All member reviews for Beauty and the Beast

Common Sense Media says

Disney fave has great music, strong messages, some scares.

Users say

(out of 107 reviews)
age 6+
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byOfficial Critic May 15, 2012

Great Movie - with action and little violence, and some education

MOVIE INFO: This is one of the best films that Disney ever created. Kids and adults will love it and will want to watch it over and over again. Kids might find some scenes a bit too scary but they should be able to cope with it. VIOLENCE: Low-Medium. Some action, chases and fights. Very few small graphical/bloody scenes. LANGUAGE: None. SEX: Very low. No actual sex, just some flirting and kissing.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byhellokittycaroline March 28, 2012

A Tale as Old as Time

I have absoulutly loved this movie since I was a little girl. It is my all time favorite movie. Belle is such a great role model, she's beautiful, kind, brave, funny, very smart, and encourages kids to read. She doesn't judge love on apperences. i am so excited to be playing Belle in my schools production of beauty and the beast! Anyways this is a classic film. This is a two time Academy Award Winning movie. The Broadway play is a Tony award winning musical. The musical is spectacular as well. I love this movie so much. I am the world's biggest Belle fan!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byGallifrey101 February 19, 2012

Good Movie, Nothing to Worry About

Singing french candles kissing dusters. Yes, please hide your children from these hideous scenes. I don't understand the big deal. I didn't understand what was happening, nor care. By the time your kid is the age that he/she actually pays attention to small details such as those, it really doesn't matter anymore. On another note, the bar scene was my favorite, thank you very much - I thought it was juice or something, not alcohol (considering I didn't even know the word alcohol) and I liked the song. The point is, most kids don't understand half the references and other things, so really your obsessing about what you can see and what your children can't. I think you're looking into it too much. I remember a beast (which I found very cool) a princess (who loved reading and liked blue, so I liked her) and a bunch of singing utensils. I mean, come on, what kind of two year old doesn't like that? :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byXxxCookieXxx February 13, 2012

PLEASEEEE WATCH

People saying that the beast is Belle's abuser and that it isolates girls etc... is totally wrong and is having a wrong input on this movie. The beast is so ashamed of himself of his appearance and thinks he will never find love, but we all know he does. The beast gets nicer to Belle because he is finding hope. The beast is NOT abusing Belle. I highly recommend this movie. It teaches you beauty is found within which is the whole point of not only the movie, but in reality and that's something that's VERY hard to forget in the time we're living in now.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bypiewizard February 5, 2012

My All-Time Favorite!

This is my all time favorite Disney movie! and i must admit, there are some scenes that still give me chills. This movie has some scenes that might be too intense for young children and gives a great message. There's just something about this movie that makes you want to cry your heart out...something you you just can't lay a finger on. This movie means different things to different people at different times. It shows not to judge someone by what they look like, but to look on the inside. You never know who that person my really be, or what they may have gone through.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old January 19, 2012

nice movie

its a very good movie i love it
Teen, 13 years old Written bycarlisle706 January 18, 2012

Disney classic

This movie is a disney classic. It is totally fine for young kids.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byCantresitthefluff45 January 18, 2012

Even better in 3-D!

Great movie in 2-D. But even better in 3-D!
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent Written byFairyTaleParent January 17, 2012

Fairy Tale Fantastic!!!!!

This movie is great. The story line is absolutly fantastic. It is different than other fairy tale stories because it truly stresses the importance of loving someone for their personality. Other stories, like Cinderella, while great, seem to stress the importance of just "getting the prince." Beauty and the Beast stresses the importance of understanding the people around you and no matter what being true to yourself.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written bylextaplex January 16, 2012

For all ages

I thought this movie was great for kids, teens, and adults! The music is great, and the whole movie was made well! its a must see for the whole family.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byDaddy HammboneGOLF January 15, 2012

BEST DISNEY ANIMATED MOVIE

This is the best Disney animated movie. Wonderful music, animation and story. The ballroom scene is magnificent, and the detail is stunning. I took my children to see this three times when it came out, because I couldn't get enough.
Teen, 13 years old Written bylittlemonster98 January 14, 2012

Disney Movie goes a little overboard

I know that this is a kids movie...but it is very violent, for a disney movie. Plus it is rather scary and has some drinking in it. For older kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 8 years old January 10, 2012

Beauty and the Beast is good

Good for anyone
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written byBieberFreakinFever January 10, 2012

The Beast Will Scare Young Auidences

I love this movie, it's one of my all time favorite. Its has strong positive messages about doing whats right and focuses on the inner beauty in people. The beast is in some parts terrifying, so not for kids 3 and under.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent Written bymichelleyan January 7, 2012

the fillm of beauty and the beast

What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written bylmtrav December 28, 2011

Timeless

If you haven't seen this movie, go do it right now. You are missing out.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Educator and Parent of an infant year old Written byFosterFan December 21, 2011

Belle, misunderstood feminist icon

Belle is the best Disney Princess ever. She READS, she's kind, smart, doesn't give in to peer pressure and doesn't wait for her prince to rescue her. Instead, she sacrifices herself for her father, and she actually gets to know the man she loves before marrying him. Some people say Belle is a bad role model for girls, because she teaches them that, by staying by the side of the man she loves, he will change. But they both just met halfway, because Beast had to improve in order for Belle to love him. So, no, I don't think Belle's a bad role model, in fact I think she's one of the great feminist icons Disney has ever created.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written bykamiekirk December 16, 2011

Should have been PG, not G rated. Disappointed with sexuality contained within.

Most parents and teens would balk at my rating, but having just watched it for the first time, I had an issue with how sexual the maid was with Lumiere. Also, the scene in which the villager is plucking her feathers resembles rape, which was extremely upsetting for me to see in a children's movie. Besides the issue with the maid, there were many women who had tons of cleavage. As a Disney movie, the sexuality was pointless and really bothered me. It should not have been rated G, it most definitely should have at least been rated PG for the sexuality alone, despite all the violence in the movie. There are parents who don't want to show their young children sexual things, as they are, in fact, children. I may be a teenager, but I would definitely not show this to my children until they were at least ten.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written bygrizmaster1981 December 13, 2011

A couple scenes of the beast makes this film iffy for the little ones

The fact that the beast scared me a couple times when I was a child makes this film iffy for little kids. The beast has violent outbursts and also how gaston treats belle making him a bad role model for boys learning how to treat women.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 3 years old November 19, 2011

Pages