Common Sense Media says

Ultra-raunchy sex comedy is a teen fave -- beware.

Users say

(out of 54 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheStifmeister December 30, 2016

I know this film's plot is about 4 guys trying to lose their virginity before high school ends, but by middle school, there's far worse your kids can hear or do. Besides, its sex is mostly for comedy, which pays off real well.

Teen, 14 years old Written by3rdeyeblonde December 18, 2016

[sex]y

Probably one of the greatest movies, though it is all about sex and the loss of virginity, it's an american comedy classic. I watched this movie with my friends and absolutely adored it! You can't go wrong with Jason Biggs! This movie gives a whole new meaning to "band camp" and "apple pie" and it's definitely worth a watch. I'm 14 and think that this is a fine movie for teens ages 13 and up.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bytristan16 October 9, 2016

its debatable

i think that it depends on the maturity and responsibility of the teen. For example, if you have a teen who listens and is really mature and responsible. I would allow them. Now if you have a rebellious, disobedient, and hellion child. I wouldn't recommend this movie.
Teen, 15 years old Written bygorywalrus May 25, 2016

One of the funniest comedies of all time.

My god this movie is so hilarious. It represents what I'm going through right now and when I'm an adult I'm gonna look back on this and really smile. There's a lot of sexual jokes. There is a scene where Nadia is shown changing (bare breasts shown) and then masturbating on Jim's bed. Two of the most iconic scenes, Finch sleeping with Stifler's mom, and Jim having sex with a pie. Kevin ejaculates in a cup of beer. The unrated version has more explicit material. Language includes a lot of uses of "f--k" and "s--t", and other language includes "p---y" and "d--k". Teens drink, and Stifler's mom smokes. Really great movie, the perfect movie for any teenager or adult that wants to relive their teenage years.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byangel181633 July 22, 2014
Kid, 11 years old December 9, 2013

Great movie

It was really funny
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bySmooth_Fish July 30, 2013

Raunchy fun, with positive message of Friendship

This is a cult film for teens everywhere. The only concerning things are Language and Sex material. There's obviously going to be drinking; what teen film doesn't? Sex mainly contains innuendo, and a whole scene of a woman undressing. Kevin pleasures Vicky, and just the plot of the guys losing their virginity. Language is strongly used by the infamous Steve Stifler, which inludes multiple uses of f--k, s--t, and all other normal naughties. Put aside this, the film has a message of friendship.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator Written bysimpleseth July 19, 2013

Timeless Classic, Read on!

A romantic comedy that does it right. The wonderful casting, believable characters, and well-developed story make this movie very memorable. Four high school friends make a pact to have sex before graduation and they only have less than three weeks to do it. Possibly the best raunchy comedy ever! Finally, make sure your children understand sex and give them "the birds and the bees" talk, in order for them to be entertained by the provocatively strong sexual references and graphic slang words.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bydvdqueen April 9, 2013

best one is the 1st one.

yes i have seen American Pie a very funny teen sex comedy . but eh not forr kids. a classic just not for kids .
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byglitchmaster February 21, 2013

better then book of love

not a good movie at all still beter then the book of love that whas a afwull movie but this one still bad it's not a family movie at all because of the sex in it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byTacobellocks15 February 5, 2013

I think it's fine

It's good. I don't see the problem. There are so many worse movies that have blasphemy and beastuality. I thing it's good and everyone is straight.
Parent of a 18+ year old Written byValdoria January 23, 2013

not worth seeing

No point other than raunchiness and selling t&a
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written bydavyborn July 16, 2012

Vulgar, disgusting, funny and...smart? A raunchy teenage comedy with brains

Paul Weitz's teen sex comedy classic, American Pie, was a pretty big box office hit when it first debuted into theatres back in the summer of 1999. And, honestly, why shouldn't it have been? I mean, even at the time, the themes of horny teenagers thinking about sex, mixed in with some suoer-edgy humor and enough vomit inducing sex jokes to please an entire space station of Louis CK fans. Yes, the American Pie franchise may have been slughtly dappered when the long string of awful direct-to-video sequals came out, but, the enjoyable reboot American Reunion, which debuted into theatres earlier this year, back in April, made the frachise cleevr and funny again. Now, many people actually forget how good this movie actually was. Many people these days look back on it as nothing more than a raunchy teen sex comedy. Well, that is exactly what it is...and so much more. Really, this film never really got enough credit for how thoughtful, smart and, dare I say it, genuinel sweet it really was. It painted a portrait of a part of everyones life that is always marked by akward relationships, thoughts and feelings: High school, the place of all major embarassment in every teens life. Still, American Pie did it right, unlike so many of those other wannabe teen comedies. American Pie was hysterically funny, boundry-crossingly filthy, and very smart and clever about how these young minds really worked. Still, this film barely squeaks away with a R Rating (the originally version of the film had to be cut down substantially to avoid the dreaded NC-17 Rating), and most eens who have seen this film never let there parents know, but, for any parents who do want to know, well, here we go: American Pie has literally non-stop sequences of strong crude and sexual content, including many instances of male and female oral sex, masturbation, premature ejaculation, teens have sex with older women, and, even a still jawdropping and very memorable seen of our young, misunderstood teen hero Jim (Jason Biggs) having sex with a pie. Yes. That is exactly what I said. Also, there is frequenty teen partying and reckless behavior, which may also erk some parents, if they would ever actually convince there teens to watch it with them... Also, the film has very frequent and storng profanity throughout the film, including nearly 50 uses of F--k, and many other uses each of sh-t, g-dd-mn, a--, a--h-le, c-ck, d-ck, c-m, wh-re, b-tch and more. So, American Pie really is so much more than just a raunchy teen sex comedy, it has a heart and brains, too. Really, I just never think that the film actually ever gets it`s rightful amount of credit for what it did, by making an edgy but relatable film about some teenagers more odd urges.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old June 13, 2012

stupid movie

this movie is extremly inniproprate for anyone under 14. it is all teen sex which i think is a horrible thing. also teens drink shots and smoke. i am 11 and i somehow saw the trailer and it was very disturbing. Also characters masterbate and watch porno.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byT-Rod April 1, 2012

Not as bad as everyone makes it out to be

American Pie was what kick-started the rated R gross-out comedy craze. Even though There's Something About Mary was what started it, and honestly nearly perfected it, American Pie is the "All Time Classic Rated R Gross Out Comedy". Or so says ANYBODY who likes this movie. But is it really that good? Short answer: No. Long answer, well, let's get the basics out of the way first. pOSTIVE pIECES: In the end, the four protagonists(James, Oz, Finch and Kevin) realize that sex isn't something that should be rushed, be done with someone special, and that it's not something you should do just because of peer pressure...but then that message is blown out the window when they all four of them sleep with someone that night. Only two of them are with someone special and even one of THOSE relationships ends the next morning. Also, a jock joins the choir to score, begins to fall in love with one of the choir chicks, and even gives up winning the big game to be with her. sEXUAL sTUFF: Surprisingly, or surprising to me, anyways, only one scene of nudity. Breasts, are seen for about 3-4 minutes. Though it has only one scene of nudity, there are tons of other sexual acts and almost nonstop sexual dialogue. For crying out loud! The FIRST scene of the movie is an awkward masturbation that goes on for about 3-4 minutes! There is also long, plentiful scenes talking about sex, sexyness, and sexist comments. I'm not going to list them all, but they are LONG and PLENTIFUL. oBSCENTITIES & oBSCENE pROFANITIES: 23 f-words and the use of the middle finger. Plus many uses of sh*t, h*ll, p*ssy, d*ck, etc. dRUG dANGERS: Lots of drinking and intoxicated characters. aLL-iN-aLL: Though American Pie is not the best of it's kind, can be hypocritical at times, and is nothing smart or clever, the characters are fun and endearing. And even if the situations aren't realistic, the dialogue is. Is it funny? Yes. Is it the funniest Gross Out Comedy movie I've ever seen? No. In fact, I actually enjoy the Harold & Kumar trilogy better than this. That said, this movie isn't very mature, even if the material is, and isn't one that most sophisticated people will enjoy. I like stupid movies. I like this movie. It isn't exactly stupid, but it's not gonna win any Oscars. However, I really DO like these characters and that's what makes this movie so good! The characters are what make these movies worth watching. Oh and they're pretty funny, too.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byGreg Foltynowicz March 29, 2011

