Common Sense Media says

'80s time-travel favorite has laughs, romance, action.

Users say

(out of 223 reviews)
age 10+
Review this title!
Parent of a 8 and 10 year old Written bydavidmal770 November 5, 2011

Oddly rated. Not accurate at all.

I was surprised to see the rating on this one. Good for age 8 and above? I don't think so. And I love this movie. I just wouldn't let my 8 and 10 year old watch it. Should I be looking for Revenge of the Nerds or Weird Science in the list for age 8 and up too?
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old June 25, 2011

My review

sc-fi action use. Some profanity.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 11 year old Written bydramaqueen@hotm... June 2, 2011

a great 80's classic! love Bttf!

so basiaclly the movie proves that time travel is possible? and if so its true okay this is the best movie uh maybe not for the younger kids i say the right age would probably be 13 yrs old a teenager can watch it its and awesome movie there should be more movie like this like Back To The Future this use to be one of my fav movies hey still is a classic hit 1985 the same year i was born man why oh why don't they make more movies like this? tell me w hy cause i so love this movie its great just great! Doc Brown the crazy inventor Marty Mcfly the cute teenage boy the parents Strickland the mean prinicpal calling everyone slackers lol now thats funny i can't help but to laugh at that moment when he calls Marty or his dad or anyone a slacker oh and Biff make like a tree and getta outta here lol what the heck does that mean? wow love this movie its like Marty says whoa this is heavey and Great Scott
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byoag721 March 27, 2011

Good, but uncomfortable

I love this movie, but I was quite surprised at the language and a few of the scenes which made it uncomfortable to watch as a family. The violence is not too over-the-top and some things are mainly for comedic reasons (skateboard chase, etc.). Marty makes it a point that smoking and drinking is bad for you, and an African-American man triumphs in becoming mayor. The performances and dialogue are outstanding. Don't be wavered by the PG rating, though, it would be PG-13 today.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byphredphredison November 26, 2010

Quirky movie, keep it out of the hands of 8 year olds.

Back to the Future was simply hilarious. It had quirky characters, funny dialogue, and the message that bullies must be triumphed over, and friendship will help you through the toughest of situations. However, the characters swear profusely in some scenes. The film also contains a scene with a bully (Biff) unwantedly kissing a girl (Lorraine) with his hand seemingly up her skirt. A movie poster in the backround in one scene reads "XXX Rated : Sex Orgy, American Style. Overall, this movie is great, but I would suggest you either prevent more immature younger children from watching it entirely, or censor a couple scenes out.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byJoe Marranca August 26, 2010

Perfect for 8+

Love it Best movie ever violence is not to when you watch it on cable .
Parent of a 9 year old Written bymamac November 13, 2009
Lots of language that I wasn't expecting after reading the CS media review. D--m and s--t lots of times, plus JC, GD. Wish I would have known about this.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 13 and 15 year old Written byJoeNameth September 16, 2009

Fun for 12 and up

Entertaining .
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old August 8, 2009

Wait untill you're eight!

I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!! But there is a gunhail part at the beginning and some kissy/violent parts at the end. WAY to much swearing, though, whenever we see a movie my brother compares how many cuss words to how many cuss words are in Back to the Future.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 7, 9, and 12 year old Written byM. Brown June 4, 2009

You should think twice before letting young kids view this

After reading that there were "bits of language," I was shocked at how often the language was objectionable. They used the Lord's name in vain frequently, and they used other profanities quite regularly throughout the movie. It was much worse than I had anticipated.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old April 5, 2009
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byDale Snowdon S. December 1, 2016

Classic 80's movie

For people saying this is an inappropriate movie for younger viewers must be living under a rock, in a cave with both of their ears plugged. You are underestimating your child's intelligence if you think they can't differentiate careless course language to foul language that builds on a plot line or helps developed the character. There are commercials on TV that display more offensive situation's than this classic movie. The realizations your child could have of the similarities between all generations over the last 70 years is enough reason to have them watch this movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byTomiscool November 15, 2016

Man, My Friend Jason Is OBSESSED With This Movie!

Violence: 2/5: Not CRAZY Violence. Sex: 3/5: Oh Believe Me, It's Sexy. Language: 3/5: Shit, Bastard, Bitch, And Ass. Drugs/Smoking: 2/5: Some Drinking And Cigarettes. Overall: 10/20. My Rating: PG-13.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old November 14, 2016

Amazing movie has swearing

Although this movie is amazing, there is swearing including "s--t", "d--n", h--l", and "a-s". Other than that your tweens will love this movie.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 8 years old October 26, 2016
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Adult Written bymoviefan1980s September 6, 2016

A time-traveling masterstroke and probably the best movie of the 1980s

"Back to the Future" is a film that is fun, clever, hilarious, brilliant, and enjoyable. Michael J. Fox has never been better in his movie career playing 17 year old Marty McFly. Marty goes back in time to 1955 with a DeLorean that was made into a time machine by his eccentric scientist friend Doc Brown, played by Christopher Lloyd. He sees his parents, Lorraine, played by Lea Thompson, and George, played by Crispin Glover, as 17 year olds. Marty's mother falls for him, but he must rectify the situation by having her and his father together, in order for him and his siblings, Dave, played by Marc McClure, and Linda, played by the late Wendie Jo Sperber, to exist. Strong supporting roles include Thomas F. Wilson (as Biff Tannen, George's bully), Claudia Wells (as Jennifer Parker, Marty's girlfriend), and James Tolkan (as Mr. Strickland, a high school principal). "Back to the Future" is one of those films that has a very clever plot, plus, the screenplay is amazing and so is Robert Zemeckis' direction. It is a time-traveling masterstroke and probably the best movie of the 1980s, along with Martin Scorsese's "Raging Bull". It has two sequels that are great, as well, but the first one takes the cake as the best of the trilogy. "Back to the Future" may not be appropriate for young kids, because of the mild profanity, a few kissing scenes, and a drinking scene.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 9 year old Written byLeigh A. September 4, 2016

More adult themes than I expected

This is such a great story, but there were several reasons this turned out to be the wrong movie to watch with a 9-year-old. First is the very salty language that was completely unnecessary. I'm not a prude, and I was really taken aback by it. Second was a scene when Doc is confronted by Libyan terrorists, which my child found terrifying, set aside the stereotyping. Finally, the sexual suggestiveness peppered throughout: George spying on Lorraine in her bra, Lorraine hitting on Marty, and Biff assaulting Lorraine in the car. Could have been a great family movie, but it's completely inappropriate for kids unfortunately.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written bymattbruns3 September 4, 2016

This movie is harsh for PG

If this movie came out now it would get PG-13. It has a lot of language and it has sexual material. Under 13 should be supervised.
Kid, 12 years old August 26, 2016

Back to the Future

I Would Rate this Film PG-13 for Extended sequences of Women Abuse, Violence and High school Alcohol Abuse.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byTom Roxburgh August 24, 2016
It's an amazing movie. You can watch it when you are 8 and up just you may not get some of it.

Pages