All member reviews for Batman: The Dark Knight Returns, Part 1

Common Sense Media says

Extremely violent animated addition to the Batman story.
 

Users say

(out of 8 reviews)
age 12+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byMr Blonde January 28, 2014
Kid, 8 years old September 29, 2012
age 13+
 

OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! NOT SO BAD!!!!! BUT KIND OF BORING IN SOME PARTS! baby- WWAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!

Violent and very bloody i cant speak!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old February 21, 2015
age 10+
 

very good movie

I gave this a yellow 10 because i watched this the first time when i was ten, but parents may choose to not let their 10 year old watch this. It's a very good movie, but it is very violent. There is blood, guns, 2 brutal fights between Batman and the Muntant Leader, and a few killings. As for language, their is one use of the a- word, and a few other mild profanitys. Their's absolutly NO sex, but Bruce Wayne is portrayed to be a heavy drinker. This is a very great movie, but i only recommend it if you are very brave.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byTrueCommonSense May 17, 2014
age 12+
 

Dark, mature, entertaining - just great...

... buuut not for your tween fan. Apart of extreme violence for a PG-13, there's some things like fantastic media satire that make the movie hard to understand for a 12. For everyone up of that, go for it - it's a fantastic movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byrebo344 July 15, 2015
age 14+
 

The best of the best.

An excellent beginning to the story. Peter Weller excels as Batman. Be warned: this is violent.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byTreyMcCabe June 23, 2015
age 14+
 

Brutal Masterpiece

This is probably on of the best Batman stories ever made, aside from Christopher Nolan's The Dark Knight. It's also the most brutal. Seriously, this is one of the most violent movies I have ever seen. I would compare the violence to something like Elysium. except it's not the military kind of violence. I find it to be closer to things like the Raid or Netflix's Daredevil show. If you ask me, though, it is entirely worth it. Unlike the Marvel movies of late, it's actually got messages and questions for the audience to make them ponder. I highly recommend this to anyone over 13.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byBatman100 March 7, 2015
age 13+
 

Great movie but too violent for kids

Amazing movie, in the top three batman movies period. But it may be way to violent and bloody for kids under 13, and suggestive for 13-14 yr olds. Still, amazing movie nonetheless! I do think the violence is not as bad as people say because, I mean, it's animated!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byEzioconnor24 August 3, 2013
age 13+
 

The Dark Knight Rocks

Awesome. 13 Years and older
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence