All parent member reviews for Avatar

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 217 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 11 year old Written byedklat August 25, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent of a 13 year old Written byLisette's Mom October 4, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

My daughter can see this when she's 14 or 15

Robo-warfare totally over the top and takes the film in a whole other direction. Cheapens it, if you ask me. Also, if plugging your tails together and then flying around isn't evocative of human intercourse, I dunno what is. Every 8 year old knows what body parts fit together.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byShugocharafan88 January 7, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

It's Akanishi Jin's best song yet here's the link: Yellow Gold

This song......i'm addicted to it....... It's called "Turning Japanese" by The Vapors. Also i'm addicted to "Jessie's Girl" by Rick Springfield...... What songs are you addicted to?
Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written byLupak January 3, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Epic! Magnificent! 10 and up! The special effects are great! the green screening is perfect. This is a visual miracle that you won't want to miss! The greatest movie of extincttion
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bycritic sense November 5, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Recommended Rating: 12+ for sci-fi/action violence, sexual references and mild language

This epic sci-fi/action film presents some battle scenes where people are shot and killed, are impaled by arrows and have explosions. However, the violence itself is quite mild and not bloody. Some scenes may be too intense for young children though, especially the big battle at the end of the movie. There are many long scenes where the aliens show casual, partial nudity. There is an implied sex scene but it's shown off-screen. There are some instances of mild language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byKHTWA July 30, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Strong female role models in a sci-fi movie

Excellent special effects and strong female role models. Nice to have strong female roles for our daughter who particularly likes sci-fi movies.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bycharlie2411235 July 13, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Awesome!

Lots of destruction is in this movie. Along with godd--n, pu--y, b---h, h--l, a--hole, s--t, ba---rd, crap, and d--k for the swear words. Lots of constant, nonstop smoking through out.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bynkaryb April 9, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Uses the LORD's name in vain

WHY did John Cameron have to blaspheme GOD's name? Cursing GOD adds nothing to a movie, it only takes away. Please don't pay money to support this language.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written bytuhkii April 2, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

fantastic

It is a very wonder full movie .i loved this movie aloot and i want to watch it agan, and again..... i want to thankss the director ,produser and all those who were in tha movie to make this movie for us , we want avtar 2 very soon
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byChuck Reid March 15, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Even better than the show!

This was a GREAT movie! It was very funny and very action packed! Awesome awesome awesome!
Adult Written bydadnmelover123 January 28, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

the best!!!!!!!!!!!

one kind of sex scene. lots!! of violence and lots of swearing its some brutal deaths and the navis are extremely scantley clad and one moderatley bloody scene as well as one refference to takilla. this movie is not appropriate for kids under twelve great movie and a must see!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byDLucia January 16, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Children viewing extreme violence

The artistic aspects of this movie are phenomenal. I was really impressed with this movie until the warring started. The violence is loud, direct, and goes on far too long. People die in fiery explosions and are thrown from flying machines. People are killed with arrows, bullets, guns, sticks and knives. To say nothing of the many animals killed violently in the melee. Those who are offended by language should reconsider the greater effects that viewing violence has on children of all ages. And to those who found the violence to be inoffensive because its effects are largely unseen, ask yourselves if it isn't worse for children to be exposed to the drama of violent conflict without seeing the results of the violence. If violence isn't shown for what it truly is, then it is okay because it's just entertainment? And what about the view of the piece of wood sticking out of Eytukan? That is so much worse than a child hearing someone saying "b---ch".
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Parent of a 7 year old Written bypaulgibbons November 10, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Take your kids, talk before

This is Dances with Wolves in Sci Fi, perhaps one of the most creative 'effects' films ever made. Cameron crafted an entire eco-system (hundreds of species, with common genetic links). It will go down as one of the finest science fiction films of the decade (perhaps like Jurassic Park). There is some mild swearing, but even my 6 year old knows those never get used by children. The 'native' bodies are partially clad, but nothing is made of that - in fact the effect would be to normalize bodies rather than have them be objects of titillation - a very good thing. There are two early scenes with native animals that are immensely scary, and some military style violence that had an emotional effect on my son. On the other hand, violence comes out very badly (as does the military, as do corporations). While there is plenty of violence, violence is not revered (as perhaps in Rambo style movies or GI Joe or the like), but rather to be deplored. However the imagery is intense - and certain under 8 year olds might be disturbed.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Educator and Parent Written byFosterFan September 8, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Avatar: Amazing visuals, unbelievably clichéd.

Avatar is an OK film with great special effects. I went to see it, mainly because of all the Oscar buzz it was getting. It was... nice, I guess. It has a completely unoriginal and clichéd storyline, but the visuals were good. Language and a little sex implied, but kids will thoroughly love it.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byD-Fresh June 16, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Overtly left-wing, great visuals and special effects

This movie is very left-wing, eco-focused, and anti-American. If you can get past that, the visuals are incredible and special effects are also very well done. Can't belive you gave it 4 out of 5 stars though... let's try not to be so overtly PC
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 10 year old Written byMrs. Padilla March 30, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Adult Written byAndrew Haxley February 22, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Avatar Not A Movie For Teens Or Kids Alike!!!

This Movie Is Awesome When I Went To Go See It I Saw That Jame's Cameron's Work Has Been Done! And It's A Cool Movie Especially For Kids And I Am Betting That This Movie Is Great To Watch And Positive Messages Are To Take Care Of Your Planet And Not Let Extinction Come To It! This Movie Has Some Violence But It's Not Over The Top But Some Scenes Are Intense And Scary Like The Part Where Pandora Is Under Attack By Human Soldiers Ready To Kill Animals And Creatures Alike And There Is Plenty Of Blood Splattiring As Animal's Die In A Violent Way There Is Also A Part Where Humans Kill Soldiers In A Brutal Violent Way And Plenty Of Them Callapsing And Dying And There Is A Scene In Which Jake Sully Fights A Guy In A Machine He Attacks Him And Inside The Machine Blood Can Be Seen Spurting Out And It Is Shown That The Man Dies Because He Was Attacked And Haunted By Strange People And Jake Sullly Is Alright! And Some Langauge is Not okey for Kids Such As S--- A--- H--- Oh my g--- And Other Obsenites! And This Movie Has Adult Themes For Both The Child And The Teen And If You Are Older And Don't Understand How The Soldiers Threaten Pandora Then Don't Watch This Movie! 18+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Educator Written byMychemicalstinkpants February 14, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

violent but outstanding movie

What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 6 and 10 year old Written bymichugalug February 13, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Not for pre-teens

Way too violent for pre-teens and too much breast/nipple shots. Lots of bad language and American soldiers are portrayed as being ready to kill anyone that gets in their way, even children. Too mature for young teens as well.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 12 and 14 year old Written bystreborkb January 27, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

May be too intense for VERY young kids (elementary and pre-school)

My teen and 'tween are mature and thoroughly enjoyed the movie. They stayed 'engaged' the entire time. However, I do agree with Common Sense that it may be intense at times for very young kids. However, most middle school children today are accustomed to more fast-paced action and should be fine. As an adult, I thought it was a VERY good film and would be willing to watch WITH (note the supervision) most, if not all, kids age 9+.

Pages