All member reviews for An Education

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 9 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byBestPicture1996 April 3, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Well-done film

It deserved all of the Oscar nominations, and going into it I was a little worried about it content-wise, the premise wasn't very appealing. But it turned out to be very well-done and worth your time and cash!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byKaylaLeanna January 6, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

The Truth

Athough this movie is a great movie with a posative message( dont throw your life away for a guy or money) i think it should be for 14 and up due to the sexual content although it does not show nudity it does imply they have sex and untill the child is able to understand the full aspect of sex (meaning emotionally) than they should not watch it because they will just see a rape case not the concept the writter is trying to put out there the movie is over all tastefully done and although it has a few bad edits i would recommend it. :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byStephBlah May 15, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Fine for 15+, maybe a bit iffy for 12+

I think the film is quite good and not particularly inappropriate for the age group it's aimed at (although it may be awkward if watching with parents). I must say, as a Brit, Common Sense Media is wrong for saying that Sarsgaard's accent was a 'wreck' - it sounded like what you would expect of a 1960's southern English accent.
Teen, 17 years old Written byKnowler March 24, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Strive for success, not for romance..at an early age.

Never let go of your education. Yourself comes first & keep your moral values as you must face challenges in this world. Men, love, fame & fortune could lead you to an end. Think about the consequences that might happen to you unpleasantly.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymasonlackey January 15, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

teen drama is wonderful

this is a wonderful teen drama that tackles mature themes
Teen, 13 years old Written byEmilyB123 July 29, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great Movie, but for mature 13 yr olds+

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Good for older kids

I really enjoyed this movie, Cary Millingan's brake through performance was really good. This movie should not be watched by most kids [with a few exceptions] because there is a lot of drinking and smoking by both adults and teenagers but in does take place in England in the 1960s which smoking and drinking was a usual custom for most people. A good watch, with a great screenplay.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bym1 April 4, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Interesting With a Great Lesson

Apart from The Hurt Locker, this is the best movie of the year. The themes about the relationship are the only major things about this movie, but it should be fine for older middle schoolers. Deserving of its Oscar nominations, this is a MUST SEE, especially for Carey Mulligan's FANTASTIC performance.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byBrandon4News April 3, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A muture movie about immature people

There's no second guessing who the movie is marketed toward, it's for adults. While not explicit, the movie has sexual overtones that are outrageous and R rated. I was shocked at some of the things in here. I think this is fine for most teens though, considering this film is about a 16 year old girl. This is one of those well written movies with a what-not-to-do message. The film is exactly this and ends up giving its somewhat younger audience something to think about- an education.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models