All member reviews for Back to the Future Part II

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Amusing futuristic sequel more dated, edgier than original.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 50 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written bycheese-process August 24, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great movie, but the common sense rating was way off.

I thought this movie was great, but the common sense rating was way off. There was lots of language, violence, (including beating), and a couple of references to rape. The grown-up version of Bif forces his wife to wear a sexy dress and then verbally abuses her. He is seen later in a hot tub with two naked women. I just thought I'd mention that, since the common sense people didn't.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byWhatdoIthink? April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Whoa! I'm glad they made the third one even though this was so bad. Not only was it an insult to the trilogy, but it was much more inappropriate than the other two. I wouldn't even watch it with kids <12.
Parent of a 11, 13, and 16 year old Written byUKJeanine February 26, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Falls short of the original.. way short!

I was disappointed and surprised by the quality of this movie. The lead character is shown considering gambling as an easy way to make money, the lead female character is portrayed as weak, the main bad guy (Biff) is shown to be abusive to women and the language throughout was PG-13 minimum. Repeated use of 'son of a b****' and 'shi*'. The lead character comments on his mother's breast implants. This combined with guns, murder, and two women in a hot tub with a lead character suggest to me a minimum of PG-13 rating.. and then, still only watch it if you're truly desperate.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old June 19, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Awesome, Amazing stuff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byJoe Marranca August 26, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Pefect for tweens and up

It fine not as good as the first movie but the Inventor is not shot in Part 2 its Part 1.Also it is a confusion story plot and is sometime is very dark like where the Bully is threating to shoot the Teen Character.Referance to weapons and naked women in a hot tub .Also the Teen character does a bad thing in 2015 witch makes an alternate 1985 witch the bully rules the town nuclear waste everywhere biker gangs and and the clocktower has been turned into a casino where Biff lives.Overall okay 11+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written byBestPicture1996 June 24, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Cartoony sequel

This might as well be Biff Tannen: The Movie. The villain of the original is featured so often in this sequel...and that wouldn't be bad except Thomas F. Wilson, who did great work on "Freaks and Geeks," absolutely chews every bit of scenery, hamming it up as past, future and present Biff. The time travel aspect is neat, and seeing an 80s cafe in a 2015 setting in an 80s movie was surreal but also very unique. Marty and the Doc are great, I just needed less Biff.
Parent Written byFrankinf March 25, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great just not for the younger ones

Hard for little kids to understand but is funny as hell even for adults
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byEzio432 September 27, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

IFFY FOR 11 AND UP

This movie is much better than the first movie, and is even better than the third, and I can't believe CSM reviewed this 3 stars. They go to the FUTURE for gosh sake! Well the content is worse too. B word, a word, s word. Reference to breast implants, and shows breast implant cleavage.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byProjektor May 14, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

This is great film and second best movie in series. This is confused film, but this is still quite perfect film

This film is violent in the series, but violence isn't nothing graphic. This movie have some of swearing.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old April 3, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Another great movie

This is a great movie. Contains some gambling, drinking, a little bit of swearing.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old October 15, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Good, but not as good as the original

Biff is naked with two other girls in a spa bath (no nudity shown), Marty is nearly shot by Biff, some uses of s**t.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old October 4, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Amazing sequel sitll dosen't aim for kids.

The sequel to the splendid time-traveling adventure can be told in three words: NOT FOR KIDS. This movie came out a few years after the PG-13 rating, so don't say I didn't warn you! You see, Marty and Doc encounter danger, small use of guns and other weapons. The bully, Biff Tannen, is obsessed with a girl that doesn't even like Biff a single bit. There are people that smoke and about everyone drinks alcohol. And then we have the biggest problem of all: swearing. Marty and Doc may be the good guys, but they don't make a good role model for swearing. There may be a message, but you might be too obsessed with the bad things to get it. Over all, this movie isn't recommended for young kids. It might be okay for tweens, but parent preview would be a good idea. So basically, this movie is best for your teens to watch.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Written byAnonymous October 3, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Back to the Future Part II review

========================================================= Sex/Nudity: Doc looks through a binocular device to spot Marty Jr., and a woman passing by Marty Jr. wears a semi-short skirt and shows much cleavage. Another woman in 2015 Hill Valley, in a yellowish blouse, shows some cleavage. In a far shot, as the holographic commercial for Hover Conversion Systems plays, some Hare Krishnas walk by, and a few are shirtless. As Marty walks into the Café '80s, a woman passes by him to exit, wearing a skintight outfit with a thong design at the rear, outlining her bottom. Spike, the girl of Griff's gang, drags a sharp animal tooth of some kind down Marty's Jr. face and chest after he hesitates about Griff's "opportunity," asking, "What's wrong, McFly? You got no scrote?" After that last word, she grabs him by his crotch and he reacts with wide eyes and yells out, and she lifts him up off the floor and then throws him onto the counter. Spike's bra, two large cups, can be seen through her shirt. Marlene, Marty's daughter in 2015, wears a short skirt. An advertisement on the widescreen TV in the McFly household hawks the super-inflatable "TIT" (possibly an acronym, but the words aren't shown), and shows a woman with significant cleavage from it. Another shot of the TV from Jennifer's point of view shows a side view of the woman, with larger breasts and the words "For that last minute adjustment." Lorraine asks Marty Sr. if he and Jennifer are getting along and Marty replies, "Oh, yeah. Great, mom; we're more like a couple of teenagers, you know?" In one shot of the video introduction to Biff's life outside the Biff Tannen Museum, he's seen kissing Lorraine, with tongue. Lorraine shows massive cleavage and Marty, surprised, responds, "Mom? Mom, that can't be you." After Lorraine asks him if he's fine, he responds, "I'm fine, I'm fine. It's just that you're so---you're so big." Lorraine wears a dress that shows some leg. As Lorraine goes upstairs, Biff asks her who's going to pay for the things she has, and when he gets to the cosmetic surgery, she fires back, "You were the one who wanted me to get these---these things!", putting her hands around them for reference. She then says to Biff, "If you want 'em back, you can have 'em." Biff sits in a hot tub, bare-chested, between two women who also aren't wearing anything, but are covered up to the beginning of their breasts by the water. Seeing the dress Lorraine bought, Biff comments to her, "Nice dress, Lorraine, although I think you'd look better wearing nothing at all," and at that, he lifts up the back of her dress, trying to look under it. Some of the dresses worn by the girls at the Enchantment Under the Sea dance show some cleavage. Biff looks at a girlie magazine called "Oh LaLa," which includes two women showing a lot of leg on inside pages, one also showing significant cleavage, as well as the woman on the cover showing a lot of leg. After Strickland leaves, Marty retrieves the Sports Almanac from his garbage can, thinking that it is what he's looking for and he opens it, only to find that Biff put the dust jacket of the almanac onto the "Oh LaLa" magazine and more pictures are seen of women with much cleavage and leg showing, and possibly a bare breast, though it's not certain and could just be a bra. Lorraine wears a dress at the dance that shows some cleavage. 4.5/10. ========================================================= Violence: In a replay of the final moments from the first movie (though filmed differently), the DeLorean speeds into Marty's driveway, hitting a trashcan. Old Biff hits Marty on the top of his head with the knuckles that make up the handle of his cane. Old Biff hits Marty on the top of his head with his cane again after Marty, seeing Griff yell at Old Biff, asks, "Are you two related?" Griff drags Old Biff out of the exit of the Café '80s. Griff tells Marty Jr. that his "shoe's unbelted," and when Marty Jr. looks down, Griff punches him in the face and he lands on the counter. Then, Griff grabs him off the counter by the back of his jacket. Spike, the girl of Griff's gang, drags a sharp animal tooth of some kind down Marty's Jr. face and chest after he hesitates about Griff's "opportunity," asking, "What's wrong, McFly? You got no scrote?" After that last word, she grabs him by his crotch and he reacts with wide eyes and yells out, and she lifts him up off the floor, then throws him onto the counter. After Spike's act, Griff and another member of his gang grab Marty Jr. off the counter. Griff lifts Marty Jr. up and throws him at the bank of monitors behind the counter, and he lands on the floor. Griff grabs Marty (posing as Marty Jr.) by the shoulder and positions his fist at Marty's face, demanding to hear the right answer about the "opportunity." Marty shoves Griff backwards slightly. Griff points a huge bat at Marty. He swings, but hits the monitor with the Reagan impersonator on it. It falls, sparks, and shocks Griff a little bit. Marty yells at Griff, "Hey look!", and when Griff turns his head, he tries to punch him, but Griff grabs Marty's fist and grips it painfully. Marty then kicks Griff in the crotch, which makes a clanking sound, grips Griff's shoulders, and throws him at the members of his gang, knocking them all down, and he runs. Not quite in control of riding a hoverboard yet, Marty sails over two people, and they duck to the ground. Marty then rides the hoverboard too high, and he flips and falls to the ground. Griff tries to hit a passing Marty with his bat, but Marty ducks and Griff hits a taillight on his car. Marty jumps into the lake to avoid Griff's bat, and Griff and company spin around. The Pit Bull hoverboard goes out of control and it, as well as Griff and his gang, goes flying through the glass at the Hill Valley Courthouse Mall, which shatters and falls, along with them. Marty Jr. runs out of the Café '80s, smack into Old Biff, and he apologizes. Old Griff accidentally backs the DeLorean into a dumpster, which skitters backwards a bit, and cubes of garbage, some of which fall over. Jennifer reels backward from seeing the older version of herself, and faints, knocking her head against the door. In 1985-A, Marty returns to what he thinks is his own house, but finds the gate padlocked and another family living in it. A man with a bat in his hand appears in the doorway of his daughter's room, shouting at Marty, "Freeze, sucker!" Marty tells the man that he doesn't want any trouble, and the man replies, "Well you got trouble now, you piece of trash," going after Marty with the bat. Marty runs out of the way and the man hits a night table. The man runs at Marty again, but Marty ducks, and the man hits some things on top of a bookcase. "I think I made a mistake," Marty explains. "Damn right you made a mistake," the man replies, and runs at Marty again, but Marty gets out of the way again and the man hits a lamp and other items on top of a chest of drawers. Marty then runs out of the house. A gang drives by Mr. Strickland's house, shooting automatic weapons. Strickland ducks inside, and Marty dives behind a wall, as flower pots explode on the ledge and dirt flies. There are also holes made in the side of the house from the gunfire. One of Biff's men, standing behind Marty, hits him on the head, knocking him out. Lorraine tells Biff that he isn't half the man George was, and Biff grabs her by the shoulder and shoves her to the floor. In a scene from "A Fistful of Dollars" that's playing on a TV monitor above Biff's hot tub, a man fires at Joe (Clint Eastwood) three times, and Joe looks like he's slumped over. Then, Joe gets up and shows a piece of metal he was wearing, a makeshift bullet-proof vest, with the holes in it from the bullets, and drops it to the ground. Marty throws Biff's matchbook tray at him in an attempt to escape. Biff ducks, and one of the sharp points lands in the fabric of his chair. Biff fires a gun at Marty, who ducks, and the shot shatters a stack of glasses. Biff does the same thing a second later, Marty jumps over the couch and ducks, and that shot shatters a lamp. Biff fires yet again as Marty runs up the stairs, and the shot breaks off a piece of the railing. Doc opens his gull-wing bay door of the DeLorean, hits Biff in the face with it, and Biff falls to the ground. Lorraine hits Biff on his chest. Lorraine kicks Biff on the leg and then hits him on the head with her dress box. After Biff gets a saying wrong, Old Biff slaps him on the back of his head. Strickland shoves Biff and smacks his chest with the Sports Almanac. Strickland unknowingly backs his chair onto Marty's hand, and Marty reacts without screaming. From a window, Biff is seen grabbing and twisting George's arm. Lorraine jumps on Biff's back and beats on him to try to get him to stop hurting George. George punches Biff in the face and he spins around, hitting the car behind him. Marty punches Biff in the face after he recovers, knocking him out a second time. Marty crawls on a structure above the stage and as Biff's gang gets ready to attack the other him, Marty lets go of a rope that drops sandbags onto the gang, knocking them out. Previous Marty from the first film rushes out and pushes open the door to the gym, which hits Current Marty in the face. Biff kicks the car door Marty's holding onto and the Sports Almanac flies up and lands on the windshield. Biff turns the car wildly to try to get Marty off of it and kicks the car door again. During a spin, Marty hits some bushes. Biff turns the car sharply toward a corner of the entrance to the tunnel. Marty ducks down and the right side of the car hits a wall, a few sparks fly, and it rides that way for a few seconds. Biff punches Marty twice in the face while he hangs on the right side of the car. Marty falls backward, comes back up, and Biff tries to punch him again, but Marty ducks. Biff's car crashes sideways into the back of a manure truck. 5.5/10. ========================================================= Blood/Gore: After arriving in 2015, Doc begins to peel off his face, or at least a covering of some sort, telling Marty that he went to a rejuvenation clinic and got a "whole natural overhaul," including a "change of blood," though that's only mentioned. Some blood is seen on a chalk outline of a victim at a crime scene in 1985-A. A slight stream of blood is seen at the side of Biff's mouth while he's on the ground, and more prominently when he faces Marty later in front of an entrance to the high school gym, as well as a bit down his left nostril. Dried blood is seen under Biff's left nostril while he's in the tunnel. Biff's car crashes sideways into the back of a manure truck, and manure spills into his car, dust pluming. After the mess has settled, he spits out a chunk of it. 3.5/10 - Mild. ========================================================= Profanity: At least 8 "s" words, 1 slang term for breasts ("t*t," seen on the TV screen in the McFly household), 23 hells, 17 damns, 4 asses (1 used with "hole"), 6 S.O.B.'s (and 3 incomplete ones), 2 bitches, and 2 uses of "Oh my God," and 1 use each of "G-damn," "Oh, God" and "Jesus" as exclamations. 5/10. ========================================================= Alcohol/Drugs: A car stops short of Marty Jr. and after yelling at the driver that he's walking, he also yells, "Don't drive trank!", which possibly means "drunk." A female cop gets out of a police car in front of the McFly residence, looks around and says, "Hilldale. Nothing but a breeding ground for tranks, lobos and zipheads." Tranks may mean "drunks," lobos could mean "homeless" or "winos," and zipheads could be referring to those addicted to drugs. Jennifer asks what's going on as she's escorted into the McFly residence by the two police officers and one of them replies, "You got a little tranked." Marty bumps into a homeless man in 1985-A, whom he recognizes as Red, who says, "Watch where you're going. ...Crazy drunk pedestrian." As a tank cruises down the street, a biker waves a beer bottle. A man passes Marty, holding a beer can. Lorraine holds a glass of alcohol, and drinks from it twice, once in Biff's presence and once after he leaves. As Biff follows her, Lorraine grabs a bottle from a side table and pours more alcohol into her glass. Lorraine then puts the bottle on a counter that has a cluster of other bottles. As Lorraine goes upstairs after announcing to Biff that she's leaving, Biff asks her who's going to pay for what she has, such as her liquor. Biff holds a square glass of alcohol as he walks into his office. 3-D, a member of 1955 Biff's gang, pours alcohol into the punch at the Enchantment Under the Sea dance. 3-D pours the rest of the liquor onto the pavement outside and when Biff demands that his gang get going to find Marty, he hands the bottle to Biff and says, "Drink up Biff." As the gang walks away, Biff throws the empty glass bottle and it shatters offscreen. Mr. Strickland walks around Biff and asks, "Is that liquor I smell, Tannen?" Biff replies, "Uh, I, I wouldn't know. I don't know what liquor smells like 'cause I'm too young to drink it." Strickland takes a bottle out of his desk and pours some alcohol into a coffee mug. During that scene, he drinks from the mug five times, occasionally reacting to the strength of the liquor. 5.5/10. ========================================================= Smoking: Lorraine smokes once in a car with the Marty from the first "Back to the Future." On the stationary logo for "Biff Tannen's Pleasure Paradise," Biff has a cigar in his mouth and is lighting it with burning dollar bills. 1.5/10. ========================================================= While it isn't as good as the first film, Back to the Future is a great time-travel film and is one of my all-time favourites. I give it an 8/10. =========================================================
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old August 11, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

