All member reviews for Back to the Future

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

'80s time-travel favorite has laughs, romance, action.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 179 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byAmymom June 22, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Your ratings were misleading. As to sexual content, there were scenes involving a boy looking through binoculars at a girl while she was undressing in her room!, a scene where a boy was about to sexually assault a girl in a car and numerous allusions to sex. This should have rated at least a 3 on your little icons. The violence that was most disturbing involved a boy shoving the girl (hard) who he had attempted to sexually assault. That is not "flirting and kissing". The language was also much worse than your review lead me to believe.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent of a 6 year old Written bykurtray February 4, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

PG-13, definitely

I agree whole-heartedly with other recent reviewers who were caught off-guard by the language, violence and adult themes. This was one of my favorite movies when it was released in the 80's. I was cringing as I watched it with my 6 and 9 year-olds... and my disapproving wife! We had to turn it off.
Parent of a 9 year old Written byHTPaul April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Warning if language is important

Although they don't drop the f-bomb, there is near constant swearing. From the humorous "Damn, where is that boy. Damn! Damn Damn." To several bastards, a car full of "S---" (prior to slaming into a manure truck), you're going to see some serious shit (prior to going 88 miles per hour), to "Not where the hell is it - when the hell is it" to "Do you think I should swear? Yes, damnit, George, swear" Great movie, but I just don't understand how this was rated "Not an issue" under language for eight-year-olds. The reliability of this site is in question.
Parent of a 4, 9, and 12 year old Written byshadowfc January 17, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Parent Guidance DEFINITELY suggested!

Firstly - this movie is a childhood favorite of mine. I thought my kids might enjoy it. WARNING: I do not agree at all with the Common Sense review of this movie. Be wary of movies that came out before the PG-13 rating. This movie definitely would have gotten one due to the language alone. An occasional light swear word I can deal with, but I counted at least half a dozen "S" words, the Lord's name was taken in vain throughout, not to mention the frequent use of "b4st4rd" and "son-of-a-b". I watched with my 12 year old daughter and just cringed because I'd forgotten how loose the language is! Other parental items to note: the main character (who is 17) and his girlfriend plan to sneak away together on a camping trip, which the main character's parents approve of at the end. The main character also swears and drinks. PLEASE do yourself a favor and re-watch this movie before you allow your children to watch. NOT for kids under 13!
Parent of a 7 and 8 year old Written byJazzLad February 20, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Some quantifications

*** Language *** Some reviews mention 'mild swearing' and some mention 'constant swearing' so how does a parent know who is right? Here are some statistics pulled directly from the subtitles: sh** is said 4 times, d*** 16 times, bas**** 5 times (why can the main review type that word but I cannot?), a** 3 times including used once with the word hole, hell is said 8 times, b**** is used 3 times, God is used as an exclamation 12 times including twice followed by the word d***, Jesus is used as an exclamation 9 times including twice followed by Christ. These were just the words it occurred to me to search, this is 58 different instances (not counting compound swears twice) of profanity/taking the Lord's name in vain - even if the latter doesn't bother you (not everyone is Christian), it is still 39 times. In addition to this, other reviews mention numerous examples of name calling (like peckerwood). *** Violence/sexual content *** Sorry to lump these together, but in the case of this movie, there is overlap. Doc is killed/appears to be killed by terrorists with automatic rifles. Marty's dad is a peeping-tom in a tree with binoculars (watching Marty's mother in a state of partial dress). Marty suggests he pretend to date-rape his own mother so that his father can be a hero and rescue her. Biff attempts to rape Marty's mother. None of these were particularly graphic. *** Positive messages *** Marty is a great kid who (generally) tries to do the right thing. *** Final thoughts *** An edited version of this movie could be great for kids and adults alike. In my opinion, the language it is too pervasive even for me to want to watch it with my wife without being edited (at 112 minutes long, it averages something I do not want to hear every 1min 53sec [not including name-calling] - worse than many PG13 and even many R rated movies). If people taking the Lord's name in vain is particularly offensive to you (as it is to many Christians), you will likely be quite offended by the pervasiveness of that in this movie - at 19 times it averages once every 5min 53sec. I also found it interesting that Common Sense Media says the movie has content age-appropriate for 8 year olds, but yet there were 31 usages of words that they do not allow in their reviews. I do not claim this review to be comprehensive, an apologize if I have offended anyone's sensibilities - but please note, the movie is more graphic than this review of it (if the review offends you, do not watch the film!).
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 17 years old Written bykat_marie January 15, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Not for 8 year olds

I love this movie, but 8? Just ... no. This may have a PG rating, but if it had been released today, it would have gotten a PG-13 rating. There are multiple uses of the word s**t, as well as multiple uses of b**ches, ba**ards, d**n, hell and uses of Jesus and Christ as swear words. There is also the fact that Marty's mother falls in love with him, something I'm sure parents don't really want to have to explain, as well as a girl almost getting date raped. Older teens will love it, but don't let an 8 year old watch it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 8 and 10 year old Written byLA mom November 28, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good movie for older kids

We watched this movie with our 8 and 10 year olds because we remembered it as a fun movie. We were shocked by the language - my kids learned lots of new words. It is a great movie that unfortunately has inappropriate language and sexual inuendos (going away with your girlfriend for the weekend and lying to your parents about it?) I should have waited until my kids were a little older to show them this movie.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byCritical-Dad April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Shocked from a family man director like Spielberg

The story is great, the acting is enjoyable -but the foul language and sexual attack scene in the car was difficult to explain to my daughters. This film introduced my kids to the words: sh--, dam, Goddammit, bastard, and son-of-bitch -sorry, but these do not clasify as "mild lauguage" words to me. Have the mute button in hand if you decide to rent it with your kids.
Parent of a 17 year old Written byJayhoff January 28, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Humor for children, content more mature. Funny for adults too.

In this case csm grossly understated the sex (Teenage boy in underware in a girls bedroom, attempted molestation in car, multiple cleavege shots...) Children should be old enough to handle this. It would have been nice to know this before we saw the film.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old November 26, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Definitely okay for kids who understand not to use bad language.

Just a few profane words, like when Marty says, "Let's see if you b******s can go 90,". Really funny movie, great for kids 8 and up.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old October 8, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

amazing movie with one bad thing

yeah the cussing is kinda big and there is just a little bit of violence, but i think that this movie is okay for little kids. the only bad thing is that in one of the final scenes there's a very inappropriate and sexy title on a movie theater billboard but i didnt notice it until like my 5th time watching it.
Kid, 11 years old April 3, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Dumb movie!

Plenty of swearing!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 9 and 11 year old Written byMom and movie lover September 26, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Bad writers use bad language in what could've been a good flick!

It could have been a really good movie -- too much unneeded bad language. Every single swear word there is was used prominently in the movie. What a waste.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old June 3, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

good movie

good movie but a lot of language
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old January 19, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

EPIC!!!

EPIC!!! This is a really good movie. There is strong language like when under his breath Marty says, "oh s**t" when some thing goes wrong and there is also some moderate violence too.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written bytasele July 11, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Language

review totally down played language, what the review clams is "Occasional" I would say is frequent. Very disappointing. I am surprised nothing was mentioned on the movies rating
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byIchabodCrane November 12, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

True classic!

Woah.This movie brings back alot of memories.If you havent seen the Back To The Future triology,I deffinately recommend them.Go and see it! Marty Mcfly and his friend 'Doc', are the time travelling buddies in this triology.You'll love it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 6 and 8 year old Written bydnpseattle August 17, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Pay attention to what's written in the CSM review: language, sex and violence

Just want to highlight a few things from the CSM review above which I glossed over and regret now. Pay attention to: 1) "there's also implied unwanted sex, but nothing serious happens." True, but it is still difficult to explain to an 8 year-old what's happening and why the guy isn't accepting No. Several scenes of this including in the school cafeteria ("You know you want it!" -- want what, dad?), the diner and finally in the car (Is he trying to kiss her? What is he doing to her? Why is she laying down in the car?). The peeping Tom bit was also difficult to explain (What's he doing? Why is that boy looking at that girl with his binoculars?). 2) "Strong language includes a couple memorable uses of "s--t," as well as "b@stards," "d@mn," "a--hole," and a couple of racial slurs (sp00ks)." That should set your alarms off...I didn't pay attention. Additionally, there was good use of "hell," "son of a b1tch" along with frequent uses of "J3sus Chr1st" and "G0ddammit." 3) The scene where Doc is shot by terrorists is pretty intense. There's no blood, but Doc is shot at close range with a machine gun. You see his body being pelted by the bullets and he falls down. Kids don't know that he'll be ok, so it can be very disturbing. Finally, 4) my 8-year old can read pretty well. When Marty returns to 1985 he checks out the signs and billboards around him. The camera shows a XXX adult movie shop advertising something about 'sex orgy' (Dad, what's an or-gee?). All in all, the film made me cringe. Had I watched this with my kids when they're older, I might have had less of an issue with it. In the end, I'm sorry we didn't turn it off and regret letting my kids watch it. Back to the old Disney movies for us!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byMike Amster July 21, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

8 years old......Really?!?!?

8 Years old ?!?!?!?!?! Not even taking the language into account or the graphic murder of Doc, who feels that a central plot theme that involves attempted date rape is appropriate movie for 8 year olds? Parents beware.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byAndrew Haxley February 22, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Cool Movie Especially For Kids And Has Positive Messages Are Family Relationships! But The Violence Is Over The Top There Is A Scene Where Bullies Terrorize And Attack Marty Mcfly And He Screams And Runs From Them And They Run After Him And Then Try To Kill Him Not Bad! And There Is A Scene Where A Man Slaps Another Man In The Face And He Gets Hurt And A Man Bullies Another Man For Money And He Does Not Give Him Any! And Some Langauge Is Heard Including D--- And Son Of A B--- And Other Words! Some Stuff In This Movie Would Be Scary And Not Good For Young Kids to see Don't See This Unless You Can't Handle It!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models

Pages