All member reviews for Back to the Future

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

'80s time-travel favorite has laughs, romance, action.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 181 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 5 year old Written byYanipoo June 28, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

I love this film but...

It wasn't really for my son who is five. It was too complicated for him and the swearing was a bit much. But I decided to keep watching it anyway, as he seemed interested, but we had a number conversations about the events. In retrospect I wouldn't have put it on., I want to make a VERY STRONG POINT, that the "unwanted sex" in the synopsis is actually an account of date rape. Biff tries to force himself on Marty's mom outside the dance until his dad rescues her. I saw the movie countless time as a child and teen and I wasn't sophisticated enough to understand, but I think kids today do. Even my 5 year old son asked me what Biff was doing in the car. I told him he wasn't "respecting her wishes, and we don't do that to anyone, especially girls." I strongly recommend parents of tweens and teens to have a conversation about this topic after the film. Biff although is a villain but still cartoonish. And boys do find strong characters attractive despite the over all moral of the story. Thus beloved film is a lot darker than I remember.. So beware.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old June 13, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Boring.

I just didn't get that feel of a good movie.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 7 years old June 12, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Back To MY Favorite

There was a little bit of cursing in it but I loved the movie. This is one of my favorite movies I've ever seen!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old June 7, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

An absolutely awesome movie

This show focuses on the adventures of Marty Mcfly, an 80's child with the attire and band to prove it. He lives with an unconfedent father and a super strict mother. He made a friend out of a wacky scientist doc brown. When the doc makes a time machine he is killed and Marty gets taken to the past. He meets his mother and father while their just kids and interrupts their first meeting. Noe it's up to him to make things right, and then some;). I'd recommend this to anyone who likes comedies, time travel, or just old movies.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byCatalyst42 May 9, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Read the parent reviews! Don't trust the CSM rating

My daughter is confused and upset about the attempted date rape scene, and the swearing is constant throughout. Having spent the last hour explaining why biff wouldn't let her out when she didn't want a kiss, and would he really have broken George's arm, I would think twice before trusting CSM ratings. Next time I will be sure to read the parent reviews! Definitely not for an 8 year old and even older kids might find adult themes disturbing.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheMovieGuru April 26, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Brilliant

fantastic 80s time travel movie, great for family viewing. Performances by Michael J Fox and Christopher Lloyd are great, plenty of humor and fun. I recommend this movie to everyone!
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byMedalofhalo April 22, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Stop Whining

Kids these days Play video games like Call Of Duty and Grand Theft Auto Which are 100% more violent than this movie.whats the REAL problem? Ask yourself because the movie hinted a bit at rape? This will pass over kids heads. My mom showed me this movie when I was 3 it has since became my all-time favorite movie.and besides why is this stuff important? you probably watch the news with you kids,right? the news dipicts this stuff all the time and its not FAKE its REAL
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bytruetomovies April 12, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

such a good story

it was such a good film, the whole idea of Marty going back and forward in time is amazing. I loved the 50s theme to the movie and would defiantly watch it over and over again.
Kid, 12 years old March 27, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A great movie, but 8? I HARDLY think so.

Common Sense Media is out of their mind. There's too much language for 8-year-olds anyway. It's NOT "occasional", as Common Sense Media puts it. This includes PG-13 insults like "a**hole", "son-of-a-b****", "b*st*rds", "h*ly sh*t", and obvious misuses of Jesus' name. The last ones would obviously offend people who believe in them (which I DO, so watch the language, Universal.) Oh, and milder language which could be passed as PG ("a**", "h*ll", "d*mn".) IF THAT isn't enough, there's attempted unwanted sex, because a school bully grabs a woman, grabs her roughly and forces her into a car, by making inappropriate sexual advances like "I know you want it" and then it cutting away. And what do they mean "she's never really in danger?" She is! Threats of sexual violence? Hello?! DO use your Common Sense, Common Sense Media. I'm pretty sure you think Common Sense is out of their mind now. I'm pretty sure I wouldn't allow bloody patches shot out of a guy's chest by terrorists and Marty calling them "b*st*rds" for an 8-year-old. Save it till' they're older. One guy's also electrocuted by a storm. NOTE: The TV-appropriate version MIGHT remove language, but this is the DVD version, which I've watched. Definitely deserves a PG-13. Characters are shoved, pushed and punched by bullies, including a car/hoverboard chase, which ends in a prolonged "sh*t!" Very funny scene, but may offend. More sexual content contains a voyeuristic boy looking through binoculars at a girl undressing in her room, maybe some cleavage at a party (but then again, it's natural), going away with your girlfriend for two days and lying to parents, as one user reviewer said?) and a sexual tension between time travel and the main character having to not fall into dating his mother (!) She looks young, but nevertheless, ew. This isn't a "kid movie", as some like to describe it. More a, "teen movie". The language is FREEEEEEQUENT, not occasional. I bet Common Sense Media were playing Halo or Mario Kart or something rather than watching this movie. "Great Scott!" is also said by the Doc. Adult themes include molestation, at the very least, and perhaps teenage dating, though that's not as bad as the molestation theme. Any other sexual content? One reviewer barely noticed a XXX-sign. One reviewer states that every 1.53 mins. there's a swear-word, not including name-calling. Okay, back to the movie (or the future - only kidding). I thought it was quite good, but WAAAAAY inappropriate for an 8-year old. Iffy for 12. But overall a good movie... CAUTION about language, violence and adult theme especially. Thankyou for reading.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old March 24, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Enjoyable, time travel movie

This fun, enjoyable comedy has something great for everyone. The main characters are genuinely likeable. But, there are a few cuss words uttered and Michael J. Fox is seen in purple briefs; a character is gunned down by terrorists. The rest of the film is very enjoyable. If you’re looking for a fun little adventure flick for your teens, this is a great one to check out.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old February 20, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

This family movie deserves 4/5 stars. It's a true classic.

One of Spielberg's best movies is here with comedy, drama, and action. The language is a bit much for 7-year-olds with a few uses of "s--t" "son of a bitch" "bastard" "hell" and "ass". The violence is mild with punches and fights, no lethal combat other than when a man is shot by terrorists (no blood or gore). The sexual content is not too bad, there is kissing and a seen of someone looking in a girls window while she is getting undressed, no nudity is shown. A teen forces a girl to kiss him and hump him in a car. There is some drinking and smoking.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 12 year old Written bycrankylibrarian January 3, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

The child is father to the man

A teenager sets his clueless parents straight; what kid wouldn't love that scenario? Christopher Lloyd's goofy mad scientist doesn't hurt. What a wonderful way for parents to share stories of their own upbringing, and for kids to see their parents as real people with dreams and disappointments.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written bymoviewannabe October 20, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

This movie is whole lot of fun

This movie is enjoyable fun with time travel and getting know what life was like before you were born. I liked it Marty goes on stage to take over for the band's guitarist, Marvin Berry (Chuck Berry's fictional cousin), and plays "Johnny B. Goode" by Chuck Berry on Marvin's Gibson ES335. I also like the scene when Marty dresses up as a spaceman and scares his father's 1950s self and goes by the name "Darth Vader".
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old October 16, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Back To The Future Is For Kids!

I Liked This Movie Because With Steven Spielberg What Could Go Wrong? And This (In My Opinion Is THE BEST MOVIE OF ALL TIME!) Michael J Fox Owns The Role Of Marty Mcfly In This Sci-Fi Adventure!. I Just Need To Tell You There Are Some S-Words And Alot Of The Word H-E-L-L With Smoking And Drinking But Otherwise You Should Show You Kids This Movie You And Your Kids Will Love The Jokes,Dialog,Music And Charecters But One Think To Warn You About This Movie Takes Your Breath Away!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byThedude68683 October 6, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

My thoughts

Another example of parents overreacting to cursing or some form of sexual content or even comic violence well I've got news for you there's cussing in movies and just because it's PG doesn't mean that some cussing isn't allowed hell mommie dearest said the f bomb and it was PG and the sexual content it's kinda innocent at least when Lorraine and Marty get to the dance because she doesn't no she's on a date with her future kid it's a great story a 10 out of 10 story
Teen, 13 years old Written byEric Paul September 22, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

normal for 16 above

Teen, 13 years old Written byGaz10 September 17, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Fourth best movie ever!

This movie is a classic. Although it's rated PG it has a lot of uses of the word s--t.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Parent of a 6 and 8 year old Written bykalin333 September 9, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

good movie to watch with parents , for kids above age 12

good movie to watch together with parents , ware parents preparation talk should be held before the movie . and i think the appropriate age for the movie should be 12 years , not as the editor recommends 8 years. good to watch togher with the familie , i would re-make it so even kids age 5 or 6 can watch it with the family ( removing the sex, and violance parts of the movie ) . should be not very difficult to remake or re-edit and remove those parts of the movie .
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old August 26, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

A good movie but not for anyone under 11

This is a pretty good movie. As a lot of reviewers said though there is a lot of language for a PG movie. It has pretty much all the main cuss words in it but the 'F' word. I saw it not to long ago and I thought it might be even iffy for my age. The age on the review common sense media wrote was definitly to young. You should at least be eleven and up. But even then that still might be too young. :/
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byMonkeyMoonMom August 21, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

I used to trust Common Sense...

I think this review is way off. The "parking" scene has characters drinking alcohol, followed by band members smoking marijuana, then a sexual assault scene... I used to trust Common Sense, but no more!! Very disappointed.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex

Pages