All member reviews for Back to the Future

Common Sense Media says

'80s time-travel favorite has laughs, romance, action.

Users say

(out of 215 reviews)
age 10+
Review this title!
Parent of a 10 year old Written byHalljanex April 9, 2008

Fun for older kids

I was surprized with the amount of bad language in the movie. It was non-stop. Also I was uncomfortable watching with my 11 year old daughter during the scene in which Biff is forcing himself on Michael J. Fox's mother in the car. Maybe it went over her head - I'm not sure. Other than those two things, the movie is really fun and it is so good to see Michael J. Fox at his physical best. I think this movie is better for 12 and up.
Parent of a 7, 9, and 11 year old Written byMamaLlama3 October 19, 2015

Good movie, strong language

I really like this movie, however the language is very strong. It should definitely be PG-13. If the language wasn't so offensive, it would've been much more enjoyable. We watched it on t.v. so thankfully some of the language was edited but most of it was still loud & clear.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written byrachell2 November 16, 2014

This move is great, but nor for Eight Year olds.

Common Sense Media really missed the boat on this one. This is a great movie, but the language is terrible and there are way too many adult situations for an eight year old.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written byCatalyst42 May 9, 2014

Read the parent reviews! Don't trust the CSM rating

My daughter is confused and upset about the attempted date rape scene, and the swearing is constant throughout. Having spent the last hour explaining why biff wouldn't let her out when she didn't want a kiss, and would he really have broken George's arm, I would think twice before trusting CSM ratings. Next time I will be sure to read the parent reviews! Definitely not for an 8 year old and even older kids might find adult themes disturbing.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old July 31, 2013

One of the best movies ever! ever!! ever!!! ever!!!!

Great special effects and story as well as being incredibly funny. Awesome and entertaining.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 2 year old Written bygerbowski December 14, 2012

Sci-fi classic is still a great watch

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old January 16, 2012

A Great beginning!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This movie is so cool. The actors like Michael J. Fox, Christopher Lloyd, Thomas Wilson, Lea Thomson, and Crispin Glover are outstanding. The plot is really good. There is plenty of action. The curse words make this movie even greater. Great, Amazing, and Awesome!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 5 and 6 year old Written bylkrs42 December 3, 2011

Too much profanity for elementary school kids.

This is a great movie franchise and hoped my kids could watch. I hadn't seen it in a while and forgot just how much profanity there was. It's not unlike most of the PG rated movies from the 80's where language was more of an issue. I had the mute button in hand and silenced some of the words as I had seen it so many times and remembered where it all was, and my throat hurts from coughing through the rest.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 8 and 10 year old Written bydavidmal770 November 5, 2011

Oddly rated. Not accurate at all.

I was surprised to see the rating on this one. Good for age 8 and above? I don't think so. And I love this movie. I just wouldn't let my 8 and 10 year old watch it. Should I be looking for Revenge of the Nerds or Weird Science in the list for age 8 and up too?
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old June 25, 2011

My review

sc-fi action use. Some profanity.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 11 year old Written bydramaqueen@hotm... June 2, 2011

a great 80's classic! love Bttf!

so basiaclly the movie proves that time travel is possible? and if so its true okay this is the best movie uh maybe not for the younger kids i say the right age would probably be 13 yrs old a teenager can watch it its and awesome movie there should be more movie like this like Back To The Future this use to be one of my fav movies hey still is a classic hit 1985 the same year i was born man why oh why don't they make more movies like this? tell me w hy cause i so love this movie its great just great! Doc Brown the crazy inventor Marty Mcfly the cute teenage boy the parents Strickland the mean prinicpal calling everyone slackers lol now thats funny i can't help but to laugh at that moment when he calls Marty or his dad or anyone a slacker oh and Biff make like a tree and getta outta here lol what the heck does that mean? wow love this movie its like Marty says whoa this is heavey and Great Scott
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byoag721 March 27, 2011

Good, but uncomfortable

I love this movie, but I was quite surprised at the language and a few of the scenes which made it uncomfortable to watch as a family. The violence is not too over-the-top and some things are mainly for comedic reasons (skateboard chase, etc.). Marty makes it a point that smoking and drinking is bad for you, and an African-American man triumphs in becoming mayor. The performances and dialogue are outstanding. Don't be wavered by the PG rating, though, it would be PG-13 today.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old February 19, 2011
Love it!!!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byphredphredison November 26, 2010

Quirky movie, keep it out of the hands of 8 year olds.

Back to the Future was simply hilarious. It had quirky characters, funny dialogue, and the message that bullies must be triumphed over, and friendship will help you through the toughest of situations. However, the characters swear profusely in some scenes. The film also contains a scene with a bully (Biff) unwantedly kissing a girl (Lorraine) with his hand seemingly up her skirt. A movie poster in the backround in one scene reads "XXX Rated : Sex Orgy, American Style. Overall, this movie is great, but I would suggest you either prevent more immature younger children from watching it entirely, or censor a couple scenes out.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byJoe Marranca August 26, 2010

Perfect for 8+

Love it Best movie ever violence is not to when you watch it on cable .
Teen, 14 years old Written bybobbeta30 June 23, 2010

AWESOMNESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This is like my favorite movie EVER!!!!!!!!!! I loved it so much I watch it 4 times. And my little brother watched it when he was 7 and he was fine. The gun thing was kind of iffy for young kids, but you CANNOT miss this movie NO MATTER WHAT!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 9 year old Written bymamac November 13, 2009
Lots of language that I wasn't expecting after reading the CS media review. D--m and s--t lots of times, plus JC, GD. Wish I would have known about this.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byfanboy7.0 October 24, 2009

BEST MOVIE IN THE HISTORY OF MAN KIND!

I LOVE BACK TO THE FUTURE! IT'S GOT ACTION! IT'S GOT ADVENTURE! IT'S GOT COMEDY! THE ULTIMATE MOVIE! GREAT SCOTT!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 13 and 15 year old Written byJoeNameth September 16, 2009

Fun for 12 and up

Entertaining .
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old August 8, 2009

Wait untill you're eight!

I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!! But there is a gunhail part at the beginning and some kissy/violent parts at the end. WAY to much swearing, though, whenever we see a movie my brother compares how many cuss words to how many cuss words are in Back to the Future.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages