All member reviews for Austin Powers: International Man of Mystery

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

This shagadelic James Bond spoof isn't for kids.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 48 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old December 29, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Austin Powers is the best!!!

I love this movie, but the child you show this movie to needs to not repeat what is in it. If your child likes to copy what they see in movies they should wait a few years to watch it. If you have a child who enjoys spy comedies and do not copy what the see in movies the should like this. The movie is not scary and you can enjoy a few laughs while watching it. I laughed so hard. Mike Myers is amazing in this movie and it is fun to watch. I would totally recommend this movie.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bybaconbrother4 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 11 years old August 2, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Hilarious, but vulgar.

Ok first of all, I thought this movie was down right HILARIOUS. I watched it with my two cousins (13 and 11) and my little brother (9). My cousins and I laughed the whole way through, but I was SO embarrassed for my brother. He doesn't even know what sex is! There are a lot of sex and body jokes, plenty of talk, most of it VERY vulgar, and a couple sex scenes (no nudity). Very, very funny, but VERY inappropriate.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written bydavstern May 15, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

First Austin Powers more sexual-mouthed than crude

I rate Austin Powers: International Man of Mystery iffy for ages 13-14 Parents need to know, that the first of three Austin Powers movies, aren't for older kids or tweens who aren't mature enough, even though it's a hilarious comedy to laugh over. There are near constant sexual references, Austin Powers is mad horny by girls he likes, even those who don't like him. Other crude humor. If mature enough, tweens can watch it at 12. SEX: 4/5- Near constant sexual references, made by various characters, especially Austin, who is a sex addict. Austin frequently tries to get girls to have sex w/ him, even those who don't like him back. Austin and sometimes Vanessa are fully naked in some scenes, but are strategically blocked. Certain robots called Fembots shoot bullets where the nipples are. Austin has sex w/ two woman. VIOLENCE: 0/5- Very comic and still mild. PROFANITY: 0/5- Surprsingly little amount of mild language. Movies related to Austin Powers: International Man of Mystery Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me Austin Powers in Goldmember Wayne's World
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byFilmFanatic March 8, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Very raunchy, lots on innuendo

Loads of raunchy jokes, innuendo and almost nudity. Austin Powers constantly makes sexual references and calls women "baby" all the time. His behavior is VERY impressionable on children and will most likely be repeated by the youngsters. Be away this may also include catchphrases such as "Do I make you horny?" and "Do you wanna shag?" or something along those lines. Explaining the meaning of these words/phrases can be uncomfortable for both you and your child. I wouldn't watch it WITH your kids because it can cause some serious awkward moments but at 13+ its probably ok for them to watch it with friends.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bystan101 April 29, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

MIKE MYERS! MIKE MYERS! MIKE MYERS!

austin is hilarious
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old May 13, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Very, quite weird. =D

Ehh
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byspudsandbeans42 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 16 years old Written byComedyLover February 24, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

One of my favorites!

A great, hilarious movie appropriate for ages 10 and up. At this age, I think that kids are mature enough to understand the humor, and there's not too much sexual content. Overall, an amazing movie!
Teen, 14 years old Written bymoviewatcherII January 23, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

One of the funniest movies of all time

There is some comedic violence, with shooting mostly, and a few kills. The language is only @$$ and $h!+. A woman's name is Allota Fagina (this is a spoof of Pu$$¥ Galore from Goldfinger). There are also several sex scenes. When Austin is first thawed out, he was naked in the ice, with his hands covering his bits. He is shown from the back, with his naked rear end showing briefly. He is later seen naked in a hotel, with his genitals comically obscured. A woman then puts a magnifying glass to obscure it, and his nude privates are briefly seen. He then walks away, quickly showing his unclothed rump. A woman undressed, and her exposed seat is seen as she walks into a hot tub. When she is in, we see her uncovered chest. Another woman is seen naked, with Austin's head blocking her groin. Her bust is also comically obscured.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old September 2, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great spoof has constant innuendo.

Parents need to know that even though your kid might want to see this. Don't let your tween see it. This movie is off for age 10-12, an iffy choice for ages 13-14 and is ok for kids ages 15 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old July 7, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

super sex

this movie was awesome it had a lot of sex , amazing action , and a lot of adult jokes. This movie is a must see movie. If you're 13 and up and love sex and nudity this will be an experience you will never forget. And if you think this review is crapy it was made by an 8 and an 11 year old
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byLaLa567 January 1, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Meh

I hate Mike myers and Its very raunchy.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old January 1, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

This review is POWER full

There is lots of sexual references and Austin uses the word "shag" nearly all the time but this movie will make you laugh every minute.Violence is more like slapstick than 007 violence although a man is burned,a man ran over by a roller and on man has his head bitten off by a bad tempered creature I think it was a piranha of some sort.There is drinking and somking but not much, this was a great movie but not for kids under 10.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byGameaddict March 16, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

HILARIOUS

Worst parts are proboly the guy being burned alive(that was this one right) or being eaten by the phirahna thats about it GOOD MOVIE
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byMacintyre April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

hilarious

austin powers is a very funny movie.
Adult Written byaidans1 April 4, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Hilarious kids won't get the inappropriateness

Kid, 12 years old January 10, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Very Groovy

This movie is hilarious the first time you watch it. Even though Dr. Evil kills a lot of people, there's no actual gore, and a lot of the deaths are pretty pathetic. There's a lot of innuendo, but over all it's smashing.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages