All member reviews for Avatar

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Action-heavy epic has dazzling effects, familiar story.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 720 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byleanadvs January 14, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

perfect for teens of a age higher than 15

the perfect movie for teens of a sertin age maybe 15 and 16, becasue they know then not do say and do the things that are in the movie. the movies was great,at first i didnt want to see it becasue it didnt look like something i would want to see because the preveiws i saw were all only about 10 foot tall bule aliens and im not into alien movies. theres a lot of action and suspence that keeps you at the edge of your chair. its not to over the top with the sexual behavior its pg13 so its suitable for a 13 yer old but the language and drinking and smokeing isnt something i would want my 13 years old to watch 15 16 would be ok the story was easy to understand and it had a ending that you could kinda feel that it was going to happen because of the bond jakesully has with his new found family.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written bynnnddd January 13, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

12 and up for sure. But GREAT movie!!!

What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 7 and 8 year old Written byChangsha January 12, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
We took our 8 and 9 year old and it was way too violent for them. Too scary. I also didn't like the language used.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bychevelle17 January 10, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

AVATAR MOVIE!

AWESOME MOVIE!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byalibee279 January 10, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Best Movie I've Ever Seen

After seeing it, I wanted to see it again and again and again. I would reccomend the movie to anyone ages 12 and up, but overall, it's now one of my favorite movies.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old January 9, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I love Avatar. It's the best movie I've ever seen! I give it 10 stars. Avatar is the bomb!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 9 year old Written byBetsZ January 9, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

I made the right decision for my 10 year old.

I agonized over whether or not my 10 year old should see this movie. Aside from some language that I wish they didn't use (although I didn't feel it was gratuitous) I felt completely comfortable with him seeing it. My son happens to be doing a unit on the Native Americans in school and I felt this gave him some insight to their treatment. We let him see Star Trek and I felt this was far more appropriate, if that gives you a guideline. Lastly, as you've heard, it's a long movie--some kids may have a hard time sitting through it.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bydoglovermegan12 January 9, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

awesome movie

It was an amazing movie!!!! :) :) :) :)
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 9, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A good movie, butn only good for teens.

I liked it, but it doesn't seem age appropriate until your in your teens. There's violence, sexual scenes, and some language. But overall it's a good movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Parent of a 8 year old Written byMisty Mom January 9, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great movie for ages 8+

This movie was great! I was not very keen on going to see Avatar but I am happy that I did. I took my 8 year to see the movie and he absolutely loved and sat through the entire movies without misbehaving. The movie captivated his attention to the end.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Adult Written by4Sunshine January 9, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
I think I'm mostly fair (down the middle) for most things. Coming out of the theater my thought was that the technical aspects wowed me(3D not so much)...objects were huge and the views that were aerial also wowed me. The plot was predictable; a mission, romance, save the world (theirs). It felt like good overcame evil which is nice. I have to say that I was seriously touched, in fact, I flinched when they started killing what appeared to be American soldiers. During the showing I reminded myself that these weren't Amer soldiers, they were mercenaries. As for political inuendos, most films of this nature have them. I suppose it gives you a great opportunity to talk to each other and banter your opinions or simply state them. What's all the hoopla? I was most definitely entertained!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bye.autumn January 8, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great messages and role models? Abso-bloody-lutely!

This is my current favorite film: it has strong messages about sustainability (the world needs more of those) and good role models: Jake starts out as a kind of stupid ex-Marine, but excellent character development turns him into a considerate Na'vi who realizes what team he really should be playing for. All of the Na'vi are pretty cool, except that one dude (Zoe Saldana's character's brother) who is a bit prejudiced against Jake, but makes peace with him in the end. There is some swearing and violence, but just one implicit sex scene. If you're not too distracted by the pretty colors and fantastic animation (and I do mean FANTASTIC), this is a neat-o, thought-provoking film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bymattthemovieman January 8, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

THE BEST MOVIE OF THE YEAR!! AMAZING!!

i loved the movie and i thought there was some brief bloody violance and a fair amount of language and the na'vai people (blue guys) dont wear that much clothing but other then that stuff its awesome!!! but if your kids r like 7-9 then they must be mature.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byHasquilla January 8, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Oh My Gods you have got to see this movie! It is the best EVER!!

This is the best movie ever! It had everything i thin a movie should have. There was action and romance and sci-fi and a lesson. It was very spirtual and pro-life even though people did die most of the time people were saddened by it unless they were in battle. The language was ok but there were uses that kids probably arent aloud to say. Not a whole lot though. The genral and the buisnessman are seen as very evil devil-may-care guys who think they can do what they want to the Na'vi because they are not human and "will kill you if you so much as put your little toe out of this area unprotected." Overall it is the best movie ever and always.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 8 and 9 year old Written byDLWS January 8, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

See it!

The movie is spectacular, even though we did NOT see the 3D version. Bad language & violence aside, it raised some interesting discussions with the kids about concepts of eminent domain, history repeating itself, enviromental issues.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old January 8, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

way too violent for younger kids

ok not great
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byTheol January 8, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

a great movie for everyone

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written bythatkiduknow January 7, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Amazing!

I love this movie!!!! My boyfriend and I saw it together and we both enjoyed it trumendously. The visuals are amazing and the story is romantic and filled with courageousness. Some violence but not worse than what can be shown on tv. Sh*t was said but not excessively. Must see film!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byJacobSR97 January 7, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
OFF for ages 8 and under, IFFY for ages 9-10, and ON for 11 and up. Content Warning: Contains some intense fantasy war violence, brief sensual material, and some language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byjtr January 7, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good visuals, unoriginal everything else.

The visuals are spectacular as you would expect from this fim maker however the story is the same old rehashed theme. Definately negative against corporations and the U.S. military. Anwyay, take away the visuals and you're essentially left with a sci-fi version of Dances with Wolves.
What other families should know
Too much sex

Pages