good movie but bad language

well this movie was good as the first but some swearing like when Mardi(Michael J Fox) said u son of a b**ch and d**m just tell your children not repeat the words b**ch and d**m there are some guns here and there and when a man is in a hot tub with 2 naked women and a boy intercepted them but good movie
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bygranth July 11, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

part 2 of the trilogy

Similar to the previous chapter. Instead of going back in time, Marty and doc go to the future.Less cursing than the previous.
Kid, 7 years old June 13, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Future Stuff

I really enjoyed the second part but had to watch it many times to fully understand it. It is a little more confusing than the Part 1 but I loved seeing Marty going into the future and back to the past.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent Written byAlokin March 2, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

please don't show this film to your kids

I registered with common sense just so that I could warn people not to show this film to kids- any age! For once I think the review was way off. We stopped the movie half way through and we were so glad we did- we watched the rest later so that I could tell my kids the basic plot - it is very violent, very sexist - just horrible- and also just a dreadful movie- such a disappointment as part 1 was just as great as I remembered from when I was a kid and we all really enjoyed it. My kids are 8 and 11 and I would have hated even my 11 year old to see the second half- I just wish they hadn't seen the first half. Oh yes also lots of offensive language and I am not a prude- I 'll own up to swearing occasionally myself but this was just bad.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old February 22, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Some references to sexual stuff. Language is a bit rough and violence is a bit more of an issue than the first movie..

There are references to sensual female body parts and there is some but not much violence. The language includes "a--hole", "s--t" and "bitch". But if you let your kids see the first movie, you should let them see this movie.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old January 19, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Just as good as part 1

I like this movie a lot. Same content as part 1.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written bymoviewannabe October 20, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

This movie is whole lot of fun

This is funner than the original. I got turned on from seeing pictures of ladies in their bras and panties hanging on the walls in the hotel room. Surprisingly, the technology seen in 2015 is not seen today. I wonder why. Compare actors make-up aging for this movie vs. actor actually aging. I also like the soundtrack to this film: "I Can't Drive 55" by Sammy Hagar and "Beat It" by Micheal Jackson are really good songs to put in this movie.
What other families should know
Too much sex

Pages