All member reviews for Balto

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Brave dog saves kids in funny, fact-based film.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 18 reviews)
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bydpsg January 9, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
It's a feel good movie in the end. I got it based on the write-up here that did not mention how much tension there is. There are some scary parts (for even my sensitive 6 year old boy)...some frightening scenes with a mean bully antagonist dog (Steele), a very scary grizzly bear encounter and the general sad and suspenseful theme that the children are about to die if the dogs don't bring back the needed anti-toxin. It was a happy, feel good ending and a sweet story - obviously embellished from reality to make it into an exciting kid movie...but could spark an interest in learning more about the real Balto and the Iditarod. I felt that there was a fair amount of focus on romance and the girl dogs trying to win Steele's attention and Steele and Balto kind of vying for another dog's love...but it wasn't a huge deal. Only mildly stereotypical at times. I just don't see the need for it personally. My 3 year old who is sensitive and hasn't seen many movies loved it in the end and just covered her eyes a few times so I think it's fine for 3 and up but probably best for 4 or 5 and up if your kids are really sensitive to scary stuff.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Parent of a 6 and 6 year old Written byjagness April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

More to life than ABC's

Lots of "edutainment" videos teach letters, numbers, colors, etc.; but for complex social issues there are not many sources. If you want your children to grasp honor, duty, self-sacrifice, humility, dedication (I could go on. . .) Balto is one of the best sources out there. Balto is based on a true story, so the example he sets is tangible and teachable. I plan to take my soon-to-be 5 year old twin boys to the Cleveland Museum where Balto's history is kept alive. Hopefully this will spark an early interest in doing "research"! Best of all, adults can watch Balto without being bored so it truly is a family film.
Adult Written byRed_Wolf April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Balto - Turely a magical film!

Based on a true American legend, the story takes place in 1925 in a small, snow-covered town of Nome, Alaska. There lives an animal by the name of Balto. He is part wolf, part dog. He lives as a tramp and a loner. One day, the community started to break out with a certain sickness. Quick action had be taken now in order to obtain the special medicine needed to cure it - but the nearest provider was over 650 miles away. The only way to retrieve the medicine across the frozen, harsh terrain was to set out on a dog-sled team. This would be no easy task. They need to find the best dogs for the mission. Even if they do, they have to face the most severe threats of the Alaskan plains. Time is of esence. Determinded to get the medication, Balto, along with is friends, set out on a dangerous adventure that would be mean the difference between life or death. Moral content: The story comes together as one big quest, won over with courage, perseverance, and love. I believe the main character, Balto, is an ideal figure on how a hero should be. He is humble in his ways and strives to do what is good, dispite his downcast (and somewhat hated) reputation by the town. His friends, though few, are loyal to him and stay by his side. Violence: Very brief; Balto is grabbed and thrown at a jagged wall of rocks, which leaves him passed out momentarily. Steel falls off a steep cliff and is banged along rocks and debris on his way down. Sexaul content: None. Though, it's a little intimate when Jenna lays herself over Balto to warm him up.Language: Mild threats; Steel tells Balto that he'll turn him into a "cat toy" and that he'll "tear him apart". Summary: This has to be one of the best animated films I've ever seen. Unforgetable characters, lessons of bravery, humility, and endurance, a beautiful musical soundtrack, and the quest to save others. It didn't score high at the box office, but it has scored high with many Christian and morally oriented families, and it will continue live and pass down as a beloved, classic Universal Studios films. Balto gets my two paws... eh, two thumbs up!
Parent of a 5 and 9 year old Written bykaloren June 12, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great family adventure

This is a great movie about helping others and courage. Yet, it can get really scary with dogs figting and coffins that are kid sized. Be sure your kids are ready for the intenses scenes first.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byHenva November 15, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

A feel Good movie!

This movie is inspiring and gets you to the edge of your seat in some scenes with balto on his journey. The film got a little depressing as moments, especially when the town is under siege of diphtheria, and coffins are being made for small children and the hospital is full of infected children. The only mature themes is when the antagonist of the film tries to force himself over the female dog jenna, not really inappropriate but might make some parents cringe for their children's sake. The film is an amazing story and Balto the main character is a great hero and a great role model.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written bymilsteeniii July 17, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

balto

I don't know why people keep saying this movie is inappropriate for some kids this is an amazing movie I mean come on jenna was just warming up balto because hello he just came out of the ice and is now freezing it wasn't like they were doing anything inappropriate I mean come on now scary movie is inappropriate for kids but this movie
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byWebkinzEvelyn January 2, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Amazing movie!

Great movie! It teaches kids about Balto! It's an awesome movie perfect for kids and adults! It can get sad in some moments. But all and all it's a perfect movie for the whole family to enjoy! I love it! Perfect video for animashes on youtube! :)
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byBreanna121 June 16, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Balto the great

This movie is amazing, it teaches the morals of accepting yourself for who you are, and to never forget or be discouraged by your heritage. This movie was one of my favorites from when i was a kid and it still is to this day, watch this movie with the family its truly inspiring. xxx
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byjameko kemp May 6, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

the amazing dog balto

the theme i would chose will be proving a point the reason why i chose that theme he had done all of that what people said he couldn'd of done it an he prove a point by suceding
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old October 22, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Awesome

Best Mix film Ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byBugie78 July 30, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Balto, a true hero

I love this movie. It is based on a real dog. And a real hero, Balto. I love his mate, Jenna too. She also has the same name as me but I only have one N. :p. It is a really touching movie. I love how Rosie survives at the end, and he become a hero. Great movie <3
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bybalto the hero July 24, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

good for ages 8 and up

the best movie in the world!!! well that is my opinion.there was one character that scared me the most, was steel. he was so mean to Balto, i don't want to ex-plane it makes me mad......I know Kaltag always hits Star but it makes me laugh. there is so many characters i like in this movie. But the best part is it all ends happy and know one gets killed, unlike the lion king. it's one of the best family films I've ever seen. better than the lion king.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byBelkaStarDog May 26, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

OK movie

not the best........but not the worst,i kinda recommend it :/.....
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 12 year old Written bystaton casinos February 26, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

rebekahs review

i love it so
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byarthur16morgana January 14, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

BEST MOVIE EVER!!

all time fave movie!! i love balto. i want to go see the statue. balto's the best!!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 7, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

for all ages

AW i thought this movie was pretty cute and balto is a good (dog) role model
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bymkalv February 1, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Good Dog!

Not only is this an exciting film for dog lovers, but it is a true story, therefore making it educational. However, this film is a little tense for a G-rated film.
Adult Written byAshnak April 9, 2008
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Great Hero Movie

A movie for the whole family.