All member reviews for Batman Begins

Common Sense Media says

Smart and entertaining, but also very violent.

Users say

(out of 187 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old January 27, 2016

Cool but violent

Best batman movie yet really good I liked it it is pretty violent but it is not very violent like common sense media says. Kids you can watch this when your like ten or eleven thirteen is to high but there is no surprise there because common sense overreacts on almost every single movie. My dad says I am not ready for the dark knight darn. But at least they got the violence rating right that was good. It gets a lot more violent towards the second half of the movie this was just a little more violent and better than the one in 1989. Overall sex and nudity 1/10 a few passionate kisses towards the end. Violence and gore 6/10 for explosions and for some brawls here and there. Profanity 3/10 for occasional uses of damn bitch alcohol/drugs/smoking 3/10 Batman drinks champagne and gets drunk but not very drunk overall good movie My rating PG-13.
Teen, 13 years old Written byTARDIS Tourist December 28, 2015

I'M BATMAN. No, not really, but it sounds cool.

After the eye-sour "Batman and Robin," this refreshed it out of its "bat" movie phase. The pun! This tackles Bruce Wayne's tragic childhood and the genesis of BATMAN. This movie is very violent but doesn't have much sex. There is a "fear drug" used by the Scarecrow on Gotham.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bysnoge November 8, 2015

Fantastic, with some horror and violence

This an exceptional film from an exceptional trilogy. Christopher Nolan, Gary Oldman, Liam Neeson and Michael Caine are all excellent and the film is directed superbly by Christopher Nolan. What parents can think about is that there's quite a lot of violence/murder, and there are some quite scary scenes where people are under the influence of drugs and have horrific hallucinations. The age rating is an estimate. I watched it aged 7 and was completely fine, without really understanding it, but it's completely dependant on your child's tolerance of violence/horror.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bySpider-Man 2099 October 20, 2015

SUPPPPPER AWESOME

AMAZING BUT COULD HAVE MADE SCARECROW BETTER
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byTV man 13245768 October 18, 2015

A FIFTH MOVIE TO THE SUPERHERO SEQUEL

This movie is newer so it is a lot more inappropriate for children. The deaths are very gruesome. There is shooting and they show disturbing images. The monster who tries to kill Batman looks a bit hideous and disgusting. There is martial arts fighting and explosions. There is some sex in this movie. The kisses are very intense and there is someone swimming-in-a-hotel-fountain which is very bizarre. You also see someone who has a playboy magazine and you see girls in a pool. The language is not that strong. People say damn crap hell ass asshole etc. In this movie there is a lot of drinking. Someone makes a speech drunk and someone drives drunk and smashed into the Bat mobile and dies. You also see photos of drugs. There is one scene where people are smoking. I would let teens and older watch this movie because it is a lot worse than the other ones. Way more action, drugs, smoking, killing etc.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old August 14, 2015

Best Batman film in the Series

I know a lot of people will disagree with me, but I think this is better than the Dark Knight. It's really not as dark as a lot of people say. Great for 11 and up. Ok for 10 year olds who can handle jump scares.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy Brew July 24, 2015
Teen, 14 years old Written byParkerSmykle July 5, 2015

a great batman flick :)

a truly great batman flick 5/5 stars
Kid, 11 years old June 30, 2015

A great dark action packed movie

Batman Begins is a great movie revealing Batman's origins Christopher Nolan style. Very dark and it is pretty violent. May have some scary scenes with the scarecrow. I recommend for teens and up watching this movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byeazy__breezy June 30, 2015

Dark Batman movie is really good, but not for young kids

To begin, you should know that just because a movie looks okay for kids because its a household name (transformers anyone), doesn't mean it is. This movie is quite violent and dark and shouldn't be watched by anyone younger than 12 or 11 trust me, its not appropriate for pre-tweens and little kids. If you are stupid enough to show this to a kid who is younger than 10, have fun dealing with them not being able to sleep because they are afraid of The Scarecrow.
Adult Written byAwesomeness142 May 25, 2015
Violent movie. The worst scene is batmans parents got shot. Too mature for Tweens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bydeath11skull May 21, 2015

Great movie!

This is a great movie but the intense violence and scariness may be too much for 12 and under. Know your child! The language isn't as bad as you would think and kissy stuff problem.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byTiger13 May 21, 2015

Batman begins

It was a pretty good movie. There was a lot of good action and the scarecrows mask was pretty good. But I wouldn't recommend it for younger ages. Some content is a little too much for younger kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bypicardisbetter May 20, 2015

Thank you Nolan you have saved Batman from falling into abscurity

Seeing as this is the first feature length film to be released in theaters since Batman & Robin, it needed to do a lot to make fans like Batman again. Um success much?
Teen, 14 years old Written byProjektor May 14, 2015

Worst in series, but this is still very very good film. This tells how batman became batman.

This movie have lots of violence, but it is not graphic. This movie is very dark and mildly scary.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byIrdray2019 April 25, 2015

NOT for kids. MATURE 11 yr olds at the YOUNGEST.

This movie is enjoyable but very dark and violent. Bruce Wayne goes through brutal training in the beginning, is set on fire, and beats up thugs throughout the movie. The movie even starts with fighting. Later on in the movie a poisonous gas is released into the air, causing fears to become reality. This may be disturbing for young viewers.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written byartist April 18, 2015

Better than The Dark Knight. Violent and Dark.

Parent of a 12 year old Written byedklat April 16, 2015
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old February 18, 2015

very good movie

I really liked this movie. I've only seen it once, but i remember it was very long. It was pretty scary and violent, though from what i hear the dark knight was even more violent. There's hardly any languge or sex, but there is some drinking references. For example, one scene has Bruce Wayne and two women at a hotel, and the women go into a pool even though it's only for decoration, so their obviously drunk. I really liked this movie, and i recommend it for anybody who likes a nice and dark batman story.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byBreakingBeauty4 February 16, 2015

Nolan Begins

Nolan's new take on Batman is very intriguing and fun to watch.
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages