All member reviews for Back to the Future

Common Sense Media says

'80s time-travel favorite has laughs, romance, action.
 

Users say

(out of 191 reviews)
age 9+
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byAmymom June 22, 2009
 
Your ratings were misleading. As to sexual content, there were scenes involving a boy looking through binoculars at a girl while she was undressing in her room!, a scene where a boy was about to sexually assault a girl in a car and numerous allusions to sex. This should have rated at least a 3 on your little icons. The violence that was most disturbing involved a boy shoving the girl (hard) who he had attempted to sexually assault. That is not "flirting and kissing". The language was also much worse than your review lead me to believe.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent of a 6 year old Written bykurtray February 4, 2009
 

PG-13, definitely

I agree whole-heartedly with other recent reviewers who were caught off-guard by the language, violence and adult themes. This was one of my favorite movies when it was released in the 80's. I was cringing as I watched it with my 6 and 9 year-olds... and my disapproving wife! We had to turn it off.
Parent of a 9 year old Written byHTPaul April 9, 2008
 

Warning if language is important

Although they don't drop the f-bomb, there is near constant swearing. From the humorous "Damn, where is that boy. Damn! Damn Damn." To several bastards, a car full of "S---" (prior to slaming into a manure truck), you're going to see some serious shit (prior to going 88 miles per hour), to "Not where the hell is it - when the hell is it" to "Do you think I should swear? Yes, damnit, George, swear" Great movie, but I just don't understand how this was rated "Not an issue" under language for eight-year-olds. The reliability of this site is in question.
Parent of a 4, 9, and 12 year old Written byshadowfc January 17, 2009
 

Parent Guidance DEFINITELY suggested!

Firstly - this movie is a childhood favorite of mine. I thought my kids might enjoy it. WARNING: I do not agree at all with the Common Sense review of this movie. Be wary of movies that came out before the PG-13 rating. This movie definitely would have gotten one due to the language alone. An occasional light swear word I can deal with, but I counted at least half a dozen "S" words, the Lord's name was taken in vain throughout, not to mention the frequent use of "b4st4rd" and "son-of-a-b". I watched with my 12 year old daughter and just cringed because I'd forgotten how loose the language is! Other parental items to note: the main character (who is 17) and his girlfriend plan to sneak away together on a camping trip, which the main character's parents approve of at the end. The main character also swears and drinks. PLEASE do yourself a favor and re-watch this movie before you allow your children to watch. NOT for kids under 13!
Parent of a 7 and 8 year old Written byJazzLad February 20, 2013
 

Some quantifications

*** Language *** Some reviews mention 'mild swearing' and some mention 'constant swearing' so how does a parent know who is right? Here are some statistics pulled directly from the subtitles: sh** is said 4 times, d*** 16 times, bas**** 5 times (why can the main review type that word but I cannot?), a** 3 times including used once with the word hole, hell is said 8 times, b**** is used 3 times, God is used as an exclamation 12 times including twice followed by the word d***, Jesus is used as an exclamation 9 times including twice followed by Christ. These were just the words it occurred to me to search, this is 58 different instances (not counting compound swears twice) of profanity/taking the Lord's name in vain - even if the latter doesn't bother you (not everyone is Christian), it is still 39 times. In addition to this, other reviews mention numerous examples of name calling (like peckerwood). *** Violence/sexual content *** Sorry to lump these together, but in the case of this movie, there is overlap. Doc is killed/appears to be killed by terrorists with automatic rifles. Marty's dad is a peeping-tom in a tree with binoculars (watching Marty's mother in a state of partial dress). Marty suggests he pretend to date-rape his own mother so that his father can be a hero and rescue her. Biff attempts to rape Marty's mother. None of these were particularly graphic. *** Positive messages *** Marty is a great kid who (generally) tries to do the right thing. *** Final thoughts *** An edited version of this movie could be great for kids and adults alike. In my opinion, the language it is too pervasive even for me to want to watch it with my wife without being edited (at 112 minutes long, it averages something I do not want to hear every 1min 53sec [not including name-calling] - worse than many PG13 and even many R rated movies). If people taking the Lord's name in vain is particularly offensive to you (as it is to many Christians), you will likely be quite offended by the pervasiveness of that in this movie - at 19 times it averages once every 5min 53sec. I also found it interesting that Common Sense Media says the movie has content age-appropriate for 8 year olds, but yet there were 31 usages of words that they do not allow in their reviews. I do not claim this review to be comprehensive, an apologize if I have offended anyone's sensibilities - but please note, the movie is more graphic than this review of it (if the review offends you, do not watch the film!).
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 17 years old Written bykat_marie January 15, 2011
 

Not for 8 year olds

I love this movie, but 8? Just ... no. This may have a PG rating, but if it had been released today, it would have gotten a PG-13 rating. There are multiple uses of the word s**t, as well as multiple uses of b**ches, ba**ards, d**n, hell and uses of Jesus and Christ as swear words. There is also the fact that Marty's mother falls in love with him, something I'm sure parents don't really want to have to explain, as well as a girl almost getting date raped. Older teens will love it, but don't let an 8 year old watch it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 6 and 8 year old Written bydnpseattle August 17, 2013
 

Pay attention to what's written in the CSM review: language, sex and violence

Just want to highlight a few things from the CSM review above which I glossed over and regret now. Pay attention to: 1) "there's also implied unwanted sex, but nothing serious happens." True, but it is still difficult to explain to an 8 year-old what's happening and why the guy isn't accepting No. Several scenes of this including in the school cafeteria ("You know you want it!" -- want what, dad?), the diner and finally in the car (Is he trying to kiss her? What is he doing to her? Why is she laying down in the car?). The peeping Tom bit was also difficult to explain (What's he doing? Why is that boy looking at that girl with his binoculars?). 2) "Strong language includes a couple memorable uses of "s--t," as well as "b@stards," "d@mn," "a--hole," and a couple of racial slurs (sp00ks)." That should set your alarms off...I didn't pay attention. Additionally, there was good use of "hell," "son of a b1tch" along with frequent uses of "J3sus Chr1st" and "G0ddammit." 3) The scene where Doc is shot by terrorists is pretty intense. There's no blood, but Doc is shot at close range with a machine gun. You see his body being pelted by the bullets and he falls down. Kids don't know that he'll be ok, so it can be very disturbing. Finally, 4) my 8-year old can read pretty well. When Marty returns to 1985 he checks out the signs and billboards around him. The camera shows a XXX adult movie shop advertising something about 'sex orgy' (Dad, what's an or-gee?). All in all, the film made me cringe. Had I watched this with my kids when they're older, I might have had less of an issue with it. In the end, I'm sorry we didn't turn it off and regret letting my kids watch it. Back to the old Disney movies for us!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 17 year old Written byJayhoff January 28, 2010
 

Humor for children, content more mature. Funny for adults too.

In this case csm grossly understated the sex (Teenage boy in underware in a girls bedroom, attempted molestation in car, multiple cleavege shots...) Children should be old enough to handle this. It would have been nice to know this before we saw the film.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 8 and 10 year old Written byLA mom November 28, 2009
 

Good movie for older kids

We watched this movie with our 8 and 10 year olds because we remembered it as a fun movie. We were shocked by the language - my kids learned lots of new words. It is a great movie that unfortunately has inappropriate language and sexual inuendos (going away with your girlfriend for the weekend and lying to your parents about it?) I should have waited until my kids were a little older to show them this movie.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byCritical-Dad April 9, 2008
 

Shocked from a family man director like Spielberg

The story is great, the acting is enjoyable -but the foul language and sexual attack scene in the car was difficult to explain to my daughters. This film introduced my kids to the words: sh--, dam, Goddammit, bastard, and son-of-bitch -sorry, but these do not clasify as "mild lauguage" words to me. Have the mute button in hand if you decide to rent it with your kids.
Written byAnonymous September 23, 2014
 

Back to the Future review

========================================================= Sex/Nudity: Marty's girlfriend, Jennifer, asks him if his mom knows about them going to the lake together (implying that there might be some fooling around between them). A movie marquee shows the title "Orgy American Style," and is seen in the background of a shot, though it is blurred and hard to notice. An XXX cinema is seen briefly. Marty finds George (as a teen) high in a tree spying with binoculars watching Lorraine undress (she's seen in her bra and slip). Lorraine has "the hots" for Marty (in a 1950's way) and tells him that she's never seen underwear like he's wearing. Biff sits behind Lorraine in the cafeteria and paws at her saying, "You know you want it. You know you want me to give it to you." She then smacks him and says, "I'm not that kind of girl." He replies, "Maybe you are and you don't know it yet." She then slaps him. Marty tells George about his plan to get him to rescue Lorraine from Marty's staged advances. After he tells George that nice girls get upset when guys try to take advantage of them, George asks, "You mean you're going to touch her on her..." but he doesn't finish the question. Later in a parked car with Marty, Lorraine tells him that she likes to park and that it's not her first time. Biff tries to sexually assault Lorraine, but is stopped by George. Lorraine shows some cleavage in her low-cut dance dress. 2/10. ========================================================= Violence: Marty is blown across the room by the output of a large speaker. Several terrorists show up and shoot Doc Brown with a machine gun and then chase Marty and shoot at him as well and crash their van into a small building. Marty crashes the Delorean into a barn and then runs over a tree as he flees from a farmer who fires a shotgun at him (thinking he's a space alien). Marty is hit by a car and knocked unconscious. Lorraine smacks Biff for pawing at her. Biff and Marty push each other in the cafeteria and get ready to punch one another, but they're stopped. Marty trips Biff, slugs him, and then knocks down his cohorts and races outside. He accidentally knocks over several people as Biff and the others chase him. They drive through some park hedges and throw bottles and cans at him. They then try to ram him (on his skateboard) into a truck but end up crashing into it themselves. Biff pulls Marty from a parked car and then starts to paw Lorraine while the other guys punch Marty in the gut and take him away. George tries to throw a punch at Biff who deflects it and bends George's arm behind him. Lorraine tries to help, but Biff pushes her to the ground by her face. George then gets mad, winds up a punch, and knocks Biff out. George pushes another student to the dance floor after he rudely cuts in on a dance with Lorraine. 5/10. ========================================================= Blood/Gore: A musician has a slightly bloody bandage on his hand. Doc has a bandage on his head and for a brief moment you can see some blood. A car crashes into a truck of manure and one character spits a bit of manure out. 3/10. ========================================================= Profanity: At least 5 "s" words (1 of which is 4 said at the same time), 12 damns, 8 hells, 3 asses (1 used with "hole"), 3 S.O.B.'s, and 6 uses each of "Oh my God," and "Jesus," 4 uses of "G-damn," 2 uses each of "Jesus Christ" and "My God," and 1 use each of "God" and "Oh God" as exclamations. 5/10. ========================================================= Alcohol/Drugs: As an adult, Biff grabs a beer out of the fridge. As an adult, Lorraine pours vodka into whatever she's drinking. Lorraine's father has a beer on the table at dinner. Lorraine takes a swig of alcohol from a flask and tells Marty that "Everybody's who anybody drinks." Marty takes it from her (commenting on how it might lead to future drinking problems) and then absentmindedly takes a swig himself. Biff's gang drink beer. One of Biff's cohorts tells some musicians that they "don't want to mess with no reefer addicts," and, although smoke comes from their car, there's no indication that it's marijuana. A drunk man on a park bench holds a bottle of liquor. Doc grabs a beer can from the trash and pours the remaining liquid into his time machine for fuel. 3/10. ========================================================= Smoking: Lorraine briefly lights up a cigarette in a car. Some musicians get out of a smokey car. Some students smoke outside a dance. 2/10. ========================================================= Back to the Future is one of the best films ever made, and probably the best time-travel movie ever made. I definitely recommend you watch it. I give it 9/10. =========================================================
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old February 20, 2014
 

This family movie deserves 4/5 stars. It's a true classic.

One of Spielberg's best movies is here with comedy, drama, and action. The language is a bit much for 7-year-olds with a few uses of "s--t" "son of a bitch" "bastard" "hell" and "ass". The violence is mild with punches and fights, no lethal combat other than when a man is shot by terrorists (no blood or gore). The sexual content is not too bad, there is kissing and a seen of someone looking in a girls window while she is getting undressed, no nudity is shown. A teen forces a girl to kiss him and hump him in a car. There is some drinking and smoking.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old November 26, 2011
 

Definitely okay for kids who understand not to use bad language.

Just a few profane words, like when Marty says, "Let's see if you b******s can go 90,". Really funny movie, great for kids 8 and up.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old October 8, 2011
 

amazing movie with one bad thing

yeah the cussing is kinda big and there is just a little bit of violence, but i think that this movie is okay for little kids. the only bad thing is that in one of the final scenes there's a very inappropriate and sexy title on a movie theater billboard but i didnt notice it until like my 5th time watching it.
Kid, 11 years old April 3, 2011
 

Dumb movie!

Plenty of swearing!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 10 and 15 year old Written byvolvomom November 13, 2010
 
I remember watching this movie multiple times as a teenager and loving it, however it was only after watching it with my girls that I was surprised by all the bad language. While I know those words are out there, we don't allow them in our home. I read the reviews and thought there would be two or three, but instead found them sprinkled throughout the film. It's a great movie with a fun plot and some funny scenes, but beware of the car scene where Biff makes unwanted advances toward Lorraine in the car. We did fast-forward through that part based on other reviews. If your kids are a little older, this might be okay, but if your kids are young you may want to wait with this one.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old January 19, 2014
 

EPIC!!!

EPIC!!! This is a really good movie. There is strong language like when under his breath Marty says, "oh s**t" when some thing goes wrong and there is also some moderate violence too.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byIchabodCrane November 12, 2010
 

True classic!

Woah.This movie brings back alot of memories.If you havent seen the Back To The Future triology,I deffinately recommend them.Go and see it! Marty Mcfly and his friend 'Doc', are the time travelling buddies in this triology.You'll love it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 27, 2010
 

Perfect movie...except for the language

This is a great, fun, movie, and besides a brief shooting at the start, the violence is fine, the inappropriate content is mostly okay except for a brief scene at the end, but the main problem is the language: there's a LOT of it. Otherwise, it's a great movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Parent of a 9 and 11 year old Written byMom and movie lover September 26, 2009
 

Bad writers use bad language in what could've been a good flick!

It could have been a really good movie -- too much unneeded bad language. Every single swear word there is was used prominently in the movie. What a waste.
What other families should know
Too much swearing

Pages