All member reviews for Andrew Lloyd Webber's The Phantom of the Opera

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 101 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old August 27, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Love...

We own the movie, and we LOVE it. nothing to worry about. Just a little violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old July 15, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

The best movie EVER

It was AWESOME the best a most see amazing everyone must see it is a gift.
Teen, 13 years old Written byNiki Rae July 10, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

:D

this is my favorite musical movie of ALL TIME!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byelizad1997 July 26, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Very Enjoyable

Great movie to watch with your teen or your friends. All the actors are great and enjoyable to listen to. Very few scenes with language for example the "I remember/stranger than you dreamt it" song and scene. If you look more indepth about the lyrical meanings and acting there is some sexual desire in the movie. There is also a good amount of drinking in the movie, but it isn't overwhelming or really problematic at all. Thats why I recomend it for someone who is a teenager and above so they can understand the underlining messages of this wonderful film and see and understand the different character personalities that are really complex. If you like musicals then you will love this movie! On a personal note its my favorite movie with all the singing and all the great actors its just overwhelming how andrew lloyd webber could choose so many great and talented actors! be prepared to choose team Phantom or Team Raoul cause the ending really makes you choose! Please watch and enjoy this wonderful movie!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byangelabovedemonbelow January 10, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Very good movie with dark undertones

I saw this movie when I was forced to dance to it for ballet as a child, and I couldn't see past 'oh, good songs and pretty girl,'. At the age, I couldn't understand the Phantom's obsession over this sixteen year old girl, but now that I'm older, I know this story is darker and much more sad than I first thought. It's easier for me to get into this movie, and anyone 13+ would probably enjoy it more than younger children. I love this movie to death, but I have one issue with what some may gather over obsession being healthy and the equivant of true love when in reality it isn't healthy in the least.
Teen, 16 years old Written byRose Johnson August 3, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byapplepieisawesome July 19, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

BEST MOVIE EVER!

I LOVE THIS MOVIE!! I'VE SEEN IT AT LEAST 5 OR 6 TIMES ALREADY AND LOVE THE MUSIC. The violence isn't bad, but it's more the intensity of the violence versus the actual violence that makes it PG-13, which is the best choice, as the rating says "brief violent images". Occasional swearing is nothing to worry about and as for the sex? There IS some mild innuendo, but no little kid is goinf to be paying attention to this, its SO easy to miss if you dont know about it. For example: in the song, "The Music of the Night", (a Phantom solo). he says, "Floating, falling, sweet intoxication! Touch me, trust me savour each sensation!", but even that is questionable. In short, this movie is MARVELOUS and not that inapropriate.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byNorthernNights June 4, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great movie for 12 and up

Oh my goodness this story broke my heart! I started to cry! I love this movie though, the music is amazing, everything was done amazing. Some people may not like it, of course. Because it shows Erik's desperation to find love and how he murders, although the murders weren't at all 'bloody' It also shows a brief short of child abuse that ended in the abuser being gagged by the child. It may be dark for some people I understand, There was also a few kissing scenes but it never amounted to anything more. The only exposers in the movie is when some of the dancers have breast revealing dresses, but not enough to affect a child. Its a really great movie at least in my opinion, again it made me cry because it was sad..
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byPepsiPop May 27, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

"Genious has turned to Madness"

I thought it was wonderful! We watched it in chorus at school ( although we didn't finish it ) I read ahead. . I feel sad for Erik ( aka the Phantom, they didn't say his name in the movie but I looked up his name ) I mean these gypsies called him "The Devil's Child" when he was little and used him in the circus, and whiped him and let people laugh at him. ( Sorry for being a Spoiler ) I know Madame Girti rescued him, which I hope he is thankful for, I can understand why he is still beside himself. ( Yes I am a fan of 'The Phantom' ) Anyway, I loved the movie, its meanings its music, all of it! I love all of the characters. . well most. I do admit there has been killings: Hanging and some off-screen. As for Sexual content: Eriks obsession with Christine, now it isn't really about sex, he just loves her and doesnt want to let her go. There where a few kisses between Christine and Rouel, but nothing over the top. I am sure that there are people that dont like this movie, but they cannot please everybody! I for one love it! Although I'd recomend it to kids at least 12 and up. By the way the hanging scene was not that horrible, at least to me.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old May 18, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Good Movie for 11 and up

I saw the movie and i am elevan i would take that kind of suspence. But i maybe a little much kissing ext. but still a good movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 25, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good for kids 13 and over

I love the movie you should watch this film to understand what the other films are about one concern there's a sword fight between the phantom and raoul and raoul arm gets hit by the phantom's sword and blood is scene
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old December 30, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

ROCKING MOVIE!! :)

This movie rocks!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byRaiin December 16, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Well i didn't enjoy the book ...

Oh how i've always wanted to see this movie/play ... but unfortunately i've only read the book , which i didn't like . Still i look forward to seeing it .
Teen, 15 years old Written byBahBahBlahSheep November 22, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Excellent

Excellent film. I haven't found anything inappropriate in it, except I don't think it would be very interesting to kids under 10.
Teen, 14 years old Written byPenguinFan November 4, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

One of my favorite movies of all time

It is beyond me why people criticize this movie on so many different sites. Sure, Gerard Butler is not the world's greatest singer, but he is still pretty good. Nor can I see why people say this is so violent: there is one violent scene where a guy is hanged but it's not THAT bad, and the next worst thing is when a guy a minor cut on his arm while swordfighting with the Phantom. Overall I think that this is a great movie and everyone should see it. It's well worth the money.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old October 25, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Bravo!!

My favorite musical, turned into a great movie! True there is some violence (the Phantom hangs two men, and comes very close to hanging a third). Not too much language. I saw it when I was in the first grade, didn't bother me at all.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byMiraclexBlazer July 30, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
I absolutely love this movie. The only real concern is with violence but nothing other than that save for a few sexual hints which I doubt most kids will really pick up on as adults would.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old July 27, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

good

i haven't seen the movie, but the show on broadway was REALLY good!
Kid, 12 years old July 20, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

GREAT

I love this movie!
Kid, 8 years old July 8, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

scary innaproppiate stuff

I got scared when I was 6 because a man was killed in a very threatenfull way
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages