All member reviews for Back to the Future

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

'80s time-travel favorite has laughs, romance, action.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 177 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old May 23, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Violence (PG): Few punches are thrown, leibeans kill Doc. Sexual Content (PG): Marty and Jennifer kiss, Marty and Lorraine kiss in a car. Language (PG): s--t g----mn,
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old December 20, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good lighthearted Young teen movie.

This movie isnt too bad for kids under 13,its not.Some of the sexual situations will fly over their heads. Mild laungauge.Its one of the greatest movies of all time.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old December 4, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

good for older kids not younger kids

i liked it but the reveiw said no sex and there was a lot in the ending a druncerd boy traped a girl in a car trying to kiss her and take off her clothes and also the boy was a bully almost broke a boy's hand and there is some drinking and the nasty words
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymetalhead867 November 13, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

amzing movie. dont worry about the swearing.

please, oh please calm down about the language. just because there is some swearing does not mean it is a bad movie. plus your kids can live with it. now just stop whining and enjoy the movie for what it is. its genius.
Parent of a 13 and 15 year old Written byJoeNameth September 16, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Fun for 12 and up

Entertaining .
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old May 30, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Intense language and sexual content.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old April 5, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byKaty0 March 21, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Back to the Future is an excellent film, but definitely not okay for 8+. There are plenty of uses of "s--t" "son of a b----", etc., and some innuendo. However, it is still amazing and hilarious.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byGreat gatsby August 7, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Should be pg-13

Curses a bunch not way too much but a bunch of times amazingly awesome movie one of my favorite movies should be pg-13 for curse and maybe for action but not really bad for kids
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written bySuperdad100 August 4, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great Movie!

It is a great movie cussing is not a big deal its not like my 10 year old child in school when the teacher help luke on his work he wont say ''no way s#!t woman!"
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old July 31, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

One of the best movies ever! ever!! ever!!! ever!!!!

Great special effects and story as well as being incredibly funny. Awesome and entertaining.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old December 22, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

I absolutely LOVED this movie! It might even be my number 1 G-PG movie!

Definitely a must see for all ages. Language: Sh*t is used about 5 times, Son-of-a-B*tch is used about 8 times. mild swearing constant. Sex: Just a few kisses here and there. Violence: A death by guns, And a lot of fighting which is more comedic than violent. I Definitely think everyone should see this movie. out of 10, 10,000! :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 2 year old Written bygerbowski December 14, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Sci-fi classic is still a great watch

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 9 years old November 26, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

this is an awesome movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byThe Hannah Claire September 22, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Good if you are older

This movie is pretty good. When my dad told me about it, I couldn't wait to see it. There are some bad parts about it. The language is really bad. I've never heard so much language in a movie. It was worse than War Games! This movie was very sexual as well. I don't want to go into details about it but it is much worse than what the Common Sense Media people say. I did say there was violence but it wasn't bad. There is plenty of consumerism as well. Over all, it is a good movie aside from some language and innapropriate parts.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old June 20, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Inappriopriate for younger children!!

Not good for little children. The mother (of the past) tries to have sexual contact with her son. That can't be a good example for kids. But it is nevertheless one of the best Science Fiction Movies of all time!
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bythehappy May 19, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

more upsetting for kids than CSM suggests

I feel completely let down by common sense media with regard to the suggested age range of 8 for this film - there isn't just "suggested" unwanted sex... the scene involves a young woman shivering and crying for help as a guy has her held inside of a car and tells his pals it's not a "peep" show. she is terrified and he has her in lying down position. what am I supposed to tell my 8 year old that's all about?? No. it doesn't come to anything. But, I was very uncomfortable watching the scene with my 8 year old. I agree with other parents that the appropriate age for this film is at least 10. The cussing is rampant btw! The sexual innuendos between the characters are pretty strong
Adult Written byBacktothewall May 16, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Perfect!

What the hell are the people on this baord on? There's nothing wrong with this movie, at all. It seems that when you were kid's it was perfectly okay for you to watch it, but now through your present eyes it's awful. Maybe it's just because you've gotten old! You parents lket you watch Back To The Future, do them a favor and let them see it too, at any age. It's a kid's movie, pre teenagers) and that would be perfectly okay if I was a parent. And for the record kat_marie Back To The Future would not be a PG-13 if released today, there's absolutley no question about that. The PG-13 certificate already existed for a year by the time this was released. They ratings board simply didn't want to deny kid's the chance to see a movie that was aimed at them. You're really going to turn your kid's into real cry babies if you molly coddle them as much as you do. And if you don't let them watch it in films, then they will hear it from their friends at school. Verdict: Back To The Future, suitable for people of ALL ages.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old May 12, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

:):):):)

LOVE IT!!!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educator and Parent of a 10 and 10 year old Written byDtownmom April 21, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great film, but lots of bad language.

There is a great deal of foul language. If you are sensitive to that, you might want to think twice. There are also a number of sexual situations. While the movie is fast and funny, some of the humor might go over the heads of people who were not yet born in the 80s, or don't have enough background knowledge of the 50s.

Pages