All member reviews for Back to the Future

Common Sense Media says

'80s time-travel favorite has laughs, romance, action.
 

Users say

(out of 186 reviews)
age 9+
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old September 29, 2014
age 10+
 

A blast!

This film is so much fun! I love it! Unfortunately, there's some bad language. Aside from that, it's super creative, not too confusing, and a whole lot of fun!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byzazzithecat September 20, 2014
age 11+
 

A classic! Slow pacing though

Very good movie, but it takes a while to get going in the beginning. The slow pacing might be a bit too much for some kids but it was alright. A few uses of "son of a b---ch" and "oh s--t" but really not that much of all. No really scary scenes and the violence only goes as far as punching. It was neat how it played with time in an easy to follow manner. 11 and up should see this movie because it is a real classic!
Parent of a 10 year old Written byJondellstian September 1, 2014
age 14+
 

Not for kids

Look. I love the movie, but it is not appropriate for Tweens. Biff practically rapes McFly's mom. Also, the way his mom comes onto McFly (not knowing he is her son of course) is really too hot and heavy. Young tween girls who see the movie may believe that is appropriate behavior toward a boy she likes. Either don't let your Tweens watch it, or be ready to explain some things you may not be ready to explain. Also, there is casual drinking, drinking and driving seems appropriate, and smoking is seen as cool.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old August 30, 2014
age 12+
 

NO

I watched this movie today. The movie was fun and the story was enjoyable but there was a ton of swearing! I couldn't stand it. They said the sh__ , son of a _____, da__, and so much more. What I hated most was the car scene. A man attacks a women (like that..) In a car while she's flailing her legs and screaming. Kids under 13 should not watch this! There are also many cleavage scenes. This movie is not for children.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old August 25, 2014
age 9+
 

Classic!

This is a classic but there is some swearing. Beware.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old August 12, 2014
age 13+
 

back to the future

to much swearing to drinking and to much violence
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old August 10, 2014
age 4+
 

some swearing

well back to the future is a good film that my mum grew up from her childhood some swearing like when Mardi(Michael J Fox)keeps saying b**ch and d**m and when Dr Brown(Christoper Lloyd) keeps saying d**m just make sure your kids don't repeat the word d**m or b**ch. The character of mardi is a good role model because when he goes back in time to 1955 he tells his dad to concur his fears
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Parent Written bydocnerd July 27, 2014
age 11+
 

sexual assault, definitely not for young kids

This is a great film at the right age, but the Common Sense recommendation of 8 is absolutely insane. Language is a big issue, but the worst of it is an attempted rape scene that is also key to the plot (so can't be skipped). Some of the language and the spying on a girl getting dressed push the envelope for 10 and 11, but the sexual assault makes this PG-13. Even as our hero stands up to the bully and saves the day, the entire scenario still feels very much like just a battle between men and to some degree normalizes the assault as something typical for a bully.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old July 12, 2014
age 12+
 

On the edge...

Back to the Future is a fabulous movie. However, it is appropriate for kids 12 and over. There is a lot of curse words in this PG rated movie. There is a little bit of violence. There is also smoking and use of alcohol.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bygranth July 11, 2014
age 10+
 

Past, present or future this film is great

Back to the future is a great movie. It has a few curse words for younger audience and a character is killed by terrorists.This movie won an oscar for best sound editing.
Parent of a 5 year old Written byYanipoo June 28, 2014
age 6+
 

I love this film but...

It wasn't really for my son who is five. It was too complicated for him and the swearing was a bit much. But I decided to keep watching it anyway, as he seemed interested, but we had a number conversations about the events. In retrospect I wouldn't have put it on., I want to make a VERY STRONG POINT, that the "unwanted sex" in the synopsis is actually an account of date rape. Biff tries to force himself on Marty's mom outside the dance until his dad rescues her. I saw the movie countless time as a child and teen and I wasn't sophisticated enough to understand, but I think kids today do. Even my 5 year old son asked me what Biff was doing in the car. I told him he wasn't "respecting her wishes, and we don't do that to anyone, especially girls." I strongly recommend parents of tweens and teens to have a conversation about this topic after the film. Biff although is a villain but still cartoonish. And boys do find strong characters attractive despite the over all moral of the story. Thus beloved film is a lot darker than I remember.. So beware.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old June 13, 2014
age 9+
 

Boring.

I just didn't get that feel of a good movie.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 7 years old June 12, 2014
age 5+
 

Back To MY Favorite

There was a little bit of cursing in it but I loved the movie. This is one of my favorite movies I've ever seen!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old June 7, 2014
age 10+
 

An absolutely awesome movie

This show focuses on the adventures of Marty Mcfly, an 80's child with the attire and band to prove it. He lives with an unconfedent father and a super strict mother. He made a friend out of a wacky scientist doc brown. When the doc makes a time machine he is killed and Marty gets taken to the past. He meets his mother and father while their just kids and interrupts their first meeting. Noe it's up to him to make things right, and then some;). I'd recommend this to anyone who likes comedies, time travel, or just old movies.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheMovieGuru April 26, 2014
age 7+
 

Brilliant

fantastic 80s time travel movie, great for family viewing. Performances by Michael J Fox and Christopher Lloyd are great, plenty of humor and fun. I recommend this movie to everyone!
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byMedalofhalo April 22, 2014
age 2+
 

Stop Whining

Kids these days Play video games like Call Of Duty and Grand Theft Auto Which are 100% more violent than this movie.whats the REAL problem? Ask yourself because the movie hinted a bit at rape? This will pass over kids heads. My mom showed me this movie when I was 3 it has since became my all-time favorite movie.and besides why is this stuff important? you probably watch the news with you kids,right? the news dipicts this stuff all the time and its not FAKE its REAL
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bytruetomovies April 12, 2014
age 6+
 

such a good story

it was such a good film, the whole idea of Marty going back and forward in time is amazing. I loved the 50s theme to the movie and would defiantly watch it over and over again.
Kid, 12 years old March 27, 2014
age 13+
 

A great movie, but 8? I HARDLY think so.

Common Sense Media is out of their mind. There's too much language for 8-year-olds anyway. It's NOT "occasional", as Common Sense Media puts it. This includes PG-13 insults like "a**hole", "son-of-a-b****", "b*st*rds", "h*ly sh*t", and obvious misuses of Jesus' name. The last ones would obviously offend people who believe in them (which I DO, so watch the language, Universal.) Oh, and milder language which could be passed as PG ("a**", "h*ll", "d*mn".) IF THAT isn't enough, there's attempted unwanted sex, because a school bully grabs a woman, grabs her roughly and forces her into a car, by making inappropriate sexual advances like "I know you want it" and then it cutting away. And what do they mean "she's never really in danger?" She is! Threats of sexual violence? Hello?! DO use your Common Sense, Common Sense Media. I'm pretty sure you think Common Sense is out of their mind now. I'm pretty sure I wouldn't allow bloody patches shot out of a guy's chest by terrorists and Marty calling them "b*st*rds" for an 8-year-old. Save it till' they're older. One guy's also electrocuted by a storm. NOTE: The TV-appropriate version MIGHT remove language, but this is the DVD version, which I've watched. Definitely deserves a PG-13. Characters are shoved, pushed and punched by bullies, including a car/hoverboard chase, which ends in a prolonged "sh*t!" Very funny scene, but may offend. More sexual content contains a voyeuristic boy looking through binoculars at a girl undressing in her room, maybe some cleavage at a party (but then again, it's natural), going away with your girlfriend for two days and lying to parents, as one user reviewer said?) and a sexual tension between time travel and the main character having to not fall into dating his mother (!) She looks young, but nevertheless, ew. This isn't a "kid movie", as some like to describe it. More a, "teen movie". The language is FREEEEEEQUENT, not occasional. I bet Common Sense Media were playing Halo or Mario Kart or something rather than watching this movie. "Great Scott!" is also said by the Doc. Adult themes include molestation, at the very least, and perhaps teenage dating, though that's not as bad as the molestation theme. Any other sexual content? One reviewer barely noticed a XXX-sign. One reviewer states that every 1.53 mins. there's a swear-word, not including name-calling. Okay, back to the movie (or the future - only kidding). I thought it was quite good, but WAAAAAY inappropriate for an 8-year old. Iffy for 12. But overall a good movie... CAUTION about language, violence and adult theme especially. Thankyou for reading.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old March 24, 2014
age 12+
 

Enjoyable, time travel movie

This fun, enjoyable comedy has something great for everyone. The main characters are genuinely likeable. But, there are a few cuss words uttered and Michael J. Fox is seen in purple briefs; a character is gunned down by terrorists. The rest of the film is very enjoyable. If you’re looking for a fun little adventure flick for your teens, this is a great one to check out.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 12 year old Written bycrankylibrarian January 3, 2014
age 9+
 

The child is father to the man

A teenager sets his clueless parents straight; what kid wouldn't love that scenario? Christopher Lloyd's goofy mad scientist doesn't hurt. What a wonderful way for parents to share stories of their own upbringing, and for kids to see their parents as real people with dreams and disappointments.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages