ripley and the Marines swear frequently, as well as smoking cigarettes. However, this film is definetly in my top ten movies of all time, and is well worth watching.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written by80sfan8 May 14, 2012

Better than the first one.

Again like the first movie in the series this isn't too bad for today's standards. It has more cursing and it's a little more violent that the first one, but not too bad. I actually enjoyed this more than the first one.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bythe postaldude May 1, 2012

aliens the best!

when i first watched aliens i was amazed at the time its creatures (xenomorphs) were kinda scary and there was some violent images but other than that its not really bad most of the blood isnt even noticable and the language isnt used to much ripley (sigourney) is a great role model she takes in a small girl named newt whose family has died (off screen) and ripley protects her. the film is a instent classic i say that teens should watch this maybe not little kids but its still really good
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byKingdestroyah April 4, 2012

The mostly come at night.

The second in the series that basicly created modern sci-fi. This movie just blew me away. It is the greatest sci-fi movie ever made in my (And many others) opinion. Alot of people say violence is a problem, but they should look at the fact that James Cameron could've easily made this 5 times gorier. The acting was great, the effects were amazing, script was alright, but a couple of the marines were ridiculous.Onto the Aliens: The Xenomorphs were great, how did scott ever think of this creature? It basicly brings together the strangest qualities of the strangest creatures and puts them into one beast. Truly amazing. The greatest monster, the greatest characters, and the greatest movie.
Teen, 17 years old Written bydavyborn September 5, 2011

A Masterpiece, but almost overwelmingly violent

Aliens is a fantastic sequel to the original Alien, and even better in my opinion. But, there is even more gory violence, profanity and chaos in this second installment that may be a bit much for some teens. Also, the action sequences and constant threat of violence may be overwelming for some viewers, as it has been known to be for some people. Besides that, though, this is a really great movie, both in the sci-fi perspective and the action perspective.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bymegamanfreak321 June 26, 2011

My thoughts on Aliens

I watched this when I was 8 and a week ago i picked this up for my vhs at goodwill(special edition version). I felt that the bad language goes for a 7 to 10 scale(10 being the baddest). Also I felt that there isnt enough time to show the aliens. Like you get to see one of them for a second and then its dead and the continue on. Theres alot of violence. Two People blow themselves up just to save the other marines. and another time a guy is ripped in half. and even another time a guy gets impregnated by a facehugger alien(creeepy...)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bySpielberg00 May 30, 2011

Even better than the first "Alien". This time, we've got James Cameron.

My rating: PG-13 [borderline with R] for some intense and frightening images of alien violence and gore, tense situations, and for some language.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages