All member reviews for Batman Begins

Common Sense Media says

Smart and entertaining, but also very violent.
 

Users say

(out of 180 reviews)
age 11+
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byAwesomeness142 May 25, 2015
 
Violent movie. The worst scene is batmans parents got shot. Too mature for Tweens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bydeath11skull May 21, 2015
 

Great movie!

This is a great movie but the intense violence and scariness may be too much for 12 and under. Know your child! The language isn't as bad as you would think and kissy stuff problem.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byTiger13 May 21, 2015
 

Batman begins

It was a pretty good movie. There was a lot of good action and the scarecrows mask was pretty good. But I wouldn't recommend it for younger ages. Some content is a little too much for younger kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bypicardisbetter May 20, 2015
 

Thank you Nolan you have saved Batman from falling into abscurity

Seeing as this is the first feature length film to be released in theaters since Batman & Robin, it needed to do a lot to make fans like Batman again. Um success much?
Teen, 14 years old Written byProjektor May 14, 2015
 

Worst in series, but this is still very very good film. This tells how batman became batman.

This movie have lots of violence, but it is not graphic. This movie is very dark and mildly scary.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byIrdray2019 April 25, 2015
 

NOT for kids. MATURE 11 yr olds at the YOUNGEST.

This movie is enjoyable but very dark and violent. Bruce Wayne goes through brutal training in the beginning, is set on fire, and beats up thugs throughout the movie. The movie even starts with fighting. Later on in the movie a poisonous gas is released into the air, causing fears to become reality. This may be disturbing for young viewers.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written byartist April 18, 2015
 

Better than The Dark Knight. Violent and Dark.

Parent of a 12 year old Written byedklat April 16, 2015
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old February 18, 2015
 

very good movie

I really liked this movie. I've only seen it once, but i remember it was very long. It was pretty scary and violent, though from what i hear the dark knight was even more violent. There's hardly any languge or sex, but there is some drinking references. For example, one scene has Bruce Wayne and two women at a hotel, and the women go into a pool even though it's only for decoration, so their obviously drunk. I really liked this movie, and i recommend it for anybody who likes a nice and dark batman story.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byBreakingBeauty4 February 16, 2015
 

Nolan Begins

Nolan's new take on Batman is very intriguing and fun to watch.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byOneVeryLongUsername January 30, 2015
 

"Batman Begins" - Parental and Artistic Review.

Sexual Content: Going out of his way to act like a wealthy playboy, Bruce visits a restaurant with two women on his arm who wind up frolicking in a nearby pool (bare shoulders shown). Sweethearts share a tender kiss. 2.9 out of 10. Violent Content: Arsonists begin to burn down an inhabited apartment building, and later Wayne Manor. Other specific instances of violence include the shooting of Bruce’s parents, the Jack Ruby-style assassination of an ex-con, and a public official being bludgeoned and shot in the back. A traumatic fall leaves a boy with a broken arm. Thugs beat up Bruce and dump him in an alley. Threats at gun- and knife-point are common, as are flurries of gunfire. A building gets blown to smithereens with assassins still inside. The destruction of property—including numerous police cars—occurs during a reckless, high-speed chase. Bad guys get head-butted, knocked cold (once by Alfred brandishing a nine-iron), sail out of windows, succumb to a taser and are trapped inside a fiery train wreck. 6.6 out of 10. Profanity: At least 1 "s" word and roughly 8 "hells," 5 "damns," 1 "ass" (used "hole") and 1 "crap." Religious exclamations and profanities include at least 1 use each of "Goddamn," "Jesus" and "Swear to God." 4 out of 10. Substance Use: Police make a drug bust. Central to the plot is a scheme to unleash a lethal airborne hallucinogen on Gotham City. A villain uses smaller amounts of this panic-inducing toxin to temporarily cripple foes, causing people to have blurred vision and trippy, sometimes grotesque hallucinations. (He eventually gets a taste of his own medicine.) A man attempts to kill a girl by administering a concentrated dose. Exposure demands that some victims be injected with an antidote. Men drink liquor. Alcohol is served at Bruce’s posh birthday party. 5.2 out of 10. Conclusion: "Batman Begins" is the brilliant first chapter to Christopher Nolan's Batman trilogy. It has an amazing story, great performances, a good script and amazing visual effects. I give this film 7.9 out of 10.
Teen, 13 years old Written byTom Cruise Fan October 14, 2014
 

Batman Begins movie review

"Batman and Robin" practically killed the "Batman" franchise. Christopher Nolan did CPR to the universe of Batman. "Batman Begins" is the best superhero origin story I have ever seen in my life. The movie itself is very smart and so entertaining. Christopher Nolan understands the character of Batman/Bruce Wayne. He sees that there are two sides to the man. This is shown very well by Christian Bale's performance. Many people say that Bale's Batman voice is ridiculous. I actually really like it. The voice is the thing that separates Batman from Bruce Wayne. Katie Holmes plays his love interest and she is not that bad. One thing "Batman Begins" does so well is the tone of seriousness. The 1989 version of" Batman" didn't go too dark. The villain was a little too campy in Michael Keaton's version. In this reboot, everything is so serious. Also, that movie didn't go in depth about the character of Bruce Wayne. This one did. It shows he struggles from his past. It shows him wanting to do the right thing. The movie is very interesting despite the fact that it is a simpler plot (this does not take away from my overall feeling of the film). Christopher Nolan handled the plot very carefully and executed it perfectly. "Batman Begins" also has incredible action. The sword-fights, the chase scenes, and the martial arts sequences are all filmed very well. The action felt real. Hans Zimmer's score is so dark and suspenseful. The music makes the movie better and it fits the movie's tone perfectly. The screenplay for the movie is amazing. The dialogue and the movement is just perfect. There are many themes in "Batman Begins" that are worth mentioning. For example, the idea of picking ourselves up when we fall is consistently shown. Also, the movie shows that our actions are who define us as a person. I love "Batman Begins". It is for sure one of my favorite movies of all time. Whenever a reboot is successful, I say that it is the "Batman Begins" of the franchise. The outstanding performance of Christian Bale, the fast-paced plot, and the action make Batman Begins one of the best comic book movies ever made. In my opinion, the trilogy gets better with "The Dark Knight". The entire trilogy is worth checking out.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old October 14, 2014
 

Great origin story

A lot of fistfights, shootings and scarecrow has a very creepy mask.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Written byAnonymous October 12, 2014
 

So-so batman movie has violence,scary images and language

My rating: PG-13 for intense action violence,language,scary images,suggestive material and a drug refrence
Kid, 11 years old September 12, 2014
 

deep movie.

Very unique movie. I have never seen a movie like this before. Great movie for mature pre-teens. And if thought about for a while after the movie, some very important lessons can be learned. Not recommended for children under 10 years old. The villains can be very scary for some kids.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bygranth June 30, 2014
 

the beginning of a legend

batman begins is the first chapter of a great trilogy. It involves batman's origin. This movie includes some disturibing images, some fistfights and a boy witnessing his parents murder.
Teen, 14 years old Written byc@l June 2, 2014
 

Great movie

the movie is great it has a good vilian and great action but can be scary at times good for older tweens
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byChasers14 May 28, 2014
 

Not for children

This movie was pritty good. The beginning was great and the story was great. But one thing was that there is a lot I violence and the villain, scarecrow, could be very frightning to children. Over all it was a great movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent of a 1, 2, 4, 6, and 14 year old Written bySuperherofan May 25, 2014
 
Teen, 17 years old Written byBunnyNostrils April 7, 2014
 

Good Movie

Violence: 5/10 Language: 2/10 Sex: 0/10 Disturbing: 2/10 Violence throughout but not graphic
What other families should know
Great role models

Pages