All member reviews for Babies

Common Sense Media says

Mesmerizing film for kids and parents who adore wee ones.
 

Users say

(out of 44 reviews)
age 8+
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 11 and 15 year old Written byPink Drink June 4, 2011
age 10+
 

Entertaining and Educational

I watched this with my 11-year-old daughter and her friend. They were surprised by the nudity in Africa and also by the "gooiness" of a newborn. However they enjoyed the movie, and it gave us a lot to talk about regarding different cultures. It opened their eyes to the fact that people throughout the world grow up very differently, but we are all human - and no matter where they are born, babies and children also have a lot in common. It was a fun way of exposing the kids to cultural differences around the world.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byJadenp April 11, 2011
age 17+
 

nudity nudity nudity! bad movie anyway

Wayyyyyy too much nudity. If this amount of nudity was in a comedy, it would be at least R.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written bysceneit March 14, 2011
age 17+
 

good for those thinking of having little ones

there is a LOOOOOOTTTT of boob action in this movie; nudity practically the whole way through. you can;t watch for 5 minutes without seeing women walking around topless; especially in africa. not always in the breast feeding sense. they are just living life nude. extreme caution should be used when watching this with children or allowing them to see it
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byiamjustinbieber... February 26, 2011
age 9+
 

DISQUSTING!!!!

I thought this movie was going to bee great but all i got was winning crying babys and lots of NUDITY!!! EWWWW!
Teen, 13 years old Written byShawdy1050 January 16, 2011
age 9+
 

Adorable!!!!!

These babies are sooo cute. In Africa it shows the mother naked and the little boys private part. But what do you expect from a movie titled BABIES.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 3 and 7 year old Written byJothe January 2, 2011
age 3+
 

Will keep your attention and make you smile

My children (3 and 6) loved watching each of the 4 babies in their countries and cultures and my husband and I enjoyed it, too. There are breasts shown while some babies are breastfeeding but it is in a natural way and did not raise eyebrows with my children, who were not used to seeing it. Fascinating to see what each family considers "normal" in the raising of their children. Well done.
Parent of a 9 and 12 year old Written byhod December 23, 2010
age 7+
 
My kids loved this film and loved comparing and contrasting he parenting and environments of the babies.
Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written bycyndifug8 December 9, 2010
age 8+
 

Everybody loves babies!

My daughters and I enjoyed this film immensely. It is an honest look at babies from four different cultures for the first year or so of their lives, which ultimately demonstrates how much we all have in common despite our differences.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byTwilightgirl137 November 21, 2010
age 10+
 

Cuties!

These Babies are so cute! I like looking at what I was like when I was around that age! I think the worries are in Nambia, you see women's breats and boy's private parts. Also, a birth seen is shown with Bayar. I think a lot of people will enjoy this because it's great watching cute little babies grow up!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bycheerchic747 October 23, 2010
age 11+
 

good for tweens, but not for younger kids

This movie is SOO cute!! but in different areas of the world, cultures are different. In one country there is alot of maternal nudity (Only show breasts, nothing else)... this movie sends a good message, but is more for mature audiences.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 7 year old Written byOne Picky mom October 7, 2010
age 7+
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 8 years old September 25, 2010
age 6+
 

ON THE FENCE

Its partly a good movie.I am on the fence right now.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old August 20, 2010
age 10+
 

A cute movie

One scene a mom is seen giving birth.
Adult Written bytville June 22, 2010
age 7+
 

you may want to talk to you kids a bit before the movie about the nudity

A nice documentary film, but the amount of nudity caught me by surprise. I thought there might be some tasteful breastfeeding scenes (with a PG rating)... but it was lactating breasts galore. And lots of one-year old male genitalia investigation. All very natural and innocent, but made a a little uncomfortable (with my son and two nieces 8-11) not knowing this beforehand.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old June 7, 2010
age 8+
 

cant wait

i love this movie so much
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old June 3, 2010
age 10+
 

kinda gross

umm. i've never seen it, but my friend saied a baby wiped his butt on his mother's knee.
Teen, 14 years old Written byBestPicture1996 May 30, 2010
age 13+
 

Simple but endearing doc

Who doesn't love babies, really? This documentary shows the viewers that all throughout the world parents raise their kids the same...just through different mannerisms. Go see it, but it's NOT for younger kids. Take a mature kid, because I'm almost positive immature 7-11 year olds are just going to laugh off the maternity scenes.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 8 and 11 year old Written byleilaandsarasmom May 20, 2010
age 5+
 

Great for the whole family

Our whole family went to see Babies together and loved it. We talked about it for hours afterward.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 7, 9, and 11 year old Written bytkmkj May 17, 2010
age 7+
 

Be aware of some culturally appropriate nudity, but great flick.

Loved it. I made my kids go with me for Mother's Day. My 11-year-old son hid his eyes a bit during all the breast feeding early on in the movie, but all three kids had a lot to talk about afterwards. All four babies were endearing in their very different ways.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byInAnyEvent May 14, 2010
age 9+
 

Perfect for tweens on up.

We discussed how the babies lives were different from each other and how they were the same.
What other families should know
Great messages

Pages