All member reviews for Barbie as The Island Princess

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Adult Written bylittlemuddyboots April 20, 2009
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Good movie for little girls!!

It's a good one, my girls loved it, especially with all the talking animals!! Very cute movie!!
Teen, 15 years old Written byNectaria December 3, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byshrinemiko7 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Cute kids flick

I was so happy when Mattel decided to write another Barbie musical! Family loyalty is a big theme in this movie...it was nice to see no inner-family rivalry as in past Barbie movies. I was also glad that this movie had another strong female character besides Barbie. Luciana's loving attitude provides a great environment for friends who watch the movie together. I was, however, shocked that there is a mild suggestion of sexual intercouse outside of marriage (Arianna claims to have been married to her husband for only 3 days...she had Luciana sometime after). However, if you overlook that, it's a great family movie!
Teen, 13 years old Written byKelandryOfTortall April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

*dies*

ugh. had to watch this w/ my little cuz. ew. never ever again.... pink fluff. ew again.
Kid, 8 years old June 22, 2009
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Awsome AGe

i think this movie was awesome! It might not be good for 2 year olds but its really good! EVen for 8 year olds!
Adult Written byBeckstar October 31, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

lovely film

Beautiful ending and a nice film. The singing I found very ANNOYING though. It was very touching
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old April 6, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

good movie

i love it it is of the huck
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byjessicamussio July 6, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Cute movie!!!!!!! :)

I love this movie!!!! I watch it everyday and I am not afraid to say that I am 14! The songs are wonderful with sweet messages!!!! It is also funny Me and my sisters (12 and 6) we recreate the scene with Arianna and Luciana sing all the time, anywhere!!!!!! Great movie for anyone, and the people saying this is a bad movie are crazy dont listen to them.... they are stupid. :P Love this movie!!!!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bya_nharry1234 March 27, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Kid, 10 years old October 6, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

good

Average rating based on 9 kid and teen reviews: 44% say there are positive role models 44% say there are positive messages i think this movie was awesome! It might not be good for 2 year olds but its really good! EVen for 8 year olds!
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

YUCK!!!!

Oh PLEASE. Another Barbie movie? Come ON! Barbie is such a franchise, and this movie is just to make more money off of stupid Barbie. What is she doing on an Island anyway? Being an animal-freak, I'm absolutely appaled that there is an Elephant on the island...ELEPHANTS DON'T LIVE ON UNCHARTED ISLANDS, THEY LIVE IN THE SAVANNAH!! This is teaching kids the wrong stuff(like that elephants live on islands, and it's okay to buy Barbie merchandise), so please don't buy it, it's junk.
Parent Written byLikaLaruku September 17, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Possibly the worst Barbie movie ever.

This is essentially a rip-off of Disney's Little Mermaid, only replace the braindead mermaid with a vapid Mary Sue who talks to animals. The most interesting character in the movie is the villainess, if that tells you anything. Also, if you have really little kids, that talking elephant is pretty creepy.
Kid, 1 years old January 7, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Review Barbie as The Island Princess

yes
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 August 13, 2012
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

barbie island princess

it. Families can talk about how Ro might have learned to talk to the animals. Do you and your pets have any special ways to communicate? Do you think you would prefer to live on Ro's island or in Prince Antonio's castle, and why?
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Kid, 9 years old May 8, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

so elegant

when i see this movie i feel like a princess
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old February 21, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

hi

Barbie wears a strapless dress!!!!!!!!! Naked animals all around!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Cover your childs eyes? Of course!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old February 27, 2015
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Great Barbie movie

The island princess has many to it that makes it special positive messages about kindness to especially to animals are all here in this movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much consumerism