Adults only!

Contains strong sexual comments and it contains very bad language lots of F bombs!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byGabGab100000 November 1, 2010
One night I had a friend over and after dinner he said "Gab, have you ever heard of ammerican pie? "I answered no, why?"He took out the cover from his bag and handed it to me. From what I recall I saw a group of teens, both boy and girl, smiling and a guy in the middle with his shirt of and a pie with a hole in it covering his penis.My first impression was; this looks awsome, Its probably a funny film about some teens going through high school and their sexual experiences. It's probably really funny and only a little bit rude. Man was I wrong about only being a little bit rude! I don't think I realized what a pie with a hole in it ,next to a guys penis would mean! Lol. I put the disc in and my mum came in and said "what are you watching?" I gave her the cover, she looked at it for a while and said "do u think it's approppriate, it's MA" I looked at  my mate and he said "only a little bit, they talk about sex for a bit yeah it's not that rude. My mum seemed very curious and insisted on watching the first 30 mins of it. Well, I started the movie and the first thing we heard was a guy groaning and the camera soon focused on this guy masterbating and then his parents come in on him and are just as shocked as my mum and were. I was a bit unsure on what to think and what my mum was thinking, so I burst out laughing,  both out of nervousness of what my mum was going to do and because it was pretty funny. The only thing my mum said was "are you sure this is approppraite?" I didn't answer and we kept watching. Soon after this scene all the characters were at a party,  at this point we were only 15 minutes in the film and my mum was starting to shake, lol. Two of the characters went into a room and started kissing. The guy reaches out onto the table and grabs a glass of what looks like beer. He drinks it and runs down screaming and chucks up. It wasn't beer but seamen. I thought this was pretty funny but i just couldn't laugh, partially because this was just way to awkward with my mum here and it was pretty gross. By this time we were 20 mins into the film and I was sure my mum was having an apoplectic fit and was going to turn it off in rage but no she let run. Soon after this scene another pair of character walked into a room and started making out. All this time I didn't think that it would show them having sex but just give vague impression. Instead what happens is the girl say something along the lines of "just relax and let me take car of you," and she makes her way  down and out of the camera and The guy starts moaning. By this point my mum was incredibly angry and was shaking voilently and I could of sworn that their was froth beginning to druell out of her mouth. She couldn't take it any more and only 30 mins into the film she screamed at us, took the disc out, put it in it's case and drove it back to my friends house and left it on the mat. After she came home she was just as suprised as we were, both about the movie and what she had done. lol .Overall, from what I have seen ( a dude mastubating a dude who accidently drinks seamen, a dude who gets a b.j and numerous, tones of swearing) that this film is approppriate and is intended for older teens to have a bit of a joke about high school and college but definitely not for kids or tweens. Also it is incredibly disrespectful of woman and shows them as just sex objects            
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byMachete May 17, 2010
Ill say for Mature Audiences becouse of miled nudity and alot of strong talking about sex and thata what this movie is.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old April 2, 2010

American Pie

Rated R For Strong Sexuality,Crude Sexual Dialogue,Language And Drinking-All Involving Teens
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old October 9, 2009

Good movie

this is an awesome movie. 1 or 2 scenes of nudity, a LOT of bad language, not that bad but still R rated
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages