All member reviews for Beauty and the Beast

Common Sense Media says

Disney fave has great music, strong messages, some scares.

Users say

(out of 111 reviews)
age 6+
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byMissconcerned February 27, 2016

B&B

It's like any other amazing Disney movie in my opinion (Sleeping Beauty and Frozen aren't amazing in my opinion- I only like Maleficent from Sleeping Beauty). However the villain isn't what I call evil, more annoying than evil actually.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 24, 2016

Inspirational movie

FINALLY! A movie where the Disney princess is smart! Congrats, Disney!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old February 8, 2012

Why again????

It was not the best because we've all seen beauty and the beast. 3D really didn't make it better. But it's always good to see an old one. A little scary for the little one. I do not like to see the abuse and i don't want y little sister buying into that.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Educator Written byPanzerMark January 25, 2012

Shameful

I am dissapointed that they decided to re-show this movie to the public. They're just making money off making old movies 3D. Recycling might work for the environment, but not for movies. It does have some pretty bad messages though.
Parent Written byFvolfrine January 23, 2012

Maybe too scary for kids under 8

The initial scenes where Belle and Belle's father meet the Beast are quite scary, probably too much so for kids under 8. The scariness of these scenes are to present Beast as a scary figure, only to contrast that later with his true side, giving the “don’t judge a book by its cover” lesson some weight. I took my seven year old to see it in theaters during the 2012 3D rerelease and he was scared by the Beast’s introduction, but otherwise thoroughly enjoyed the movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old January 21, 2012

wow...

yeah...Im not into this stuff , so.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bybranagh April 9, 2008

Great Family Movie. I Cried Dureing The Sad Bit & Sang During The Songs.

This film is a classic that every family should watch. I saw this movie when it first came out in theaters and loved it (saw it again when it was released in IMAX and experienced the same joy I did when I saw it the first time). Terrific fun. The messages are positive and appropriate for all ages. The violence is minimal and non-graphic (I wouldn't recommend it to kids under two years of age, as they may find it scary). The heroine, Belle, is my favorite movie heroine of all time. I love the special features on the Special Platinum Edition DVD, which include two trailers, a making-of documentary, original music videos and more. It's a castle full of treasure. The film's main message, "Beauty is found within," still resonates with me and it is a universal truth. Rated G.
Adult Written byLowe's man March 24, 2016

slightly parallells real life

While I might have reservations about letting preschoolers watch this because of some scary scenes, it's a great movie for kids who are past the age where they'd be scared by such things. Belle thinks that she can change Beast, and she only stays with him because he does change. Both change, which is exactly the way any successful romantic relationship- or any successful relationship- works. Belle sensed- correctly, as it turned out- that all Beast needed was love. That's the way it is for some children- and adults- in real life. She knew that he was different inside than he was outside. A great way to introduce this concept to young school-age children.
Parent Written byemmastanley July 28, 2015

Bad and violent'...

This is terrible this has scary violent scenes very stupid and dumb if i rated this definatly 0/5!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old November 29, 2013

she is my role model

bell is my favorite princess I love her she is a perfect role model and has a lesson and I love beast better than prince its perfect for young kids
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old August 21, 2013

Fab film!

Great film! Bad things: mob scene is scary, as is Gaston and the Beast's fight. Depends on your child, but my little sister ( now six, then five ), was fine. If they're more sensitive, they can just cover their eyes or go out the room for the scariest bits. Good things: songs are amazing, characters interesting and fun, message great, one of the best disney films ever!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byMitchell Charleston May 25, 2013

Classic Disney fim.

I love watching Beauty and the Beast. It the second best classic Disney film (with the best being The Lady and The Tramp). It is funny, charming, and has GOOD messages for the kids. P.S. Today is the first day of my Summer vacation. This Summer, i'm going to get a Summer job. Anyways, this is an instant classic. 5 stars for sure.
Educator and Parent Written byCommonSenseChristian January 1, 2013

A True Enchanted Disney Rose

One of the best films in the animated Disney canon. Belle broke the traditional princess mold and is a great role model for kids, particularly girls. She's intelligent, kind, and discerning enough to see beyond people's exteriors to their hearts (though the Beast does repulse her at first; we'll get to that in a minute). Her great relationship with her father is also one kids and parents would do well to observe and take to heart. As for the Beast, he provides great discussion fodder about how someone can change for the better, and how we can help people in our lives do that, even if they don't seem likeable. Gaston, for his part, is definitely a villain, but he provides cautionary messages about pride, ego, and shallow-minded thinking. The youngest kids will probably be frightened by a mob scene, as well as the Beast's early frequent roaring. As one reviewer noted, Gaston's villain song takes place in a bar, with the Disney-fied version of the beer and cleavage that entails (younger kids may notice and may not). One other caveat involves the administrator of the insane asylum; his very appearance, let alone his motives, are frightening, and kids may need reassurance he won't harm Maurice or Belle. Otherwise, this enchanted castle is a great place to let the whole family visit.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byLu Bu December 10, 2012

Its sad how popular this crap is

This is not funny, i'll tell you what's funny, the fact that this crap exists, it does not even bother to try, it does not even have anything entertaining, this piece of crap is not even bothering to keep my eyes on, this is just revolting, these idiots just sit there and sing, and my dog is named Belle which is named after that stupid girl. This movie is just .....WHY?! I hate musicals so much, Disney, word of advice, stick to your pixar movies and not your stupid piece of crap musicals.
Teen, 15 years old Written byOfficial Critic May 15, 2012

Great Movie - with action and little violence, and some education

MOVIE INFO: This is one of the best films that Disney ever created. Kids and adults will love it and will want to watch it over and over again. Kids might find some scenes a bit too scary but they should be able to cope with it. VIOLENCE: Low-Medium. Some action, chases and fights. Very few small graphical/bloody scenes. LANGUAGE: None. SEX: Very low. No actual sex, just some flirting and kissing.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old April 11, 2012

Best movie ever!!

I love Beauty and the Beast! I think it's the best movie of all time! It's absolutely beautiful and has a sweet and simple message: beauty is on the inside. This movie is the first animated movie ever to be nominated for an Academy Award and be put on broadway. It has amazing animation and incredible music. The story is of a prince who was turned into a hideous Beast by an old women (she wasn't selling apples, that's Snow White) who gave him an enchanted rose which would bloom until his 21st year. If he could learn to love another and earn her love in return the spell would be broken. If not, he would be doomed to remain a beast for all time. But who could learn to love a Beast? Belle is a smart bookworm who doesn't fit in in her small town. She yearns for adventure and love, all the time pursued by the annoying Gaston. When her father becomes prisoner to the Beast, Belle bravely takes his place. As Belle and the Beast become closer, with the help of the enchanted servants of the castle, the spell gets that much closer to breaking. I love Beauty and the Beast!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byXxxCookieXxx February 13, 2012

PLEASEEEE WATCH

People saying that the beast is Belle's abuser and that it isolates girls etc... is totally wrong and is having a wrong input on this movie. The beast is so ashamed of himself of his appearance and thinks he will never find love, but we all know he does. The beast gets nicer to Belle because he is finding hope. The beast is NOT abusing Belle. I highly recommend this movie. It teaches you beauty is found within which is the whole point of not only the movie, but in reality and that's something that's VERY hard to forget in the time we're living in now.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bychargnar February 5, 2012

Very Good

The best Disney animated feature
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bypiewizard February 5, 2012

My All-Time Favorite!

This is my all time favorite Disney movie! and i must admit, there are some scenes that still give me chills. This movie has some scenes that might be too intense for young children and gives a great message. There's just something about this movie that makes you want to cry your heart out...something you you just can't lay a finger on. This movie means different things to different people at different times. It shows not to judge someone by what they look like, but to look on the inside. You never know who that person my really be, or what they may have gone through.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bymoviefan115 January 23, 2012

One of the best Disney films ever

This movie is great for everyone! It's got entertaining songs, impressive visuals, and characters that not only show positive messages, but they are lovable. My two only complaints are that it might be scary for younger viewers, and Beauty and the Beast should have won Best Picture! This truly is a great film. :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism

Pages