All member reviews for Avatar

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Action-heavy epic has dazzling effects, familiar story.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 718 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old August 2, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
i looooove this movie.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old July 31, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Language isn't the best

Good for 10+, but the language isn't the best.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old July 29, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
This was a great movie. I loved the visuals. But there was some bad cursing. 9+
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bymcmovie123 July 25, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

AvAtAr

this is my favorite movie but it could scare little kids and the lanaguage is bad. there is a scene where they mate.but there is a positive message in the movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 0 years old July 19, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Avatar: Lower the ON level!

I thought it was very good!! I'm 10 and i thought it was awesome!! That's why I'm a little concered about cussing. Pretty good for my age-not so much for under that
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old July 17, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Avatar

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old July 13, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Kid, 10 years old July 13, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

14 and up

gross it is gross
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bynorma48 July 10, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

What is the Message?

I saw it as a repeat of the white man coming to the new world and violently taking the land away from the Native Americans. Only this time the Natives win and are not placed on reservations! I reject the idea that it is a portrayal of what America is doing in the Middle East. Many Middle Easterners support terrorism and the Na'vi do not.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old July 8, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Awesome Movie

Avatar is an unbelievable sensation that basically transports you to the planet of Pandora. The best effects are when you are watching it in the theatre, especially in IMAX. It does have very graphic violence though and the language is quite bad. Besides some of the bad content, Avatar is an awesome movie that you will love and will never forget!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bymardoggie2013 July 7, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Highest grossing movie ever not for kids.

There's a surprising amount of language in this film. And it is rather violent. It definitely deserves the PG-13 rating.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old July 7, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

a amazing movie

This movie has a very positive message and amazing role models . this movie is very violent but for a good cause to tell people that we have to protect are planet. This movie is amazing period.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old July 5, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

little kids can get frightened by some of the action sequences

there is many violence in this film, there is one sex scene, and there is frequint bad language. This movie can be very scary for kids 7 and under and inapropriate for 10 and under. Other then that this movie was amazing! It is though not the best, but really good.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byearthgurl July 5, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good movie!

Very good, especially in 3-D! There is some of violence in the end, so be warned!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old July 4, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Not to much violence, but some swears. But almost all kids already know about that lauguge so it doesnt really matter. The movie was to long though.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bygabbygirlcuccaro July 1, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

perfect for teens and middle aged people

It was good,but very long.They could have shortened the movie by at least 30mins,but i would definitely recommend it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byMidnightCresent June 22, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

One of the best movies I've ever seen!

This movie is amazing, I watched it at least 6 times! It takes a while to understand it, but I mostly got it now. Of course there are things you may not want your kids to see like- Jake and Neytiri 'mate' but it doesnt exactly show it. They have some bad words, violence, and some characters die (some grusumly) Otherwise, it shows good things, like how connected the Na'vi are to the forest. I think human beings should share that connection that the Na'vi have. Like they care about eachother and the world around them. Human beings don't.. at least not all of them. Nor to all humans care what happens to another. Some even incourage death and murder.. which makes me feel sshamed to be part of the same race..
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old June 16, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

AMAZING!!!!!!! watch it with ur family

THIS MOVIE ROX!!!!!! The special effects are great! My younger brother liked it almost as much as i did. My parents also liked it. There is some gun violence tho. Na'vi shoot humans and humans na'vi. Two na'vi kiss and curl up together, but nothing too serious. Cussing is also pretty frequent (s**t, b**ch, d**n, h*ll, p*ss, and g*d), but dont stop u from watching this movie. besides, this language is just like any other PG-13 movie's language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Parent of a 8 and 11 year old Written byAimeeblue June 13, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old June 13, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
not that sexual just one scene of connection a small bit of thriller violence at the start one use of language like b***ch
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages