All member reviews for Battleship

Common Sense Media says

Over-the-top sci-fi action with great special effects.
 

Users say

(out of 43 reviews)
age 10+
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old May 22, 2012
age 12+
 

GREAT ACTION PACKED MOVIE

This movie battleship is action packed movie, full of aliens and humans fighting for the world. It's a good movie that children and audults will love! EVEN THOUGH IT A LITTLE BIT OF CURSING AND VOILENCE( BECAUSE IT'S A MOVIE ABOUT THE ARMY IN A WAR) IT REALLY GREAT AND NOT INAPROPREATE!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bylittlemonster98 May 21, 2012
age 6+
 

Suprisingly non violent movie...

This movie is full of action, and explosions....but almost no violence...just destruction. This movie was actually very good and exciting. A great movie to start your kid on action movies. Riri was amazing for her first role. Anyone should see this movie as long as they are in grade school or above.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old May 19, 2012
age 9+
 

won't make you abandon ship

This was relaesed a month before in britain so i watched it on the 15th of april.this was not the best action film i have ever seen and rhianha CAN NOT ACT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! but otherwise thres solid performences,ingenious nods to the game and awsome special effects
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 9, 19, and 21 year old Written byhtcblondie November 10, 2012
age 9+
 

Turned out to be a hit for the entire family!

My youngest son is almost 10, and we are very careful what he watches because it usually comes back in his sleep:/ However after a friend suggested this movie, knowing that we are always trying to find a movie to soothe his action type desire, we gave this one a go. It was a huge hit for the entire family. It does have some drinking (beginning bar scene) and some romantic parts (the make out on the beach is as far as the "sex" goes - covering the eyes works), but it was nothing that really made an impact to make me think twice about watching it again. The violence is all in context and was so far from reality, it couldn't effect him once the movie was over. I appreciated that this film wasn't made "dark" like many of the action flicks out there. Watch this movie without any expectations, and you will be pleasantly surprised.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byJesusFreak62 July 10, 2012
age 12+
 

Great special effects and action but pretty much the same story we have seen before.

Battleship is a alien invasion film that is has intense sea battle action scenes and awesome special effects. I don't really think this movie has very much to do with the board game but there is one scene that is very similar to the gameplay. The violence is pretty intense with a high body count, aliens destroy buildings and ships, characters die, and there are very large explosions and gun battles. Which are pretty cool. The language includes a couple unfinished uses of motherf****r, and other words like d**n, g*****n, a*s, h**l, and p**s. There are a couple of kisses and a girl in a bikini and The main character is at a bar at the beginning of the movie. Overall this movie has great special effects, action scenes, and some funny moments. 3/5 stars.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byiknowitall June 7, 2012
age 11+
 

Rubbish....

I watched this last night and its ones of the most boring films ive watched, i recommend it for people who like loud noise and fireing constantly. overall a violent, loud film with aliens and a couple of swearing from time to time.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bySomeoneYouDon'tKnow June 2, 2012
age 13+
 

Think Transformers in the water

This was a thrilling sci-fi good time, with a huge budget and some great action sequences. It does, however, suffer minorly from somewhat of a poor script and subpar acting. And while the aliens look cool in their "Halo" styled spacesuits, their humanoid appearence behind their masks is, admittedly, rather laughable. My preferred alien look? Pale, soulless white eyes, fangs, and an ear piercing screech. Anything else and you're just using an old formula that was never good in the first place. But I am still giving this four stars because the action sequences succeed, however silly and over-the-top they may be. And the part where they use a 1942 steam-powered battleship with a crew of WWII vets to beat the aliens was a fun twist that brings similarity to the boardgame. Totally recommended for anyone looking for good means of escapism.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy Brew July 21, 2015
Kid, 8 years old July 13, 2015
age 16+
 

Thrilling,awesome, extremely violent thriller for teens.

My rating:R for bloody images,and violence.
Kid, 11 years old July 4, 2015
age 13+
 

Epic sci fi movie

Battleship is a epic sci fi movie that is based on Hasbro's board game with the same name. This movie has swearing. It is mostly filled with ship battles. But has guns too. It has some sexual scenes. Also it has some great messages.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 12 year old Written byedklat June 7, 2015
age 8+
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old March 30, 2015
age 11+
 

Blown Away!

The best movie!! Violence, but not more than would make a mature-ish 12 or 13 year old uncomfortable. If you have an emotional kid, there is one part where a great main character dies that you might want to warn them about. Definetly a rare action movie with a lot of positive messages and role models! No sex is implied, although there is a part were the main character is making out with his fiance in a bikini on top of him , but its better than it sounds, and their relationship is a perfect example of the clean, good kind of love.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Written byAnonymous October 11, 2014
age 12+
 

Battleship review

========================================================= Sex/Nudity: A TV host/reporter shows some cleavage. Sam shows up in the bar wearing a very tight tank top that shows cleavage and draws the attention of Alex. We see Alex emerge from under the water in a bathtub filled with ice. He sits up, fully nude, but the ice covers his crotch area so nothing explicit is seen. Samantha shows some cleavage and kisses Alex. We see various shirtless guys following a soccer match, including Stone. Samantha suggestively asks Alex if he's "ready for this" while kissing him, showing lots of cleavage, and straddling him on the ground in a tight/revealing top and small/tight shorts (and the camera goes across her body in that). But what she's referring to is him asking her father for her hand in marriage. Samantha again shows cleavage. Samantha shows some cleavage. 3.5/10. ========================================================= Violence: To try to impress Sam (who's disappointed a bar won't serve her a burrito), Alex promises he'll get one. After discovering a nearby convenience store has just closed, he climbs on top and breaks and enters through the roof/ceiling. We see surveillance footage of him falling hard to the floor, and then falling hard again, this time to the top of an aisle case, as he tries to climb back out. As he then runs from police, some nearby cars crash, while the police taser him to the ground. There's hard contact during a soccer match, including one player violently colliding with another, while Captain Nagata ends up kicking Alex in the face, bloodying that. We hear the sound of Alex and Captain Nagata fighting behind a closed door. We later see Captain Nagata with a bruise on his face, and both lie to Admiral Shane about what really happened (trying to make it sound like it wasn't a fight so that they don't get into more trouble). As five alien craft quickly approach Earth, one smashes into a satellite, destroying it. The result alien craft debris then rains down on Hong Kong, smashing various buildings and such (with one building collapsing), causing all sorts of panic. We later hear that something like 25,000 people were killed. Alex, Cora and another crewmember cautiously approach one of the partially submerged alien crafts on a small inflatable boat equipped with a large gun on the front. Alex slowly walks toward the immense structure, only to be shocked and blown back into the water. That causes several huge, alien crafts to emerge from the water, along with a force field that surrounds them and blocks off much of the other fleet vessels. A fighter jet then races at that, but explodes upon contact with the force field. One alien ship then lets out a sonic (or similar blast) that hits many of the ships, breaking glass and such. A U.S. ship fires at an alien craft that then fires back. All but one incoming explosive is blown from the sky. The one that lands and embeds into the U.S. ship and then explodes. From a small inflatable boat, Cora opens fire on one of the alien crafts, and one fires back but misses them. An alien craft fires many explosives at a U.S. ship and many of the projectiles are destroyed, but one hits and it explodes, blowing people around. Many such explosives are then fired and embed themselves into the same ship that's then completely destroyed by the resultant explosions. Various large, spinning devices equipped with blades are fired from the alien ships. They land on an airfield and proceed to rip through and destroy many helicopters and kill various personnel. Some machine guns are fired back at them, but to no avail. More of the spinning devices rip through neighborhoods, smashing cars and such, with one going through a baseball field and stopping just short of a boy. It spares him, but then proceeds to knock out various bridge supports, thus causing part of a freeway to collapse. Some aliens on foot surprise attack a vehicle carrying some police and/or guards. We later see their dead bodies on the ground. A loud sound and gush of air accompanies Alex and Captain Nagata removing the helmet off a captured alien. They examine it, and when Alex opens one eyelid, the pupil contracts and the alien springs to life. It grabs Alex by the face (and he sees visions of battles elsewhere, presumably in the past), followed by an adjacent wall being blasted open. Other aliens then rescue that first one and depart. Thinking aliens are onboard their ship, Alex, Cora and others slowly make their way through it, machine guns at the ready. One person is then grabbed and yanked up through an opening and thrown aside, hard. Several sailors hear loud sounds behind a closed hatch that's then blasted off its hinges. An armored alien then slowly walks down some steps (bending them) and proceeds to go after some equipment in the ship. Walter then tries to intervene and hits the alien, but is knocked back. He then bashes a metal pipe (or similar) into the alien, including onto its foot. It then throws him aside, followed by Alex blasting the alien with machine gun fire (he's thrown aside) and then Cora doing the same with a machine gun and then handgun (she's also knocked aside). Alex and Cora then separately flee, but with a plan. Alex has the alien chase him up onto the deck, where the alien hits him and holds a sharp weapon, but unknowingly has just stepped in front of a large gun remotely controlled by Cora. She then blasts the alien with that. We see news footage replays of the Hong Kong debris damage as it occurred, along with some subsequent looting. Alex's ship blindly fires missiles at an alien craft, but they miss. This then happens again, followed by the aliens shooting back, but those miss as well. As alien craft quickly approach, Alex and Captain Nagata patiently wait to fire upon them. They do at the right moment and destroy both alien ships. After Alex and Captain Nagata shoot out its windows with sniper rifles, missiles, torpedoes and heavy machine guns are fired at an alien ship, damaging it. But it fires large spinning devices at the U.S. ship and they proceed to tear their way through it. One chases one sailor, but Cora pulls him to safety. Most everyone jumps off into the water, including Alex and Captain Nagata who jump at the last moment before the ship is torn apart by the devices and the explosions they cause. A battleship gets into a big gun and explosives battle with a large alien ship. Both are hit and damaged. As the aliens send up beams to a satellite to signal reinforcements, Samantha purposefully drives a jeep into a device, temporarily knocking it off line. Her foot ends up stuck, as does a machine gun, so Mick gets out to fight the alien. He avoids being hit and lands some punches, one of which knocks off the alien's helmet and some teeth from its mouth. Mostly blinded by the sunlight, it hits his legs and flips him to the ground where it repeatedly tries jabbing him with a sharp weapon, but Cal smashes it with a metal case, thus allowing Mick to control it. As spinning devices fly through the air toward Alex's ship, fighter jets race overhead and destroy them, the alien ship that fired them, and various satellite dishes and related equipment the aliens were using. 7/10. ========================================================= Blood/Gore: We see some small holes in Alex's back from where taser contacts had earlier attached to his skin. Alex has a bloody nose and/or mouth after being kicked in the face by Captain Nagata during a soccer match. We hear the sound of Alex and Captain Nagata fighting behind a closed door. We later see Captain Nagata with a bruise on his face. Stone has blood on his face following an explosion onboard his ship. We see some bloody and partially burned human survivors from the alien attack. Cora has a bloody lip following an alien hitting her, while Alex has some blood on his head from the same. We see some dead and slightly bloody cops/guards (from an earlier scene). 5/10. ========================================================= Profanity: At least 3 incomplete "f" words (2 used with the prefix "mother"), 12 "s" words, 11 hells, 7 asses, 4 damns, 1 S.O.B., and 5 uses of "Oh my God," 4 of "G-damn," 2 uses of "My God," and 1 use each of "Jesus" and "Jesus Christ" as exclamations. 5.5/10. ========================================================= Alcohol/Drugs: Alex has a beer, and then a shot with his brother in a bar where others drink. 2/10. ========================================================= Smoking: None. ========================================================= Battleship is a decent science fiction film with amazing visual effects. I give it 6/10. =========================================================
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Written byAnonymous September 25, 2014
age 12+
 

