All member reviews for Anne of Green Gables

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 14 reviews)
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 8 years old September 26, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Good movie

Marilla is not very nice at the beginning, y'know. Matthew is wonderful, and so nice. Anne Shirley has a temper, does not like her red hair, but she's a wonderful girl! Her red hair makes her pretty, (but I like my brown hair) and Gilbert is nice. It's shame Matthew has to die. The movie is wonderful! (It's fake, too, there's no real true story of that, It's all fake)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old May 27, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

amazing

it is amazing i did a book report and everything on it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old December 25, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Good movie

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old March 19, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

All ages.

Great,sweet movie:)!All ages! I recommend this for your family. A great family movie. No bad stuff.,clean movie:).
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byashlieking20 August 13, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 8 years old August 8, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old May 31, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

AWESOME FOR TWEENS AND UP!

I loved it. I loved it when I was 10, and now I'm 11. I've seen all 4 movies of Anne Of Green Gables. It's romantic and dramatic.....slightly a chick flick. But really, I went to half price books and picked up a 5 disc collector edition and watched it with my friends. They all loved it, and you would too. For the 2nd disc the rating would remain 10 yrs. For the 3rd and 4th, 11/12. The 3rd and 4th are movies that a 10 yr. old probably would'nt be very interested in.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byRicochet94 April 10, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
Perfect in every way. A great reminder of the days when movies took their. When directors knew you didn't have to use fast zooms, hand-held cameras, and relentless action to craft a movie. And it is suitable for any age; there is no language, no violence, and no sexual/suggestive content of any kind. Director Kevin Sullivan didn't just make a movie, he made 4 hours of art. Art that will stay in my DVD collection for a long time to come.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byUgli Chic March 14, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

for ages 5-105

LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!! Anne of Green Gables is one of my fav books, and I love Megan Follows and Jonathan Crombie b/c they did such a great job in the saga! ~Ugli Chic
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bya teen book lover February 15, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

perfect family movie

I loved this movie.And the books great to.I say 6+ because any younger and thay just won't get it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byChicagogrl February 10, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great for all ages though kids 10+ will understand it better

Loved it i saw it once on a pbs special then got the movie and i fell in love with it. The movie is pretty long (aprox. 4hrs), but for me is well worth the watch. It has a little bit of everythiing comedy (as Anne struggles with the troubles she gets into with her temper), Romance (the possibility of Anne and Gilbert), Friendship (the mentioning of kindred spirits), Education (much literary work is mentioned), and Drama. I recommend seeing the second and third movie, though the age reccomendations would change to +11 for the second and +14 for the third
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byJha800 January 2, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Awesome just like the book!

i read the book anne of green gabels and fell in love! once done i drove everyone crazy looking for the movie ad we found this one and it was great! in the book it skiped her going to the picknic and other things but showed it in the movie which was really neat
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written byEO April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

One of my favorites!

Anne does have a temper,but it's a great movie!!!!!