All member reviews for Beautiful Creatures

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Lush book adaptation mixes romance, fantasy, some violence.

Age

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 33 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Educator and Parent Written byKobeHerr1 February 18, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good Sci-Fi Movie

I'm not sure where the other reviews report that their is a lot of sexual activity because aside from some kissing, there is NONE. This was an over all good movie that has a very interesting sci-fi approach. My daughter is actually going to pick up the novels now to read, so it resulted in a good outcome as well! No inappropriate material for children ages 12 and up in my opinion.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byidawowcat February 14, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Important review for parents.

I loved this movie. I didn't read the book but that's okay for me, but don,t let my talk get away there is a lot of the da.. Word and a guy named Link who got a lot if makeout sceanes with the evil caster cousin and also with the leads there was a lot of passionate kissing and if you don,t like the thought of witches in churches NOT THE RIGHT MOVIE FOR YOU. 3 and a half stars :)
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byRubyredwolves February 14, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great Movie!!!!!

Amazing movie!!!! It was a great story, and had a perfect amount of action and suspence. (Although the book was still much much better, and it didn't follow the book as much as I would have liked it to) I think there was a bit too much intense kissing, but overall it was an amazing movie!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byshainajj June 9, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Teens+

I read Beautiful Creatures, before I even knew about the movie. The book was somewhat inappropriate, but hard to comprehend. The movie is very inappropriate, I'm 13, and I probably shouldn't have seen it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old March 26, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Define good.

Wow!! I went to see this not expecting much, but it's REALLY good!! There is a lotta kissing and things like that, and there is a lot of violence (in one scene, a mind controlled boy kills somebody). There are positive rolemodels because Lena always wants to do what is best for her family and Ethan, and Ethan is protecting Lena through out the movie. Watch it!!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written bySam789456 February 23, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

good

Was appropriate for my little sister(10). Great movie, almost better than book! No mature content, only light kissing
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Written byAnonymous September 14, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Twilight+hunger games=a teen friendly vampire movie for fans of twilight

My rating:PG-13 for vampire violence,frightening images and sexuality
Teen, 15 years old Written bykeiramalm22 March 24, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

The BEST!

I love it, kids 9 and older can watch it, it's not that violent!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 15, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Good Movie, Good Characters, Good Message

This movie is super good! I love it, however it has some sexual scenes like when Ridley is making out with Link on a bed (dont worry clothes are on) and when Lena and Ethan make out and the sound effects show that they really got into it. There are some explicit like b*tch and hell. This also has some violence like a glass breaking and cutting the mean kids at school. There is magic in that tends to spark kid's imagination. The movie shows selflessness by having the main character give up her happiness to save somebody she loves. This shows the value of love and goodness. Overall it is good movie.
Parent Written byJen711 February 27, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Not that great.

This movie had a decent concept, but somewhere in the middle it started to feel like a made-for-tv movie. Not something that's cinema quality. On a shallow side note, the main character's southern accent starts to get annoying after awhile. On the plus side, the bad language was minimal and no sex, just some kissing.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written byDadloveschildren78 February 23, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good

Appropriate for kids.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written bysusiemom87 February 23, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Must go see!

Great Movies!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written bySmartMom989 February 23, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Definitely, a must see!

I think common sense went a little overboard with the ratings. It is an appropriate movie for 12 or 11 year olds.(having taken my 11 and 12 year old) I definitely recommend it! It is based on a book about a witch with magical powers. My daughters (12 and 11) loved it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byjm97 February 20, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Love. Love. Love.

I saw this movie a couple days ago, and I absolutely loved it. I am a huge fan of the book series, and I was very happy with the adaptation. On of my favorite elements was how real the main characters Lena and Ethan's relationship was. It had some very funny moments and some that melted your heart. Some things that parents need to look for is language, like s--t or b---h. There is some sexual content, but only intense kissing. There is some violence, but mostly supernatural. I recommend this to everyone! It is a sweet love story with a supernatural twist. While the ending may not seem satisfying, keep in mind this is a series!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written by808girl February 16, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Mature Content

a good movie for mature teens
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bykitty47 June 3, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Amazing movie!

Teen, 14 years old Written byabeerah_123 February 25, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Did i read the wrong book?

This movie was an experience for me. Especially at the end when young old Ethan Wate loses his memories. At this part of the movie I felt like I didn't even want to read the second book. because the ending of that movie got me so mad That ending was nothing let me repeat nothing like the book. I was so eager to see how they act out the ending because its so suspenseful and my favorite part, but the thing is, it wasn't. so i was very dissapointed because if you haven't read the book you haven't felt the pain. as John green said, pain demands to be felt.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old December 7, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

READ THE BOOK INSTEAD !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Parents this is very scary movie for children but if you are a fan of twilight and scary romantic stories than this is the right movie choice for you. But still do not watch the movie because it has very poor acting in it! It is a good story but they made it bad read the book instead!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old November 2, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

I Love This Movie!!!!!

This is full of action, and romance. It is not like the book in any way. It only has to do with the plot of the book. In the movie it does swear a lot. I would recommend this movie to people who have not read the books.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old September 28, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Love the Movie, Close enough to the Book

Many positive life-messages to ponder, a few scary images, a bit of language, long kisses, good role models, perfect for teens, I read the book and this movie was satisfying enough for me.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing

Pages