Explosions in premised tween frinendo epic adventure with polenta of violent action

My Rating:PG-13 for intense sequences of violence and action,language,sexual references,drug use and warfare
Kid, 11 years old January 5, 2014
age 11+
 

Clunky, often exaggerated alien invasion flick, to say the least is over-the-top and fully deserves it's PG-13 rating.

Firstly, I've played the board game, and it has nothing to do with aliens. "Battleship" is Hasbro's sixth attempt to successfully release a film that does both promote toys and excel in the box office, this movie does neither. I remember seeing the ads for this and really wanting to go see it. I watched it on a car ride to Detroit, and have lots to say about it. Now, this film isn't good per say, but it's no worse than those "Transformers" movies, and it's no better than the "G. I. Joe" films. "Battleship" was made primarily to promote the iconic board game, made by yours truly (Hasbro), and I was unimpressed with the visuals, although the action I thought the action was pretty good. There was lots of language for a movie promoting a kids board game, some of which included two incomplete exclamations of "motherf--ker," (the f-word is censored with an explosion both times), "s--t," "a--," "h--l," "g-d--n," "d--n" and "b--ch." There are passionate kissing, a couple shown in bed, and a guy coming out of the shower in just a towel. Also, a girl kisses her boyfriend while wearing a string bikini top and very short shorts. Common in most alien-invasion films is a huge body count, and with "Battleship" that is exactly what you get. A few well-liked secondary characters die and the aliens wipe out two entire ships, destroy a number of buildings, and cause widespread deaths in Hawaii and China, as well as worldwide panic. There is lots of explosions and gunfire including some intense naval officer vs. alien brawling. Characters are shown bloodied from close calls and moments before their ships explode. The adult brother do shots for a birthday, where other people are also drinking. The main characters gets drunk and makes some iffy decisions as a result. This movie is definitely not flawless, although it's good choice if you liked the board game or similar flicks like "Battle: Los Angeles" or "Independence Day." "Battleship" has some comparatively substandard action sequences, and I was disappointed to find out that the coolest thing Liam Neeson does the entire film is yell at somebody on the phone. Taylor Kitsch is quirky, and really does nothing to become a hero, Rihanna should just keep singing and not act in another thing (she's not really a good actor, hasbro probably just incorporated her into the cast for the publicity).
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old January 5, 2014
age 10+
 

People are

Like the action, bit slow at points.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old October 10, 2013
age 8+
 

Battleship is ready for action!!!

A must watch nerve racking, nail biting thriller. BEST MOVIE EVER!!! Battleship is about to blow every other movie out of the water!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byphilip1302 August 8, 2013
age 9+
 

Really good!!!

I think the violence si really small. Few curse words, nothing serious. It's cool to see the movie while playing the game.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old July 14, 2013
age 11+
 

The battle for earth has great vfx+action and Liam Nelson

Meh story and unoriginal plot/characters are made-up for by incredible action and special effects. The acting is okay and there is a lot of suggestive (sexy) content. The violence isn't too intense and there's lots of language including 4 almost f-words.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old February 21, 2013
age 8+
 

i hated it

my seven year old friend and seven year old sister saw it but they didnt know what it all meant. there was these really creepy guys too.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages