All member reviews for Alpha Dog

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Timberlake stars in fact-based drug drama.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 18 reviews)
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bySanjay407 October 28, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Read

Read: Rated R: Graphic language, violence, Strong drug use, and Strongly Graphic Sex. This does have content from Family Guy, South Park, etc.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old September 5, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

DESTROY THIS MOVIE!!!!!!!!!

OVER 300 F WORDS!!!!! INNAPROPIATE FOR UNDER 21!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bymanay_4511 August 10, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

warning: alot of explicit stuff that'll offend somebody (like south park)

the messages are VERY BAD and the content will offend everybody, the sex is EXTREMELY EXPLICIT, and the language is EXTREMELY EXPLICIT (but extremely incessant and exceptionally colorful and vivid)... and also there will be extreme violence also... so please! adults only please!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

TERABLE

I HAVENT SEEN IT BUT I HEARD IT WAS BAD.I JUST READ ABOUT IT.AND MY AUNT AND DAD
Adult Written byCritical MeltDown April 13, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

367!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It uses the F Word 367 TIMES!! I COUNTED NO KIDS SHOULD SEE THIS
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bysueee June 10, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

kkkk

superbowl jerseys wholesale superbowl jerseys dropshipping superbowl jersey cheap nfl superbowl jerseys superbowl XLIV superbowl 2010 superbowl 44 superbowl tickets superbowl trivia nfl superbowl superbowl jersey superbowl jerseys wholesale superbowl jerseys dropshipping superbowl jersey cheap nfl superbowl jerseys superbowl XLIV superbowl 2010 superbowl 44 superbowl tickets superbowl trivia nfl superbowl superbowl jersey wholesale nfl jerseys nfl jerseys wholesale new orleans saints nfl jerseys
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bySkyrock5 June 3, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

A Film United to Shine

Based on true life events, Alpha Dog is nothing short of spectacular. Where the line becomes blurred between moral justice and conscious wrongdoing is the centre of the transpiring action in Alpha Dog, giving the movie the added punch of a well-deserved gravitational pull. Johnny Truelove, the film’s antagonist, portraying the true Jesse James Hollywood is an L.A. drug dealer. Having built up his young life already, living his own version of the American Dream, he steps on one client, Jake Mazursky, who cannot keep up with his tab. After an adrenalin-packed fight ensues, Truelove settles for kidnapping Jake’s 15 year old brother, Zack. But little does Zack know that the following weekend will be one he will remember for the rest of his life. With a cast gathered to shine, Emile Hirsch is at the centre of the events, depicting Johnny Truelove. But if one person rose from the crowd, Justin Timberlake would be the one to do it. Giving the performance of his career, Timberlake portrays Frankie, a lost malefactor, who within the turmoil, understands the weight of his actions. An exceptionally hard role to show the emotional side of, Timberlake does not let us slow our expectations of his perplexed character. Director Nick Cassavetes may have dawdled the plot, but all for a good reason. The film’s intense sequences smother all deformities we may see on the outer surface, and keeps the success of the movie travelling surprising lengths. Not a movie to give up on, Alpha Dog shows the product of brutal truth when mixed with overwrought characters.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old March 31, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
310 F words and it's deritives,2 obcsene hand gestures,20 sexual refrences,55 scgatol terms,46 anmoctiol terms,36 mild obcesntes,3 degroty terms for african americans,1 derogty terms for jewish people.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byMrCrab August 21, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Okay movie but not suitable for kids.

Kids under 14 should not be watching this, mainly because of the excessive coarse language (this film holds the record for the most number of F-bombs),and sexual content (three sex scenes and plenty of nudity throughout).
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byCoolie96 February 5, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

17?! What da F-??!

no one under 17? strong language? oh,common,Im SURE kids with 13 have already heard everything they say in da movie,or not?? strong sexual content? ITS NOT SO STRONG,just a couple of scenes,and not very graphic,except one of them. DRUGS? yeah,but that's a reality,graphic violence? DEFINATELY NOT, there's violence,thats true,but not so graphic as that (I dont remember his name) man in the video review. should be rated R? maybe not.
Teen, 13 years old Written bywolfgang10 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Powerful. Fantastic.

This was an powerful, heartrendering movie with plenty of depth. it was well portrayed, interesting, and very emotional. Its not some twisted invented plot- its a real, tragic story that shows a glimpse of how cruel life can be. I'd say 12+ varing on maturity. But I loved this movie, and i suggest it to anyone mature enough to handle it. Excellent!
Teen, 13 years old Written bycvt75@aol.com April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

hmmish

it was okay but toally nottttttt appropiate for MY age..
Adult Written byMr. Strong April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Average.

Yesterday, I did the last thing I'd want to do: Let my 11 year old son see this movie! I thought it would be too violent for him, but he insisted we see it. I thought it was average, so I give it 3/5 stars & a 5.5/10, but my son loved it, so he gives it 5/5 stars & a 10/10! I guess I didn't go wrong!
Adult Written byflare33 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

avrege drug drama

parents watch out tis movie is NOT for kids.This flick is full of drugs, full on cursing,sex, and most of all violence.
Adult Written byeagle_wings2000 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

OH JUST GET RID OF IT

WHAT KIND OF PEOPLE MAKES THESE MOVIES I MEAN COME ON HOW SICK ARE THESE PEOPLE WHO MAKE THESE MOVIES THIS IS WHAT I SAY !!!!!!YOU PEOPLE IN HOLLY WOOD THAT MAKES SUCH MOVIES, MUST YOU POISON THE MINDS OF OUR YOUTH!!!
Adult Written bydolphinlover9 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Definintly not for anyone under 17!

Alpha Dog is a fact based movie about Jesse James Hollywood, the youngest person to be on the FBI's most wanted list. In the film there is constant use of the F word, They constantly tell eachother to suck their C***. Also their are lots of drinking and drug use. Plus very graphic use of violence. This film may attract kids because of Justin Timberlake but be warned it is absolutely not for kids at all.
Kid, 8 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
sholud be rated r
Adult Written byyourmama12 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

sucks

this movie sucks really bad