All member reviews for Back to the Future

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

'80s time-travel favorite has laughs, romance, action.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 181 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byRockybalboa211 February 26, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Families should only see the television version (censored)

Ok, simply this is a beautiful heart felt time traveling movie. Possibly the single greatest movie of the entire 1980s! It revolves around young man named Marty Mcfly who is considered by many to be a loser. He has a beautiful girl friend named Jennifer though that believes in him, yet Marty is truly down and out about his life. This all changes when his friend old Doc Brown invents a Time Machine out of a 1985 DELOREAN!! Doc Brown invented the time machine with his families fortune. Libyan terrorists show up and are trying to kill Doc Brown since Doc Brown needed stolen plutonium to power the time machine. Marty fearing for his life takes the time machine back to November 5th 1955. Upon reaching 1955 he realizes that he needs more plutonium to get back to 1985. The rest of the film is very interesting in that instead of the usual time traveling movie to get back home, Marty ends up preventing the single moment that his parents meet. Marty with the help of 1955 Doc Brown, spends the rest of the film trying to bring his parents back together and trying to get back to 1985. Overall this movie has a lot of heart and is very good spirited. Children under the age of 14 should not watch the dvd version (language), yet should watch the censored televison version. This version is perfect for the entire family! Overall a classic film that needs to be watched at least once in a person's life time! If you have children younger than 14 or 15 - (WATCH THE CENSORED VERSION ON TELEVISION)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old February 19, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Love it!!!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byphredphredison November 26, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Quirky movie, keep it out of the hands of 8 year olds.

Back to the Future was simply hilarious. It had quirky characters, funny dialogue, and the message that bullies must be triumphed over, and friendship will help you through the toughest of situations. However, the characters swear profusely in some scenes. The film also contains a scene with a bully (Biff) unwantedly kissing a girl (Lorraine) with his hand seemingly up her skirt. A movie poster in the backround in one scene reads "XXX Rated : Sex Orgy, American Style. Overall, this movie is great, but I would suggest you either prevent more immature younger children from watching it entirely, or censor a couple scenes out.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 11 year old Written bybobsax August 27, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Not at all okay for 8 year-olds . Good for at least 10 and up.

This age rating should be changed. If this movie was made today it would get a PG-13 for the language and the attempted rape scene.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byJoe Marranca August 26, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Perfect for 8+

Love it Best movie ever violence is not to when you watch it on cable .
Teen, 14 years old Written bybobbeta30 June 23, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

AWESOMNESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This is like my favorite movie EVER!!!!!!!!!! I loved it so much I watch it 4 times. And my little brother watched it when he was 7 and he was fine. The gun thing was kind of iffy for young kids, but you CANNOT miss this movie NO MATTER WHAT!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 9 year old Written bymamac November 13, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Lots of language that I wasn't expecting after reading the CS media review. D--m and s--t lots of times, plus JC, GD. Wish I would have known about this.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byfanboy7.0 October 24, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

BEST MOVIE IN THE HISTORY OF MAN KIND!

I LOVE BACK TO THE FUTURE! IT'S GOT ACTION! IT'S GOT ADVENTURE! IT'S GOT COMEDY! THE ULTIMATE MOVIE! GREAT SCOTT!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 13 and 15 year old Written byJoeNameth September 16, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Fun for 12 and up

Entertaining .
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old August 8, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Wait untill you're eight!

I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!! But there is a gunhail part at the beginning and some kissy/violent parts at the end. WAY to much swearing, though, whenever we see a movie my brother compares how many cuss words to how many cuss words are in Back to the Future.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old July 11, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old June 6, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

for 5 and up

I laughed at this movie, it is a great historic comedy for 5 and up!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 7, 9, and 12 year old Written byM. Brown June 4, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

You should think twice before letting young kids view this

After reading that there were "bits of language," I was shocked at how often the language was objectionable. They used the Lord's name in vain frequently, and they used other profanities quite regularly throughout the movie. It was much worse than I had anticipated.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old April 5, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 8 years old April 17, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

A must-see family movie

A great movie for kids aged twelve and over, children under twelve will feel quite tense in some scary scenes. A lot of bad language and some mild violence. Just remember, all of the scary things in back to the future and other action movies are all just special effects. These days they can make it look like crazy things are happening with amazing stunts. like in Back to the future when Marty Mcfly punches horrible bully, Biff in the face. Some sexual scenes and speech, some young children will feel uncomfortable with these scenes.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old April 3, 2015
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

One of my favorite movies

I highly recommend this movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bybeyourowndensity March 19, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

FANTASTIC!

I first watched Back to the Future around June 2013, after years of people being appalled whenever I said I'd never seen it. It has since become my favourite movie, /by far/. There are some great messages about believing in yourself, having the motivation to make things happen for yourself, friendship, love, not giving in to peer pressure (in the sequels) -- "if you put your mind to it, you can accomplish anything." I love all of the characters (even Biff, who I love to HATE. And I may or may not have a crush on Marty McFly...), brought to life by some brilliant performances, most notably from Michael J. Fox and Christopher Lloyd who have the chemistry that make their friendship believable despite the age difference. I love all three movies in the trilogy, but this one is my favourite. BUT MY GOODNESS, IT SHOULD NOT BE A PG. Several uses of "sh**", "damn", "ba***rd", a couple of "SOBs", and a few religious exclamations (I'm not offended by them, but others might be). There's some flirting and kissing between Marty and his girlfriend Jennifer which isn't too bad; but they were planning a camping trip that he didn't tell his parents about, and he mentions that his mother would disapprove and he'd "get the standard lecture about she never did that stuff as a kid". I think older viewers will see what that might be implying, but this will probably go right over kids' heads -- so it's harmless enough. But then there's the whole mother-unknowingly-getting-a-crush-on-her-future-son thing, squeezing his leg, removing his pants while he's sleeping (we get a brief shot of Marty in his underwear), Biff attempting to rape Lorraine and his lecherous advances prior, Marty's somewhat iffy plan to pretend to "take advantage" of Lorraine in order to get his parents to fall in love (but he ultimately can't go through with it), George being a "peeping tom" (we see a woman (implied to be Lorraine) in her underwear from a distance). The violence isn't really that terrible, apart from somebody getting gunned down, which isn't very explicit, and a couple of punches thrown. But some scenes may be frightening for younger viewers, like Doc getting shot, Marty almost fading from existence, the attempted rape. But all of these have positive outcomes and there is a happy ending. There's some drinking, smoking (I approve of how Marty definitely doesn't like Lorraine doing this, which gives the message that smoking is bad), the Starlighters emerge from a car with lots of smoke billowing out, which is implied to be marijuana. But kids most likely won't know what "reefer addicts" means, so they'll think that it's just tobacco smoke. All in all, I think that this movie is fine for children aged 12 and up. If Back to the Future had been released today, it would have landed a solid 12 rating (UK equivalent to PG-13) and NOT a PG. What were they thinking in the 80's?? But I absolutely ADORE the movie and the following two. I wish Back to the Future a happy 30th anniversary, and I shall be looking forward to the 21st October, 2015. If you have seen Part II you will know what this means. :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byEgb426 March 11, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Enjoyable but not for kids 12 and under

I watched this movie when I turned 13 and I loved it. The only things are... There are 30+ swear words (not any f-bombs though) One of Marty's relatives is in jail(not a major part of the plot) Marty's mother drinks vodka at the kitchen table One of the characters gets shot several times (No blood they are just throw back and shown on the ground) Martys Dad peeps on martys mom through a window (she is not fully nude I believe she is topless with a bra on) Martys mother falls in love with him and talks about his underwear in a scene (not really an issue) Marty talks about "taking advantage" of his mother (which he attempts later) Biff (the bully) is show multipal times ruffling a girls skirt and trying to reach up it Biff later beats up marty and gets in his car with martys mom and is later shown her screaming for help and him kissing her with his arm up her skirt Doc is electrocuted (in a comical manner) There is an inappropriate poster at the end (I didn't notice until someone told me) It is hard for someone to want to watch a movie after someone else points out all it's flaws, but trust me when I say this is a great iconic humorous 80s film. Just, if you have children, make sure they are mature enough for its content
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written byjanajana February 27, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Trilogy Version has VERY Inappropriate language

I don't see many other reviews that note this, but the trilogy version of this movie has terrible language. Not only does it contain all the words that are already mentioned in these reviews, it also has GD twice! The scene in which it is spoken the second time is mentioned here in another review--"i don't think I should swear. yes, GD, George, you should swear." I was mortified as my 10 year old listened. Even she was offended. Other versions of the film may not have this from what I'm reading from other reviews, but this one does. The movie itself, aside from the language and possibly the potential sexual assault in the car scene, is actually really good and entertaining, you just have to know to mute it on the words and fast forward the assault scene.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byMavrah333 February 15, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Wow, age ratings can be very lenient in the 80's.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism

Pages