All member reviews for Avatar

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Action-heavy epic has dazzling effects, familiar story.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 722 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byJacobSR97 January 7, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
OFF for ages 8 and under, IFFY for ages 9-10, and ON for 11 and up. Content Warning: Contains some intense fantasy war violence, brief sensual material, and some language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byjtr January 7, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good visuals, unoriginal everything else.

The visuals are spectacular as you would expect from this fim maker however the story is the same old rehashed theme. Definately negative against corporations and the U.S. military. Anwyay, take away the visuals and you're essentially left with a sci-fi version of Dances with Wolves.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old January 6, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good for older kids

I saw this movie with my brother( he's 12) and my parents on Christmas eve. I liked but a few scenes where not appropriate, apart from that it's fine.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Educator and Parent of a 7 and 12 year old Written bycommonsenseeducator January 6, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old January 6, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Not For Kids Under 13

This is an amazing movie however it might be too much for children under 13.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byjanith January 5, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written bylady_bug January 5, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

AMAZING MOVIE

this movie was absolutely amazing. i thought i wasn't going to like it at all, but i went to go see it, and now its one of my top three movies. the plot was very unique, ive never seen another movie like it. it takes place in the future on pandora (a moon of jupiter i think). the graphics are stunning and the scenery is beautiful, and the animals and plants are very different and exciting. thsi movies role models are good, there are lots of women who stand up for their beliefs and a man who deserts his cruel orders to do what the right humane thing is. it has great underlying messages, like what people will do for money and how family can never be destroyed and you should fight for what you believe in. i think everyone should see this movie. my brother saw it and he just turned 12 and he loved it too, so yeah. this movie was just awesome.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written byOR-MovieFan January 5, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

A must-see film, but parents need to make the call for kids under 12

Conditional for 10-12 year olds due to frequent military violence, once in a while fairly graphic (as with the final fight). The partial nudity that some sites/reviewers are commenting on is, in my opinion, tasteful and in context. This is a race, after all, very akin to the native americans of our own nation's past. Extremely noble and connected with each other and nature. The skimpy clothing/covering is simply expected - more would have made it less realistic. I plan to take both my 12 and my 10 year old, with some prep and certainly discussion afterward.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old January 5, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

BEAUTIFUL and AWSOME

WOOHOO!!! This movie is da best!! It has beautiful jungles with mysterious creatures. The acting is very good and it's great in 3D. There is a lot of battle scenes and explosions but not too much gore. I LOVED this movie and recommend it for ages 12 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byJaisaurus January 5, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

The best movie I've ever seen.

As you can see, the only real bad review was from the one person who has not taken the time to see this movie. Avatar is my new favorite movie and definitely not suitable for children, yet amazing young adults and Teens.This movie gave me goose bumps and the story line was just amazing! Giving the message that yes, us humans can't always have what we want and the way the natives appreciated their nature really got to me. The quality and 3D wowed me it was so real! i can't wait to catch it a 3rd time on IMAX 3D. The Science fiction made it really interesting adding that fiction twist allot of us crave and I thought that sensual scene was sweet in my opinion. I loved the action as well appealing to males and the small romance between Jake and Neytiri was appealing to females. Overall I couldn't get enough of this fascinating world of Pandora and do hope there will be sequels to fallow. Amazing movie I encourage many of you to watch it. I was skeptical at first but when I gave it a chance I was astounded, amazed and I was 100% focused on that film. People really shouldn't judge it so harshly, most people though it was an amazing movie and deserves to be given a chance. Yet, I do agree tweens and children should stay away from this film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Parent of a 4 year old Written byelitevegas January 5, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Aside from the language, it was a great movie. There was one sensual scene that almost had me leave, but at the last second it cut off and nothing happened.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bykatiemay017 January 4, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 13+

I LOVED THIS MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!!! Sigourney weaver was once again amazing and everyone else was good too. the effects amazed me, as well as the acting and how similiar the avatar looked to thier person (i personally love sigourney's avatar) A MUST SEE!!!!!!!AMAZING!!! but can be a bit scary with the destruction.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bykneecoalyoli January 4, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

For older kids, DOES show a nipple!

I just want to say that there is DEFINITELY a nipple slip on the main female alien. I really think parents need to know this before allowing their kids to watch it. Very awesome movie, I loved it, but I would want to know before sending my kids to see it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byKatie-Kakes January 3, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

little bit scary

i loved this movie. my parents took me to see it just recently and i loved this movie and the special effects are great. we took my 7yr old brother to see it with us, and im quite sure that he handled this movie better than i did and i personaly am very interested in death. but he is extremely mature for his age. personally i have no idea how any human being could be that cruel resulting in me crying throughout this movie because i loved some of the characters so much. many of the main charcters are great role models. if you dont mind chaos and death this is a great movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of an infant, 4, and 5 year old Written bycycleboymoss January 3, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A predictably story that's still fun with a serious side.

This is a very good movie, I quite enjoyed it. I agree that under 13's should not go - there's a lot of violence and some sexually themed content that would be a bit much for younger children. There are no real surprises plot-wise in the move; you can figure out almost the whole story from the trailer and every major plot point is telegraphed by a mile. For all that, it is visually stunning and I did enjoy seeing it. It is long, but not unduly so and I didn't feel like it was overindulgent or in need of some prudent editing. The review notes a parallel between current events and what's happening in the Middle East, but I think it's more intended to be an allegory to the historical treatment of American Indians and indigenous peoples around the world by explorers who "discover" their lands and force them off. I couldn't help being a bit saddened by what I saw and reminded of how shameful our own history is in this regard, but there could be value in it for discussing with older children to give them insight into history. All in all a good story well told and worth the trip. 3D didn't contribute anything special to my experience, however, and I wouldn't recommend paying extra for it.
Teen, 14 years old Written bym1 January 3, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
This was good but not great. Visual effects alone are worth seeing. This is NOT for elementary schoolers by ANY means.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old January 2, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Wonderful.. brilliant and stunning!

A fun movie to watch. Has lots of fighting scenes and may be a bit frightening for younger viewers, but overall.. AMAZING! I do not recommend seeing it in 3D because it doesn't make much of a difference.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old January 2, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Can't wait to see it!

Just can't wait! It looks REALLY good, and I heard the 3D is amazing! Looks great! James Cameron's going to make a fortune!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byBestPicture1996 January 2, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Absolutely amazing, visually a masterpiece

I was stunned by the 3-D of this movie, usually in that type of situation stuff just flies out at you, but this was incredible. I could tell what was going to happen in alot of it, (plot familiarity), but this is a movie where you really are just treated to looking at it. Here's hoping it's Cameron's 2nd Best Picture win!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 3 and 6 year old Written bySavvy_Mommy January 2, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Perfect for parents and older teens!

LOVED IT! I didn't take my kids and am glad I didn't. The violence and language was too much for under 13! But teens and parents will LOVE it! There was no sex and the "barely clothed" women didn't even seem very human. The "breast" they had did not include nipples and were so tiny!! The "mating scene" could easily be seen as nothing more than a kiss and some cuddling (and it was VERY short). I would hardly call this movie sensual. The main character takes a great moral high ground, the females are strong, and the overall message of respect for other living beings is really incredible! The special effects are magical. The movie was simply fantastic!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models

Pages