All member reviews for Back to the Future

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

'80s time-travel favorite has laughs, romance, action.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 183 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old January 27, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Perfect movie...except for the language

This is a great, fun, movie, and besides a brief shooting at the start, the violence is fine, the inappropriate content is mostly okay except for a brief scene at the end, but the main problem is the language: there's a LOT of it. Otherwise, it's a great movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Parent Written byMike Amster July 21, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

8 years old......Really?!?!?

8 Years old ?!?!?!?!?! Not even taking the language into account or the graphic murder of Doc, who feels that a central plot theme that involves attempted date rape is appropriate movie for 8 year olds? Parents beware.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byAndrew Haxley February 22, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Cool Movie Especially For Kids And Has Positive Messages Are Family Relationships! But The Violence Is Over The Top There Is A Scene Where Bullies Terrorize And Attack Marty Mcfly And He Screams And Runs From Them And They Run After Him And Then Try To Kill Him Not Bad! And There Is A Scene Where A Man Slaps Another Man In The Face And He Gets Hurt And A Man Bullies Another Man For Money And He Does Not Give Him Any! And Some Langauge Is Heard Including D--- And Son Of A B--- And Other Words! Some Stuff In This Movie Would Be Scary And Not Good For Young Kids to see Don't See This Unless You Can't Handle It!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 7 year old Written byOrlandoMom66 January 14, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
This movie has way too much bad language for young kids. Also, the scene where Biff is sexually attacking Lorraine in a parked car is not something you want to have to explain to your young child. There is also drinking and smoking (cigs and pot) in this film. Having said all that, it is a great movie for older children and adults.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 10 and 15 year old Written byvolvomom November 13, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
I remember watching this movie multiple times as a teenager and loving it, however it was only after watching it with my girls that I was surprised by all the bad language. While I know those words are out there, we don't allow them in our home. I read the reviews and thought there would be two or three, but instead found them sprinkled throughout the film. It's a great movie with a fun plot and some funny scenes, but beware of the car scene where Biff makes unwanted advances toward Lorraine in the car. We did fast-forward through that part based on other reviews. If your kids are a little older, this might be okay, but if your kids are young you may want to wait with this one.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byEzio432 September 27, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

OKAY FOR 10 AND UP

This movie is not as good as it's two sequels. It has language, and sexual content. Sometimes the a-word and the d-word are spoken. Sexual content is that a teen girl strips a teen boy to his underwear and shirt in his sleep. Also implied sex with Biff and Lorraine in the car, against Lorraine's wishes.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byTnMovieFan2 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Best Movie!

Back to the Future is the best series around.
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great!

A great movie. One shooting scene that is a little, um "iffy", to quote CSM. Be sure to see the sequels too.
Parent of a 7 and 9 year old Written byscaissie June 29, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Sexual Assault and Language

I love this movie and thought it would be great for my 7 and 9 year old. Unfortunately, it had been a long time since I'd seen it. There's a scene where Biff is trying to sexually assault Marty's mom. That scene alone is enough to make this movie inappropriate for anyone under 13. There's also a lot more strong language than I'd like.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byCatalyst42 May 9, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Read the parent reviews! Don't trust the CSM rating

My daughter is confused and upset about the attempted date rape scene, and the swearing is constant throughout. Having spent the last hour explaining why biff wouldn't let her out when she didn't want a kiss, and would he really have broken George's arm, I would think twice before trusting CSM ratings. Next time I will be sure to read the parent reviews! Definitely not for an 8 year old and even older kids might find adult themes disturbing.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 9 and 11 year old Written bySJMa September 13, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

I used to trust Common Sense...

I wrote this review a few weeks ago but somehow it seems to have gotten lost... At any rate, I can't BELIEVE the rating for this movie. The dating violence, the weed smoking, the drinking, the swearing... this is definitely NOT a movie I want my kids to see until they are at least 16 and we can have a serious talk about all these things. I used to recommend Common Sense wholeheartedly but after being misled by this review I will not do so again. Really sad about this.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byGreat gatsby August 7, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Should be pg-13

Curses a bunch not way too much but a bunch of times amazingly awesome movie one of my favorite movies should be pg-13 for curse and maybe for action but not really bad for kids
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old July 31, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

One of the best movies ever! ever!! ever!!! ever!!!!

Great special effects and story as well as being incredibly funny. Awesome and entertaining.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byNASCAR101 July 14, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

what a great book/movie/magazine

this movie is great the only bad part is when biff tries to rape marty's mom.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 2 year old Written bygerbowski December 14, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Sci-fi classic is still a great watch

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byBacktothewall May 16, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Perfect!

What the hell are the people on this baord on? There's nothing wrong with this movie, at all. It seems that when you were kid's it was perfectly okay for you to watch it, but now through your present eyes it's awful. Maybe it's just because you've gotten old! You parents lket you watch Back To The Future, do them a favor and let them see it too, at any age. It's a kid's movie, pre teenagers) and that would be perfectly okay if I was a parent. And for the record kat_marie Back To The Future would not be a PG-13 if released today, there's absolutley no question about that. The PG-13 certificate already existed for a year by the time this was released. They ratings board simply didn't want to deny kid's the chance to see a movie that was aimed at them. You're really going to turn your kid's into real cry babies if you molly coddle them as much as you do. And if you don't let them watch it in films, then they will hear it from their friends at school. Verdict: Back To The Future, suitable for people of ALL ages.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old April 2, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

FANTASTIC FAMILY MOVIE

THIS IS A FANTASTIC MOVIE! Yes, there is a little sex and a little more languabombsge, but what a movie! Fantastic special effects and world class acting! The worst word was the S word. No F bombs. Please, let your kids watch it - It has fantasic role models and is very educational.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written bydavyborn January 17, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Edgy 80's sci-fi-comedy icon is not for young kids

Robert Zemeckis's 1985 sci-fi blockbuster, Back to the Future, is still a almost universally adored film to this day. But, when I was young and I first saw it, I didn't get what the big deal was about it. Sure, it was funny. Sure, it was well made, had likable characters and had some good special effects for the time. So, what, you may ask, could be the problem? While it is funny the movie carries a almost completely one note joke throughout the movie that get's stale long before it ends. Also, while this may be considered a family movie today, and it most certainly was in 1985, this is not one movie that you should watch with the young ones, with a rather stupefying PG Rating being given to the film by the MPAA at the time, but, than again, this was a time when the MPAA allowed much more into their films than they do now, today. So, the reasons for the PG rating are as follows: There is very frequent profanity throughout the movie that ranges from mild to moderate, but, for the most part, it doesn't go too much over the line with it's use, but it still includes the usual words such as sh-t, h-ll, jesus christ, d-mn, b-tch, b-st-rd, cr-p, -ss and -ss-hole. Also, there is frequent crude sexual humor as well, with several instances of innuendo, crude humor and a fairly rough scene of attempted teenage rap near the end of the movie. And, finally, there is some intense action violence as well, with one very intense and action heavy sequence near the beginning of the movie. So, in conclusion, if you haven't seen this 80's classic in years, than I suggest to you that you should go check it out again, and re-watch it. But, just don't expect it to hold up as well as I thought it would.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old January 16, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

A Great beginning!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This movie is so cool. The actors like Michael J. Fox, Christopher Lloyd, Thomas Wilson, Lea Thomson, and Crispin Glover are outstanding. The plot is really good. There is plenty of action. The curse words make this movie even greater. Great, Amazing, and Awesome!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 5 and 6 year old Written bylkrs42 December 3, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Too much profanity for elementary school kids.

This is a great movie franchise and hoped my kids could watch. I hadn't seen it in a while and forgot just how much profanity there was. It's not unlike most of the PG rated movies from the 80's where language was more of an issue. I had the mute button in hand and silenced some of the words as I had seen it so many times and remembered where it all was, and my throat hurts from coughing through the rest.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages