All member reviews for Back to the Future

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

'80s time-travel favorite has laughs, romance, action.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 177 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bycscrufty December 21, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great movie but language almost everywhere!

This is a great sci-fi movie. Although, THIS IS NOT FOR 8 YEAR OLDS. COME ON PEOPLE! Almost every sentence they say has bad language in it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Written byAnonymous December 7, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

80's time travel classic is good for tweens+

This 80's classic is iffy in language, violence, (guns are used sometimes and there is also punching) drug content (at one part a girl smokes and drinks) and "kissy-kissy". But all in all it's an 80's classic that all tweens and teens should watch.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old November 23, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Amazing movie, some swearing, some implied romance

This movie is a classic comedy movie. There are a few swear words, and some implied romance, such as peeping toms, and some gunfire, but this is still a family-friendly movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byrachell2 November 16, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

This move is great, but nor for Eight Year olds.

Common Sense Media really missed the boat on this one. This is a great movie, but the language is terrible and there are way too many adult situations for an eight year old.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 11 and 15 year old Written byColumbiaMDMom November 1, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great movie -- with caveats for young viewers

We just watched this movie this evening with our two sons and it elicited such a combination of reactions. Over all, we really enjoyed it. It was critical though that our kids were old enough for it. My older son saw it once when he was 5 and we had to turn it right off -- it was too disturbing. The disturbing part was Biff, the bully in the lives of this family for 30 years. And, yes, Biff was clearly about to sexually assault one character, and was only stopped when young George McFly appears and the Lea Thompson character cries for help. In an earlier scene, Biff intimidates George into doing his homework for him. At our kids ages, we could use this as a discussion topic -- is Biff being a bully? My younger son is beginning middle school; I would be concerned about exposing this to a younger child. There was a fair amount of strong language, but given the context I didn't see this as a big problem (though I would have preferred somewhat else.) Interestingly, at one point a mentor encouraging George to stand up to his bully says yes, you should use that swear word. Okay, given those caveats, the rest is good. A chance to see a young Michael J. Fox at the start of his movie career, as well as Christopher Lloyd (who I have to credit as perfect for this role even if he's not an exemplary human being.) A fun, time travel theme -- can what we do when we travel to the past change the future? A lovely performance by Lea Thompson as Michael J. Fox's mother. An enduring message -- you need to stand up for yourself. And a ponderable of how seemingly unimportant occurrences can have a big effect in your life. What if Marty McFly's parents had never gone to that dance all the way back -- they may never have fallen in love. It made my husband and I reflect what if we had never gone to the party where we had met?
Kid, 11 years old October 15, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Pretty good time travel movie

Some uses of s**t
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old September 29, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

A blast!

This film is so much fun! I love it! Unfortunately, there's some bad language. Aside from that, it's super creative, not too confusing, and a whole lot of fun!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Written byAnonymous September 23, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Back to the Future review

========================================================= Sex/Nudity: Marty's girlfriend, Jennifer, asks him if his mom knows about them going to the lake together (implying that there might be some fooling around between them). A movie marquee shows the title "Orgy American Style," and is seen in the background of a shot, though it is blurred and hard to notice. An XXX cinema is seen briefly. Marty finds George (as a teen) high in a tree spying with binoculars watching Lorraine undress (she's seen in her bra and slip). Lorraine has "the hots" for Marty (in a 1950's way) and tells him that she's never seen underwear like he's wearing. Biff sits behind Lorraine in the cafeteria and paws at her saying, "You know you want it. You know you want me to give it to you." She then smacks him and says, "I'm not that kind of girl." He replies, "Maybe you are and you don't know it yet." She then slaps him. Marty tells George about his plan to get him to rescue Lorraine from Marty's staged advances. After he tells George that nice girls get upset when guys try to take advantage of them, George asks, "You mean you're going to touch her on her..." but he doesn't finish the question. Later in a parked car with Marty, Lorraine tells him that she likes to park and that it's not her first time. Biff tries to sexually assault Lorraine, but is stopped by George. Lorraine shows some cleavage in her low-cut dance dress. 2/10. ========================================================= Violence: Marty is blown across the room by the output of a large speaker. Several terrorists show up and shoot Doc Brown with a machine gun and then chase Marty and shoot at him as well and crash their van into a small building. Marty crashes the Delorean into a barn and then runs over a tree as he flees from a farmer who fires a shotgun at him (thinking he's a space alien). Marty is hit by a car and knocked unconscious. Lorraine smacks Biff for pawing at her. Biff and Marty push each other in the cafeteria and get ready to punch one another, but they're stopped. Marty trips Biff, slugs him, and then knocks down his cohorts and races outside. He accidentally knocks over several people as Biff and the others chase him. They drive through some park hedges and throw bottles and cans at him. They then try to ram him (on his skateboard) into a truck but end up crashing into it themselves. Biff pulls Marty from a parked car and then starts to paw Lorraine while the other guys punch Marty in the gut and take him away. George tries to throw a punch at Biff who deflects it and bends George's arm behind him. Lorraine tries to help, but Biff pushes her to the ground by her face. George then gets mad, winds up a punch, and knocks Biff out. George pushes another student to the dance floor after he rudely cuts in on a dance with Lorraine. 5/10. ========================================================= Blood/Gore: A musician has a slightly bloody bandage on his hand. Doc has a bandage on his head and for a brief moment you can see some blood. A car crashes into a truck of manure and one character spits a bit of manure out. 3/10. ========================================================= Profanity: At least 5 "s" words (1 of which is 4 said at the same time), 12 damns, 8 hells, 3 asses (1 used with "hole"), 3 S.O.B.'s, and 6 uses each of "Oh my God," and "Jesus," 4 uses of "G-damn," 2 uses each of "Jesus Christ" and "My God," and 1 use each of "God" and "Oh God" as exclamations. 5/10. ========================================================= Alcohol/Drugs: As an adult, Biff grabs a beer out of the fridge. As an adult, Lorraine pours vodka into whatever she's drinking. Lorraine's father has a beer on the table at dinner. Lorraine takes a swig of alcohol from a flask and tells Marty that "Everybody's who anybody drinks." Marty takes it from her (commenting on how it might lead to future drinking problems) and then absentmindedly takes a swig himself. Biff's gang drink beer. One of Biff's cohorts tells some musicians that they "don't want to mess with no reefer addicts," and, although smoke comes from their car, there's no indication that it's marijuana. A drunk man on a park bench holds a bottle of liquor. Doc grabs a beer can from the trash and pours the remaining liquid into his time machine for fuel. 3/10. ========================================================= Smoking: Lorraine briefly lights up a cigarette in a car. Some musicians get out of a smokey car. Some students smoke outside a dance. 2/10. ========================================================= Back to the Future is one of the best films ever made, and probably the best time-travel movie ever made. I definitely recommend you watch it. I give it 9/10. =========================================================
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byzazzithecat September 20, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

A classic! Slow pacing though

Very good movie, but it takes a while to get going in the beginning. The slow pacing might be a bit too much for some kids but it was alright. A few uses of "son of a b---ch" and "oh s--t" but really not that much of all. No really scary scenes and the violence only goes as far as punching. It was neat how it played with time in an easy to follow manner. 11 and up should see this movie because it is a real classic!
Parent of a 10 year old Written byJondellstian September 1, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Not for kids

Look. I love the movie, but it is not appropriate for Tweens. Biff practically rapes McFly's mom. Also, the way his mom comes onto McFly (not knowing he is her son of course) is really too hot and heavy. Young tween girls who see the movie may believe that is appropriate behavior toward a boy she likes. Either don't let your Tweens watch it, or be ready to explain some things you may not be ready to explain. Also, there is casual drinking, drinking and driving seems appropriate, and smoking is seen as cool.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old August 30, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

NO

I watched this movie today. The movie was fun and the story was enjoyable but there was a ton of swearing! I couldn't stand it. They said the sh__ , son of a _____, da__, and so much more. What I hated most was the car scene. A man attacks a women (like that..) In a car while she's flailing her legs and screaming. Kids under 13 should not watch this! There are also many cleavage scenes. This movie is not for children.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old August 25, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Classic!

This is a classic but there is some swearing. Beware.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old August 12, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

back to the future

to much swearing to drinking and to much violence
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old August 10, 2014
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

some swearing

well back to the future is a good film that my mum grew up from her childhood some swearing like when Mardi(Michael J Fox)keeps saying b**ch and d**m and when Dr Brown(Christoper Lloyd) keeps saying d**m just make sure your kids don't repeat the word d**m or b**ch. The character of mardi is a good role model because when he goes back in time to 1955 he tells his dad to concur his fears
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Parent Written bydocnerd July 27, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

sexual assault, definitely not for young kids

This is a great film at the right age, but the Common Sense recommendation of 8 is absolutely insane. Language is a big issue, but the worst of it is an attempted rape scene that is also key to the plot (so can't be skipped). Some of the language and the spying on a girl getting dressed push the envelope for 10 and 11, but the sexual assault makes this PG-13. Even as our hero stands up to the bully and saves the day, the entire scenario still feels very much like just a battle between men and to some degree normalizes the assault as something typical for a bully.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old July 12, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

On the edge...

Back to the Future is a fabulous movie. However, it is appropriate for kids 12 and over. There is a lot of curse words in this PG rated movie. There is a little bit of violence. There is also smoking and use of alcohol.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bygranth July 11, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Past, present or future this film is great

Back to the future is a great movie. It has a few curse words for younger audience and a character is killed by terrorists.This movie won an oscar for best sound editing.
Parent of a 7 and 9 year old Written byscaissie June 29, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Sexual Assault and Language

I love this movie and thought it would be great for my 7 and 9 year old. Unfortunately, it had been a long time since I'd seen it. There's a scene where Biff is trying to sexually assault Marty's mom. That scene alone is enough to make this movie inappropriate for anyone under 13. There's also a lot more strong language than I'd like.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 5 year old Written byYanipoo June 28, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

I love this film but...

It wasn't really for my son who is five. It was too complicated for him and the swearing was a bit much. But I decided to keep watching it anyway, as he seemed interested, but we had a number conversations about the events. In retrospect I wouldn't have put it on., I want to make a VERY STRONG POINT, that the "unwanted sex" in the synopsis is actually an account of date rape. Biff tries to force himself on Marty's mom outside the dance until his dad rescues her. I saw the movie countless time as a child and teen and I wasn't sophisticated enough to understand, but I think kids today do. Even my 5 year old son asked me what Biff was doing in the car. I told him he wasn't "respecting her wishes, and we don't do that to anyone, especially girls." I strongly recommend parents of tweens and teens to have a conversation about this topic after the film. Biff although is a villain but still cartoonish. And boys do find strong characters attractive despite the over all moral of the story. Thus beloved film is a lot darker than I remember.. So beware.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old June 13, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Boring.

I just didn't get that feel of a good movie.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages